Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.58

Awesome: 29.44%
Worth A Look35.06%
Just Average: 12.99%
Pretty Crappy: 9.52%
Sucks: 12.99%

11 reviews, 165 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Cruel Intentions
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by davebo

"Dangerous Liasons - Talent + Buffy"
3 stars

Its not original, its not great, but its a movie. I'll give it that much.

After viewing Cruel Intentions, i can't say that much effort was put into creating a new and innovative plot, but its very hard to come up with original ideas nowadays i guess. This movie would be great if you're into watching soap operas and can actually stomach shows like dawson's creek. As for me i tend to demand a little bit more from the movies i call "good."

Cruel Intentions, remember Dangerous Liasons? Well its kinda like that but without good costumes, sets and acting. Kathryn (Sarah Michelle Gellar) and her step-brother Sebastian (Ryan Phillippe) are two fucked up teenagers who get a kick out of screwing with other people's lives. Sebastian decides it'd be a hooot to try to have sex with Annette Hargrove, a pro-celibacy square, or straight edge or sXe or whatever the numbskulls call it these days, who can keep up with all the crazy lingo. Anyway, Sebastian persues her, only to find that he's broken the curse of his miserable life and he's actually found true love, awww. But wait! There's predictable plot twists afoot! Will things work out for Sebastian? With Annette return his love? Do you know the muffin man?

There's nothing special about this movie, but i can't in all honesty say there's anything completely terrible at it. At least Matthew Lillard isn't in it. Like i said, if you dont' mind cheesy stories like soap operas and part of five, go see it, you might enjoy it. But there's better movies to be seen.

Dumb, predictable, target audience is teenagers, need i say more?

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1319&reviewer=30
originally posted: 03/15/99 15:19:39
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell young folks playing dressup of a old story 3 stars
10/05/10 PAUL SHORTT NASTY AND PROFANE 2 stars
10/26/09 angel venkov great ! 5 stars
5/26/09 art AN ECELLENT COMEDY OF ERROR"S! 3 stars
1/07/09 Shaun Wallner Kept me on the edge of the seat! 4 stars
6/28/08 art EXCELLENT ALL THE ACTORS SARAH< REESE ,RYAN AND SELMA WERE MAGNIFICENT 5 stars
1/14/08 Simon Searing dialogue has its moments, but 'uneven' really really describes the movie overall. 3 stars
9/24/07 Beau greatly made, so seductive i especially like tara reid character at the beginning!! 4 stars
9/22/07 Gretchen Seitz Selma Blair's funniest performance ever dragged down by flick's overall distastefulness. 2 stars
8/06/07 Charles Tatum Surprisingly bitchy and darkly funny 4 stars
3/29/07 Christopher A really fun film that creates an oringal atmosphere. Worthwhile with good acting and plot. 4 stars
6/15/06 Bob BEST MOVIE EVER 5 stars
6/02/06 me really gud film 5 stars
4/18/06 fahim smg + the movie itself, my #1 movie of all time, it's so good 5 stars
2/22/06 Mel I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS MOVIE, IT IS THE BEST!- THE acting, setting, music is all brilliant! 5 stars
11/23/05 cr a good story and very entertaining reese witherspoon is fine, this movie is well worth it 4 stars
10/08/05 rob Insiped, yes, but a lot of fun; Sarah M. Gellar is a brilliant actress, I love her 4 stars
9/18/05 tony Horrible! no fucking way im watching this again! 1 stars
8/22/05 Eden SMG is brilliant but the love story kinda kills it. The 'nice' characters are really boring 4 stars
11/15/04 Buceceanu Robert-Alin My favourite movie ever! 5 stars
10/14/04 dave its mad,buffy is hot 5 stars
6/06/04 Daveman Some good humour in the first half, but it all inevitably falls apart. 1 stars
5/30/04 Zita One of the greatest movie I've ever seen! 5 stars
4/17/04 valerie hart good film i you like teens with money power and popularity totaly sexy 4 stars
1/23/04 Rapunzel Gladstone Selma Blair is (unintentionally?) hilarious. Too bad rest of cast not highly watchable. 2 stars
1/06/04 George THIS FILM ROCK!! 5 stars
12/09/03 Samuel A great movie with talented young actors... 5 stars
8/25/03 emsee this is my favorite movie of all time!!! 5 stars
7/25/03 Atanu as Jim the Freak says, the fans of this flick should be killed. Out of pity. 1 stars
7/19/03 amy THIS WAS THE BEST FILM IVE EVER SEEN! 5 stars
6/15/03 Pascal The story has nothing to do with the "liaisons dangereuses", but the spirit is there. 5 stars
4/07/03 Rhea Titus FABULOUS!!!!! 5 stars
4/03/03 Gray disturbing story about teens no one ever gave a damn about but who have money & redeption 5 stars
2/26/03 crystal i thought the film was cool! 5 stars
2/21/03 skkkdjr Two hours of complete and utter bullshit. 1 stars
1/23/03 svend Don't waste your time. 1 stars
1/22/03 eva this is one of the best films ive ever seen...........wonderfull and funny! 5 stars
1/10/03 kaylie bourne ryan phillipe is gorgeous and his sex scene with reese is brilliant 5 stars
11/24/02 Amanda S I loved this movie. Cruel Intentions 2 didn 5 stars
11/24/02 Albert i would prefer to see sarah's pussy 5 stars
11/16/02 ewa I think it's a good film but I don't like the end of the film it was too sad 2 stars
11/15/02 sebastian i thought the movie was particularly the shit ..people who didnt like it are probably gay 5 stars
10/31/02 Zargo first half is a hell of a lot of fun, pity about the second half 4 stars
10/22/02 palaboy101 cruel bitch! 5 stars
10/08/02 Linda Binda Good but uneven acting; black guy's role too stupid to ignore. Watch Dangerous Liaisons 3 stars
8/28/02 Phil M. Aficionado Trash. Fell asleep in the last 10 minutes. What is the point of this fluffy garbage? 1 stars
8/13/02 Jake "I'm impressed!" "I'm in love!" Nuff said. 4 stars
8/02/02 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Blair good, Baransky&Witherspoon wasted, Phillipe&Michelle Gellar suck their own turds. 2 stars
7/29/02 Croweater Boring contrived shit, but I give it an extra star for the ending which I liked a lot. 2 stars
7/29/02 barely legal Not a teen film, Reese at her most gorgeous 4 stars
7/26/02 Bada Bing Crosby Only out of desparation; see Close/Malko do it up good in 'Dangerous Liasons' instead 2 stars
7/03/02 AustinBobby78751 This is one of the most awesome, fun films I've ever seen! "Fuck her yet?" This rules!!!! 5 stars
6/23/02 Law SMG rocks 5 stars
5/26/02 Tyler Durden I must disagree with anyone who says this is a teen movie. The acting is exquisite. 5 stars
4/23/02 NWO4LIFE Pretty good, but forgettale, it does have one of the hottest scenes ever, though. 3 stars
3/30/02 dukeboy0001 Cruel Intentions has everything but the one thing every guy wants to see, SMG naked! 4 stars
3/06/02 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Blair good, Baranski&Witherspoon wasted, Phillipe&Michelle Gellar suck their own turds. 2 stars
2/07/02 Meredith Harshaw Best part is Selma Blair's naive nelly performance (which does not a movie make) 2 stars
1/31/02 Geo7654 Fun, but, wears thin after a while, it has one of the sexiest scenes I've ever seen, though 3 stars
1/01/02 Andrew Carden A Low-Down Of Reese Witherspoon's Carreer. 1 stars
11/27/01 The $1.98 Pyramid Bravo for making this classic novel a blockbuster teen adaptation 4 stars
7/05/01 SeStA Well, it was pretty good, SMG was great, so was Phillipe, but lacked something needed 4 stars
6/13/01 Gary MTV-heavy and way too glossy. Gellar was great, but Phillippe killed any sexual chemistry. 2 stars
5/18/01 Ryan Phillippe gets hit by a car and it rules! CHOAD IS LAW 5 stars
4/14/01 LiL Kick ass film! Whoah, Ryan!! 5 stars
4/09/01 Gary Phillipe and Gellar's characters were a little too prep-rich for me. Great plot though. 4 stars
3/08/01 Bob Marley this movie was the shit! 5 stars
2/21/01 Kieran Harris Real cool movie, Sarah Michelle Gellar was real sexy 5 stars
2/18/01 Atheistic3 I love Sarah, and always will, but this movie was a shitty, HORRIBLY written remake 1 stars
2/10/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Depraved and for the most part shallow, but 100% entertaining. 4 stars
2/08/01 adriana chirilov the greatest film I've ever saw! 5 stars
1/12/01 Kati and Karen WOW yeah dude Ryan phillippe is the best actor, and has the nicest ass we have ever seen! 5 stars
1/09/01 Ryan Interesting 5 stars
1/04/01 angela_w92 i think ryan rocks 5 stars
12/30/00 jen reese rockzzzzzzzzzz 5 stars
12/03/00 Cristopher Revilla watch Dangerous Liasions, don't watch this bullshit!!! 1 stars
11/04/00 Jon Not as good as jawbreaker... but alot of fun... 4 stars
11/03/00 Rachel I love this movie 5 stars
8/07/00 kourlos panagiotis TOTAL BULLSHIT!!!! 1 stars
7/20/00 Ryan Phillippe gets hit by a car and it rules! This movie reminded me of when I discovered the glory of vaseline and holes in the wall. 5 stars
7/17/00 Maria IT was soo good!!!! 5 stars
7/03/00 Stephen Anderson Quite a good movie and certainly worth a look. 4 stars
5/19/00 Elvisfan Fun as all hell & Ryan vs. Gellar was a battle royal I enjoyed every sneer of 5 stars
4/23/00 ryan Good remake of Dangerous liasons... Nice tone of humor 4 stars
4/21/00 Steve Layne The movie is like a big tease, but still entertaining and has buffy kissing another girl!!! 4 stars
4/10/00 Athena One of my Favs!!!! Ryan and Sarah did a fantastic preformance!! 5 stars
3/29/00 christina loved it! 5 stars
3/25/00 jessica jankowski it was totally awesome ryan and reese3 work perfect 2gether 5 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Complete shit. Completely entertaining shit. 3 stars
1/06/00 sam dastardly bastardly bad 5 stars
1/06/00 Mike D Most teen moofies are utter poo 1 stars
1/01/00 michelle ryan looks really hott and i hate it when he dies 5 stars
12/13/99 Emily Drew This film is racy, sexy, fun, exciting, sad and thrilling. It's amazing! See it to believe. 4 stars
12/05/99 PurityJustBegs it is films like this that make me want to kill myself and pretend that life never was..... 1 stars
11/12/99 Steve BEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/06/99 The Bomb 69 suprisingly i enjoyed it, must be a masochist 4 stars
11/03/99 Andrea I loved it! Ryan Philippe is hot!!!! 5 stars
11/02/99 Alexis Valrio I loved it! its my favorite movie! 5 stars
10/10/99 HotStuff I think it was an average movie but sometimes it was very boring. Overall it was average!! 3 stars
10/04/99 Bozo i don't like ryan or gellar but they were great..reese always is..movie-a guilty pleasure 4 stars
9/29/99 Trixie BEST MOVIE!!!!! Not too deep, but who sees movies to have profoud thoughts? 5 stars
9/26/99 Don Valdez The greatest fuckin movie in the world 5 stars
9/23/99 queen of porn this movie bored me some of the stuff i tried in 8th grade 1 stars
9/23/99 KK Hey SMG, how bout showing us those tits to at least make it interesting?? 1 stars
9/22/99 GothamDK Pretty average with a little heat. Wild Things much better. SMG, nosejob. As in, needs one. 3 stars
9/19/99 Weird Andy An usher threw me out for making squishy noises with my armpit during the big love scene. 1 stars
9/17/99 DUDE RYAN PHILIPPE GET'S HIT BY A CAR. THIS MOVIE RULES!! Timbo 5 stars
9/12/99 JED Has 4 things going good for it but I found the movie mostly either bland or repulsive 2 stars
8/22/99 Dragonfly An intensely stupid movie. 1 stars
8/20/99 Jenny Rice I loved the movie! 4 stars
8/19/99 Hayley Olsen It didn't even get good till the end. 2 stars
8/19/99 Ystergarde This was the first movie I've ever walked out of. 1 stars
8/18/99 Pete It kicks all ass 5 stars
8/18/99 PurityJustBegs This is the most abysmally unwatchable piece of shit to be made in recent years, so awful! 1 stars
8/09/99 Randall this one was a suprise, better movie of recent year 5 stars
8/01/99 April Persons Best fucking movie ever 5 stars
7/07/99 me fantastic! I absolutely loved it!!! 5 stars
7/02/99 Chris boobs tits ass 4 stars
7/01/99 Matthew Bartley Beautifully bad. A sleazy badly acted riot 4 stars
6/15/99 Ver-Jun Ryan Phillipe is an untalented little hack. He needs to be shot! Aside from him, it's okay. 2 stars
6/14/99 David A wholly entertaining bitchfest with very little redeeming values. Hooray! 4 stars
6/01/99 SueS312 Stupid movie. Would any testaserone-driven male truely dump SMG for that Selma chick? 1 stars
4/30/99 Jane Awesome Cast, Ryan Phillipe very sexy! Needed more of Joshua Jackson though. Two thumbs up! 5 stars
4/18/99 jimmy jam Reese looks like a BOGLIN(anyone remember those) scrunched face. shit movie 1 stars
4/17/99 Sykokat So the true love thing was lame and the ending sucked, Ryan Phillppe makes me horny! yeow! 5 stars
4/16/99 Daria Good evil fun, although the whole I-found-true-love thing was awfully unconvincing. 4 stars
4/14/99 Katie ITS GREAT ONLY SAD AT THE END WHEN RYAN PHILLIPPE DIES! 5 stars
4/13/99 Ami the Wonderbread nothing compares to Malkovich and Close, but Ryan is sooo cute 4 stars
4/12/99 Go Swans Almost as knowingly sleazy as Wild Things. Just needed an equally silly ending 4 stars
4/11/99 Alonzo (alc311@hotmail.com) Any star of a show on FOX,UPN, or WB needs to be shot and killed to prevent crap like this 1 stars
4/10/99 Tristynn ahh, not another teen fluff flick.. I may just gag.. actually it was not bad.. 3 stars
4/08/99 Big Jimmy "Sebastian, you can put it anywhere"- Gellar- I've never heard a better line in all my life 4 stars
4/07/99 Daun Harner Great story and awesome acting! 5 stars
4/07/99 Brian M gellar/phillippe are hot 4 stars
4/06/99 Rachel Sutton Hot enough to make you blush and smart enough to make you think. 4 stars
4/06/99 The bouncer worst movie i have ever seen 1 stars
4/03/99 MR HOLLYWOOD!! Basic Instinct for teens!..........could've been so much more steamy! 4 stars
4/02/99 wolfy316 shallow but shitloads of fun, keeps the spirit of the novel alive 4 stars
3/28/99 HeatherLadyBug The only thing crul was that I was forced to sit through that crap! 1 stars
3/26/99 starla Interesting plot, great music, good acting, dramatic ending. 4 stars
3/25/99 Film Review I wasn't expecting much, but this was very entertaing & impressive. 4 stars
3/20/99 Laura Very funny, definately a turn on. 4 stars
3/18/99 L Awesome.Ryan Phillipe is a major hottie. 5 stars
3/17/99 Bob I love Beth 4 stars
3/16/99 Ah Dooey Excuse me for opening my yap, but did you say that movie was a masterpiece?! 'Nuff said. 4 stars
3/14/99 Felicia it wasn't as good as I expected the acting was fake 3 stars
3/13/99 Matt there's a constant monotone buzzing throughout the movie...the main character's dialogue 2 stars
3/12/99 jennifer newsome this is a must see,never seen anything like it before, awesome! 5 stars
3/12/99 eric fuller The film had the chance to be a gulity pleasure in the tradition of Wild Things. 3 stars
3/12/99 16 in. of swingin' meat & a bucket of balls Sexual Deviancy at its best. Gellar and Phillippe sizzle. Great ending. A must see! 5 stars
3/12/99 Jeff HOUN very evil, very entertaining, very deceitful, and sexy w/o getting naked...damn!! 5 stars
3/11/99 Negative Creep This film gave me a stiffie. Quite a few times mind you. 4 stars
3/10/99 Meg Erotic and funny ... what's better than that?! 5 stars
3/09/99 Kimberly Olson It was really artsy, but it was a fun movie. You really hate people by the end 5 stars
3/09/99 Melissa Great Flick 5 stars
3/09/99 Freyja Dangerous liaisons, heard of it? It used to be a good story, before this piece of shit. 1 stars
3/09/99 Kirgo1 Ridiculous ending but otherwise surprisingly entertaining 4 stars
3/08/99 Erin Kinney Not the best film you will see 4 stars
3/08/99 Kenda The colors. The textures. Very visually appealing and much better than I expected 4 stars
3/08/99 evil buffy i loved this film. buffy kicked as evil bitch and phillipe is yummy. intelegent story too 5 stars
3/07/99 CanadianChica Shocking and Seductive. Hey Ryan....nice ass! 5 stars
3/07/99 Angelic I'll ride Ryan Phillipe over that Jag of his anyday!! 5 stars
3/07/99 Cory Clawson Pretty damn good for a remake! 4 stars
3/05/99 Mike Rotch Is Buffy gonna quit in every movie she's in? (no offense) 2 stars
1/24/99 Dark Horizons Even Reese's acting chops and sweet blue eyes can't save this garbage. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Mar-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  01-Apr-1999 (MA)


Directed by
  Roger Kumble

Written by
  Roger Kumble

Cast
  Ryan Phillippe
  Reese Witherspoon
  Christine Baranski
  Swoosie Kurtz



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast