Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.58

Awesome: 13.16%
Worth A Look50.88%
Just Average: 20.18%
Pretty Crappy: 12.28%
Sucks: 3.51%

10 reviews, 54 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Toy Story 4 by Peter Sobczynski

Canary (2018) by Jay Seaver

Assassinaut by Jay Seaver

Dead Don't Die, The by alejandroariera

Dead Don't Die, The by Peter Sobczynski

Shaft (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Men in Black: International by Peter Sobczynski

Chasing the Dragon 2: Wild Wild Bunch by Jay Seaver

Hole in the Ground, The by Jay Seaver

Knife+Heart by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Stir of Echoes
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chef ADogg

"The first hour is fucking boss."
3 stars

"Stir of Echoes" is exciting both as a movie and as a return to adult filmmaking after a run of utterly stupid "Halloween" retreads whose claim to freshness was posing as "Scream" retreads.

It's no real surprise that the pieces of the puzzle in "Stir of Echoes" are more fun and scary than the eventual completion--as a full picture, there are cracks and problems. But when you're working it out in your head and the story is unwinding, you're blinded to the faults.

You're actually having a good time.
At the movies.

Whoa.

I suppose I overreacted a little bit when I first saw "Stir of Echoes" because it was the first time in forever that I actually enjoyed watching a movie and got caught up in the plot, rather than wearily eye the clock, waiting for the credits to roll.

It's a good feeling, watching a movie that entertains you. But the problem with entertaining movies is that they eventually overwork themselves, and "Stir of Echoes" is no exception.

Koepp keeps the madness popping until the last twenty minutes or so, when he tacks on a "grand finale"--a blood splattered free-for-all that reminded me way too much of "Scream."

And if even "Scream," with all of its considerable wit and verve, couldn't keep from tripping on its cinematic shoelaces and toppling over under the weight of its aim-to-please core, then "Stir of Echoes" sure as hell can't withstand this much senseless violence.

It's not that "Stir of Echoes" isn't a good movie; it certainly is that (even *with* the final implosion staged as explosion). But it can never rise above the status of thriller because that's where Koepp's heart is.

He doesn't aim too high in the grand scheme of things--he's more interested in scaring us than creating a piece of art. And while the lack of pretension is enjoyable in itself, it is a rare movie that can be more than it aspires to.

"Stir of Echoes" is not extraordinary, but it's very, very scary.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1335&reviewer=123
originally posted: 10/04/99 18:24:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/17/17 The Big D. Starts out ok but goes downhill when Tom goes berzerk and starts digging up the basement. 3 stars
2/20/17 morris campbell good ghost story the book is good too 4 stars
6/12/10 PAUL SHORTT INTRIGUING SUPERNATURAL THRILLER 3 stars
2/05/09 Anonymous. has a great eerie atmosphere. 4 stars
5/26/07 fools♫gold I keep telling myself to watch the unedited version before rating, but it's too underrated. 4 stars
2/18/07 Nick Maday I'm not a big fan of Kevin Bacon, but this was a pretty good movie. Worth a rental at least 4 stars
1/07/07 SAM Very poor movie 2 stars
1/15/06 ronald crap,hey asshole how could you say this was better than 6th sense.Are you fucking nuts? 1 stars
8/11/05 ES very good date movie, a well done movie 4 stars
7/22/05 Indrid Cold Sure it's well done, but never particularly scary or thrilling. 3 stars
11/10/04 beauty is nice Bacon was frying with gas in this one, a cool thriller that sizzles... 4 stars
9/22/04 Anarchist_101 Seemed more like a Halloween episode of C.S.I, then a Clive Barker film... 4 stars
5/12/04 tatum Really excellent 5 stars
1/21/04 American Slasher Goddess Watch this, instead of the overrated "Sixth Sense". 4 stars
11/24/03 homer J. Simpson The best part was the fucking rolling stones song 2 stars
11/23/03 Nicole Pretty decent 4 stars
3/26/03 Jen I -LOVED -THIS -MOVIE!! 5 stars
3/17/03 R.W. Welch A bit too predictable, but overall not a bad paranormal mystery. 3 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby A weak finale can't cancel out the superior minutes preceding it. Bacon is sensational. 4 stars
10/17/02 Jim Effectively spooky little film with a great ending and effective use of Poe 4 stars
9/26/02 Eric Scary, suspenseful, and very engrossing mystery with a great performance by Kevin Bacon. 5 stars
8/04/02 KMG COOL AS SHIT 4 stars
7/04/02 honky harry ...creepy..scary..and.ermmm good 5 stars
6/14/02 Cat Pretty good film, suspensful good developement and creepier then Sixth Sense 4 stars
2/06/02 Phil M. Afficianado I agree with Erik and Spork. A real sleeper that deserved better box office 4 stars
4/28/01 Basil that kid was creepy 5 stars
4/24/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) HOLY SHIT, I love this movie!! On par with the Sixth Sense. GROSSLY underrated. 5 stars
3/20/01 mr. char great movie u assholes 5 stars
12/27/00 Turtle On the same level with Sixth Sense. And it might even be a bit better... 5 stars
11/19/00 N Martinez Kick Ass. Kick Ass, Kick Ass, Kick Ass, Kick Ass, Kick Ass 5 stars
9/17/00 Paul FANTASTIC! CREEPY! kicks 6th sense ass! will give you the chills 5 stars
7/11/00 Matthew Bartley Very scary and effective in the right places 4 stars
5/02/00 TIGGER Great! Kevin Bacon was great. So was Kathryn Erbe. 4 stars
5/02/00 bullit17 Pretty cool. Not a classic, but certainly worth admission or rental price. 4 stars
4/16/00 MR joel harwood THE SIXTH SENSE meets FLATLINERS kick ass first hour and a bit, SCARY as HELL, ending=crap 4 stars
4/11/00 fire-n-ice scared the shit out of me!!! 5 stars
4/04/00 Alicia a kick ass movie 6 sense was good but this way better 5 stars
3/15/00 The Bomb 69 really scary stuff, well-paced 4 stars
3/10/00 brentley Good, scary flick. 4 stars
2/27/00 mard all alone, lights are off hands over my eyes, worth a look for bubblegum fright 4 stars
2/20/00 arnold creepy but ending sucked shit 4 stars
2/19/00 tony s actually had me frightened 5 stars
2/10/00 Kyle Broflovski Not as good as The Sixth Sense...but why quibble?! 4 stars
2/05/00 Josh the sixth sense maybe a better movie, but stir of echoes is a hell of a lot scarier!! 5 stars
12/03/99 Mark First half scared the crap out of me ... kinda slowed, but really good overall 4 stars
11/15/99 Lamont98 Scary to the bone 4 stars
9/28/99 Ami the Wonderbread Nothing really impressive. Decent all around. 3 stars
9/16/99 Julia i guess i was on drugs cause i actually dug this flick. 5 stars
9/15/99 Ratso Kevin Bacon needs to do a movie where he dies. Not his character. I mean him, he has to die 1 stars
9/14/99 Allen Saunders Would have been more impressive had I not seen The Sixth Sense recently... 4 stars
9/14/99 F PANUCCI Pretty cool, and it continues directly into SIXTH SENSE, which was a bit of a surprise. 4 stars
9/12/99 mason the ending is sooo lame that you cant even throw it a star 1 stars
9/12/99 Mr Showbiz A nice performance from Bacon as well as refreshing intelligence and humor. 4 stars
9/10/99 Timbo Are you surprised IT'S KEVIN BACON 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Sep-1999 (R)
  DVD: 17-Aug-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Apr-2000




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast