Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.58

Awesome: 13.27%
Worth A Look51.33%
Just Average: 19.47%
Pretty Crappy: 12.39%
Sucks: 3.54%

10 reviews, 53 user ratings



Stir of Echoes
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by DarkHorse

"Every bit as good as The Sixth Sense and then some..."
4 stars

Dante's Peak, Deep Impact, Copycat, Stir of Echoes. What do these movies have in common? They were all released in close proximity to blockbusters with almost identical themes. Why you ask? Well, thatís easy. The studio execs are greedy and moronic sheep. Hey, I like sheep (I live in Alabama), but not this kind. These sheep fuck YOU, the consumer.

Ok. That is all I am going to say about the sad reality that Stir of Echoes was killed at the box-office by ruthless comparisons to The Sixth Sense. Stir of Echoes is great movie in it's own right and I'd like to pretend for a moment that the The Sixth Sense never existed. With that looming shadow lifted, I will proceed...

Stir of Echoes is one of the best ghost stories to come out of Hollywood in years. Kevin Bacon plays a working-class guy, Tom Witzky, who begins to see all sorts of strange things after a door in his mind has inadvertently (?) been opened through hypnosis. He literally begins to see red as he struggles to figure out what is happening to him. He has disturbing visions that leave him more dehydrated than Bubba Clinton at a nympho convention. In fact, he becomes so thirsty after these episodes that he eventually has to empty out his fridge to make room for all the orange juice.

We learn early on that his son has already been having frequent conversations with a dead girl living in their house. Yes folks, he sees dead people. Yet another child actor going by his first and middle name (Zachary David Cope) does a wonderful job playing The Kid with The Shine...

Tom catches a glimpse of the dead girl and becomes obsessed with figuring out who she is and what she wants. I have never been a huge Kevin Bacon fan, but he is absolutely spectacular in this movie. He paces his character's slide into madness with subtle perfection. He could have easily gone over the top in some scenes. Instead he shows the viewer an everyday guy trying his damndest to hold it all together in a situation that would have the most even-keeled person scrambling for Xanax.

I know this is a recurring theme in my reviews, but I'm not going into any more plot detail. There are twists and turns a-plenty and I wouldn't want to spoil any of them. Several of these "twists" you will see coming a mile away, but at least a couple should slip past your radar.

Stir of Echoes is not a perfect movie. It does have some very formulaic elements (especially near the end), but as a whole it is a clever ghost story that should please fans of the genre to no end. As far as movies go about people who see dead people... This is top-notch entertainment.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1335&reviewer=167
originally posted: 05/09/00 00:15:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/20/17 morris campbell good ghost story the book is good too 4 stars
6/12/10 PAUL SHORTT INTRIGUING SUPERNATURAL THRILLER 3 stars
2/05/09 Anonymous. has a great eerie atmosphere. 4 stars
5/26/07 fools♫gold I keep telling myself to watch the unedited version before rating, but it's too underrated. 4 stars
2/18/07 Nick Maday I'm not a big fan of Kevin Bacon, but this was a pretty good movie. Worth a rental at least 4 stars
1/07/07 SAM Very poor movie 2 stars
1/15/06 ronald crap,hey asshole how could you say this was better than 6th sense.Are you fucking nuts? 1 stars
8/11/05 ES very good date movie, a well done movie 4 stars
7/22/05 Indrid Cold Sure it's well done, but never particularly scary or thrilling. 3 stars
11/10/04 beauty is nice Bacon was frying with gas in this one, a cool thriller that sizzles... 4 stars
9/22/04 Anarchist_101 Seemed more like a Halloween episode of C.S.I, then a Clive Barker film... 4 stars
5/12/04 tatum Really excellent 5 stars
1/21/04 American Slasher Goddess Watch this, instead of the overrated "Sixth Sense". 4 stars
11/24/03 homer J. Simpson The best part was the fucking rolling stones song 2 stars
11/23/03 Nicole Pretty decent 4 stars
3/26/03 Jen I -LOVED -THIS -MOVIE!! 5 stars
3/17/03 R.W. Welch A bit too predictable, but overall not a bad paranormal mystery. 3 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby A weak finale can't cancel out the superior minutes preceding it. Bacon is sensational. 4 stars
10/17/02 Jim Effectively spooky little film with a great ending and effective use of Poe 4 stars
9/26/02 Eric Scary, suspenseful, and very engrossing mystery with a great performance by Kevin Bacon. 5 stars
8/04/02 KMG COOL AS SHIT 4 stars
7/04/02 honky harry ...creepy..scary..and.ermmm good 5 stars
6/14/02 Cat Pretty good film, suspensful good developement and creepier then Sixth Sense 4 stars
2/06/02 Phil M. Afficianado I agree with Erik and Spork. A real sleeper that deserved better box office 4 stars
4/28/01 Basil that kid was creepy 5 stars
4/24/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) HOLY SHIT, I love this movie!! On par with the Sixth Sense. GROSSLY underrated. 5 stars
3/20/01 mr. char great movie u assholes 5 stars
12/27/00 Turtle On the same level with Sixth Sense. And it might even be a bit better... 5 stars
11/19/00 N Martinez Kick Ass. Kick Ass, Kick Ass, Kick Ass, Kick Ass, Kick Ass 5 stars
9/17/00 Paul FANTASTIC! CREEPY! kicks 6th sense ass! will give you the chills 5 stars
7/11/00 Matthew Bartley Very scary and effective in the right places 4 stars
5/02/00 TIGGER Great! Kevin Bacon was great. So was Kathryn Erbe. 4 stars
5/02/00 bullit17 Pretty cool. Not a classic, but certainly worth admission or rental price. 4 stars
4/16/00 MR joel harwood THE SIXTH SENSE meets FLATLINERS kick ass first hour and a bit, SCARY as HELL, ending=crap 4 stars
4/11/00 fire-n-ice scared the shit out of me!!! 5 stars
4/04/00 Alicia a kick ass movie 6 sense was good but this way better 5 stars
3/15/00 The Bomb 69 really scary stuff, well-paced 4 stars
3/10/00 brentley Good, scary flick. 4 stars
2/27/00 mard all alone, lights are off hands over my eyes, worth a look for bubblegum fright 4 stars
2/20/00 arnold creepy but ending sucked shit 4 stars
2/19/00 tony s actually had me frightened 5 stars
2/10/00 Kyle Broflovski Not as good as The Sixth Sense...but why quibble?! 4 stars
2/05/00 Josh the sixth sense maybe a better movie, but stir of echoes is a hell of a lot scarier!! 5 stars
12/03/99 Mark First half scared the crap out of me ... kinda slowed, but really good overall 4 stars
11/15/99 Lamont98 Scary to the bone 4 stars
9/28/99 Ami the Wonderbread Nothing really impressive. Decent all around. 3 stars
9/16/99 Julia i guess i was on drugs cause i actually dug this flick. 5 stars
9/15/99 Ratso Kevin Bacon needs to do a movie where he dies. Not his character. I mean him, he has to die 1 stars
9/14/99 Allen Saunders Would have been more impressive had I not seen The Sixth Sense recently... 4 stars
9/14/99 F PANUCCI Pretty cool, and it continues directly into SIXTH SENSE, which was a bit of a surprise. 4 stars
9/12/99 mason the ending is sooo lame that you cant even throw it a star 1 stars
9/12/99 Mr Showbiz A nice performance from Bacon as well as refreshing intelligence and humor. 4 stars
9/10/99 Timbo Are you surprised IT'S KEVIN BACON 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Sep-1999 (R)
  DVD: 17-Aug-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Apr-2000




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast