Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.09

Awesome: 17.32%
Worth A Look34.65%
Just Average: 11.02%
Pretty Crappy: 14.17%
Sucks: 22.83%

10 reviews, 67 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Saw 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jason Whyte

"The last Saw film in the series...that I'll be seeing."
1 stars

I was NOT a fan of the original “Saw” (2004) which I felt was one of the hardest films to endure last year. I understood what it was trying to do in the horror genre, and yet at the same time I was so disgusted by what it did, and so bored by how it did it. I was angry at the lackadaisical nature of it all; from the lousy acting, the overbearing editing, the complete lack of tension and scares and a final scene involving Carey Elwes stupidly sawing his own foot off in an attempt to save his family…yeah, you may really want to save your own family, but why lose your own foot to do so? Don’t you realize that you…can’t walk?

I will give the original “Saw” a few points for an intriguing premise: a madman known as the Jigsaw Killer who puts his victims through a test to see if they can evade their own deaths. The positives end about there. “Saw II”, a wholly useless sequel, is an even worse experience since we already know the game of the Jigsaw and therefore we are pretty much ready to see people get caught up in a psycho’s game with a budget that smacks of the finances of a film crew.

There really isn’t much to the set-up; the Jigsaw plunks a bunch of people (who all turn out to have a common bond) from off the street and locks them in a house. One of which turns out to be the son of a cop (Donnie Walhberg, very far from his “Band of Brothers” work here) who is assigned to take the case. The Jigsaw killer is found at his lair and turns out to be an old, weathered man, played here by Tobin Bell in a speech-fuelled performance with a lot of laboured breathing. I don’t mean to knock totally on his performance; he is a accomplished character actor and he has a few moments of intrigue, but why oh why can’t he be cast in a horror film that is worth his time?

Here’s the Jigsaw’s motive…to get you to harm yourself, sometimes permanently, in some way to save your own skin. The film opens on a character trapped in a room with a Venus flytrap attachment to his head, and the key to removing it is buried behind his eyeball. You’re screwed either way. Yes, that’s depraved and vicious, but wouldn’t it be more fun if there was, I don’t know, a loophole somewhere? Shouldn’t we have a little glimmer of hope?

One of the film’s biggest problems is the film-school editing where, like the first film, rapid cuts and flash edits get us from one action to the next rather than framing shots and cutting properly to get us to where we need to go. There’s one bit where a character falls into a pit of needles to find a key to open a door that is on a timer. We cut back and forth to the countdown so furiously that I don’t think a single shot lasted more than half a second.

There are also sequences that question why anyone would care about these trapped people when they are so stupid? Towards the end of the film, a woman walks into a room with a glass dome suspended in air, and notices a filled syringe with two entry points that are riddled with knives. Immediately, she throws both arms into the trap to get the needle and can’t get her arms out, telling me that either the girl was too stupid to notice that she’s trapped in a house with nothing but traps, or the killer would think that someone would be too stupid to realize that a glass dome with two entry points suspended in the air wouldn’t be a trap; let’s also note that she didn’t know what was in that needle!

And like with Elwes’ evacuation of foot in the first, here we have a laughable amputation scene that tries to outdo the original. One of the trapped members of the house party going insane to figure out the numbers on the back of everyone’s neck, and after chasing the remaining people throughout the house, we come across the original room in the first “Saw” with all of the mirrors broken. Since the guy is insane, he decides to sever a piece of his own neck to get the combination instead of getting the information from the others by calming down and simply asking.

I really don’t see the audience for this now-franchise of “Saw”; either you get into the depraved shock value of it all or you don’t, I guess, but for me it represents my last meeting with the series. How horror pictures like these make money is beyond me, and unless the next one somehow features crazy zombies (“Saw of the Dead”, anyone?), I think I’ll go see something else that day.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=13441&reviewer=350
originally posted: 11/18/05 12:55:15
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/20/17 morris campbell the best in the series rough&raw 4 stars
8/24/16 Matt Gross but effective. 3 stars
4/05/16 Charles Tatum Wasn't much interested in the series after this sleepy sequel 3 stars
3/02/10 Stanley Thai I was expecting much more than just deaths and more people and twists. 2 stars
2/16/09 action movie fan a good sequel=interesting scary predicament 4 stars
10/27/08 Sugarfoot I liked this entry simply because I got to know Jigsaw and his victims. 4 stars
7/22/08 David V Decent enough, but it's too bad Jigsaw became a grandfather figure. 3 stars
6/02/08 PAUL SHORTT NEEDLESSLY UGLY, JOYLESS AND REVOLTING 1 stars
10/24/07 lolz AAAAHH SCARY BUT FUNNY O.o 4 stars
3/20/07 Brandi Pranger awsome to watch 5 stars
3/17/07 Justin P Hated it, was the worst movie ever until Saw 3 came out 1 stars
12/07/06 Angel Chavez Better than the first! 5 stars
11/14/06 Drew Galletti Best one in the series 4 stars
11/09/06 Dark Enchantress i love the saw movies alot! This one was ok...it could of been better, but ok 5 stars
11/07/06 Divin' in Needles Two Saws Up 4 stars
11/06/06 Drew Best one in the trilogy 5 stars
11/02/06 David Pollastrini good gore. Beverly mitchel is hot! 5 stars
11/01/06 Patsyc I liked it. It was very suspenseful and kept me on the edge of my seat. 5 stars
10/29/06 Bitchflaps Really poor 1 stars
10/29/06 Anthony Feor It has bloody deaths, What else ya got? 2 stars
10/27/06 Teanna Wow this movie was awesome and took a surprising turn at the end. WAY BETTER THAN THE FIRST 5 stars
8/16/06 Stanley Thai It's a bad movie that took a HUGE drop from the original. 2 stars
8/01/06 dan no way near as good as saw 1 3 stars
7/23/06 Samuel Pretty F'n awesome...I still thought the origional was better, but this is a fine sequel... 4 stars
6/26/06 raul valdez Jr as good as the first but not better 5 stars
6/04/06 katie A really great movie and just a little bit better than the first one. 5 stars
4/25/06 Logan Horberg This movie kicked so much ass! 5 stars
4/23/06 curtis it was pretty good i liked it....i like the 1st one too 4 stars
4/03/06 Mike Amazing,unpredictable,couldn't have guessed the ending if I tried,cant wait for saw 3 5 stars
3/17/06 Indrid Cold Less coherent and interesting than the original, but still decent Hollywood horror. 3 stars
2/26/06 Danny Not nearly as suspensful as the first one, but still pretty good for a horror film. 4 stars
2/19/06 B "Stylish" sadism = cool!!! So do pseudo-philosophical one-liners and absurd plot twists!!! 1 stars
2/18/06 Elisabeth Eagle Was a great movie in my opinion 5 stars
2/15/06 Rebecca D. Brothers It was an awesome movie with plenty of gore and suspense! Way better than the 1st. 5 stars
1/03/06 alice nothing new 3 stars
12/31/05 metalhead I didn't see the first one so I can't compare them, but i thought it was ok. 4 stars
12/12/05 Mike First was OK B-Movie, this one makes Cube Zero look like Oscar winning material. 1 stars
11/25/05 CONSTANTINE ONCE AGAIN... AWESOME, may've had a few plot, but makes up for it in the end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/21/05 Kurtis J. Beard Stay away. Stay very far away. I wouldn't touch this film again with a 10 ft pole. 1 stars
11/20/05 Stewart Amen, Jason Whyte. This movie only exists to promote pornographic violence. Evil garbage! 1 stars
11/20/05 Evil Wolfie Haha. She fell into a pit full of syringes. 4 stars
11/19/05 Bestit I liked the first (good, not great), but this one was just total crap. 1 stars
11/19/05 Moctezuma I thought it was great 5 stars
11/17/05 malcolm repulsive but fun. actually reminded me more of 'Cube' than 1st 'Saw.' 3 stars
11/17/05 Jabber Crappy, uninspired sequel. Lame-as-hell. 1 stars
11/17/05 CONSTANTINE AWESOME, Enjoyable as the 1st! Shawnee Smith was HOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/16/05 Littlepurch Not as gd as the first but stil loved it.Clever ending, as ever, and Jigsaw was v menacing. 4 stars
11/15/05 Adrian Enough for fans of the first to be happy, but it doesn't live up to Saws novelty factor. 4 stars
11/14/05 JC This movie is not a fucking horror movie!!!! It's more like a suspense. 5 stars
11/12/05 cypress loved it, i would have preferred a different ending, but great movie! 5 stars
11/12/05 kanita ruined the 1st one like most sequels...vry stupid twist looked like they just bsed the end 2 stars
11/11/05 Dan Smith As good as the first, just in a spine tingling different way. 5 stars
11/06/05 blowsky how can anyone like this crap, looks like 7th graders wrote it 1 stars
11/05/05 jeff not as good as first. 3 stars
11/04/05 ew a good film 4 stars
11/03/05 Meryl I love you, screenwriters of the SAW series. I love you. 5 stars
11/03/05 Agent Sands Not nearly as scary or well-written as the original. But it is VERY GORY, which is good. 4 stars
11/03/05 Lowell Sucked big, fat, hairy donkey nuts!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/01/05 Roy Smith A minor drop from the orginal not a plummet like Ring 2. 4 stars
11/01/05 me a great film 4 stars
11/01/05 Skellington I like this the first time I saw it...when it was called CUBE!!! 2 stars
11/01/05 jcjs funny but no one was laughing, stupider than one, Tobin neat, great for 3rd graders 4 stars
10/29/05 bff a great film 4 stars
10/29/05 Jake Weinberg has no taste. Saw II is "worth a look"? Umm...no. 2 stars
10/29/05 Jacobee SAW TWO IS OFF DA CHAIN!!! 5 stars
10/28/05 Crumbcake brianorndorf gave ELIZABETHTOWN five stars...that says it all. 5 stars
10/28/05 Darren Shea A worthy sequel. It trades much of the stark creepiness of Saw for a more complex story 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Oct-2005 (R)
  DVD: 24-Oct-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-Nov-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast