Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.27

Awesome55.05%
Worth A Look: 27.27%
Just Average: 8.08%
Pretty Crappy: 8.59%
Sucks: 1.01%

15 reviews, 108 user ratings



High Fidelity
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jason Whyte

"Who needs a drink?"
5 stars

I'm a huge fan of used CD and record stores, and the people at most of them know me by name. The record store in Stephen Frears' "High Fidelity", an old used and new Vinyl shop that also sells a few tapes and CD's, is the most accurate and perfect depiction of a used store that I have ever seen on film. I love these shops because every so often I find a rare treasure, like the Magnolia soundtrack, or Run Lola Run on DVD, or some odd film score I once loved.

This is a film that has the feeling of that down, but it's not just about a record store. "High Fidelity" is a brilliant, honest and almost sad film about a man who learns to better himself through his past love life. It works even better because of John Cusack, one of film's most energetic and tireless actors, as this man named Rob.

Rob is your everyday man. He owns a record store and has two co-workers with him that "[he] hired for three days a week and they just started showing up every day; that was four years ago". He just broke up with his girlfriend (Iben Hjelie) and decides to lament, to us the viewers, about his breakups, doing so in the "Top 5 Breakups" format.

As much as I cared for Rob and how I wanted to hug this guy in the hopes he would get better, the life of this film just captivates. Those people buying the wrong records for their children. The record store owner who is also a DJ. The lonely bars. And Jack Black's character, as every rude employee, a know it all that just wants to get under your skin, is so amazing here. I've really met people like this.

I've left a lot out intentionally, since "High Fidelity" is truly an astonishing film, one of the year's best, and you should really see it for yourself. The fact that a film that can be romantic yet real, and also show all the characters realistically yet funny, is really something to admire, in a time when films aren't even trying to do so.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1354&reviewer=350
originally posted: 06/13/04 10:01:51
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/17/07 ES meh 2 stars
8/24/06 Joe One of my faves. Cusack's at the top of his game. Black and Luiso steal scene after scene. 5 stars
6/24/06 Orange Genius! 5 stars
12/11/05 Bad Critic The greatest movie about recoreds ever! (Ghost World's one too) They also had a Saab in it! 5 stars
10/13/05 millersxing It clearly helps that Cusack is such a blank slate that so many can identify w/ him. 4 stars
8/17/05 John Aster Habig Cusak can't live up to Todd Louiso's and Black's characters in interest 4 stars
8/16/05 ES A movie not worth making= funny stuff spoiled by trailer, nothing left for the film 2 stars
8/11/05 Kelly top five john cusack movie- 1.High Fidelity 2.Grosse Point Blank.... 5 stars
12/06/04 Jason Kaul One of my favs from John Cusack. Jack Black is great too. Then again, I'm a DJ, so I relate 4 stars
8/27/04 Mike Stanbridge Second best cuzack film ever 5 stars
8/22/04 Abbath Great characters and narrative. Something most anyone can relate to. 5 stars
7/26/04 DM Unstructured but mostly fucking hilarious 4 stars
7/07/04 Denise Duspiva Rob is a low life who needs to get a life 3 stars
5/12/04  Shaun Rose Great movie with a nice cast of actors, Check it out if you haven't seen it 4 stars
5/11/04 Denise Duspiva Need a more solid story 3 stars
5/08/04 Charlene Javier Bored, bored, bored! 2 stars
1/06/04 Charles Tatum Nicely acted and written, but runs ten minutes too long 4 stars
1/04/04 y2mckay Cusack, keep making movies like this and "Gross Point Blank". No more chick flicks! 5 stars
10/11/03 laura paterson Probably my favourite film of all time! 5 stars
9/21/03 spacecowboy for such a simple message, it didn't have to be that long 3 stars
4/06/03 Jack Sommersby Been down this road before, people -- even without the LPs! 2 stars
1/21/03 R.W. Welch Nice work by Cusack but unless you're a pop music geek much of the dialogue is obscure. 3 stars
12/21/02 Pigwidgeon Excellent movie with two flaws -- "Laura" and too much showy smoking. 5 stars
10/26/02 MarktheShark6 The diversity of characters was what made this movie great. I don't know about the end. 4 stars
10/02/02 Jason Cusack Shoots, HE SCORES, AGAIN!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/25/02 WestcoastPunk Non-stop Laughs. Funniest movie out there. 5 stars
8/14/02 MI I found it depressing- I think i may have laughed once. 2 stars
7/28/02 karen goldstein Anybody who has ever been dumped will enjoy this movie! Very entertaining. 4 stars
6/30/02 visionsof People who call this movie stupid need to learn to appreciate movies without a loud of cgi. 5 stars
5/26/02 Nicole If you like fairly dry humor, you will enjoy this movie 4 stars
4/27/02 radroc This movie is genuine, the real thing. A flick the acadamy awards could never appreciate 5 stars
4/03/02 cat John Cusack always plays the adorable loser to a T, Jack Black is hilarious, even Dick too 5 stars
4/02/02 Butterbean If you like butt plugs, you'll love this movie. Otherwise, see Chasing Amy 4 a better flick 2 stars
2/26/02 Jess I quite liked the film, it's real, but the book means so much more. 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver I just didn't find the movie very entertaining. Black made me chuckle. 2 stars
11/28/01 KMG People claim this movie is brilliant...THOSE PEOPLE ARE STUPID! 3 stars
9/03/01 svetlana the most human movie i've seen in a long long time 5 stars
8/28/01 Sarah John Cusack is animous with starring in movies that have no meaning & bored me to death 1 stars
7/05/01 Elvisfan Almost ruined by Black's immature jackoff routine, w/o him it would have been better 3 stars
5/20/01 hum see what can be done when a liitle effort is put into a comedy? 4 stars
5/03/01 joe This is Jack Black's movie. Cusack is annoying. Enough already! 4 stars
4/28/01 The Jedi Droid in my top 5 ....John Cusack is great! Jack Black cracked me up 5 stars
3/03/01 Zippo XxX One of the best movies i've seen!! should be studied!!! 5 stars
2/23/01 Marie Pretty boring whiny confused male movie. Generally entertaining. 3 stars
2/16/01 Jake a timeless gem. 5 stars
2/15/01 Charlie Betts Great Pop Classic... One For the Ages! 5 stars
2/06/01 Phil M. Afficianado <10% are "see againers"; this is. Gender Psych 401--grad school. CATscan of male love life. 5 stars
2/03/01 Del R Boorriinnngg! 2 stars
1/15/01 Gariess Best romantic comedy from an original novel. A tad on the glib side. 4 stars
11/26/00 Michael Maher intelligent approach to relationships, great use of pop music context and very funny 5 stars
10/16/00 Leon Trotsky Fantastic, BUT the end wasn't as carefully assembled as the rest 4 stars
10/04/00 Add Straight into my all time top 5 with a bullet, p.s. SONIC DEATH MONKEY RULE!!!!!! 5 stars
10/01/00 toneely Sorry Guys .but this movie bored me to death!!!! 2 stars
9/21/00 Monday Morning Easily among the Top 5 films I've seen this year. 4 stars
9/20/00 Michael Grimm rains a lot in Chicago, really hit home in my relationships, Cusack's character was creepy 4 stars
9/12/00 lina oh my my... brilliant film...john cusack rocks.. didnt want the film to end...totally rad . 5 stars
9/04/00 The Extreaminizer I love the book and the movie 5 stars
9/01/00 Pierce Lanson Terrific film, but he smoked too much 5 stars
8/21/00 Belinda Jack Black, where have you been hiding? 4 stars
8/17/00 matthew smith hilarious and painful 5 stars
7/31/00 Matthew Bartley A bit too long but very funny in parts 4 stars
7/30/00 Jason Kallelis Saw it a 2nd time, liked it even more, AWESOME MOVIE!! 5 stars
7/04/00 Matt Catherine Zeta-Jones in a GOOD movie??? 5 stars
6/12/00 chouck Another killer John Cusack film 5 stars
6/07/00 Jaime N. Christley Best Cusack film in years; funny, insightful, and highly enjoyable 5 stars
6/07/00 Patrick Dennis John Cusack is the man!!!!!!!! Plus, the diologue in the store is great... 5 stars
6/04/00 Blubberbot I enjoyed it for the most part but I didn't think the story was all that great. 4 stars
5/21/00 Jess This is an 80's film in the 00's. I loved it. Beautiful film, very funny at times. 5 stars
5/12/00 davebo an insightful, funny, original movie 5 stars
5/12/00 Dr. Rev. Krule, MD that is so me in 10 years 5 stars
5/11/00 Paige OK movie, nothing to write home about. 3 stars
5/09/00 Travis funny lines, good characters 4 stars
5/08/00 That Guy For everyone who ever made a tape for someone to express themselves... 5 stars
5/04/00 Alan Stuart Smart screenplay and good performances 4 stars
5/04/00 David Blumgart Funny, charming, affecting movie. 5 stars
5/02/00 Joe Smith Great characters 5 stars
5/02/00 Peter Smith Very funny, verry entertaining 5 stars
5/01/00 mop Great movie. Always been in love with Cusack. And they pretty much nailed music snobs... 5 stars
4/28/00 Heather Very funny original movie, interesting characters, well worth looking up 4 stars
4/25/00 astrotart Indiecool film where John Cusack is actually attractive..and Jack Black is a fucking RIOT!! 5 stars
4/25/00 PhilmPhreak Great Flick! 5 stars
4/20/00 Malbert Very interesting film...I liked it a lot 5 stars
4/19/00 Starry Knight Damn Damn Good 4 stars
4/15/00 PJ Great movie, Jack Black is funny as hell, and it was rather original, funny 4 stars
4/13/00 Mr. X enjoyable and insightful. if you haven't read the book, that is. 4 stars
4/13/00 Alyssa Another Cusack triumph. Makes you ponder if guys who *are* assholes are really pensive. 5 stars
4/10/00 Drano Actually went deeper than I expected. And stayed humorous 4 stars
4/09/00 Bueller Amazingly clever, and comic dialog. No one is better than John Cusak, at this kind of film. 5 stars
4/09/00 EMagGaRony john cusak is awesome, as always.... 5 stars
4/09/00 vroom The '80s came rushing back...where's my crimper 4 stars
4/07/00 burdenit Fucking Shit! 1 stars
4/07/00 Chartsy God, I love seeing a movie that kicks serious ass! 5 stars
4/07/00 Nolan Wrage Good insight on how men realy think. 5 stars
4/06/00 Katsat Original, quirky, funny, charming--just my kind of movie 5 stars
4/06/00 burton t. e. miller slow and predictable - supporting cast 'carried' the movie 2 stars
4/06/00 nootch The movie was pretty good, but without Cusack I don't think it could've survived. 4 stars
4/06/00 Freyja Forget chick flicks, this is THE date movie! 5 stars
4/05/00 kohawk true to life, spontaneous comedy. Extremely well written. Certainly better than average 5 stars
4/04/00 Captain Highcrime Not THAT funny. 3 stars
4/03/00 ChuckEye Tim Robbins gone horribly wrong 4 stars
4/03/00 Negative Again, Cusack delivers ! 5 stars
4/02/00 Gamma Great movie. See it for no other reason than a great John Cusack role. 5 stars
4/01/00 "Persnickety" well done john, he let the true world of dating come out to the surface, Bravo! 5 stars
4/01/00 mike b not too bad..could've used some trimming-jack black is the man! 4 stars
4/01/00 mason great book , slow directionless film full of very ugly people 2 stars
4/01/00 tjwills John Cusack is a god! This movie is just more proof! 5 stars
3/31/00 The Rock Movie was great! Jack Black rules 5 stars
3/31/00 Andi C. It was funny!! 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  31-Mar-2000

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-Aug-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast