Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.82

Awesome46.49%
Worth A Look: 20.4%
Just Average: 10.7%
Pretty Crappy: 13.04%
Sucks: 9.36%

16 reviews, 203 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


King Kong (2005)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by David Cornelius

"Jackson's folly."
2 stars

To borrow from an old joke, Peter Jackson’s “King Kong” is thirty minutes of spectacular entertainment spread out over a three hour movie.

At times, this “Kong” is a thing of beauty, a showcase for Jackson’s storytelling genius. But these times are far too few to help the rest of the movie, which runs everywhere from being an uninspired but watchable adventure yarn to being an absolute snore. At three hours in length, Jackson and his co-writers Fran Walsh and Philippa Boyens (the same three behind “The Lord of the Rings”) go in all the wrong directions in their attempts to expand the 1933 monster classic into a “Titanic”-esque epic. I suppose can’t blame Jackson for wanting to turn his favorite movie into a sprawling giant packed with something for everyone. But I can blame him for doing it so poorly.

The main problem with this new “Kong” - the big one that trumps all others - is that in doubling the length of the original, it adds so much extra weight that the whole thing buckles. The 1933 film worked because of its simplicity (it was, after all, nothing but a jungle adventure with themes borrowed liberally from “The Lost World”). The new “Kong” is too complicated for its own good. Jackson keeps padding everything, but in all the wrong places. In the padding process, some subplots get forgotten, others get too overcooked. There’s just far more on screen than there needs to be, and nobody’s willing to tell Jackson that he needs to revisit the editing room.

(A quick note: from here on, this review will contain some spoilers, but only in the sense that I’ll assume everyone is familiar with the 1933 story. Yes, I’ll talk about the final scenes, but the finale should come as no surprise to anyone. Those of you unfamiliar with the original should stop reading and, better yet, run right out to a video store.)

Let’s take it from the top. The first hour is given to expanding the pre-Skull Island scenes. To argue that Jackson takes too long getting through this exposition is moot - after all, the original took its time to get going, and the 1976 version found its best stuff in the early scenes (all Grodin and Bridges, before Rick Baker showed up in that monkey suit). But Jackson stumbles in his approach. We open with a biting commentary on 1930s America, upbeat tunes delivered over images of soup lines and other signs of the Great Depression. So far, so good. But Jackson doesn’t keep with this through the rest of the film. It’s just a one-off comment to kick off his story, then it’s off to meet Ann Darrow, played here by the overrated Naomi Watts in yet another of her trying-to-outbland-Nicole-Kidman performances. Here, Ann is a struggling actress whose vaudeville house just closed down, and to make ends meet, she just might have to work in burlesque.

Meanwhile, director Carl Denham (Jack Black) is in trouble with his studio. He wants them to finance his trip to the South Pacific; they want to fire him and sell off his jungle footage on the cheap. He figures the best plan is to sneak out of town quickly before the captain of the chartered boat discovers the studio isn’t paying. Along the way, he discovers Ann, convincing her to be in his next picture; also along for the ride is Jack Driscoll (Adrien Brody), whose character is here upgraded to the profession of famed playwright. (I suppose this upgrade is to give a more plausible excuse for Ann and Jack’s romance, or perhaps to give Jack more to do plot-wise, but if he were to be changed back into being the boat’s first mate, you’d hardly notice the difference. You’d lose two or three scenes, but that’s it. A pointless alteration.)

However, it’s not the bulky exposition that keeps these scenes from working. It’s the presentation. Jackson has decided to pepper his film with corny-sounding dialogue and hammy delivery to match (Jackson is so precise a filmmaker that I doubt the borderline campiness of the writing and acting was any accident). Punctuating such style is James Newton Howard’s score, which in these scenes comes with an overabundance of bouncy-bouncy “comedy” music, the kind of obnoxious sounds you hear whenever someone wants to remind you that boy, isn’t this kooky! It all combines to a failed experiment, really, as it’s not taken to any extremes (the tone comes and goes, with some actors playing it up and others not playing it at all), so one watches these scenes simply wondering if Watts’ crappiness is intentional or not. (Answer: it’s both.)

Also, in fleshing out these characters, Jackson and company do nothing to make them more interesting. Consider the characters in the original “Kong:” a handful of one-dimensional types, yes, but their simplicity was part of their charm. The rough hero, the damsel in distress, and best of all, the brash, impulsive filmmaker/adventurer. In slowly turning Denham into a exploitive, conniving slickster, Jackson hopes to add tragedy to the character (the bad man who learns the errors of his ways). But this isn’t followed through very well in the later scenes (Denham’s realizations come in the form of a few blank looks and a awkwardly delivered final line), and he turns out to be just some jerk who’s mildly charming in a few scenes but mostly unlikable - yet not unlikable enough to become a compelling movie character.

Ann, meanwhile, loses her own bit of tragedy in this upgrade. With all the backstory we’re shown about her talents on stage, we get the feeling that had she not gotten on that boat with Denham, she’d probably do just fine. Ann goes from being the personification of lost life in the Depression to being someone who just had a lousy day.

(Jack, however, is still quite blank, only this time, he’s a writer!)

To fill more time, the script gives us a handful of side characters - Denham’s nerdish assistant (Colin Hanks), a cocky movie star (Kyle Chandler), a wacky cook (Andy Serkis), a nervous shipmate (Jamie Bell) who enjoys reading “Heart of Darkness” in hopes of adding instant symbolism to the story, a gruff shipmate (Evan Parke) who gets to act as the nervous shipmate’s protector, etc. And then there’s the ship’s captain (Thomas Kretschmann), a guy who exists just so he can grumble a lot, disappear, and then reappear later just in time to rescue our heroes from Certain Doom. (The first time the captain shows up out of nowhere to save the day, it’s cute. The second time, it’s a cheap out.)

You’d think that with all of the attention given to these people in the first act, they would become very important in the rest of the film. But no, these folks simply come and go with no discernable rhythm. All that “Heart of Darkness” build-up goes to waste, as whatever kind of symbolic payoff one could imagine connecting Conrad’s story to this one is forgotten or ignored by Jackson. When these people do get offed, it’s no more important as when Extra Shipmate #14 gets killed.

And hey, no matter how many shipmates get killed, there are always ten more waiting for Kong to swat them aside, too. Wherever Kong goes, he’s always given the gift of ten shipmates to swat aside to prove his strength. Never mind the fact that after a while, seeing Kong swatting aside groups of extras gets monotonous to an extreme - does Jackson have no other trick in his book? The sheer thought of an infinite supply of swattable shipmates gets one yawning quite quickly.

(Side note: It’s interesting to note that the film’s potential saving grace - the spectacle - is as uneven as the story. Kong himself is a marvel of effects craftsmanship, looking, sounding, and behaving about as close to reality as film could possibly ever get. And in many shots, Andrew Lesnie’s cinematography offers up some incredible visuals. Why, then, do other effects shots look so hopelessly fake, other images look muddy and drab? Half of this film is a marvel to watch. The other half, impossible to watch.)

But I’ve gotten ahead of myself. The movie picks up once the ship arrives at the island. We’re given a sequence in which the boat must navigate through dangerous fog and rock-ridden waters. It’s a doozy of a scene, a marvel of cinematic thrills and suspense, and it gives the viewer hope that the first act was all a goof, a clunky set-up on the way to better things.

Yet it is not to be. Once on the island, our heroes come face to face with some freaky natives - whose impact is watered down by Jackson’s dependence on ridiculous, overworked slo-mo shots. On their own, these screaming tribesfolk are a threat. But with the unnecessary bonus of processed slow motion close-ups at cocked angles (and overbearing music, too)? It’s a wasted moment.

Then again, the entire bit with the natives is wasted, because Jackson inexplicably forgets to mention the natives ever again. Once they kidnap Ann and offer her up to Kong, that’s all we see of them. Ever. Even the original had the sense to show them later in the film, during Kong’s rampage. Here, this massive threat to the heroes, this enormous plot point of a tribe, just up and vanishes. Where did they go? Are they hiding somewhere, hanging out with the missing “Heart of Darkness” payoff?

Anyway. Ann goes off with Kong, and here’s where Jackson tries his best to pump up the love story between beauty and the beast. Perhaps because he truly believes this is how the story should play out, or perhaps because he wants to attract some female ticket buyers, Jackson allows Ann to fall for Kong. Not romantically, as stated above, but in the sense that she sees him as her protector. (That, after all this, she’s perfectly fine with rushing to Jack’s arms when Kong dies is a plot point that betrays this entire storyline. “No! No! Don’t kill him! He’s just an ape!! What? You’ve killed him? Well, then, I suppose I’ll go back to this guy. Lucky for me!”)

The absolute worst part of the film comes in this segment. You might have heard about this scene: Kong has taken Ann back to his - well, “stoop” is as good a word as any for his little sit-down place. She’s scared, understandably. She sees that Kong reacts to her falling down. And so she breaks into her Charlie Chaplin-esque comedy/dance routine. Tumbling, pratfalls, the works. And Kong laughs, and they realize they’re good for each other, and all is happy on Skull Island. Meanwhile, audiences everywhere are screaming to themselves, “Am I watching Naomi Watts do a song-and-dance number in front of King Freaking Kong?” It’s such an out-of-left-field moment that any impact the scene intends to have is lost among the head scratching and eye rolling.

Meanwhile, the burly men of our story are busy making their way across the island in search of Ann. It’s here they stumble across dinosaurs and giant bugs and other creatures that would be enjoyable if Jackson could manage an ounce of restraint. Both a dino stampede and a bug attack are brilliant scenes - at first. But both keep going, and going, and going, until the sight of dozens of scrambling dinosaurs unbearably dull. By giving us too much, Jackson actually manages to do the impossible by taken all the fun out of dinosaurs.

Heck, even Kong’s capture goes on far longer than necessary. He’s captured, he gets loose, he rampages, and on, and on. By the time the big ape is finally beaten, we, as an audience, are spent, our desires to be thrilled doused by a filmmaker so eager to please that he gives us too much of everything, boring us along the way. And we still have the third act ahead of us.

The New York scenes, just like all before it, drag on too long, and the occasional thrill - one long shot of Kong climbing the Empire State Building is wondrous - is too little, too late. Despite the destruction Kong has to offer, we simply don’t care anymore. Oh, Kong’s swatting another dozen people? Yawn. For every neat-o scene of the ape tearing up a theater’s balcony, there’s a dopey scene like the appearance of Ann, backlit to look like Kong’s own little angel, appropriate music accompanying. Or the side bit where Ann and Kong escape to Central Park and find a quiet moment on the frozen pond; you can argue for or against the idiotic-but-charming ice skating - it’s the sheer length of this side note that kills it. Yet again, Jackson takes an appealing premise and beats it to death. At half its length, and with maybe two-thirds of the action that comes before it cut, this scene would work. As is, it’s yet another cumbersome timewaster.

Finally, we come to that last line, arguably the most famous last line in all of movie history: “It wasn’t the airplanes. It was beauty killed the beast.” As in the original, it comes from Denham. But here, this Denham is so unlikable that we don’t care if he has anything witty to say as a final comment. You’re even tempted to throw an “oh, shut up!” at him for bothering to say it. Worse, the line doesn’t fit the themes of the new movie at all - here, it was in fact the airplanes that kill him. Beauty was on his side this time. The remake’s defenders suggest that Denham is referring to Kong’s own beauty and humanity’s inability to understand it. If that’s what it takes to force yourself to like this movie, fine. But even if you stretch it, it’s obvious that the line is here by obligation only. There’s no energy behind it, no oomph, no punch. It’s just said with a great deal of inelegance, like a child doing a mandatory pledge of allegiance.

There were times where I wanted desperately to like Jackson’s “King Kong.” The first half of the film kept acting like it was all heading somewhere great. But that somewhere great never arrives, and by the time this realization occurs (it’s right around the point where Watts starts dancing), one starts counting down the minutes (hours) until the closing credits. This “Kong” is a vanity project overloaded with embellishments that only seem necessary to the artist, like a bad singer (oh, let’s say, Mariah Carey) deciding the best way to improve a song is to hold out every note beyond its breaking point, maybe even throwing in a few flourishes, turning two words into a fifteen-syllable ride up and down the scales. With a movie like “King Kong,” simpler is better. I’m quite surprised that Peter Jackson couldn’t see that for himself.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=13654&reviewer=392
originally posted: 12/16/05 17:49:03
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/12/17 morris campbell good but 2 long 4 stars
4/05/16 Charles Tatum Merely good 4 stars
12/30/14 Tom miscast (except for Ms. Watts) nice fx in NYC, but otherwise like a video game,poor music., 2 stars
6/26/11 DR Entertaining in parts. But very boring in the middle, with a vacuous philosophy at the end. 2 stars
12/31/10 Napoleon Awesome movie! 5 stars
11/16/10 Joe Brizzi A great remake/re-telling of the magnificent original 1933 film. 5 stars
10/03/10 art A SUPERIOR REMAKE!,ERADICATES that AWFUL 1976 VERison,still the 1933 ONE is the BEST! 4 stars
10/25/09 No_limits75 Effective online instructors need training and ongoing professional development to develo 2 stars
10/25/09 Faggot71 Contaminants can enter water supplies either as a result of human and animal activities, o 2 stars
10/24/09 Loy61 This is surely one of the most elementary characteristics of the human rhythmic response, 5 stars
10/24/09 driver77 It's been around a lot longer than credit cards have, and I suspect that if the credit ca 5 stars
10/23/09 Merlin50 The low mutability of wild genes was distinctly increased, but the comparatively high mut 4 stars
10/22/09 Miss42 Peopling ancient landscapes: potential and problems, David MattinglyIII. , 4 stars
6/16/09 art THE ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT,IT IS THE BEAUTIFUL NAOMI WATTS! 3 stars
10/09/08 man awesome 5 stars
9/26/08 action movie fan good f/x but corny and laughable at times, 1933 film still the best-a disappointment. 2 stars
7/19/08 Shaun Wallner Well Made! 4 stars
5/19/08 PAUL SHORTT A HUGELY ENJOYABLE, EYE-POPPING REMAKE THAT PUSHES ALL THE RIGHT BUTTONS 4 stars
5/08/08 Karrie Millheim The interaction between Kong and Watts was good, I cried at the end 5 stars
4/20/08 art OVERRATED REMAKE OF THE 1933 VERISON 3 stars
3/18/08 Con The Don A trip 2 snoreville when u watch this bag of gorrila shit 1 stars
3/10/08 Jayme Isaacs Great Movie 5 stars
11/26/07 dude loved it 5 stars
11/25/07 g webster Naomi -The giant ape-2 good reasons to see this film,great actionand a wonderful remake 4 stars
10/02/07 wall amazing 5 stars
9/18/07 dude loved it 5 stars
7/11/07 Hello Stranger talk about casting! the performances are brilliant. naomi watts is wow. epic movie 5 stars
6/14/07 Vincent Ebriega Inspired in many ways. Jackson really shows us the magic not seen in his LOTR films. 5/5. 5 stars
5/25/07 ebert best remake i've ever seen 5 stars
3/07/07 man just plain awesome 5 stars
3/06/07 Peter Jaxon fan holy rap that mvie was great 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Peter Jackson turns Kong from a monster to a really respected Hollywood image. 5 stars
2/11/07 Austin Wertman Overlong but friggin Awesome 5 stars
1/23/07 Pete 200 MILLION DOLLARS 1 stars
1/03/07 steve newman Great acting, great special effects, shame it was 30 minutes too long - still go see!! 4 stars
12/12/06 Dude Best remake ever 5 stars
11/02/06 stacy this was the first film I actually walked out of 1 stars
10/18/06 David Pollastrini a bit slow in places but still great. 5 stars
9/19/06 PD Ridiculous abuse of "extending disbelief". 1 stars
9/16/06 Benny best movie i`ve ever seen!!! 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist One of the greatest rehashes& is a another product of CGI perfection.Very true to the story 5 stars
7/11/06 JM Synth Outstanding moments, but Jackson REALLY needs to start curbing his excesses 3 stars
7/08/06 Anthony Feor Jackson just wants to make the audience sit for 3 hours 1 stars
6/27/06 joe koski watch it,it rock!!!! 5 stars
6/25/06 Brian O'Neill Staggeringly huge in scale and still emotionally resonant (i.e. I agree with the reviewer!) 5 stars
6/23/06 exa one of the worst movies I've ever seen 1 stars
6/12/06 Michael Great review, thought the movie was fun! 4 stars
6/12/06 Ginger Terrible movie. CGI unimpressive 1 stars
6/07/06 Peggy Doty Pretty good 4 stars
6/04/06 Adam overated cgi overload 3 stars
6/03/06 Wipef Awesome!!!!!Totally rocked! I loved it!!!!! 5 stars
5/30/06 Bryan McAllister best fx ive seen in a movie ever 5 stars
5/24/06 Jason Watchable, but forgetable movie. Overhyped by some critics 3 stars
5/14/06 Indrid Cold Supremely well made extended action sequences, but didn't leave me in awe. 4 stars
5/02/06 Reklc Fun and well made.:real craftsmanship! 5 stars
5/02/06 Ashley Hinz Surprisingly well worth a look, but too long to buy. 4 stars
4/27/06 CHris I thought it was great, much better than that one with the dude in the ape suit LOL 5 stars
4/27/06 Quigley see this film for Skull Island alone. Easily some of cinema's most spetacular action ever. 5 stars
4/27/06 nora Grreat fun- 5 stars
4/27/06 Gabs worth watching once, but dodgy bits and pieces mar its quality. 4 stars
4/24/06 Danny Fell asleep several times during first hour, but the latter two are really entertaining 4 stars
4/24/06 Anthony Feor This movie is a downe 3 stars
4/22/06 Poopy Woopy Awesome! 5 stars
4/17/06 Yorkee Too long, Too loud - Too Much!! 2 stars
4/15/06 Matt He's using a hand-cranked camera because he doesn't have a sound man. Or electricity. Duh. 2 stars
4/15/06 TreeTiger One of the best - if not *the* best - movie of 2005... 5 stars
4/14/06 Aldo first hour is abit too slow for my liking.....but the rest is really enjoyable 4 stars
4/12/06 Reja fantastic effects while sticking to the original. 5 stars
4/09/06 stuart just a stupid gorrila 1 stars
4/02/06 Quigley it's not every day you see action sequences and CGI this amazing. incredible film 5 stars
4/01/06 othree The '30s meets The Mummy meets Jurassic Park meets Jane Goodall, not enough heart. 4 stars
3/31/06 millersxing it's a spectacle, but it's not spectacular 4 stars
3/31/06 Nobody Really exciting movie, amazing FX 5 stars
3/29/06 Mark Radburn What the Fuck is with you people, King Kong sucks Donkey Shit 1 stars
3/28/06 John it's really long and self indulgent - my least favorite King Kong version by far 2 stars
3/23/06 mike 1st hour was a yawn -but trex fight scene kicked ass 4 stars
3/18/06 Elizabeth Long but worth it 5 stars
3/12/06 Roderick Cromar This film is too long and repetetive. 4 stars
3/09/06 Dk Great FX and story but the timing of the film is ill judged 5 stars
3/04/06 chris f very good film very enjoyable 5 stars
2/26/06 Steven Lewis Too long but great special FX 3 stars
2/19/06 Tanya EXCELLENT MOVIE great effects 5 stars
2/11/06 Quigley the movie has moments that are simply spetacular. this is one awesome flick 5 stars
2/09/06 Dave Good but not really 3 stars
2/05/06 Anthony Feor Extremely long and extremely good 4 stars
1/26/06 Yorkee Too Long, Too Loud, TOO MUCH!! - Naomi was the saviour. 2 stars
1/25/06 John feels bloated and shallow at the same time 1 stars
1/25/06 LP Quagmire Stands proudly next to Paramount's KONG as one of the all-time monster movie greats. 5 stars
1/24/06 emil a long,boring film.a monkey-rampage in new york and a nonexistent love story. 2 stars
1/22/06 Cock THEY MADE A FILM ABOUT MY PENIS AND DID NOT GIVE ME CREDIT. MOTHERFUCKERS. 5 stars
1/21/06 Melissa Best Animal Movie Ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/19/06 Mike Pulido Cut out the first hour of this film and the bronto stampede and this would be a great movie 4 stars
1/16/06 john bale Overblown but spectacular homage to the orginal with a few moments of great cinema. 4 stars
1/14/06 chris f fabulous movie 5 stars
1/12/06 Perry Mason Silly, long, bloated, amazing. I loved it. 5 stars
1/10/06 Mark Radburn What is wrong with you idiots, This film sucks. Stick to the Original King Kong 1 stars
1/09/06 George Bloated. There just isn't enough story to fill three hours. Save something for the DVD cut. 3 stars
1/09/06 kmdewitt take 1.5 HOURS to get to the King Kong Island!!! Comp Graphics good, but too darn LONG!!! 4 stars
1/07/06 Dirty South way too long and boring. YAWN 1 stars
1/04/06 Quigley I am so glad you people aren't real critics. this movie is like LOTR: endlessly spetacular 5 stars
1/04/06 Elisa G Since I am so in awe of the original, I could not betray it by giving it the highest mark! 4 stars
1/04/06 XYX This film only goes to show how far the rot has gone in Hollywood. 2 stars
1/04/06 m Pickles Christ sucks 5 stars
1/03/06 Daniel Cardone Unforgivably and needlesly LONG! 3 stars
1/03/06 Pickles Christ not one bloated minute of this crapfest went without some dumbass absurd bullshit. 1 stars
1/03/06 John has more of a "Pete's Dragon" than "Beauty and the Beast" take on the story 2 stars
1/03/06 Mark Radburn Stick to the Original King Kong 1 stars
1/02/06 Mark Way to go,Daisy! 1 stars
1/01/06 sharon asay excellent. made me actually feel that this could happen! 5 stars
1/01/06 Jim Good, but not Lord of the Rings good. 4 stars
1/01/06 Gray could have better but still 5 stars
1/01/06 Smitty Finally we understand the relationship between Ann and Kong - movie is just a bit too long 4 stars
12/31/05 Quigley one of the best films of the year. entertaining to the last minute. jaw-dropping action 5 stars
12/31/05 Tanya EXCELLENT MOVIE great effects 5 stars
12/30/05 tony 3 and a half hours of brilliant action with a cheezy love story 4 stars
12/27/05 Taylor Fladgate A "spectacle" of a movie, a must see...but too long. 4 stars
12/27/05 Daisy What a piece of crap!!! 1 stars
12/26/05 Bubba I like big monkeys 2 stars
12/26/05 Zack Worth seeing/renting 3 stars
12/26/05 Oscar Xauraux Better at half the length. Much digression. 2 stars
12/25/05 Ben Knapton Totally unbelieveable action scenes (a guy punches a raptor) mindless action scenes. crap. 1 stars
12/25/05 John overindulgent - bad script - only a few good moments 2 stars
12/24/05 Tom Total overkill. Rent the original. 3 stars
12/24/05 Todd Great movie! I laughed, cried and almost puked (bugs). Fucking Awesome!!! 5 stars
12/24/05 ravin a cinematic masterpiece of the decade 5 stars
12/23/05 Sheila Very disappointing. Laughed and slept! 2 stars
12/23/05 Green Gremlin Anyone who doesn't like this movie is impossible to please !!!! 5 stars
12/23/05 God Awesome!!! Those who hate it were probably expecting mindless action crap like Godzilla! 5 stars
12/23/05 harry terrible film.Awful CGI and 2 hours of monsters fighting each other.Ughh!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
12/23/05 Quigley what is wrong with you people? this movie was amazing and monumental in about every way. 5 stars
12/23/05 Flounder A kinetic, edge of your seat, old fashioned weepie flick with a touch of self-indulgence 5 stars
12/23/05 Z-man Total Crap! 1 stars
12/23/05 haha "looks like a video gam,e"ummm sure dont u mean the starwars films! 5 stars
12/23/05 Rob Over-long, megacliched..but a great cure for insomnia 1 stars
12/23/05 katsat Side characters overdone, but chemistry and sweetness were heart-breaking. 5 stars
12/22/05 Mike V Looks like a video game. CGI abused. 2 stars
12/22/05 Manuel San Miguel Jackson’s King Kong is amazing, thrilling, tender, and a loving homage to Coopers' original 5 stars
12/22/05 MrsVoorheesBabyBoy Great EFX, Great Story and Jack played a great asshole 5 stars
12/21/05 Danny Boy Less would be more--much more! 2 stars
12/21/05 Agent Sands Jack Black's performance of one of my favorite film characters of 2005 is the best part. 4 stars
12/21/05 Old Dirty Too long, bad casting, not enough NY scenes 2 stars
12/21/05 Ophidiophile The first hour drags, Jack Black and Adrien Brody are miscast terribly 2 stars
12/21/05 Wolf Jack Black is *horribly* miscast here, but Kong + effects were outstanding. 4 stars
12/20/05 Ryan slow start, great flick. pee beforehand. 4 stars
12/20/05 rory looked cartoonish. 1 stars
12/20/05 Billy Lyons too long, over-wrought, corny 2 stars
12/20/05 Titus A couple slightly slow/cheesy bits, but mostly SO AWESOME! 5 stars
12/20/05 Ha Ha Worst of the decade?? You're reaching JockAMundo. 5 stars
12/20/05 JockAMundo Special Effects great, but story, pacing, acting are awfull. Wost move of the decade. 1 stars
12/19/05 Flounder Flawed but great. I'll take this over just about anything else in the market 5 stars
12/19/05 Eden Overall brilliant - 3 hours have never passed so quickly 5 stars
12/19/05 Brian You people are ridiculous-- it's about 300 times better than I expected, great in every way 5 stars
12/19/05 Just Me 3+ hours of 100% crap 1 stars
12/19/05 Andrea Entertaining! Very impressive. 4 stars
12/19/05 deeza too long but brilliant - great chemistry naomi/ape 5 stars
12/19/05 Jack Farnsworth Fuckin awesome 5 stars
12/19/05 Klondo Jimmy & Mister Hayes sucked. Kong vs. 3 T-rexes was awesome. 4 stars
12/19/05 Ryland Johnson Jackson transforms the racist sentiments of 'Heart of Darkness' into 3 hours of nihilism. 2 stars
12/18/05 GoGo What the hell was that "Beauty and The Beast" on ice scene? Thumbs down. 2 stars
12/18/05 tim eyre agree with the above, what al load of balls this film is. 2 stars
12/18/05 Mark So-so.Drags on. If you like LOTR you'll prolly like this. 3 stars
12/18/05 michelle havent seen it 1 stars
12/18/05 Amy i haven't seen it 1 stars
12/18/05 Evil Wolfie Holy sweet crap, that was good!! Last scene kinda dragged on though. 4 stars
12/18/05 jcjs oh yes 5 stars
12/18/05 Quigley the movie is so amazing in every way. it reminds us why we see movies at all. bravo jackson 5 stars
12/18/05 E-Bu I actually checked my watch during the New York rampage(s). Almost every scene is too long. 3 stars
12/18/05 Michaelm I couldn't "care" about a CGI gorilla and didn't empathize w/ Ann/Kong after 2 dozen deaths 3 stars
12/17/05 mason Corny as piss but still likeable, better than the dumb-ass Lord Of The Rings trilogy. 3 stars
12/17/05 Adam Reviewer correct on specific points, but on balance this is a great movie 4 stars
12/17/05 BoyInTheDesignerBubble Simple lesson. Never take a Shiksa with you to the top. The man will always shoot you down! 4 stars
12/17/05 Rick B Reviewer is correct and right on the money. I wanted to like it but it was too damaged. 3 stars
12/17/05 Robert E. This is honestly the worst film I've paid to see in a long time. 2 stars
12/17/05 chris brilliant movie 5 stars
12/17/05 Richard Gere Balls 1 stars
12/17/05 Bob Dog The Emperor Has No Clothes! 1 stars
12/17/05 jeff nelus Weak 2 stars
12/16/05 Dan I largely agree with Cornelius, but Jackson does a great job of making Kong sympathetic. 3 stars
12/16/05 Steve Eckert Haven't had a more significant experience in a theater since "Star Wars" . 5 stars
12/16/05 neoloand the best 5 stars
12/16/05 malcolm like 3 separate stories weaved seamlessly. never felt long. 5 stars
12/16/05 gim I absolutely agree with David Cornelius 2 stars
12/16/05 Kristina Williams I cried my EYES out and got dizzy as hell all at once 5 stars
12/16/05 Darren Shea A suprisingly moving update of a classic, and the most convincing Kong ever! 5 stars
12/16/05 van zwaar poor joe some jelous starwars fan...faggot 5 stars
12/16/05 Ha Ha Ohhhhhh mama! 5 stars
12/15/05 ES Easily one of the ten best of all time 5 stars
12/15/05 ........... Good Movie 5 stars
12/15/05 The Jiz Yo This unequivocably is the most entertaining thing I have seen in a looooong time. 5 stars
12/15/05 gyro An embarrassment of riches for the audience. Maybe too much for some people. 5 stars
12/15/05 Giacomo This is pure escapist entertainment at its finest. 5 stars
12/15/05 Ape Law Mess with the white women and the Man will gun you down! 5 stars
12/15/05 Joe bleh 1 stars
12/14/05 ew good stuff 5 stars
12/14/05 Kipster Fun Fun Fun Fun Fun! Did I mention that this movie is a blast???? See it....now. 5 stars
12/14/05 Craig Holy mother of Kong 5 stars
12/14/05 Tyrantis Even the T.rex lover in my loved it. Awesome does not do it justice. 5 stars
12/14/05 Carlton entertainment at it's best not appealing only to folks innately dissatisfied profoudly wow 5 stars
12/14/05 Anusman Holy Crap Peter Jackson!!! You just keep topping yourself!! I even cried once or twice... 5 stars
12/14/05 Flounder One of the most fun experiences I have ever had at the movies. 5 stars
12/13/05 M.F. some fun, but bloated and overlong 3 stars
12/13/05 farnqwo The pre release hype and Peter Jackson's new haircut = 3 stars
12/13/05 doa766 cinematic bliss 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Dec-2005 (PG-13)
  DVD: 14-Nov-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  14-Dec-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast