Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.34

Awesome50%
Worth A Look: 42%
Just Average: 2%
Pretty Crappy: 4%
Sucks: 2%

1 review, 44 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Stripes
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Lee Harvey! You are a madman!"
4 stars

A classic comedy, with great lines and solid performances.

Ah, Bill Murray. Where have you gone?

Murray plays John Winger, who, on a lark, decides to join the Army, taking his friend Russ (Harold Ramis) along with him. Neither realize what it's going to be like.

They've got the prerequisite sadistic drill sergeant, Sgt. Hulka (Warren Oates), a clueless leader (John Larroquette) and the usual band of ragtag soldiers backing them up, including John Candy's Dewey Oxburger ("My friends call me Ox. I dont know if you've noticed, but I got a slight weight problem.").

Loaded with some of the best lines in comedy, plus Murray and his comrades singing "Do Wah Diddy," Stripes is one of those movies you have to have seen numerous times to really truly appreciate. It gets a little weird when Murray and Ramis must take a new Army weapon ("a fully armed RV!") into a foreign country to rescue their platoon, but it's still pretty funny.

The plot isn't exactly the best, but who cares? It's funny.

You could do worse, even as Bill Murray comedies go.

Light on plot, but full of laughs (and mud wrestling!).

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1371&reviewer=7
originally posted: 12/11/98 10:40:33
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/06/17 Suzanne Sill funny today, even with the Soviet Union gone 4 stars
8/23/12 Ed Great side splitting fun. 4 stars
1/11/11 PAUL SHORTT PREDICTABLE, MEDIOCRE COMEDY 2 stars
7/07/09 *Holy_J@lapeno* Ahaha very silly. A pretty goofy movie but will have you laughing. Bill murrys best movie! 4 stars
7/12/08 John Millheim Fuuny classic movie, seen it about 50 times 5 stars
3/17/08 kowface Two movies in one-Great laughs. 5 stars
2/17/08 Pamela White Bill is in his forte, that's a fact Jack 5 stars
8/18/07 WereJohnCandy All together now....Murray! Murray! Murray! 5 stars
10/28/06 Ron only one word, CLASSIC 5 stars
10/24/06 Roger Murray Rocks, Candy is King! 5 stars
3/27/06 Brian Meyer A TRUE GUY'S FILM. YOU'LL LAUGH YOUR ASS OFF!!! 5 stars
10/11/05 Tom Burns Hilarious! 5 stars
8/25/05 ES Great movie, silly last half hour 4 stars
6/14/05 Ross Just Amasing 5 stars
6/30/04 DM Not nearly as funny as I thought it would be, but still pretty good 4 stars
6/15/04 chief_99_99 I watched it tonight and it's not as funny as it seemed in 1981, but it's worth a look. 4 stars
4/16/04 Morally Sound A classic! 5 stars
9/19/03 Kitty B. my man bill murray 5 stars
8/30/03 Kitty Kelso Pigs will fly when someone says that this aint the best Murray Flick ever!! 5 stars
8/28/03 R.W. Welch A little slack in spots but finishes well. Has some good lines. 4 stars
5/01/03 Taylor Fladgate Best comedy ever made! 5 stars
1/12/03 Jack Sommersby Top-10 comedies. So much fun, so many laughs. Murray is a revelation. 5 stars
12/08/02 Allen Best Murray flick! 5 stars
9/27/02 Tom Fleeman A Bill Murray mainstay that still provides huge belly laughs. 5 stars
7/21/02 JesseL Bill Murray, John Candy, Sean Young. What more could you ask for? 5 stars
7/18/02 Dark Barøn Ahhh.... vintage Murray 4 stars
10/15/01 Andrew Carden Totally Laughless and Stupid Movie That Has No Plot and Goes Nowhere. 1 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Bill Murray at his funniest. This movie never stops producing laughter. 5 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat Bill Murray is awesome. 4 stars
5/30/01 Chevy Murray any movie with judge reinhold is an automatic classic . . . even if he isn't masturbating 5 stars
2/06/01 Turtle Hilarious! Ramis's and Murray's best work, aside from Ghostbusters. 5 stars
2/05/01 Classicdog Not a classic, but a damn funny movie. Murray is fuckin' hilarious. 4 stars
1/14/01 Sklorsh A great comedy flick, you'll laugh through the whole thing. 5 stars
4/16/00 JDC "No, we aren't homosexuals, but we ARE willing to learn!" 4 stars
1/22/00 Cam Funny as hell! 5 stars
11/04/99 Karahde Khan Pretty forgettable, and not a classic at all. 2 stars
7/09/99 Ben Leostein Rating: **½ (out of ****) Category: "Above Average" 4 stars
7/05/99 Jay Juba One of my top 5 stupid comedies with Animal House, Airplane, Cadyshack & Blues Brothers 5 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg Completely and utterly falls apart after they graduate. "Full Metal Jacket" on crack. 3 stars
5/10/99 Beachlovr9 So Damn Funny! 5 stars
2/02/99 Angus Ok maybe it aint art but its a lot of fun 4 stars
1/20/99 jvt It's funny and that's the fact, jack 5 stars
11/23/98 Silent Rob Most folks know all the lines by heart. A classic cast and a classic comedy! 4 stars
11/23/98 Lord Of The Dunce A funny movie. Bill Murray needs to get back to roles like this. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Jun-1981 (R)
  DVD: 07-Jun-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1982 (M)


Directed by
  Ivan Reitman

Written by
  Len Blum
  Daniel Goldberg

Cast
  Bill Murray
  Harold Ramis
  Warren Oates
  P.J. Soles
  Sean Young
  John Candy



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast