Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.56

Awesome78.19%
Worth A Look: 11.11%
Just Average: 2.47%
Pretty Crappy: 4.94%
Sucks: 3.29%

7 reviews, 201 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Shining, The (1980)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Evil in daylight."
5 stars

One thing to consider about Stanley Kubrick's "The Shining" is that it's no more a horror movie than "2001" was a science-fiction movie. Past a certain point in his career, Kubrick didn't make genre films he made Kubrick films.

Kubrick said he was drawn to Stephen King's 1977 novel because he'd "always been interested in ESP and the paranormal," but also because he was intrigued by King's balancing act between what could be the supernatural and what could be merely the product of a faltering mind. Is that truly what the movie expresses, though? Not really not to me, anyway. Kubrick seems to use The Shining as a jumping-off point to explore a pet theme: man locked into certain behavior patterns, for no logical reason and with no escape. Beginning with, say, Lolita, Kubrick treated each new film as a chapter in his ongoing epic novel about how humans are imperfectly wired machines, programmed to do the same stupid, destructive things over and over. The Shining is just chapter six.

King's story could be called nervously autobiographical Jack Torrance is a failed alternate-universe King, a King who wrote anguished Freudian plays and didn't make it. Jack, who grew up under the thumb of an alcoholic and abusive father, has watched himself helplessly turn into the same thing. Most of the time he has enough self-awareness to stay his hand, though he has a temper, which he once turned against his young son Danny without really meaning to. Then again, I'm sure Jack's father "didn't really mean to" beat the shit out of Jack's mother on a regular basis, either. Such men don't land here from another planet; they have demons unleashed by the bottle. The metaphysical terrors in King's The Shining work as a metaphor for the pressures on a man who is trying terribly hard to be a decent husband and father and feels himself inexorably sliding into failure.

It helps to bring the knowledge of King's book into Kubrick's movie, because Kubrick doesn't bend over backwards to establish most of Jack's backstory. Jack was King's avatar, not Kubrick's. If anything, Kubrick's avatar is the Overlook, the isolated hotel where Jack brings his wife Wendy and their son for the winter so that Jack can make a few bucks as the hotel's caretaker. It isn't long at least in the movie's compressed timeline before the family turns and faces the strange. Danny, who's psychically sensitive, has already had visions of epic gore the famous shot of the elevator doors opening to pour out torrents (Torrance) of blood. He has a helpful imaginary (?) friend who shows him these things Tony, who speaks through Danny's finger and lives in his mouth.

In the early scenes, Kubrick and the actors Jack Nicholson as Jack, Shelley Duvall as Wendy, Danny Lloyd as Danny set up the dynamic. Nicholson's performance has been criticized because his Jack seems not too far away from ax-swinging mania right at the start. But Kubrick, a shrewd man, knew that Nicholson's persona would serve as shorthand. With Nicholson in the role, we know Jack is smart; we know he's familiar with darkness. We see Jack trying gamely to play the role of husband and father; we don't sense much love between him and his family. This Jack is a bit further down the road to damnation than King's Jack was. We feel that Jack just wants to be left alone to do his writing. He's doing the husband and father thing because that's what men are expected to do.

The vast rooms and hallways of the Overlook mock Jack's narrow imagination. He, too, has a bit of "shining," but he uses it to generate visions of temptation to lust (the woman in 237), drink (Lloyd the bartender), and finally murder (Grady, a previous caretaker who butchered his family with an ax). The question: are the "ghosts" real or just psychological projections? This seems to be definitively answered when, after Jack has tried to attack Wendy and she has locked him in a kitchen cooler, Grady visits him and seems to unlock the door unless Jack also has previously-unknown telekinetic powers (something, of course, not alien to King's metaphysics).

Kubrick takes his time. Of all Kubrick's drawn-out late-period films, The Shining feels the longest, though there's a buzz of strange amusement in all those lengthy pauses, a kind of narcotized fixation. When Jack encounters (or imagines) Grady in a men's room, their conversation goes on for so long that I think we're supposed to take it as a mini-play Jack is writing in his head, stopping between every line to think about what each character should say next. The entire massive Overlook is Jack's head, full of chambers of sin and viciousness, and a maze outside to get lost in. In this meta-universe, the entire movie could be unfolding in Jack's brain, the real play he's writing while his meta-self produces nothing but page after page of gibberish.

I said The Shining isn't a horror film. Rather, I see it as an anti-horror film. Even given that Kubrick tended to explode genre, The Shining confounds expectations at almost every turn, with almost no jump scares indeed, King complained that Kubrick blows an opportunity for a good seat-jumper when Jack discovers Wendy snooping through his "work." Kubrick prefers to creep you out in other ways; he lets the music (score by Wendy Carlos and Rachel Elkind, with needle-drops from Penderecki, Ligeti and others) do a lot of heavy lifting, particularly in the celebrated scene when Danny has his cautionary meeting with the ghastly Grady girls. Penderecki's "De Natura Sonoris No.1" shivers and shrieks as the girls issue their invitation: They want him to play with them. Forever and ever and ever.

There's something formally off about the movie, some indefinable tension between subject matter and style. Kubrick the rationalist doesn't put much stock in ooga-booga. He stays with the harsh, near-operatic emotions dredged up by the frustrated, cooped-up Nicholson and the cowed, insecure Duvall it seems unlikely that such high-strung parents could produce a son like Danny, who as played by Danny Lloyd seems to have popped a Valium before each take. There's soothing warmth in Scatman Crothers' performance as the avuncular Dick Hallorann, the hotel cook who shares Danny's powers, and even Barry Nelson as the Overlook's manager Stuart Ullman is much more affable than the "officious little prick" King described. Even Anne Jackson in a brief bit as the doctor who gives Danny a check-up is a calming presence. Once the family is isolated from all these outside people, they're thrown back on themselves. Jack gets weaker, succumbing to the Overlook's promise of power, while Wendy gets stronger.

I always find it amusing that Kubrick, like a boy with a new toy, uses the then-recently-developed Steadicam to follow Danny on his Big Wheel, riding across carpeting and hardwood floor alternately, making that unaccountably satisfying brrrrr-clunk brrrrr-clunk sound. Danny glides around the mazelike Overlook halls naturally a boy knows what to do with a maze. For Kubrick himself, The Shining is a maze, a series of technical problems to be mastered; it's gorgeously lit and composed. Pauline Kael, in her bewildered review, asked "Who wants to see evil in daylight, through a wide-angle lens?" Well, evil doesn't always abide by the clock.

Kubrick the perfectionist allowed a lot of disorienting details and contradictory information into the movie, as if the narrative were as jumbled and untrustworthy as Jack's perceptions. Kael refers to a jarring cut to a television in Hallorann's motel room, "as if the projectionist made a mistake," but such a jarring transition is part of the design. Kubrick obviously knew it would have that effect; The Shining is loaded with such what-the-fuck? moments, including, legendarily, the contextless shot of a man in a dog suit preparing to fellate a man in a tuxedo. In the book, we're told who these men are; in the movie, it comes so far out of left field that I can't fathom how it plays for those who haven't read the novel. (Maybe it's creepier if you don't know.) Some of the film's mysteries can be traced back to King; some can't. I've seen The Shining read as a metaphor for everything from the Holocaust to the genocide of Native Americans; in other words, eternal evil, endlessly playing itself out. Jack, or man, has always been "the caretaker" (murderer).

The Shining is an intense and not always ingratiating experience, a natural bookend to 2001, which also took a simple story and expanded its concerns far beyond narrative and even conventional "entertainment." I've never watched Kubrick's shorter version, which comes in at under two hours, as opposed to the 142-minute cut familiar to American viewers. But my guess is that the film loses much of its odd, arid gravitas at a shorter length. (Most of the scenes Kubrick took out had to do with the outside world.) The Shining is a perverse epic in which Kubrick dawdles over his beloved "phatic dialogue" and short-shrifts the stuff most viewers want: easy, "relatable" ways into characters, consistent story logic (the backstory we're given changes according to the teller), catharsis. Kubrick just throws us into the deep end and expects us to swim. Many will get out of the pool resentfully; others will dive deeper to see what they can see.

Is the movie "scary"? In an interiorized headspace way, yes, but also in a maximalist philosophical way. The tiny humans blundering around in Kubrick's maze are insignificant to the design. Murder, or redrum (booze as lifeblood?), flows eternally. Sometimes brains and courage can ward it off. Most often, not. The weirdest thing about this exceedingly weird movie is how the Overlook seems to be a microcosm and a mindscape at the same time, but then this is a film full of doubles and mirrors, so everything in it is something and something else, including the film itself. It is a horror film and it isn't.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1383&reviewer=416
originally posted: 07/10/09 22:22:31
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/29/16 morris campbell no its not faithfull 2 the book but its still great 5 stars
3/30/15 stanley welles a spellbinding horror epic 5 stars
12/10/12 Jilly Wildly overrated. Nothing happens, just camera operators walking around. 1 stars
6/05/11 the truth kubrick does horror. a hallmark of the genre 5 stars
2/19/11 Ark Saw it at age 19 and scary as hell! 5 stars
11/16/10 ant and rich (In film studies) Classic film! Not quite what Stephen King envisioned, But a masterpiece never the less! 5 stars
11/15/10 Chad Dillon Cooper Great film from a great film maker 5 stars
11/09/10 Steve Benkin i have never understood the high acclaim this gets. Left me cold. 2 stars
1/12/10 Jeff Wilder Ridiculous and changes A LOT from the book. But still good. 4 stars
1/07/10 BOB THE BEST! 5 stars
10/03/09 art OVERRATED!,NICHOLSON IS SO HAMMY! 1 stars
10/01/09 brian The perfect horror film. Bone-chilling. 5 stars
9/20/09 Aaron Direction and acting are great, but pacing and script are uneven. 3 stars
7/29/09 Knightfox21 CLASSIC!!!! A true representation of what a horror film should be! 5 stars
7/23/09 Steven M The best horror ever made! good eerie creepy music!! jack nicholson at his best!! great! 5 stars
7/14/09 faiche13 Creepy kids, axe wielding psycho, anorexic Shelley Duvall - what more could you ask for? 5 stars
7/13/09 FrankNFurter A clausterphobic, pervasively creepy masterpiece.Goosebumps galore! 5 stars
7/08/09 art A SICKO MOVIE! 1 stars
2/25/09 PAUL SHORTT GRANDIOSE GHOST STORY, BRILLIANTLY MADE 4 stars
9/22/08 don Great 5 stars
5/13/08 John Jack Nicholson is the shit and this movie is the balls 5 stars
11/03/07 jake My favorite horror movie, one of the scarriest films ever made, great cinematography 5 stars
6/12/07 al smith very scary nicholson gives the greatest performance ever 5 stars
5/18/07 fools♫gold Thegreatesthorrorflick, indeed (that'snottosay manydon't matchuptoit). Bttr thn the "Dr." 5 stars
4/13/07 zenshark It's horror for the brain... and it works. 5 stars
4/04/07 LoveShining Absolutely the best horror ever made. Goes directly to your psyhce and not to your stomach. 5 stars
2/23/07 George Enjoyed the sense something was going to go awfully wrong and the build up towards it. 5 stars
2/05/07 David Pollastrini brilliant, frightening 5 stars
12/22/06 Quigley didn't scare me, but it was pretty creepy. music ruined it sometimes. Nicholson was amazing 4 stars
11/19/06 chris. duvall SUCKS. lloyd is okay (his only movie, he's just a kid). nicholson is phenomenal. 5 stars
11/10/06 Bill Hi all 2 stars
10/29/06 Homer J. Fong about as scary as a fluffy orange kitten 2 stars
8/17/06 Nix the music makes the movie scary as hell 5 stars
7/13/06 David Cohen Actually improved on the book in my opinion 5 stars
6/25/06 George Scared the hell out of me 5 stars
6/21/06 TB Nicholson was the best 4 stars
6/18/06 marysue great!!!!! 5 stars
6/15/06 Josh Racine The best horror movie ever! 5 stars
6/11/06 Billy So good it scares the hell out of me 5 stars
4/30/06 John So scary I shit my self.......LITERALLY!!!!! 5 stars
4/28/06 TERRY AWESOME AND SCARY 5 stars
4/21/06 Jack This is an Awesome horror film 5 stars
3/12/06 Joshua W. Great thriller, a classic 5 stars
12/22/05 MrsVoorheesBabyBoy Still one of the Greatest horror movies ever 5 stars
12/21/05 Ethan M. "Here's Jonny!" A classical horro film. 4 stars
12/20/05 Carolyn Rathburn Classic Nicholson, eerie, good movie 5 stars
12/10/05 chris brilliant movie nicholson actually made me beleive he was mad thats how good he played it!! 5 stars
11/20/05 John Dog "Here's Johnny!!!" 5 stars
11/11/05 zeitgeist Kubrick owns King 5 stars
11/05/05 Ben Best horror movie ever! 5 stars
11/05/05 farnqwo aler 5 stars
11/03/05 Meryl read the book... it's much scarier. Even the remake is much scarier. 1 stars
10/15/05 Moctezuma A true horror classic 5 stars
9/28/05 Ape It is a masterpiece, this movie is a must see if you haven't already, 5 stars
9/25/05 The Overlooker Scary as hell! 5 stars
9/12/05 Total Crap Oh My GOD. The Little Girls, the Crazy Lady in Room 217, Scary Shit. Nightmarish! 5 stars
9/01/05 Tom Burns Very creepy, and very good. 5 stars
8/25/05 Michael no no no 1 stars
8/22/05 Isaac Baranoff Of course, it's not faithful to the book, but it's a great Stanley Kubrick film! 5 stars
8/22/05 Martin a true masterpiece of eeire, inexplicable terror! brilliant! 5 stars
8/19/05 ES The saving grace of this movie is jack's dementia, his ghostly conversations are hilarious 4 stars
8/05/05 Pierre Masterpiece! 5 stars
6/21/05 rachel schauer its totaly creepy 5 stars
6/11/05 Manu Ginobli woot 5 stars
6/10/05 Anthony G Masterpiece, its jack nicholson for fucks sake! 5 stars
5/25/05 Jake A Horror movie masterpiece 5 stars
2/22/05 robin de loxley great film 4 stars
2/15/05 Wilt Chamberlin Heeeeeeere's Stephen King! 5 stars
12/15/04 kelly! adair! wohoooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/08/04 Kristina Williams Jack fucking Nicholson 5 stars
10/29/04 HL So Bizarre and Nicholsen Too. Not for Everyone. 4 stars
10/25/04 some guy My favorite horror movie, just the atmosphere makes you want to crap your pants 5 stars
10/23/04 UMER jack is at his sinister best and the movie really SCARES 5 stars
9/05/04 henro wonderful 5 stars
9/02/04 T.B. This Movie make me laugh 4 stars
7/02/04 nortika great horror flik. 5 stars
6/27/04 john bale Manic Jack with unnerving soundtrack and disturbing visuals. One of few great Horror movies 5 stars
6/27/04 FIN A Classic. Good Horror, Brilliant Screenplay, Jack Nicholson's performance is amazing! 5 stars
6/18/04 J HERES JOHNNY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/12/04 Monster W. Kung Unbeatable for atmosphere, good not great as a story. Way better than King's crapola, tho. 4 stars
4/26/04 Ryan The best horror flick ever made 5 stars
4/10/04 valerie hart fantastic film one of the best and creepiest fils ever made!!!! 5 stars
4/07/04 Sig "Here's Johnny!" - Jack Nicholson, 1980 "The Shining" 5 stars
4/01/04 re a great film 5 stars
3/30/04 American Slasher Goddess Excellent horror classic. 5 stars
3/23/04 Lord Haw Haw Brilliant psychological horror. Excellent all around. 5 stars
3/22/04 Trannon Goble One of My Favorite 10 Films 5 stars
3/20/04 movieguy a great film 5 stars
2/24/04 Dr.Lecter So chilling it's nearly hypothermic 4 stars
1/30/04 gretchen gamey Have watched it many times,Really creepy 5 stars
1/27/04 Helios Those morons who love "The Ring" so much need to stop by and feel the true power. 5 stars
1/26/04 Eric Olive oil almost ruined this movie.I would have rather seen Pam Grier.Thank God For Jack. 4 stars
12/02/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. Jack Nicholson at his best. Makes you wanna bash the f*** in somebodys head! 5 stars
12/01/03 Pin Steadycam + The Arbus Twins 5 stars
11/27/03 John a bit long winded perhaps but the good parts are some of the best you'll ever see 5 stars
11/06/03 Samuel One of the greatest films of all time... 5 stars
11/05/03 American Slasher Goddess One scary rollercoaster ride. 5 stars
10/19/03 Josh Standlee When you are in the mood for a good horror fest, look no further, my friend. 5 stars
9/21/03 Darryl Best adaption of a King story. A classic. 5 stars
8/24/03 Allison H. This is an awesome movie, SCARY!! 5 stars
7/11/03 Indrid Cold I love Stan the Man, but it's thoroughly unscary. (He's IN THE PICTURE, gasp!) 3 stars
7/03/03 Dave Hopman Good movie, although Stephen King's mini-series (1997) was far superior! 4 stars
6/18/03 Francisco Lombo much more than a horror movie, a master piece on the problem of evil, thoroughly excellent 5 stars
6/13/03 Alice One of the greatest 5 stars
4/19/03 defranco71 Not only one of the best horror movies, but one of the best movies ever. 5 stars
4/18/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Here's Johnny! 5 stars
4/17/03 Andrew Carden Nicholson Is Over-The-Top, The Film Is Overlong...but Still Pretty Scary. Duvall Is Good. 3 stars
4/05/03 Zach Jack Sommersby: You're an idiot. 5 stars
2/14/03 Hi there Here's Johnny!!! 5 stars
2/04/03 TheChronic fucking fantastic 5 stars
1/23/03 Almira Gandhi Really good. Jack Nicholson adds a lot of comic relief. 5 stars
12/30/02 Jack Sommersby Never boring, but nonsensical and clunky as hell. Nicholson is a disgrace. 2 stars
12/14/02 R.W. Welch One of the few really spooky movies out there. Top drawer direction. 4 stars
12/13/02 the Grinch Overrated, but still a great watch. Not Kubrick's best, though... 4 stars
12/03/02 Aaron I love the freezer scene. Nicholson is nuts!!! 5 stars
11/24/02 Kyle Nicholson rules! Seriously, this is one of the best horror films ever! 5 stars
11/11/02 ricky charlesworth an excellent film 5 stars
11/09/02 Michael Bolton Nicholson kicks ass. 5 stars
11/04/02 Del Why does the bitchslap have so many fucking pop-ups. Now that sucks all ass. 5 stars
11/01/02 T Boring 2 stars
10/31/02 H.A.G I did not write that previous comment. It was just one of my "friends" being an asshole. 5 stars
9/19/02 Joe Angelucci What the fuck is in room 237??? 4 stars
7/10/02 .Choadushouse. One of the true classic horror films. And an example of a GOOD horror film, unlike Scream. 5 stars
7/09/02 Henry Ginsberg HAG I get boners from watching this film. OH YEAH. HARDER PLEASE. OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO 5 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi all work and no play makes jack a dull boy.... 4 stars
5/18/02 john waite check out the close up on jacks face in front of the fire...proper horror film 5 stars
5/15/02 Dark Baron Nicholson is the horror flick himself 5 stars
5/15/02 Brandon :D No TV and no beer make Homer something something... 5 stars
4/27/02 maximal01 Aaaaah...nothing like sex with a corpse...What? (read: this movie rocks). 5 stars
4/25/02 Charles Tatum Bloated and dull- like Kubrick himself 2 stars
4/06/02 Film Dude Whoa. See this, all of you. 5 stars
4/05/02 Imaginer Worth seeing only for its art direction. Don't believe the hype. It didn't scare me a bit. 3 stars
4/02/02 Ellisa Rhodes On The Edge of my seat 5 stars
3/16/02 K y L e One of the best horror movies ever made. 5 stars
2/24/02 Cat Creepy Fun! 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Nicholson was great. Duvall's shrieking was tiring. The book is better. 3 stars
2/15/02 murat Kubrick's only good film.Jack gives the role of his life. 5 stars
1/14/02 maja a film that you've got to see......the music is undescribable 4 stars
12/22/01 karlisha monday chillingly frightening to the soul no matter how many times you see it 5 stars
10/31/01 Tam A classic. The "Here's Johnny" scene really sticks in the mind. 5 stars
10/22/01 glenn rinker Best horror movie of all time. Kubrick was a genius. This movie plays with your mind. 5 stars
9/27/01 Henry Ginsberg Great music.Jack Nickolsen is the definitive psycho. 5 stars
9/23/01 Larry Smith NICHOLSON....Scared Shelly Duvall's wits out of her! 5 stars
9/22/01 Matthew Bartley took me 4 attempts to watch this all the way through.I've seen it scare grown men still 5 stars
8/30/01 I love movies if you see only one horror movie in your life... 5 stars
8/29/01 Gary Nicholson gets too hammy, but it doesn't spoil this tense, artistic and very creepy horror. 4 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Kubrick and Nicholson are both fucking briliant...don't miss this. 5 stars
8/03/01 Matt The only movie that can still scare the shit out of me after multiple viewings! 5 stars
7/05/01 Connoisseur actually is is quite funny (and also very scary... best horror film i've ever seen) 5 stars
6/22/01 JON so well done... simply a classic 5 stars
6/13/01 Bada Bing Crosby Opening scenes ALONE better than most full-length movies 5 stars
6/12/01 King Jackass j. mortell WHO SAID THIS MOVIE WAS FUNNY?! THE ONLY THING THATS FUNNY IS HOW DUMB YOU ARE!! 5 stars
5/09/01 the scarecrow J.MORTELL it isnt supposed to be funny retard 5 stars
4/29/01 Dom Corleone a masterpiece 5 stars
4/23/01 BGuha It's a Sunday Afternoon Movie 3 stars
4/03/01 j.mortell i didnt think this movie was that funny at all 1 stars
3/30/01 Erik North An epic horror film from Stanley Kubrick, a master. 5 stars
3/29/01 Scoogy My favorite motherfucking movie of all time 5 stars
3/22/01 TNT-6 Not Kubrick's best, but still very good. 4 stars
3/20/01 bterry Gotta love Nicholson! 5 stars
3/18/01 Beetlejuice Well...It's very.....homey. 5 stars
2/25/01 skye not my favorite kubrick, but loads of fun. 4 stars
2/18/01 Soggy Bottom Boy No, I'm not gonna hurtcha... I'm just gonna bash your fuckin brains in! 5 stars
2/16/01 Michael Nicholls Kubrick reworks King's haunted hotel novel as a very dark sitcom 5 stars
2/09/01 Golbez Simply the greatest horror movies of all time. 5 stars
2/05/01 Classicdog A Kubrick classic. Nicholson is awesome. 5 stars
1/21/01 scorekeeper words can not express how good this is. Trust me, you'll have a pillow over your eyes. 5 stars
1/15/01 Skip excellent 5 stars
1/12/01 A. Riopel Not scary at all, even if it's well done 4 stars
12/15/00 Winky YOIUSUCWK~ 1 stars
11/23/00 The EVIL Penguin My favorite horror film; Kubrick RULES! The mini series sucked. 5 stars
11/17/00 salvo Well done Stan, well done 5 stars
7/31/00 KLS One of the best pictures in history!! 5 stars
7/11/00 Matthew Bartley If you're not scared...you're dead 5 stars
5/09/00 charlie harrison a cult horror classic, Kubrick and Nicholson at their best!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/11/00 kohawk scariest film to date 5 stars
4/05/00 PSUshorti This movie is the epitome of what a horror film should be. Kubrick keeps our hearts racing. 5 stars
1/02/00 Nice Guy Eddie One of the best horror movies of all time, incredible acting, directing and camera work. 5 stars
12/18/99 Zeitgeist I first saw this movie when I was 5. Bad Idea. The twins still scare the shit out of me. 5 stars
12/17/99 Dick Laurent In my opinion this film is the scariest horror film currently in existense!! 5 stars
12/16/99 Fenris The dead, naked, fat lady frightens me. 5 stars
12/11/99 Tyson Stewart Just a fine, well-acted (Jack), and entertaining film, with a few unforgettable scenes! 5 stars
10/26/99 Karahde Khan Scariest movie ever. King disowns it, but I disown anything with a script written by King. 5 stars
10/23/99 Matthew White Awesome. Excellent film. 5 stars
9/16/99 strike Not one of kubrick's best, but still...IT'S KUBRICK!! 4 stars
9/13/99 K Pillsbury the twins!!nothing more needs to be said 5 stars
9/07/99 Glitter Berry A disgrace to anything and everything that made the book a classic. T-O-P-I-A-R-Y 1 stars
7/16/99 soccer_mum Classic Kubrik. Scared the bejesus outta me...Scarey in a good way...leave a nightlight on! 5 stars
7/11/99 Daria This movie scared me shitless. And I'm not scared easily at all... 5 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg Some people don't like this but I think it's a masterpiece in horror. Eerie and disturbing. 5 stars
6/27/99 Chris Gianaras Greatest horror movie ever made. Nicholson's over the top performance is dead on. 5 stars
6/22/99 Elizaveta eerieness... 5 stars
6/07/99 Elizaveta Kubrick strikes again!!! 4 stars
4/18/99 jimmy jam REDRUM---Rent me 5 stars
4/14/99 Jon Jackson Pretty classic, a little tedious, snoozer ending. 4 stars
4/06/99 tom scary, disturbing, fun for the whole family 5 stars
3/10/99 Go Swans Heeeeeerrrrrrreeeeeeee's Johnny! The late Kubrick's greatest. 5 stars
2/01/99 Matthew Bartley Pisses all over the Exorcist 5 stars
12/08/98 little jerry Feels like we're trapped in those rooms at the end of 2001.These two are Kubrick's greatest 5 stars
11/27/98 Mr.Pink Kubrick's worst movie AND it's still GOOD!! 4 stars
11/27/98 Lord Of The Dunce A seriously fucked up movie. Nicholson was awesome. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-May-1980 (R)
  DVD: 12-Jun-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-Nov-1980 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast