Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.93

Awesome46.43%
Worth A Look: 25.79%
Just Average: 13.1%
Pretty Crappy: 3.57%
Sucks: 11.11%

16 reviews, 156 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


V for Vendetta
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Remember, Remember - The First Tuesday In November ('00, '04)"
5 stars

V For Vendetta is the first true sign of hope for moviegoers everywhere this year. March has become that first ray of sunshine while studios dump garbage into January and February and people still flock to the theaters like homeless people starving for the most recent piece of maggot-covered bread. There’s a cheap metaphor-in-waiting to compare V’s actions in the film to taking back cinema, but his aspirations and the creators of this story have loftier goals. Vendetta’s politics are going to divide people, anger many and probably be misunderstood by more who see the surface but not the forest, trees nor why the occasional one needs to be torn down to save the others.

Back in the early years of the 17th century, Guy Fawkes was responsible for conspiring in the Gunpowder Plot, an attempted assassination of King James I by blowing up the House of Lords. Centuries later, graphic novelist Alan Moore would create the character of V, who in the dystopian society that London has become is waging a private war with intent on picking up where Fawkes left off. After saving the skin of network gopher, Evey (Natalie Portman in a terrific performance) from the hands of governmental curfew watchers, he invites her to witness his first act of destruction – blowing up Old Bailey to the tune of the 1812 overture blasting through the streets.

Evey unwittingly has now become a co-conspirator in his plot and is forced to go underground while Detective Finch (Stephen Rea) is under pressure to bring the perpetrators to justice. V takes to protecting Evey (her family the victim of the totalitarian blacklists) while now having an ear to bend with his rhetoric on what’s wrong with the country he purports to want to give back to the people. Like many dictators, Adam Sutler (John Hurt) rose to power through a campaign of fear – bringing to justice the culprits of catastrophic terrorist attacks on the people and then limiting their rights in the name of protecting them. If this all sounds vaguely familiar, post-2001, you may find V’s comments somewhat interesting.

Governments should fear it’s people,” and not the other way around suggests V, played to brilliant effect by Hugo Weaving despite being hidden behind a mask from beginning to end. The tortuous experiments performed on him as part of a government-sponsored program have left him scarred inside and out and now is extending his personal revenge as a rallying cry for the people who have also been guinea pigs in the fear mongering sponsored by Sutler. Early curfews lead to false media reports and exaggerations designed to control the thoughts of a society who believe they are just hours away from the next catastrophe. Add-in the outlawing of homosexuality and free-thinking and an Orwellian society starts to look flowery by comparison.

V For Vendetta is primarily a journey for two characters – Evey and Detective Finch. Despite her history, Evey is still skeptical about lending her neck out there for a cause which may not be the most pro-active course of action. Surely in someone’s mind, Timothy McVeigh believed in a cause in which violence was his only solution. When the statement is made that “the people need more than a building,” alarm bells are going to go off within every viewer. It may not be the finality you reach, but through the eyes of Evey and what Finch comes to discover about those he’s been fighting in the name of – there’s a greater power to what their actions symbolize in a world where patriotism and flags are their own symbol to something far more sinister.

Terrorist or revolutionary? You make the call. Agree or disagree, V For Vendetta is the first movie in some time to actually send a chill up my spine during the closing minutes and I suspect I won’t be the only one. It is not only a brave film, but an inspiring one calling to arms not those with weapons of any size destruction but those with a voice. It is their (or our) passion to recognize a wrong and use our constitutionally-granted voices to speak out against and ultimately correct it. Alan Moore, director James McTeigue and the Wachowski Bros. may be using the equivalent of bombs to slam home the point, but occasionally it takes a loud noise to wake us up.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=13855&reviewer=198
originally posted: 03/23/06 23:48:02
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2006 South By Southwest Film Festival For more in the 2006 South By Southwest Film Festival series, click here.
DC Characters: For more in the DC Characters series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2013 Boston SciFi Film Festival For more in the 2013 Boston Sci-Fi Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

9/16/17 morris campbell not bad at all 4 stars
3/10/15 Nik The story was built around its message, not vice versa 3 stars
7/04/11 Dr.Lao Entertaining but undistinguished entry into the done-to-death "future dictatorship" genre 3 stars
5/28/11 Shaun A Powerful vision that left me breathless and thoughtful. 5 stars
5/27/11 Toni I love this movie - definately one for our times 5 stars
3/27/11 Lenny Zane Ordinarily Natalie Portman could fascinate me for hours picking her nose, but THIS...Ugh! 1 stars
9/23/10 art V reminded me of THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA! 3 stars
3/02/10 KGBproduced Have I just seen a film or a Soviet reel leveling all ills on religion and the bourgoisie? 1 stars
1/29/10 art V FOR VERY BAD!,is more like it! 1 stars
11/22/09 Jeff Wilder Entertaining and frightening futuristic thriller. 5 stars
6/03/09 Tom Good Day. Let us so live that when we come to die even the undertaker will be sorry. Help m 3 stars
4/02/09 Gorgon Zola An unbelievably clunky snoozer. Angst driven, poorly scripted and painful acting by Portman 1 stars
2/12/09 Peter North I'd like to drop my dynamite in Evey's V....... 5 stars
8/18/08 Shaun Wallner This ones ok. 3 stars
8/03/08 Samantha Pruitt deep and awesome movie with a great story and acting! 4 stars
6/19/08 thismoviesucks most pretentious movie I've seen, terrible waste of time 1 stars
5/28/08 PAUL SHORTT VERY MUCH NON-RECOMMENDED 1 stars
5/25/08 zenny zestfully sticking it to the man 4 stars
3/24/08 emissario666 Good, but not as deep as the original 3 stars
2/28/08 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne How low hath Queen Amidala sunk -- unto sucking her own turds in this muck! 1 stars
12/07/07 yýlmaz perfect 5 stars
11/10/07 g webster not what I expected,extremely well done all around! 5 stars
11/08/07 il-Palazzo V is such a badass. 5 stars
7/09/07 Jubei Greatly written,one man's revenge turns a country against its dictators.Makes politics cool 5 stars
7/06/07 Greg Terrible movie 1 stars
7/03/07 Rocko Livingston Very very very nicely done! 5 stars
6/29/07 Mark Leonard Very surprised! Very well acted, superb music, gripped me all the the way through. 4 stars
6/18/07 rishy one of the greatest movies ever made. thought-provoking 5 stars
5/05/07 WCC Complete liberal propaganda. pot calling kettle black. 1 stars
4/12/07 Nessus Impressive, an action movie with a message 5 stars
2/26/07 Donny M People are stupid. Best story drivin movie in the last 5 years. 5 stars
2/21/07 Bitchflaps Peurile garbage, a 15 year old Maoist's wet dream I expected it to be bad but Jesus Christ. 1 stars
2/08/07 Andre urbani S for shit - too preachy and assumes the audience are stupid 1 stars
2/06/07 The chode Badass, the dialouge was so good its rediculous. 5 stars
1/10/07 Jake This movie is the complete and utter shit. 5 stars
1/08/07 Gerard Revengeful ! 5 stars
1/06/07 Quicksilver Interesting thoughts on totalitarianism married to long sequences of boredom 4 stars
1/01/07 Todd Fucking cool as hell, not what I was expecting 5 stars
12/11/06 Angela Saunders One of the most thought provoking films of the year. Surprisingly great!!! 5 stars
12/05/06 mel watkins a movie for our times 5 stars
11/18/06 lou a.m.a.z.i.n.g. one of the best films ever. 5 stars
10/28/06 R.W.Welch Paranoid and propagandistic but some good perfs. C+ 3 stars
10/19/06 MP Bartley Interesting ideas, awful dialogue, clumsy execution. 3 stars
10/15/06 Kristina Finally a film that is set out of america and with love and blood at the same time 5 stars
10/05/06 Lance Bush combined with Orwell....Great, timely lessons throughout this deep film of conscience 5 stars
10/02/06 Louise Couldn't get a handle on it at all - gave up after an hour ... 2 stars
10/02/06 Dr. Fishopolis ...and Anastasia Beaverhausen can go eat a dick. 4 stars
9/20/06 daveyt what a load of old tosh... 1 stars
9/16/06 Open/Eyes Fear & Control or Fear of Control? Fair warning... 4 stars
9/13/06 Patrick Petty I found this film great, very thought provoking, reminds me of the times we live in. 5 stars
9/06/06 Indrid Cold Obviously above average, but too much politics and not nearly enough excitement. 4 stars
9/03/06 JeromeBosch Superb Orwellian tale with great acting and FX. 5 stars
8/25/06 james burke Best of 2006 thus far, visually well rendered, superb cast, great material, and relevant 5 stars
8/23/06 AnnieG Very good adaption of the graphic novel. 4 stars
8/23/06 Freedom Loved the movie. "WOW" Could that be our Gov.? This movie could be a BIG eye opener. 5 stars
8/20/06 Gene Awesome 5 stars
8/19/06 ALDO A few good scene but mostly way 2 boring.. TOO much Blah blah blah 2 stars
8/18/06 Mary Beth great on Imax 5 stars
8/16/06 matt a few good parts but mostly just dull 3 stars
8/13/06 Ryan_A Exceeded my expectations. Weaving's vocal delivery is worth 1 star by itself. 4 stars
8/09/06 Lisa Loved it!! Captivated all the way through. Kook LIberal Paranoid & Proud of it!! 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist I can't believe my well tasted uncle loved it, Me? BORING, YAWNFEST,SNORESVILLE!!!! 2 stars
8/08/06 Charles Stroud V for Vendetta is move than a movie, its a conception that fans the flames of liberty. 5 stars
8/08/06 Anastasia Beaverhausen Finally, kook liberal paranoids get their film 1 stars
8/08/06 Viper Did Michael Moore write this preposterous rubbish 2 stars
8/06/06 TreeTiger Good movie - go rent it..! 5 stars
8/05/06 davood dreadful,rubbish,awfull,waste of time 1 stars
8/05/06 Charles Strout For all who love freedom, and risk their lives for it. This movie will embrace you're soul 5 stars
8/03/06 philby john Impressive 5 stars
7/29/06 flloyd pretentious, boring, thinly drawn characters that you dont care about in the slightest 1 stars
7/29/06 Robert Maleman Very bad acting and story, boring too. 1 stars
7/15/06 Reklc It appeals to me so I'm an idiot (and proud to be one)! 5 stars
7/12/06 Aaron Dumb, really dumb bad film 1 stars
7/10/06 Lee Fantastic actors. Great dialogue. Brilliant film. Amazing. 5 stars
7/07/06 william zoran Would appeal to an idiot. 1 stars
7/03/06 Another fan disappointed by NP The once superb Natalie Portman would be more appealing engaging in autocoprophagy. 1 stars
6/26/06 Chris Fawkes What a dog of a film. Bored me crapless. V looks like Joan Rivers and who would want to loo 1 stars
6/22/06 LAUREANO VERY MEANINGFULL AND ORIGINAL 5 stars
6/22/06 Ariadne Christina Renee Gladstone Parts that make sense are good, just not enough of 'em. Pretty bad.... no wait...... 1 stars
6/11/06 Jim F. Great, thought-provoking, scary. 5 stars
6/02/06 Hellen It is a great movie, very political 5 stars
5/17/06 Alfred Guy Tried to be different and that's a good thing. 4 stars
5/15/06 TyrantisTerror More like V for OMFG AWESOME! Yeah, I know it doesn't make sense. Shut up. 5 stars
5/14/06 Jonny K Excellent Film on every level 5 stars
5/10/06 zaw Great movie, I came from a Socialistic country. Top of my list too! 5 stars
5/10/06 Will Nitschke www.capitaloffice.com.au Based on a comic book but wants its ideas taken seriously, and some can be. 4 stars
5/10/06 Cory Randolph Action-wise, it was boring, though it had interesting topics discussed... 3 stars
5/09/06 aadil fantastic movie... a must see 4 stars
5/08/06 Tranquil Better than I expected, engrossing story and plot development. 4 stars
5/05/06 Freeze Real cliche, nothing new, bored till the end. 2 stars
5/03/06 Alice I dont get it, to me it was boring and VERY average ! 2 stars
5/02/06 liz amato awesome movie, best i have seen 5 stars
4/30/06 lauram Fantastic!!! Made me want to go out and overthrow our liberal old farts government! 5 stars
4/26/06 The Grinch Unfuckwithable! Far exceeded my expectations. GO SEE THIS MOVIE! 5 stars
4/25/06 Clayton Smith this movie is at the top of my list 5 stars
4/22/06 Mase Long in the tooth, not entirely engaging. But has a bold vision. 3 stars
4/21/06 Pat Frederick Totally enjoyed the movie! It was really engrossing! 5 stars
4/21/06 Anthony G Best movie of the year. 5 stars
4/20/06 Hilary 5-star!! Absolutely awesome!! 5 stars
4/20/06 T I thought it was a great movie. I reflected on our own US gov't. 5 stars
4/19/06 malcolm too long. heavy-handed. 3 stars
4/18/06 Koitus Interesting movie, "for OUR time" of "W.' Was expecting more action, though. 4 stars
4/16/06 Furuta The best film i saw this year 5 stars
4/10/06 M Meaningful,Well Written and Couageous. 4 stars
4/09/06 Ty awesome!! awesome!! 5 stars
4/09/06 the untrained eye This is a movie, not a comic book. Repeat. Then enjoy. 4 stars
4/06/06 T loved the flow of words and deep thought. seen it twice already and will purchase it later 5 stars
4/06/06 Troy M. Grzych I went in thinking "Matrix," but got Shakespeare instead!! 5 stars
4/02/06 ajay saw it in the IMAX today, pretty good stuff. 4 stars
3/31/06 kaz on the edge of my seat 5 stars
3/29/06 M. Dido It's quite good, but I've yet to see a film adaptation that does justice to Alan Moore. 3 stars
3/29/06 Titus A few rough edits, needs a bit more spit-and-polish, but came off real well overall. 4 stars
3/28/06 John extremly entertaining, well made and applicable - good stuff 5 stars
3/28/06 Lord Jiggy V 4 very tedious, very obvious, and verbose 2 stars
3/28/06 sweetgrrl1972 It's been a long time since I've seen a movie that I've enjoyed this much. 5 stars
3/27/06 Danny Johanson This movie was very entertaining and did deliver everything i thought it would. 5 stars
3/27/06 Riki Slow in the beginning, but picks up 4 stars
3/27/06 herkos akhaion Complex story is not clearly delivered 3 stars
3/27/06 Brian Meyer V for Victory! This movie entertains in spades! 5 stars
3/27/06 bullit16 Pretty impressive 4 stars
3/26/06 Alex A BORING waste of time. 1 stars
3/25/06 Eevil Wolfie Gave me chills. Needs more action though. 4 stars
3/24/06 Phil beyond my expectations, wonderfully acted, great acting, little different, screw the world 5 stars
3/24/06 pw chong zzzz expected more 2 stars
3/23/06 Anthony G Very Very good. 5 stars
3/22/06 AE Smart thought-provoking cautionary fable 4 stars
3/22/06 Bullwinkle Worth the $5 matinee, def. needed more action though 4 stars
3/21/06 Ole Man Bourbon The world through the eyes of a paranoid schizophrenic? Had its moments though. 3 stars
3/21/06 Persona Surprisingly powerful and absorbing. A great film, period. 5 stars
3/21/06 Kankasaur "V" celebrates victory over tyranny like Tchaikovsky's 1812 Overture or V-E Day. Good stuff 5 stars
3/20/06 maxomai Damn impressive. 5 stars
3/20/06 Jannie entertaining, truth, Nartalie, ah..masked man, action, fun 5 stars
3/20/06 Mark A nice surpise--good anti-state message 5 stars
3/19/06 gui awesome 5 stars
3/19/06 Rocky Intelligent flick, fiercely anti-authoritarian...really makes you think 4 stars
3/19/06 PeterV2 The parrallels may be updated, but they are still intriguing. 5 stars
3/19/06 Doug Good 4 stars
3/19/06 Matt Very enjoyable, even better on the IMAX. 4 stars
3/19/06 your worst goddamn nightmare This flick was better than the original comic book!!! Not shittin' you.... 5 stars
3/18/06 Agent Sands More creative and inventive and fresh than it thinks it is. 4 stars
3/18/06 mary oh boy i liked this..so much fun , truth, wonderful acting, great message, prophetic, soon 5 stars
3/18/06 great portman was excellent but the film was just average, boring ending 2 stars
3/18/06 Jesse Excellent thinking movie with some nice plot twists. 5 stars
3/18/06 Vicious Uncomprimising, intelligent, visually adept and all around excellent. 5 stars
3/18/06 Chomp Outstanding movie. 5 stars
3/18/06 Heather Great movie 5 stars
3/18/06 Lazlo Simply excellent! Alan Moore FINALLY done justice on the big screen! 5 stars
3/18/06 BrianWilly Very good stuff. 5 stars
3/18/06 um yeah Can I see N.Portmans boobies please!! 5 stars
3/18/06 KingNeutron Definitely worth seeing. 4 stars
3/17/06 julia wonderfully entertaining and fun 5 stars
3/17/06 drone brilliant adaptation 5 stars
3/17/06 jcjs wowsa, not what i expected..at least as wow as 'Fight Club', band, boom yes indeedie, fine 5 stars
3/16/06 djacosta Mind blowing! 5 stars
3/16/06 brian damn awesome 5 stars
3/14/06 archie Masterpiece! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Mar-2006 (R)
  DVD: 01-Aug-2006

UK
  17-Mar-2006

Australia
  30-Mar-2006



[trailer] Trailer




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast