Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.09

Awesome: 13.39%
Worth A Look27.56%
Just Average27.56%
Pretty Crappy: 18.11%
Sucks: 13.39%

12 reviews, 55 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Final Destination 3
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jason Whyte

"Death's not getting bored any time soon..."
3 stars

To this day, I still find the first “Final Destination” film a lot of fun; a solid horror picture that refused to be another rip-off of “Scream” and toyed with the idea of death waiting for no one; that even if you evade your own death, your number really was up and there’s nothing you can do about it. The original 2000 film also contained some of the best “boo” moments I’ve ever experienced in a cinema, where I was very much shocked by how director James Wong decided to shake us up.

The sequel happened in early 2003 (which was directed by David Ellis, who then went on to do a much better film called “Cellular”), which I found somewhat of a letdown as the film basically copied the exact structure of the first without taking it on a road of its own. Sure, the film had some truly hilarious and bizarre horror bits (the chicken wire fence scene, anyone?) but was more funny than terrifying. “Final Destination 3” is somewhat more of the same, yet is somewhat more suspenseful and yet simultaneously disposable.

If you have no idea what I’m talking about, you might want to add these two films to your Netflix queue. They, and this new 2006 film, all have a somewhat similar idea, that a principal has a premonition of death happening, avoids it, and then figures out that death really has it in for all of the characters who evaded the first take at death. In the case of this film, high-school student Wendy (Mary Elizabeth Winstead from “Sky High”) sees a horrible rollercoaster accident ahead of time and gets some of her friends to avoid taking the ride (shouldn’t Death be going after the people responsible for the faulty screws in the rollercoaster? Or did Death have that plan all along?).

Sure enough, all of Mary’s friends start dying one by one, and we know all of this since we know the formula. But we’re all here to see HOW they die, and in the designs and editing of Death’s traps is what makes the film entertaining. James Wong has stepped back into the director’s chair for this instalment, and he is certainly an entertaining filmmaker who can create good tension. One scene in particular is a standout, involving a runaway truck (filmed outside in Vancouver, and boy do I KNOW that hill) coming towards the two lead characters as they wait in line at a drive-thru. And I must mention another sequence in a hardware store that really makes hammers, nail guns, table saws and wood railings that will make me want to wait in the car the next time my dad wants to make a stop at Home Depot.

I think the film’s main problem is when death isn’t happening, the film is slack and awkward, and it never really develops any of the characters enough to make us care about the fact that eventually they’re going to be hacked to bits. Sure, characters aren’t a strong point in the series, and yet the film plods along too slowly whenever they start talking about fate and how Mary’s photos may have clues as to how all of these kids die one by one. We seem to be waiting for things to move along and for these kids to start dying already.

Still, when Death is doing his work, “Final Destination 3” is an entertaining horror picture that would be fun to watch on video with a bunch of friends. I’m sure that the film will do well and we’ll see more instalments in this franchise, and I’m hoping for a return to the all-out terror and “boo” thrill of the first one.

(Note: The film is rated with a hard R rating for numerous gore sequences, nudity and strong language, and it’s nice to see the filmmakers refusing to tone things down for a PG-13 rating. This is adult fun, and for adults only.)

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=13933&reviewer=350
originally posted: 02/12/06 02:23:42
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/19/13 Monday Morning Hideous, horribly painful deaths will never go out of style! 5 stars
7/28/12 cr a guilty pleasure of the series. still a fun movie. 3 stars
11/11/10 PAUL SHORTT MORE OF THE SAME, ONLY DULLER 1 stars
3/09/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess Goofy fun 3 stars
1/10/09 Daniel Omer It has mediocre acting and gore, but the ending plain sucks. 2 stars
12/20/08 dominic thebestmovieeverandidontlie 5 stars
9/27/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome story! 5 stars
7/10/07 Total Crap Waste of my precious time. People who don't know wtf they're watching will like it. 1 stars
5/29/07 wouldntulyke2no its the best out of the 3 films but did have some plot holes 5 stars
5/11/07 Matt The best film in the t(h)rilogy. The 'choose thier fate' option on the DVD is ace. 5 stars
4/01/07 fools♫gold I guess it's good when you put it on mute. Doesn't even compare to the first two. 1/5 or 2/ 2 stars
2/11/07 AJ Muller Just a good fucking time, man. If you dug the first 2 well, here's more inventive deaths. 4 stars
2/04/07 x/x.W i l t e d.Rose.x/x The Best Final Destination. One Of My Fave Movies. Its Awesome Go See It__xx 5 stars
12/29/06 Sumixam all 3 are good, this is right up there 5 stars
12/17/06 Jeremy Movie sucked because it threw the second one out the window. 3 stars
11/01/06 Patsyc I loved the first one. The second one was good. This one was good but not quite as scary. 4 stars
10/29/06 Roger Wilks The deaths are ridiculous and sickening. The plot is senseless. SUCKS!!! 1 stars
10/24/06 Drew G Some pretty good deaths, but overall disappointing 2 stars
10/23/06 Sara It sucked because the ending was grap. 1 stars
10/06/06 Michael Coovert This plot has been played out; nothing compared to the first or second. 3 stars
10/01/06 Beau the most goriest one especially wen girls burn alive in tanning. great horror 4 stars
9/22/06 David Pollastrini good gore. 4 stars
9/18/06 Luckdeezy Pretty good...worth watching for sure 4 stars
9/13/06 Mara Frost not as good as the first 2, but still fun and original 4 stars
9/13/06 veronique ya need to like it 3 stars
9/12/06 Jorge Coronilla It wasn't that bad. 4 stars
9/12/06 Edward Connell Unforseen events make this movie interesting 5 stars
9/04/06 Indrid Cold The formula is wearing a little thin, but still more fun than most mainstream horror. 3 stars
8/25/06 Littlepurch Great gory deaths and although the middle sags, the fantastic start and end make up for it. 4 stars
8/12/06 Danny Respectable. Not as good as FD, but better than FD2. 4 stars
8/06/06 Tim The guy with the camera got off the ride the second time and he started the accident? 2 stars
8/04/06 Dan The DVD has a neat "choose their fate" option 4 stars
8/04/06 Stanley Thai Not as good as the first two. It's a decent movie wih decent kills and decent acting. 3 stars
8/01/06 Mark Louis Baumgart Decent and fun sequel. Unfortunately the ending violates the first rule of the series. 3 stars
7/28/06 action movie fan rehash of the first two--decent stpyr--overly gory though 4 stars
7/27/06 Alberto AGUIRRE My favorite film espesially the roller coaster scene. 5 stars
7/26/06 Lisa Death scenes worth a look and thena rewind!!! 3 stars
6/04/06 mary really scary 5 stars
4/27/06 BAH BAH 1 stars
4/10/06 alice Very amusing ! 4 stars
3/28/06 mick fantastic film would recommend 5 stars
3/16/06 Mason Token negro gets head crushed, what's not to like? 3 stars
3/13/06 James Bond Terrific 5 stars
3/08/06 Valerie It was alright, BUT i still think that the 1st and the 2nd ones were better 4 stars
2/28/06 Littlepurch Morgan & Wong clearly didn't want to be outdone by FD2, and make an hilarious comback here! 5 stars
2/26/06 Steven Lewis Go see it for the deaths! 4 stars
2/21/06 li' buddy really graphic good movie but same stuff as before i want mething new 4 stars
2/21/06 Jaime Moore A Great Flick much bearly better than the first two put togeather. 5 stars
2/19/06 Nic As good if not better than first 2 films... 4 stars
2/18/06 chris f totally awesome movie i loved it from start to finish 5 stars
2/13/06 Ole Man Bourbon The lead actress sucks something horrid. Typical movie for the franchise. 3 stars
2/13/06 jeff liked the scond one better but still good. 5 stars
2/11/06 Perry Mason I hate creative killing movies. This was just boring as hell. 2 stars
2/11/06 JC that movie was TOO Trill!..NEVER go Tanning again! 5 stars
2/10/06 rich Not bad for a new horror movie 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Feb-2006 (R)
  DVD: 25-Jul-2006

UK
  10-Feb-2006

Australia
  27-Apr-2006




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast