Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.57

Awesome80.2%
Worth A Look: 9.22%
Just Average: 3.41%
Pretty Crappy: 2.05%
Sucks: 5.12%

4 reviews, 269 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Scarface (1983)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"A masterpiece of guilty pleasure."
5 stars

Without further ado, fifteen reasons to love Brian De Palma's "Scarface."

1. Al Pacino's Tony Montana just might be his gravestone role, the one everyone knows moreso even than Michael Corleone (whose legacy was hampered by a weak third movie). Pacino, of course, goes way over the top and through the floor on the other side and that pretty well describes the arc of his character and his performance. He starts out young and hungry, his eyes mischievously alive in the detainment room, and ends up face down in (literally) a pool of his own blood. Along the way Pacino invests the scummy Tony with a surprising amount of humor, compassion, and humanity.

2. Brian De Palma just wants to have fun. Occasionally he can be serious, as in Casualties of War (for me his masterpiece). But for the most part he's a coldly brilliant prankster with a camera. He fools you into thinking you saw the chainsaw carve up Tony's unfortunate partner (you didn't); he pulls off any number of dazzling set-pieces thick with menace, as when Tony and Manolo (Steven Bauer) stalk Rebenga through a chaotic detainee tent. If your blood doesn't freeze when Manolo calls out "Rebengaaaaa!!" and De Palma cuts to Manolo's hand holding a knife and Manolo picks up the chant "Libertad! Libertad!", you don't have any blood.

3. Oliver Stone, in his day, was the rudest screenwriter ever to win an Oscar for screenwriting. Other screenwriters used the F-word Stone used it 218 times. And he contributed dialogue that will outlive almost anything else he's ever written (with the possible exception of Wall Street's "Greed is good" speech). I won't take your time quoting it all, but I will say my personal favorite is the "Say good night to the bad guy" monologue (it truly begins, I think, when Tony is seated and feeling sorry for himself: "Is this it, Manny?"), which hits amazing notes of pride and contempt.

4. Giorgio Moroder (who also scored the Stone-scripted Midnight Express) gives us an immediately recognizable theme a spaghetti-western sound weighed down by the Miami heat and piles of cocaine. Ominous yet fundamentally cheesy, the music nonetheless fits the images like a leopard seat. And don't get me started on the songs, many of which turn up in Grand Theft Auto on the radio station. Rush, rush, get the llelo...

5. Michelle Pfeiffer, at that point, could've been just another chilly blonde (though she'd shown some spirit in Grease 2 the year before). In retrospect, after years of complex performances, we can better appreciate what Pfeiffer is doing as the jaded, coked-out Elvira Hancock ("Like a bird flyin' around," Tony comments rather inaccurately Elvira barely moves if she doesn't have to, even on the dance floor). Pfeiffer has the perfect look for a snooty white girl that a crude Cuban like Tony would fall for, but she backs it up with subtle intonations of disdain and also sadness at the glitzy but hollow life Elvira has chosen.

6. Robert Loggia. He owns you. He owns everything. And he would own this movie if not for the extreme competition all around him. His Frank Lopez is a past-his-prime mobster, soft in the middle and no match for an amoral up-and-comer like Tony. Frank is pathetic and murderously duplicitous, but he retains our guarded affection right up until Tony's cruel "I won't kill you" switcheroo. Frank's indulgence of choice is food and booze, not cocaine, so he has no edge, and Loggia etches a funny and, in the end, poignant portrait of a man who has outlived his own effectiveness in a violent career.

7. What has F. Murray Abraham done besides this movie and Amadeus? (Go ahead, think about it. I'll wait.) Even if those two roles were all he did, what more do you need? Abraham raises the bar the second he hits the screen as the slimy Omar, who has one of the absolute all-time great Oliver Stone dialogue exchanges with Tony:

Tony: Okay, fuck you. How's that?
Omar: ...Fuck you.
Tony: Fuck you.

...I mean, if you can't appreciate that, we really have nothing more to say to each other.

8. Harris Yulin as corrupt cop ("Whoever said you was a cop?") Mel Bernstein, if only because he paves the way for perhaps Al Pacino's funniest line reading ever: "HOKAY MEL." But Yulin is more than that his Mel is so puffed up with white male privilege he's negotiating with Tony even after a bullet to the gut: "We'll just get this fixed up..." Talk about denial, man. I love that his final choice of words on this earth is a hearty "FUCK you!" again, Oliver Stone in action.

9. Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio as Tony's mercurial little sister Gina, who wastes no time hoovering cocaine with some dork in a toilet stall once she gets some money. Gina is the most significant holdover from the Hawks/Hecht Scarface of 1932, wherein Tony's sister also dallied with his best friend, thus fucking with Tony's twisted incestuous fixation on her. In this version, Gina gets to wear a skimpy nightgown and offer the coke-befuddled Tony what he really wants. Mastrantonio commits to the moment wholeheartedly without looking foolish, no mean feat for any actress, never mind a 25-year-old in her first movie.

10. John A. Alonzo's cinematography makes the most of Miami's sizzling lurid topography, from the neon nightclubs (with their mirrored walls that made the scenes a bitch to shoot) to the bleak clutter of motel rooms where drug deals go sour. Without this movie's influential look, you have no Miami Vice (TV series, not movie) and none of the many, many urban action flicks to follow.

11. The character actors that thicken the tapestry of evil: Al Israel as the chainsaw-wielding Hector ("Ahora t!"); Paul Shenar as the big boss Alejandro Sosa, who inspires that Pacino phone-juggling moment that always makes me laugh like an idiot; Mark Margolis as Alberto the assassin, whose insistence on blowing up Sosa's target along with wife and kids provokes Tony's legendary post-mortem tirade ("I tole you, no fuckin' kids! No, but you wouldn't listen! Well, you stupid fuck look at you now!"); and the wordless Geno Silva as "The Skull" (the baddest-ass name in a movie full of bad-ass names), who finally pulls the trigger on Tony.

12. The novelization by Paul Monette, before he started writing about AIDS. It offers a lot of backstory on what Tony was doing in Cuba before he came over with the rest of the Marielitos. I just thought I'd give the book a shout-out, since novelizations usually suck, especially novelizations from the '80s, but this one is worth seeking out. There's also, as yet unread by me, a new Scarface series of books that launched in December 2005.

13. The network-TV version, worth watching just for the hilariously insufficient substitutions for all that Oliver Stone obscenity. For instance "Miami is one big pussy just waitin' to get fucked" becomes "one big chicken just waitin' to get plucked." Not quite as funny as "melon farmers" in the TV edit of Repo Man, but close.

14. The sheer ballsy length of it. Sure, it takes De Palma ten minutes shy of three hours to tell a story that took the 1932 version 90 minutes to cover. I don't care. I never find it boring, except maybe for the scenes at home with Tony's disapproving mother. It's a movie you sit down with and either nibble on or kick back for the whole ride. It's a big thick colorful comic book you can open up at any point and lose yourself in.

15. The enduring cult. The hip-hop culture has embraced Tony and his upwardly mobile ethos, apparently without irony. I can go to the corner convenience store and buy Scarface keychains and stickers who anticipated that in 1983? Analysis of this particular phenomenon is better left to analysts of such things, but I'll give it a shot anyway (hey, you got this far, didn't you?) I think it's just that Tony is the original bad-ass mofo, and Scarface was playing endlessly on cable when so many rappers in their impressionable formative years watched it and studied it. They wanted the mansion, the bodyguards, the piles of cash, maybe the white girl. First you get the money. Then you get the power. Then you get the women.

Well, that about covers it. To paraphrase John D. MacDonald's intro to Stephen King's "Night Shift": If you have read this whole thing, I hope you have plenty of time. You could have been watching "Scarface."

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1397&reviewer=416
originally posted: 08/15/06 23:14:01
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/05/17 Ken Terrific film that represents what Miami is like in the early-1980s. 5 stars
2/22/17 morris campbell long but raw & real 4 stars
1/26/15 Helen Bradley-Jones Very violent, but does get viewer hooked 2 stars
12/23/13 D.B. 1986 Good, but overrated movie. My favorite Pacino movie is Dog Day Afternoon. 3 stars
10/06/13 David Awesome crime movie! One of Pacino's best since The Godfather. 5 stars
8/25/13 DB One of the most OVERRATED movies I've ever seen. Mediocre AT BEST. 1 stars
5/18/12 keith miron Long movie, but it was exciting in some parts. 3 stars
2/14/12 stanley welles a hammy exercise in excess 1 stars
7/16/10 Alex exagerated bull. Those assasins where so stupid as to try to kill him in public. 1 stars
4/26/10 john utter crap 1 stars
4/12/10 art TRULY a MONSTER MOVIE! 1 stars
3/02/10 PAUL SHORTT RIDICULOUSLY BRUTALISED REMAKE 2 stars
2/24/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess I liked it just as much as the Hawks version 5 stars
11/24/09 Miz Mia this is by far mi favorito movie some of Al Pacino's best work 5 stars
10/18/09 Liberty Man Disappointing. Very overrated. Pacino has done so much better. 3 stars
8/09/09 Jeff Wilder Overall very good. But never quites reaches the level of masterpiece, even though it wants 4 stars
7/18/09 Mr. Pink lol 4 stars
3/19/09 The King Wow...completely overrated and a waste of time. The first 10mins of Hanna Montana is better 1 stars
10/31/08 silent bob greatest movie then and now 5 stars
4/13/08 Monday Morning Tony, you're so money and you don't even know it! No, I guess you do. 5 stars
12/16/07 Wendell Maness I love Cocaine, Tony Montana is KING! 5 stars
12/13/07 Double M Good, but too simple and often OTT to be a masterpiece. FAR better than Untouchables though 4 stars
11/29/07 Quigley Could have been far shorter, but I see why it's so revered. Pacino is spetacular as usual 4 stars
9/13/07 cdf "you can't shoot a cop!" "Who ever said you was one?" 4 stars
8/08/07 Thelma Louise McCarthy Anderson Awful movie. Only retards like this crap. Pacino's worst movie,. 1 stars
7/21/07 ben dover incredible pacino is fucking amazing you cockaroach 5 stars
5/25/07 fools♫gold Underrated charm. 5 stars
5/18/07 chase stanton by far the best gang movie iv ever seen....plus i love coke 5 stars
3/23/07 action movie fan one of the greatest gangster films ever-terrific in every way 5 stars
2/21/07 Montana one of the best movie ever....Al Pacino is a god....I love him 5 stars
2/14/07 AntonioMontana0 the best out of the best, not enough stars to rate it! 5 stars
11/14/06 Alessia Joyest Movie Ever...Fulli Sikk.."Say Hello To My Little Freind"... 5 stars
11/04/06 Agent Skull Sosa's Terminator looking assassin shuts the loud mouth fucker up, I love it. 5 stars
10/24/06 Drew G Great film, worth all of it's acclaim 5 stars
9/28/06 robert hudson the greatest movie ever made great directing and great acting pacino's best performence 5 stars
9/21/06 Lisa Craven Miami Beach back in the day, before it was popular, Pacino is Fantastic, a classic 5 stars
9/04/06 The Maz Fuck this movie. 1 stars
8/25/06 michael classic flix 4 stars
8/23/06 David Pollastrini love the chainsaw scene 5 stars
8/21/06 G Sherfy Pacino at his best; Stone's coke-inspired writing is intriguing. 5 stars
8/16/06 Harold A masterpiece of CRAP!!!!!!! 1 stars
8/16/06 Ole Man Bourbon A crappy B-movie made memorable by the acting, particularly Pacino's title char 4 stars
5/18/06 Vanessa I love this movie, it's got action and isnt too bloody 5 stars
5/15/06 bmac al pacino does his thing again. period 5 stars
2/21/06 dangerouschemicals anyone who doesn't think this film is great, is wrong. 5 stars
1/04/06 John Dog Great, but kinda overrated. 4 stars
12/20/05 JD al pacino is coooooooooooool, mang. 5 stars
12/04/05 fred though pacino may be short and timid looking, he charges across the screen like a bull. *** 5 stars
9/22/05 orson wells this film is better than citizen cane 5 stars
9/05/05 Clem Boring movie with threadbare plot. Pacino acts like a retard. 1 stars
8/17/05 ES The movie every guy must see 5 stars
8/06/05 Indrid Cold It's Oliver Stone's script that gives DePalma his one masterpiece. 5 stars
7/19/05 Drew A Cinematic Masterpiece 5 stars
7/18/05 DOMINIQUE L. THOMAS THIS IS THE BEST ACTION FIL I'VE SEEN 5 stars
7/17/05 nixon jeff anderson takes it up the ass from cuban boat boys 5 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma Marvelous film 5 stars
7/02/05 Eddie Great Movie 5 stars
6/15/05 Monika Nagyova My favourite movie! 5 stars
4/18/05 dave jeff anderson is a fucking cunt who sucks dick, dont mess with tony 5 stars
4/14/05 Raymond Montoya Al Pacino made his mark in this classic. Must see 5 stars
3/23/05 daniel badass 5 stars
3/04/05 never say hello to my little friend! 5 stars
1/28/05 John Bale One of the best of its genre, thanks to cast and direction. Pacino excells. 5 stars
1/19/05 Jeff Anderson Am I the only person in the world that didn't like this movie! A joyless 3 hour shrill mess 1 stars
1/19/05 jack sommersby THE BEST GANGSTA EVA 5 stars
1/12/05 Tom Benton Underrated, glossy, cool crime film; Al Pacino is awesome; one of the best. 5 stars
1/12/05 jeff who put this thing together? me, thats who!!! 5 stars
1/04/05 alvin fuck off local kyke this is a madd movie-...best ive seen all year, mebbe 5 stars
12/09/04 MOVIE GUY good.... but buckets of blood, ultra-violent sequences & fragrantly foulmouths make it bad/ 3 stars
12/08/04 Kristina Williams Just awesome. I like this over TThe Godfather 5 stars
11/24/04 Vienna Brilliance manifested 5 stars
11/17/04 C Vega Great Movie A Must Watch For Just The Classic Lines 5 stars
11/04/04 Travis Rizzi Untouchable 5 stars
9/27/04 The Cleric Class A filmaking. One of Al's best. A classic in the best sense of the word 5 stars
9/25/04 NJ Cup Winner 95-00-03 Over the top acting by Al is still better than anyone else's overacting 5 stars
9/04/04 jeff who ever find this movie stupid see a doc. #1 movie ever!! 5 stars
8/25/04 Alan Halpern too damn long 1 stars
7/29/04 paolo enea too repetitive, too long, in many ways quite predictable 3 stars
7/07/04 Spinz SAY HELLO TO MY LITTLE FRIEND! 5 stars
6/22/04 matt i liked it!!! .....but the ending sucked shit.....still: i hav 2 giv it a 10/10 5 stars
5/29/04 simonella top class 5 stars
5/25/04 Bob Avgenikos Awesome 5 stars
5/25/04 Alicia's Hubby The greatest movie of all time 5 stars
5/24/04 C Vega damn the eighties were great as is this movie! 5 stars
5/16/04 Kevin Avgenikos Awesome 5 stars
5/14/04 TonyMontana You fucking with the best! 5 stars
5/05/04 gray suck this MetallicA 1 stars
4/23/04 MetallicA IP and gray why can't you shut the fuck up and continue fucking your male freinds 5 stars
4/09/04 IP Freeley Scarface sucks!!! I can sum up the dialogue from this movie in 2 words... fuck you 1 stars
4/08/04 kevin watts awesome pacino flick,the best 5 stars
3/26/04 Darlene Wright Great gift for guys! 5 stars
3/25/04 John Owen I thought the movie was great. It had great action and sent across a great message. 5 stars
3/18/04 Umbrella Corporation. He loved the American dream... With a mountain of cocaine & an M-16 A2!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/16/04 Seija Anderson It's perfect in my opinion. 5 stars
3/13/04 Charles The greatest B-movie of all time! 5 stars
3/12/04 ladeela a great classic all around 5 stars
2/26/04 Gaspar Gomez Miami still loves T.M!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/18/04 Alex Fonte The best movie i have ever seen 5 stars
2/14/04 Nic Deneau The greatest movie ever 5 stars
2/13/04 coladdict 'They know, mene' 5 stars
1/28/04 Tony montana YOu fucking with the best!(to BEtty White) 5 stars
1/27/04 danielwinter113@hotmail.com What a ball! Big, bloody, messy, sexy, beautiful, sad, funny and a modern classic! 5 stars
1/24/04 CC Great... 5 stars
1/22/04 Betty White Overrated drama is really only a showcase for Pacino, who is very hammy. 2 stars
1/19/04 marlon black phat movie 5 stars
1/16/04 J Lots and lots of kills! **** out of 4 5 stars
1/02/04 Hoodlum The best movie ever 5 stars
12/31/03 G-Unit Fuck every other movie ever made.The greatest movie of all time. 5 stars
12/24/03 Kbar Action is boring if you dont give a shit about the characters in it. 2 stars
12/19/03 LIAM JACKSON tony montana- a violent eccentric with a hair-trigger temper. great 5 stars
11/28/03 john big budget cult movie - and it's great! 5 stars
11/24/03 Badass Atchley this movie was fuckin unbelivable 5 stars
11/06/03 Greggory Fuckin Great 5 stars
10/27/03 ScottM Bad acting, bad script, bad direction. Just bad. 2 stars
9/29/03 Obi Wan Still great after the 200th viewing, Biggest Cult Film of All-Time. 5 stars
9/26/03 adam hall betta than porn 5 stars
9/25/03 Sammy This movie is one of my most favorite movies ever 5 stars
8/15/03 J The ending was intense! 5 stars
8/10/03 Chsmike2345 the best movie ever, also the best motivator 5 stars
8/03/03 Marlon Caspar Ealdama This Film Was The Greatest of All Time 5 stars
8/02/03 Zael H. Lutz The quintessential eighties movie. 5 stars
7/25/03 AD pacino best since godfather part 2 5 stars
7/15/03 EDGAR MARTINEZ THE BEST MOVIE IHAVE SEEN 5 stars
6/23/03 Ross Bernardd SAY HELLO TO MY LIL FRIEND! 5 stars
6/19/03 Vince JOU FUCKIN' MARICON! 5 stars
6/17/03 Pat Daddy My favorite movie. A lot of people say it drags but I could wach it every day of the week. 5 stars
6/17/03 Ghetto Smurf VIOLENCE! 5 stars
6/11/03 BlackTerror Muy Excellente 5 stars
6/07/03 Lil Havana Thug DA REALUIST MOVIE EVER, MOTHAFCUK THE REST 5 stars
5/24/03 Havok Torrez This is the best Gangster Movie Ive seen 5 stars
5/19/03 Hannah Montana Better than Shakespeare, pure Greek tragedy 5 stars
5/17/03 Robert Best movie ever!! 5 stars
5/02/03 Gray people are stupid this movie proved that 3 stars
4/26/03 The Lebanese Mafia IF YOU HATE THIS MOVIE YOUR MENTALLY #$%^& CHALLENGED, THIS IS THE BEST CRIME MOVIE EVER!!! 5 stars
4/24/03 Bill Rooney A landmark in its genre 5 stars
4/14/03 Tony Montana "scarface" wanna play games eh ok wanna play rough okay say hello to my lil friend 5 stars
4/13/03 Turko Fulli Sik 5 stars
4/02/03 Chamillion Tight movie 5 stars
4/01/03 Lady Tango One of the best movies of all times!! A true classis 5 stars
3/24/03 Harps Dhaliwal Best Film Ever Made!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/11/03 Albert Cruz The greatest movie ever (re-release the DVD please) 5 stars
3/07/03 Jack Sommersby Very entertaining, with loads of energy, but scripting is crude & Pacino's overemotive. 3 stars
3/05/03 DIRTY HARRY WITH MAGNUM FORCE AS MUCH AS I WOULD LIKE TO FAULT FILMS,I CANT FIND A FAULT WITH THIS ONE 5 stars
3/02/03 . Yep... 5 stars
3/01/03 rico best movie of all time 5 stars
2/26/03 Matt Shaughnessy fuckin' awesome man 5 stars
1/28/03 wintermute Let me introduce you to my 5 little stars 5 stars
1/27/03 The Aussie Film Reviewer Watch out for the bad guy! 5 stars
1/25/03 Oliver Eglin Fuckin Amazin 5 stars
1/15/03 serbay yurduseven SUPER 5 stars
1/11/03 rick none 5 stars
12/14/02 Justin "Montana" This movie is the shit. The best gangster movie of all time. AL PACINO is the shit!!! 5 stars
12/07/02 gc..... no question......this movie is f*&king great....what up QUEENS!! 5 stars
12/05/02 tim best ganster film, pacino is awesome 5 stars
12/04/02 gordie fukin excellent 5 stars
12/02/02 GONZALO CASTRO THIS MOVIE IS THE BEST! theBEST!and the BEST! 5 stars
11/02/02 Esteven Best Ever 5 stars
10/20/02 John McKain Great movie 5 stars
10/15/02 gtaguy This movie kicks major arse! Heheh 5 stars
10/01/02 Mad Dosia Charles Tatum SUX. this movie changed my life!! ill as hell. 5 stars
10/01/02 Richard Gonzales badass 5 stars
9/25/02 Morally Sound Say 'ello to my lill'l friend! 5 stars
9/20/02 PETER KAROUL SCARFACE...NO DOUBT THE BEST MOVIE IN THE OF ALL TIME 5 stars
9/13/02 cdric best film ever seen 5 stars
9/13/02 Jon Coate Scarface is incredible " You kiddin' me or whut maiin" 5 stars
9/05/02 Vince yeah, it's good... JOU FUCKING MARICON!!! 5 stars
9/01/02 sdfr one of the great gangster movies. 5 stars
8/18/02 Charles Tatum Uh, say goodbye to his little friend 3 stars
7/23/02 Klute Simply huge. 5 stars
7/09/02 Donald Love Grand Theft Auto 3 (a video game for playstation 2) seems to be based on this movie) 5 stars
4/29/02 Tushaar Masri one of the best gangsta film in the world. rate: 10/10!!! 5 stars
4/28/02 Lance The G.O.A.T. 5 stars
4/13/02 Mustafa Zihinli Scarface is the best film in the whole wide world 5 stars
4/03/02 Shizzy The Shiznet movie 5 stars
3/24/02 Jimmy Great movie 5 stars
3/05/02 Jaime Vargas This movie is the most exciting, thrilling and kick ass movie of all times 5 stars
3/02/02 Joseph Great movie! 5 stars
3/01/02 Zeabed It buries does cocorowchess 5 stars
2/27/02 LEE TURNER BAD ASS FLIM 5 stars
2/25/02 LP high paced, cheesy music, yeyo yoyo a gogo masterpiece, from the depths of depravity 5 stars
2/24/02 kazuo nagaoka shis is the fourth best movie,next to the GodfatherTEUEV. 5 stars
2/19/02 Brandon Best movie ive seen in a long time. 5 stars
2/17/02 Clarance Mr Dinero! so fucking money! What a badass 5 stars
2/12/02 tony the best movie in the world that never been done about true story 5 stars
2/11/02 Tat the greatest fuckin movie ive fuckin ever seen in my fuckin entire life 5 stars
2/06/02 Andreas Plhak Very Violent, Funny, Cool! Its the Best film Ive ever seen 5 stars
2/04/02 Mja Savage as Fuk 5 stars
1/14/02 Mike Williams The Greatest Movie I Have Ever Seen In My Entire Life!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/17/01 Peter jo bob One of the Greatest movies I've ever seen 5 stars
11/16/01 mike the best 5 stars
11/16/01 Bina this film is biblical, and archetypal, and easily one of the best films made 5 stars
11/13/01 Natasha Hanyes This is one of my favorite movies. Pacino is awesome. 5 stars
11/12/01 Travis luchetta It is the Best movie ever! 5 stars
11/07/01 Jose Vasquez Awesome movie, Shows what kind of balls cubanos have 5 stars
10/26/01 ozgur erdem a very good story that people can learn so many things 5 stars
10/23/01 Jaguares_pacino All I have in this world is balls and my word adn I don't break'em for no one. You understa 5 stars
10/16/01 Dave marson pacino is can't be stopped 5 stars
10/14/01 maxim olivier this is by far one of the best ever made, if like real shit and not that watered down shit 5 stars
10/03/01 junior salazar i thought this was one of the best mobster moives i loved al pacino was wonderful 5 stars
9/23/01 Fidan i am standing in hes fotsteps... 5 stars
9/07/01 Nilton Ayala this is the best movie of all time 5 stars
8/30/01 Leandro Great,,,,,but they should have shown more of Michelle...:) 5 stars
8/26/01 jedimaster169 a great movie- the world is yours 5 stars
8/12/01 PAPA BIGZ the illest movie,say hello to my little friend! 5 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk best DePalma film I've ever seen. The end shoot-out is phenomenal. 5 stars
6/15/01 sarah I kill a communist for fun, but for a green card, I'm gonna carve him up real nice. 5 stars
6/09/01 mike great acting 5 stars
6/05/01 Juan Rodas You fuck with me, you fucking with the best 5 stars
5/29/01 cory BEST movie ever made, pacino was GREAT!!!! 5 stars
5/29/01 kim BRILLIANT PACINO IS AN ACTING GOD 5 stars
5/17/01 The Bomb 69 the shower scene affected me for years 5 stars
5/03/01 Gracy Lionheart I enjoyed the picture, but I wish it had gone more in-depth. 4 stars
4/01/01 kevin brilliant, pacino was stunning 5 stars
3/20/01 bterry Legendary 5 stars
3/04/01 Jake great gangster flick. zzzzz 4 stars
2/16/01 jk amasing what a film!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/14/01 Brian Vella Better than fucking awesome. 5 stars
2/11/01 Wafer I've just got two words Co Caine 5 stars
2/08/01 james kelley Best Flick EVER! 5 stars
2/06/01 Skip A flawed masterpiece. Pacino's paranoia over his sister was melodramatic and unrealistic. 3 stars
2/06/01 Obi Wan Speechless is how I'm left. Great work!!! Say good night to the bad guy! 5 stars
2/05/01 joh You wanna fuck with me? say hello to my little friend! 5 stars
2/01/01 Eddie Moreno This movie is my favorite. 5 stars
1/24/01 Monique The best movie in the gangster genre!!!!!! 5 stars
1/22/01 Catalina You're supposed to spell COLOMBIA like this 5 stars
12/31/00 ballpeen Undeniably a Hollywood classic, and the right stuff benchmark for drug dealing since 1984. 5 stars
12/29/00 andre gadsden 6 words, the greatest movie of all time... 5 stars
12/15/00 Tom Fuckin awesome.Kicks fuckin ass.Fuck the fuckin ripoffs.This kicks fuckin shit 5 stars
12/10/00 Tim Gee Eccelente, fantabuloso, me gusta MUCHO!! 5 stars
12/06/00 Judith Latha, Extremely violent but it ROCKS!!!!! Will blow you away! 5 stars
11/09/00 bruno if you like mafia movies check this one out.(pacino is phenomanal) 5 stars
11/08/00 John Chaves This is the best movie I've ever seen I model my life after scarface. 5 stars
11/02/00 Esmond Watts A.K.A EZE-E one of the best fucking old movies I've ever seen 5 stars
10/28/00 steven hargreaves WICKED DRUG RUNNING MOVIE 5 stars
10/13/00 Terrie Smith One of Pacino's worst; an unlikeable film with a bloody awful script. 2 stars
9/21/00 Bruce The only good thing about this film is Oliver Stone's Script 3 stars
9/21/00 G-SHARP THIS MOVIE IS A CLASSIC, THE REASON WHY PACINO'S MY FAVORITE ACTOR! 5 stars
9/19/00 Jeff Pacino is livin' large. 4 stars
9/05/00 michael best movie ive ever seen 5 stars
8/30/00 Chris Drake So bad it's good; extreme, horrid, compelling 4 stars
7/22/00 liam jackson i think scarface is a fantastic gangster epic,even though it is very violent and disturbing 5 stars
5/27/00 Tim G. Every penny put into this movie shows. 9/10 5 stars
5/24/00 Jason Cooke Al Pacino, like always, knows his role 5 stars
5/06/00 MacVader Gloriously profane and vulgar, one of the most enjoyable film experiences ever. 5 stars
4/02/00 Joe MUST SEE 5 stars
3/09/00 Shane Garron I agree the best movie ever made 5 stars
3/06/00 Erik Saenz Best fucking movie ever made 5 stars
12/02/99 jesse james By far the best movie in the box office. "C'mon, pelican! " 5 stars
11/23/99 israel vargas the best movie in the mob industry 5 stars
11/14/99 Charlotte Laou A wonderful piece of art 5 stars
11/10/99 Nick Guest Awesome 5 stars
11/07/99 Adam Possibly by far one of the best movies I have ever seen 5 stars
11/04/99 MSb Pacino mae this movie this is one of the best to do with the mob so whoever disagrees fuck 5 stars
10/18/99 Esa One of the highlights of Pacino's long career, that says a lot 5 stars
10/01/99 Bozo Camp for straight guys...Pacino is wildly miscast & is a joy to behold 5 stars
9/28/99 Mofaky "Say hello to my little friend" that says it all! Bitches, that means you david...ovie! 5 stars
8/10/99 Japtalian My name is Tony Monthana and you a fuckeeng peeg. 5 stars
7/11/99 Daria Bloody, but entertaining. Don't watch this with your Mum, though. 4 stars
6/29/99 Popa Chulo THE GREATEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/27/99 Chris Gianaras Hugely entertaining coke opera. Not subtle, but that is the point, and gloriously so. 5 stars
6/23/99 David Keech What a pathetic waste of a talent like Pacino. Easily the worst ovie I have ever seen him 1 stars
6/21/99 Paulette Kerr The most invigorating mafia movie ever made. 5 stars
6/16/99 J-Dogg Slow, pointless scenes, but AWESOME finale! 4 stars
4/14/99 Jon Jackson Possibly the most entertaining movie ever. Pachino is the man. 5 stars
1/01/99 David Lamb Conio! Zis movie is da fuck-ing shit mang! 5 stars
12/03/98 Lord Of The Dunce Best use of a chainsaw in a decade. Pacino is awesome, De Palma went downhill from here. 5 stars
11/30/98 Silent Rob An excessive morality play on the evils of excess...DePalma style! (I'm a big Octavio fan!) 5 stars
11/29/98 Dick Harrd Awesome, Violent 5 stars
11/27/98 Mr.Pink Coke, guns, chainsaws, money, hookers, De Palma, violence, disco, who could ask for more?? 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1983 (R)
  DVD: 03-Oct-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Feb-2004 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast