Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.35

Awesome: 16.67%
Worth A Look46.43%
Just Average: 7.14%
Pretty Crappy: 14.29%
Sucks: 15.48%

7 reviews, 42 user ratings



City of Angels
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Bring some tissue, you saps."
4 stars

I liked it. So I'm sappy. Sue me.

I've never seen Wim Wenders' Wings Of Desire, which this film is supposedly based on, so don't jump me on how it's an inferior remake. I wouldn't know. I know Wim Wenders is a good director and I know that this movie was directed by the same guy who directed Casper. It doesn't change my opinion of it.

It's schmaltz. I say that and I still like it. Maggie (Meg Ryan) is a heart surgeon who loses a patient. She looks up, and sees Seth (Nicolas Cage), who's an angel. Angels are cool. They walk around in flowing black overcoats and hang out in libraries. They gather at the beach at sunrise and sunset because they can hear music when it happens. You're not supposed to see angels, though. Seth chose to let himself be seen. See, he's quite smitten with Maggie. So smitten, in fact, that he'd give up his angel-(hood? -ness? -wings?) to be with her. His friend Cassiel (Andre Braugher), another angel, isn't so sure, but Nathanial Messinger (Dennis Franz) has done it. He's fallen - as the term for becoming mortal goes - and he's enjoying it all, the smoking, the red meat, all the things humans seem to love that are bad for them, but also the family that he's created. Seth decides to do it. He falls (literally) for Maggie. They're in love (after a brief spat where she calls him a freak and threatens to marry someone else). Seth experiences many things, and Maggie dies in an accident. That's it. Seth has given it all up, for what was in actuality only a day or so with her. He'll spend the rest of his mortal life without her. But it's okay, he tells Cassiel, because he would rather have "one breath from her hair, one touch of her hand, then eternity without it. One."

I liked this film. I liked it primarily because of the actors involved, and not just the two leads. Ryan and Cage are two talented actors. I prefer Cage in these dramatic roles over his action films simply because it gives him a chance to flex his acting muscle. But this movie also has two of the best television actors out there in supporting roles: Franz (of NYPD Blue) and Braugher (late of Homicide: Life On The Street).

I don't know if it's a good remake or even a worthy remake, but I liked it. I think you will, too.

Solid drama.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=141&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/28/98 10:14:23
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/17/07 R.W. Welch Flat revamp of Wings of Desire holds little fascination. 3 stars
8/14/06 Luisa Very touching film 4 stars
11/03/05 tatum Sweet romance; had trouble with the theology, though 4 stars
8/17/05 ES I kept waiting for some demons to show up and make this a good movie 2 stars
1/02/05 UMER meg ryan rules 5 stars
2/01/04 I Would Crap remake of Wim Wenders' masterpiece. 2 stars
9/23/03 Alan Saved from being crap by five minutes of Lake Tahoe scenery. Aw, hell; it is total crap. 1 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby Good technical work at service of ho-hum, tear-jerker screenplay. 2 stars
7/19/02 ??? a great love story 5 stars
7/11/02 KMG QUESTION: Why does Hollywood keep casting Meg opposite hotties? She sux 3 stars
2/10/02 John Michael Hughes After seeing this, I want a divorce from Meg Ryan. 1 stars
2/01/02 Tshepang Alfred Dahnk The Most beautiful film ever. 5 stars
12/11/01 Monster W. Kung Vastly inferior to Wender's Wings of Desire. Watch that one, not crappy remakes. 2 stars
10/14/01 Andrew Carden I Cannot Handle These Tearjerkers!!! I'll Never Watch This Crap Again!!! 1 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean Nice start with a let down ending 3 stars
5/16/01 The Jedi Droid The thing I liked about this movie is that the ending is not predictable. good flick 4 stars
11/12/00 The EVIL Penguin good, but gets a little boring at times 3 stars
2/15/00 Kyle Broflovski *sniffle, blowing nose* Totally poetic...one of the better chick-flicks...*bawling* 5 stars
12/14/99 Bridget total taerjerker..excellent movie!! 5 stars
12/05/99 PurityJustBegs The result of odious defacations could not be more horredous than this steaming pile....... 1 stars
11/09/99 stef i love this movie 5 stars
10/10/99 SJKelley The last hour of this movie gets worse and worse -- who could like this? 1 stars
4/10/99 Tristynn Meg and Nick.. what WERE you two thinking?? one of the worst I have ever seen.. 1 stars
2/23/99 mochacchino I LOVE THIS MOVIE the sound track is banging and I recomend this to everybody 5 stars
2/18/99 nun uf yur businness such a tear jurker and Meg Ryan is such a good actress!!!! 5 stars
1/15/99 DRMJSP AWESOME!! I cried! And I am a guy!! 5 stars
1/14/99 Dasha I'm a sucker for a good weepie... And this one was good. 5 stars
12/14/98 MR HOLLYWOOD!! Meg in her best role yet,Nicolas looks & acts incredibly well,slow pace but emotional. 4 stars
11/26/98 gicurok I loved this movie. Savor every moment for you may not get another. 5 stars
11/23/98 Daniel All I ended up with was the poor bastard at the end without his love..but love is worth it! 4 stars
11/18/98 Fire-n-Ice The best movie of all year,but the ending was to sad. 5 stars
11/05/98 tom could this film take any longer to get to a shitty end 2 stars
10/24/98 Lord Of The Dunce You hafta love Meg, no matter what she's in. Even French Kiss. 4 stars
9/27/98 Heather Great date movie. I wanna be Meg Ryan when I grow up. :) 4 stars
9/20/98 Ky I thought it was a beautiful film.....highly emotional and gives angels a new perspective 5 stars
9/20/98 ARMA-FUCKN-GEDDON Wow.. What else can I say.. Makes you believe, has heart. 5 stars
9/13/98 Chip Taylor NIC IS THE BOMB BABY 4 stars
9/11/98 kanatcha none 4 stars
9/11/98 canada dry has got to be the worst ending of any movie i've ever seen 1 stars
8/30/98 Mister Whoopee Angels watch you when you pee. 3 stars
8/29/98 Matt It killed 3 hours on a plane.. and my appetite as well 2 stars
8/14/98 {{{OZ}}} It's been done before, though they do it well here. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Apr-1998 (PG-13)
  DVD: 14-Sep-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast