Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.08

Awesome56.05%
Worth A Look: 20.38%
Just Average: 8.28%
Pretty Crappy: 5.73%
Sucks: 9.55%

6 reviews, 121 user ratings



Fargo
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"So, uh, you married old Norm son-of-a-Gunderson?"
5 stars

Wholly original and absolutely fantastic.

You've never seen a movie like Fargo. You'll see movies that evoke Fargo, movies that try to aspire to be like Fargo, but trust me, this is something very special and very rare.

It's not a conventional drama or black comedy or thriller. It's all of those, rolled up into a quirky firecracker of a film, and it works.

I'm not going to touch on the plot. It's an interesting story with just enough turns to keep you interested and I don't want to spoil it for you. So I won't. I couldn't really do it justice anyway. But here's what you need to know. The heroine (if you can call her that) is a policewoman named Marge Gunderson (Oscar winner Frances McDormand). She's pregnant. If having a pregnant woman as a hero cop isn't quirky, I don't know what is.

Things to notice: the performances. Obviously, McDormand, and William H. Macy as Jerry Lundegaard, one of the men Marge will end up investigating. McDormand doesn't play Marge as the doofus one would expect Hollywood perceives rural Americans as. She's smart, she's sly, and she's not nearly as unassuming as you'd think her to be. The fact that she's pregnant makes no bearing on the kind of cop she is, it just offers a little bit of levity. Macy is the man, though. As Lundegaard, Macy is nerves a-plenty. He's quiet and almost unassuming at the film's open, but that changes as the movie goes on. He's probably one of the finest actors working today. The interrogation scene between Marge and Jerry ("He's fleein' the interview!") is a riot.

Beautifully photographed (thank you, Roger Deakins) and marvellously acted, this is a Coen Brothers movie that plays it pretty close to the vest. It's not an obvious movie, and it shouldn't be.

I've said it before: you've never seen a movie like Fargo. You may never see one like it again. It works on so many levels, but to truly appreciate it and understand it, it takes multiple viewings. Trust me, it's worth it.

Darn it, ma'am! I'm cooperatin' here!

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1416&reviewer=7
originally posted: 12/17/98 11:27:03
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/16/17 morris campbell not bad but overrated 3 stars
3/11/17 richard bad acting, bad accents and in the wrong state 1 stars
11/01/15 FireWithFire White Scandiavians: this movie SHITS ALL OVER YOU - it's jewish racism!!!! 1 stars
3/25/15 stanley welles an intriguing, entertaining movie featuring memorable characters and quotable dialogue 5 stars
6/27/14 Chris Just watched it again. Yup, still hate it. This movie deserves none of its hype or awards. 1 stars
10/21/13 Paul Toth Superb movie, great acting and a warm heroine with a razor sharp mind. 5 stars
12/21/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess Great movie! 5 stars
5/31/10 User Name The accents make this quirky dark comedy even funnier. 4 stars
4/17/10 PAUL SHORTT ALL ATTITUDE AND LOW APTITUDE 2 stars
1/24/10 Chad Dillon Cooper The Coen brothers are cinema masters. 5 stars
7/23/09 Meatbog Cinematographily Beautiful. And WOODCHIPPERS! 5 stars
7/07/09 *Holy_J@lapeno* Its a tad bit slow for the average person but if you can accept the dark humor it rocks. 4 stars
4/16/09 Total Crap Macy and Buschemi are the only things going for this movie. 3 stars
1/11/09 Alan Just watched it for the first time. It's like "No Country For Old Men", only better. 5 stars
1/09/09 Scarlett Excellent! could be watched time and time again! perfect reflection of the Coens talent! 5 stars
1/06/09 FrankNFurter Arguably one of the best American films ever made. A must see! 5 stars
9/17/08 Stu The best film ever (no, really, it is). Everything about it is perfect. 5 stars
3/21/08 Pamela White suspense and drama 4 stars
12/24/07 mb Interesting. 4 stars
12/08/07 Sam Eli just fantastic with great acting and directing 4 stars
11/15/07 kdawg i am tramatized after seeing fargo, the sterotypes were annoying & the violence, disgusting 1 stars
9/20/07 David Cohen Is it an insipid drama or an unfunny comedy? Who cares: it sucks 1 stars
6/12/07 al smith the coens best.buscemi and macy at the top of their game 5 stars
1/15/07 jeannie karlsen one of the best dark comedies ever made! truly genius! 5 stars
12/12/06 Sepi53 good film, but overrated! 4 stars
11/02/06 David Pollastrini we need more wood chippers in movies! 5 stars
10/02/06 Jeremy Davies Boring and overrated. I can't see why this movie was nominated for best picture 2 stars
9/24/06 Lisa Craven Macy at his best, never get tired of watching this classic 5 stars
7/27/06 Josh Racine Every scene in the film is classic. 5 stars
4/13/06 Manana Lekborashvili Bravo Coen Brothers'! 5 stars
3/25/06 Thomas Semesky A good movie with interesting characters and a well written script 4 stars
1/22/06 Max B. Nearly ten years on, and this film remains an unmatched classic. 5 stars
1/18/06 John Dog Coen Brothers' best. 5 stars
12/20/05 JJ Probably the worst movie Ive ever seen, people though it was good because of the accents? 1 stars
7/03/05 blowsky mcgraw, i bet youre a dumbass with A.D.D that onlu likes action, retard 5 stars
5/24/05 Jake Brilliant! 5 stars
3/17/05 indrid cold The most overrated movie in the overrated Coen brother's ouevre. 3 stars
2/04/05 Alice Colwell good movie 5 stars
12/11/04 Ghetto Smurf Fucking amazing. I did not lose interest at all during any scene. 5 stars
10/24/04 Ronald A Weiss finally watch the dvd...sorry I waited so long 5 stars
8/16/04 Peter James A good movie...a shame the Coen brothers lied and said it was based on a true story 4 stars
8/14/04 McGraw DUUULL .I was expecting so much more from the Coens. 2 stars
7/18/04 scrambled brain i've seen fargo 5 or 6 times, and never get bored 5 stars
7/17/04 legend A slow but enjoyable movie. Worth getting on DVD. 5 stars
6/30/04 Mikey Crunt One of the most underrated films of all time. Honestly, some people!!!! 5 stars
6/14/04 T. Maj One of the most overrated films of all time 1 stars
6/12/04 Jack Sommersby Too smug and uneven and (when you get right down to it) stupid. 2 stars
4/26/04 Ryan This film just show that fucked up people aren't just from new york and LA. 5 stars
4/05/04 Miss Julie I couldn't love a movie more than this one. LOVE, do you hear me? LOVE!!!! 5 stars
3/22/04 Lord Haw Haw A cliassic. In the top five best movies of the '90s. 5 stars
2/29/04 Phyllis Joy I don't know why this film got so much attention, and especially praise! I didn't like it. 2 stars
1/12/04 john bale Coen Bros. quirky murder mayhem, funny but noir, again proves to be great cinema. 5 stars
12/08/03 john i found it condescending to its charachters - too in love with its own cleverness 2 stars
8/09/03 I Would OH YAH!!! 5 stars
7/11/03 Indrid Cold Radically overrated. Hate that self-conscious "we're quirky indie directors" thing. 2 stars
6/29/03 joshx42 One of the greatest movies of all time. 5 stars
6/26/03 cochese Grabs your attention and keeps it. great acting. 5 stars
4/21/03 Vince A little too weird, but Buscemi is good. 4 stars
4/13/03 M Megraw I laughed thru the whole movie 5 stars
3/31/03 Rebecca Quite Quotable, Intelligently Written, and Excellent Acting 5 stars
1/13/03 Nancy Niedzielski What the hell was the big deal? 2 stars
12/31/02 Andy Todes "it's my deal, wade!" some of the best dialogue you'll ever hear. 5 stars
11/24/02 Kyle Didn't do much for me. And McDormand's accent got on my nerves. 2 stars
11/22/02 Charles Tatum North Dakota Rules!!! Uff-da!!! 5 stars
11/15/02 Big Ted Best Film of 1996.Macy & McDormand are tops! 5 stars
9/07/02 Jim The Coen brothers' best movie. Now, don't you hurt Scotty eh? 5 stars
5/17/02 Priscilla Postlethwaite Greg Muskewitz, Fargo ain't in Minnesota! 3 stars
4/04/02 Edfink Lombardo The Best Film of 1996! Buscemi, Macy, and McDormand are excellent 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver We Minnesotan do kinda talk kinda funny. 5 stars
1/24/02 Elliot for those who just can't let go of Saturday morning cartoons. 1 stars
12/01/01 Carrie Janek I had to watch this for a college cinema class 3 stars
11/30/01 Mark Conway total pish, no character development, just some nuttter who kills ever 1, 1 stars
10/16/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) One of the best of the Coens. 5 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean Margie was as cute as a button in this movie. The Coen bros. knows how to tell a story! 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Surreal Coen brothers experience that tests character and soul. 5 stars
6/24/01 Dean They kill like 10 people, yet the director feels he needs to explain that was bad. PLEASE. 1 stars
6/19/01 Elvisfan One of the only American movies not typically American. That's a good thing.. 5 stars
5/07/01 Mikko Salminen Absolutely the best film ever! 5 stars
4/07/01 Andrew Deikun Incredible movie. Original. Highest recommendation 5 stars
3/31/01 Adam Richards One of my favorites. Jerry Lundegaard is the biggest loser in the history of cinema! 5 stars
3/27/01 saucy terrible!!! terrible!!! terrible!!! 1 stars
3/14/01 Rael A great film, dontchaknow (the Coen Brother's best). 5 stars
3/07/01 Trashstar I found this movie hilarious, very very entertaining. 4 stars
2/12/01 Jake Unlike any film I've seen before. The lesson is that Crime doesn't pay. 5 stars
12/17/00 gariott Frances McDormand and William H Macy are both wonderful, brilliantly acted dark comedy! 5 stars
12/03/00 Cristopher Revilla ok, too much hype but still its worth your fucking money!!!! 5 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin This movie RULES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
9/03/00 DarcyElaine Great cinematography, and it introduced the world to W.H.Macy. Other than that, not great. 3 stars
8/24/00 Joep excellent cast enhances a well written plot 5 stars
8/17/00 Matthew Bartley Erm...I've re-evaluated it...still over-rated 4 stars
7/27/00 Chris Drake Wickedly amusing yet overrated.Made-for-tv look.Not based on fact 4 stars
5/11/00 LINA CANTIN IT ROCKED... OUTSTANDING CINEMATOGRAPHY...GREAT FILM ... 5 stars
1/12/00 PervertedPixie WAY over-rated, but Buscemi, McDormand and the Coens are cool as always. 4 stars
1/04/00 Nice Guy Eddie not the best from the coens, but worth a trip to the video store. 4 stars
11/19/99 latife arslan white red but black 4 stars
11/08/99 Bozo McDormand great but not Oscar-caliber; Macy was brilliant & so was screenplay 5 stars
10/18/99 Andi steve buscemi's the greatest 5 stars
10/03/99 Frank Fasciano ggg 5 stars
7/27/99 dave the worst movie ever 1 stars
7/23/99 Hagbard Celine One of the best films of the 90s. William Macy is an astoundingly good actor. 5 stars
7/03/99 J-Dogg I really don't get what all the fuckin' fuss is about. This shit wasn't that good. 3 stars
6/29/99 Anakin Soilwalker uh..this..movie..is pretty violent....lots of blood..on the snow...pretty interesting.. 4 stars
6/14/99 Dylan Coen Brother's do it again. Are these guys totally fucking flawless or what? 5 stars
5/04/99 Big Dog William H Macy is really from up North 5 stars
4/21/99 Ah Dooey Still better than Urban Legend, with a few good laughs; in other words: great! 5 stars
3/21/99 A. M. What Hollywood thinks of America. 1 stars
3/17/99 Go Swans Did i like it? Yah 5 stars
2/19/99 Bruce Hedge Right,Ryan A never seen a movie like it! 5 stars
2/17/99 Piz brilliant performances, but why was i cheering for the bad guys?? 4 stars
2/07/99 Vick Di Brecci Very smooth movie. Soundtrack a direct rip of Taxi Driver. Make a note of that 4 stars
1/23/99 Hannah A euphoric movie-going experience. 5 stars
1/11/99 demon_shredder This movie was da bomb 5 stars
1/09/99 Dasha Frances McDormand was fantastic, but overall - overrated crap and big disappointment for me 1 stars
1/02/99 Charles Dubé Another quirky helping of cinematic bliss from the Coen bros.! 5 stars
12/17/98 jenn WOW, this movie sucked 1 stars
12/17/98 Jules A true original. Pretty much perfect. 5 stars
12/09/98 Andrea Great acting, good directing, just worth it for the accents. 5 stars
12/07/98 davebo Great atmosphere, acting, directing, I love it 5 stars
12/07/98 PirateGirl I laughed, I cried, I laughed some more at the accents 5 stars
12/07/98 CaptNish Great flick, but I think it was incredibly overrated. 4 stars
12/07/98 Silent Rob Brilliant Coen-Caper. Stellar performances! A Bona Fide quirk-fest! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  08-Mar-1996 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1996 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast