Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.25

Awesome: 20.45%
Worth A Look: 23.86%
Just Average: 23.3%
Pretty Crappy25%
Sucks: 7.39%

11 reviews, 110 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Silent Hill
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by brianorndorf

"Enough with the games already"
2 stars

Video game movies find anther tragedy with Christophe Gans’s “Silent Hill.” While visually luxurious, the depth of screen goodies cannot compensate for the emptiness of the whole shebang. Almost completely incomprehensible and feebly written, “Hill” is a bore and, at one point, actually incapable of ending.

When her adopted daughter’s nightmares grow increasingly violent and destructive, Rose (Radha Mitchell) decides the only way to solve these problems is to find their source. Driving to the ghost town of Silent Hill, Rose swiftly loses her daughter, forcing her to search the empty, ash-laden town for clues. What she finds instead is a nesting ground for otherworldly beings and demonic locales. With the help of a police officer (Laurie Holden), Rose looks to battle and stumble her way to answers in this mysterious town.

The lesson learned from last autumn’s colossal flop “Doom” was that perhaps not every video game was meant for the big screen. I would even say that maybe video games in general were never meant for celluloid treatments. Unlike a book, play, or even a remake, modern video games are becoming increasingly cinematic already, with some titles at a point where they top anything coming out of Hollywood. The “Silent Hill” series comes across as an experience that should be left for the console. The new big screen version is a good reason why.

Writer Roger Avary and French director Christophe Gans came across a little arrogant in the press recently as they crowed about their attention to video game detail during the production of “Hill.” Truthfully, the team has brought the gaming experience to the screen with astonishing accuracy. The problem is, “Hill” gets lost in the foaming desire by Gans to maintain the movement and depth of the game, leaving the action in “Hill” lifeless and dreadfully repetitive. All Rose manages to do over two ungodly hours is enter spooky rooms, be scared off by something inexplicable, and then fight the “boss.” Gans beats this format into the ground, optimistic that each new creature or hellish vista will be enough nutrition to sustain interest until a resolution appears.

Avary (“The Rules of Attraction”) is little help to the director, often scripting unintentionally hilarious dialog that has the characters simply stating what’s in front of them (“There was a fire here.” Cut to: a burned up room). It makes the actors look bad, and Gans even more incompetent. Avary is also useless trying to deliver some level of sensible plot to this picture. I’m sure even die hard fans of the game would have difficulty with all the puzzle pieces Avary randomly drops on the audience. And forget attending the movie if you’ve never even played the game. The plot here is so convoluted and so careless with alternate universe structure that Gans stops the film completely toward the end to help the audience catch up. Gans and Avary have no sense of pure storytelling with “Hill,” again placing emphasis on all the visual splendor.

The creature work in “Hill” is respectable, but a little too reliant on CG to fully capture the imagination or wet the pants. Most of it resembles a lost “Cremaster” film from Matthew Barney, and Gans explains the sights about as effectively. “Hill” requires the audience to simply go with it; to accept every new step of Rose’s journey into the underworld as it plays. Oddly, Gans feels hindered by his R-rating, cutting around the extreme violence or keeping the horror in the dark to protect his film from censorship. It kind of ruins the film to see the money shots (including a doozy where a creature with a pyramid head – stay with me here – rips the skin clean off one of Rose’s friends) have been muted when Gans was obviously going from broke.

“Hill” struggles to tie itself up with a wacky ending that recalls “Hellraiser” by way of Arthur Miller’s “The Crucible.” If anything was proven in Gans's breakthrough cult film, the pedestrian “Brotherhood of the Wolf,” it would be that the man has no idea when to say when.

“Silent Hill” lurches to three different finales, all completely unsatisfying storywise, but thrilling in their promise that someone has finally made Gans stop the tedium.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=14326&reviewer=404
originally posted: 04/21/06 02:44:48
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/13/17 morris campbell beautiful but boring 1 stars
10/06/11 Kevin Breece beautiful movie. probably the best game-to-movie adaptation i have seen. 5 stars
6/14/11 Allen Stays true to the franchise, right down to the "What the HELL just happened?" at the end. 5 stars
5/15/11 stephen nettles Awesome 5 stars
10/01/10 bored mom This film lacks the first two games' truly subtle, carefully thought-out sensibilities. 3 stars
8/19/09 Jo Not played the games but movie was good. Especially now i get the ending! roll on movie 2!! 4 stars
12/01/08 Jojo i thought it was bad ass, but i love the games 4 stars
11/27/08 Jon C. My Full Review (fix spaces) www0.epinions.com /review/mvie_mu-1156476/content_228082421380 4 stars
10/09/08 Andyyyy its ok as a movie, nothing to the game, the plot is %$#!ed up, explains nothin 3 stars
8/26/08 Shaun Wallner Bloody Awesome!!! 5 stars
7/13/08 Pyrix An interesting horror piece, certainly better than most game-to-movie adaptations 4 stars
6/15/08 PAUL SHORTT NO THRILLS ON THIS HILL 1 stars
5/10/08 Ryan If you don't understand the ending use common sense, the haze outside her house, 4 stars
4/25/08 Karrie Millheim Scared me big time! Horror lovers are gonna love this one 5 stars
3/16/08 Tosh its quite good as an horror movie, more amusing than scary. loved the open end. 4 stars
4/17/07 shyguy Great casting of Dahlia and Cybil, but a REALLY stupid plot 2 stars
3/19/07 Anthony G Best video game to movie adaptation ever made, still not THAT great overall. 4 stars
3/08/07 cokehead wasn't scarry, just weird. what a piece of shit. 2 stars
3/08/07 johnnyfog I liked Cybil. But otherwise, pointless 2 stars
2/27/07 Beau Greatly made, superb performances but a dull plot and it got silly towards the end 3 stars
2/04/07 Mark Helling not great, but its so extremely well made u wont care. not very scary, but has its moments 4 stars
2/01/07 Abs Preety good movie.Music set the scary tone for the whole film,but last 20min was a letdown 4 stars
1/10/07 Jake This movie pretty much just didn't do anything but such 2 stars
1/09/07 del Roger Avary fucked this up BAD. 3 stars
10/23/06 Indrid Cold Good screen translation, but still the movie doesn't even approach the game's brilliance. 3 stars
10/23/06 AJ Muller mood and visuals make it work; operates on 'nightmare logic' and is quite effective at it 5 stars
10/22/06 nie nie it so reflect the game. better than resident evil. i love it (wit some exception) 4 stars
10/17/06 GC Watch it for the visuals..nothing more..and not scary...plot dumb/characters lame 3 stars
10/17/06 Marvin Schulte It's a punch in the face of every single fan of the games. 1 stars
10/16/06 John Best game to movie ever! But you should play the game before seeing the movie. it helps. 5 stars
10/09/06 Homuncolos U shouldnt judge a movie on if its scary, since who would get scared just from a movie? 5 stars
10/08/06 Jim If you play the games, you'll love it; if not, you'll be just as baffled as my wife was. 5 stars
10/06/06 Clive Was A Good Film But I Havent Played The Game...This May Be Why I was Confused At The Ending 4 stars
10/04/06 pete.chesworth great game but glad I did not pay to see the movie. 2 stars
9/30/06 Randy if you didnt understand the movie your an idiot. get some common sence and watch it again. 4 stars
9/29/06 Bob Smith T 4 stars
9/23/06 Nicole This movie was exellent , but I did'nt understand the ending. 4 stars
9/18/06 daveyt I enjoyed it, liked the ending, visuals were great. Not exactly a classic, but not that bad 4 stars
9/16/06 hector if you didnt PLAY THE GAME you wont UNDERSTAND IT so you wont like 5 stars
9/14/06 Sophie Beats most Hollywood horrors! 5 stars
9/12/06 Ian pickering Mint film but the cop is a dick 5 stars
9/10/06 Cindy Brown didn't make much sense, yet I couldn't stop watching it 3 stars
9/06/06 Albert not true to the game, and about one tenth as scary,save your money,buy the game`s. 1 stars
9/05/06 HGTV fanatic great scary monsters, ending sucked, is they dead or just in a different dimesnion? 4 stars
9/02/06 HILARY I wasn't impressed. i got bored. i was confused at the end. it didnt scare me. lol.. 3 stars
9/01/06 ES Boring, gets interesting, gets retarded and then leaves you wondering what the ending means 2 stars
8/28/06 Casper I liked it - creatures were creepy, town was well-conceived, Rahda made this film work 4 stars
8/27/06 cindy interesting movie 4 stars
8/26/06 dorena ware whew, glad it was over. 3 stars
8/25/06 wanda mahoney it was very good movie, i like the eneding 5 stars
8/25/06 Richard Jojola This movie was awesome 5 stars
8/25/06 purplerose decent if you have played the games! 4 stars
8/25/06 Charles bundy I thought the film was teriffic, non-staop horror! 5 stars
8/24/06 Phillip Akers Very Grat movie best transofor mation of a game into a movie and most of all the gore 5 stars
8/24/06 LP The movie is suck but I even sucker wasting $4.90 at a local video store 1 stars
8/23/06 matt twisted, grotesque and sick as fuck 5 stars
8/23/06 Stephanie I DONT GET THE ENDING .. IM COMFUSED-- I THOUGHT IT WAS PRETTY WORTHLESS 1 stars
8/16/06 Ian K. The best game-movie adaption known with brill visuals and sounds to draw you in 5 stars
8/01/06 dan a strange but rather good film 4 stars
7/28/06 Daniel This is one of the best movies I have seen in months. Play the game if you wanna enjoy it! 5 stars
6/29/06 Gretchen Seitz Starts off promisingly, but turns into psychobabble. 1 stars
6/24/06 Elix ONLY and ONLY for anyone who have played Silent hill 1,2 or 3 4 stars
6/11/06 Mike First movie I've EVER walked out on! So ridiculous and STUPID. TOTAL WASTE OF TIME!!! 1 stars
6/04/06 Huismijt Nice little movie! Go see it if you're a fan of the series. Don't take it so seriously!! 3 stars
5/29/06 Anthony G As a video game to movie adaptation it was great! As a normal movie? Not so much... 5 stars
5/19/06 rosebud cybill is the new lesbian icon 5 stars
5/17/06 Alfred Guy Good creatures, but uneven as a whole. 3 stars
5/15/06 Ashley I loved the movie, I just didn't like the end. It left too much open ended. 4 stars
5/15/06 allie most horrible movie i've seen since blair witch project! 1 stars
5/09/06 San Lamar go see it! 5 stars
5/08/06 DANNY I THOUGHT IT WAS PRETTY GOOD AS FAR AS THE SPL EFFECTS WENT, CREEPY & WEIRD BUT NOT SCARY 4 stars
5/08/06 Tranquil Made for fans of the series, good visuals and recreation of some aspects. 4 stars
5/08/06 ryan good movie tells how the girl and wife got to be lost there and the before to when the husf 5 stars
5/06/06 Charlene Javier A bummer for fans of the game... 2 stars
5/05/06 Chris Buchanan Fan of the games. Fan of the movie. It's not your typical game-based movie: It doesn't suck 5 stars
5/05/06 matthew flynn a little too ove explained in some areas and under in others 4 stars
5/03/06 mandisa robinson the movie was good 4 stars
5/03/06 David I've seen scarier things at a five year old's birthday party, what a waste of two hours.... 1 stars
5/01/06 Mase Like watchign someone else play a barely comprhensible video game. Avoid!! 1 stars
5/01/06 Brandi Robertson The movie is hard to follow, drawn out, weird, and too long. 3 stars
5/01/06 chris f very tense and scary movie exellent!!! 5 stars
5/01/06 Patrick B Hey Im from W. Va and we have very few towns that look like "close to hell" 3 stars
5/01/06 Josh Standlee Scary as Hell! I won't be able to sleep right for at least a week! 5 stars
4/29/06 Sergey Konyshev I was so lost at the end, please explain how the wife and husband are in different worlds? 2 stars
4/28/06 Laz Moreland Scary and awesome! 5 stars
4/27/06 jimmy saville the longest, most boring film ever. Id ask for a refund if I could 1 stars
4/27/06 Jen Wilson Not good- would never reccomend this movie to anyone 1 stars
4/27/06 Farron Watson Some of the most disturbing imagery I've ever seen. Agony as a visual art form. 4 stars
4/26/06 Jon A laudable addition to the Silent Hill name, but not without flaws. They should make SH2! 4 stars
4/25/06 Vikki Tries too hard, but appropriately frightening! 4 stars
4/24/06 Troy G Changed cult from the game from summoner of deamon to opposition of the deamon. 4 stars
4/24/06 Anthony G They did pyramid head very well, created a great vibe, ending was lacking. 4 stars
4/24/06 elliot comparing this stylish film to plan 9 proves some of the critics here are idiots. 5 stars
4/24/06 victoria schall answer a question on Silent Hill 3 stars
4/24/06 Josh Haberman A Silent Hill Fan must see! 4 stars
4/24/06 BrianWilly Scary and gory fun. 5 stars
4/23/06 :) FINALLY!..A game movie that doesn't suck! 5 stars
4/23/06 Greyjack Cool visuals, but needed more Pyramid Head. 3 stars
4/23/06 MorallySound The movie makes sense if you dig through all the layers of ploy. Use your brain. 5 stars
4/22/06 matt Not quite what I was expecting, but pretty cool 4 stars
4/22/06 Adrian It's pretty. Really pretty. But mindless as well. 4 stars
4/22/06 The Talking Elbow Appreciated quite well as art. 5 stars
4/22/06 mike awesome 5 stars
4/22/06 Eevil Wolfie Visuals are nightmarish when they are there but the story seems to drag unnessisarily. 3 stars
4/22/06 bizenya it blew my fucking mind. 5 stars
4/22/06 Ole Man Bourbon It was pretty fun, but also kind of like a film version of a run-on sentence. 3 stars
4/21/06 Toilet Bowl Well-made, intelligent, scary - might not be for everyone 5 stars
4/21/06 ducka The best videogame adaptation ever 5 stars
4/21/06 KingNeutron I enjoyed it, even tho I never played the game. Genuinely scary in parts. 4 stars
4/21/06 Bunuel People confused by surrealism need not apply. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Apr-2006 (R)
  DVD: 22-Aug-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  31-Aug-2006



[trailer] Trailer


Directed by
  Christophe Gans

Written by
  Roger Avary

Cast
  Radha Mitchell
  Sean Bean
  Laurie Holden
  Deborah Kara Unger
  Kim Coates
  Tanya Allen



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast