Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.69

Awesome86.42%
Worth A Look: 5.56%
Just Average: 3.09%
Pretty Crappy: 0.62%
Sucks: 4.32%

5 reviews, 132 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Seven Samurai , The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by punkass

"Kurosawa's undiluted vision. Really quite good."
5 stars

Kurosawa's original plan was to have the audience watch the whole film in real time, but sadly his three month long cut was edited down to a paltry three and a half hours. Yet in an age when every director piles on the length to look arty, Kurasawa keeps you interested throughout. Find out why people (well, me) are already calling him the twentieth century's Shakespeare.

Quite obviously, this film is not for everyone. It's black and white, it's in Japanese, it's longer than a particularly long thing. It also helps if you have some idea about the shit which was going down in Japan in the seventeenth century, the social collapse, the upheaval of old traditions and ways of life and the introduction of guns - the great leveller. But even if you couldn't give a rat's ass, it's still a great film which deals with things we can all identify with - loneliness, class and hacking people up with big swords.

The story is the one they nicked for The Magnificent Seven (Kurosawa's original title!) and also A Bugs Life. This is, of course, a lot deeper than those films (although A bugs Life almost edges it). It also has marvellous cinematography, and quite startling performances from the actors.

Toshiro Mifune shows why he is consistently ranked as one of the world's best actors, by giving a startling performance full of manic energy. The others are all excellent, with Shimura being suitably Zen, Kimura naive to perfection, and Chiaki and kato both thoroughly charismatic. You really get involved with them and care about the people in this movie.

Perhaps the main thing about this film that stands out, is the way that it manages to be thoughtful, beautiful, and intelligent, yet also manages to be very funny. For one who always found the porter scene in Macbeth intrusive and strikingly unfunny, the humour in this film strikes just the right note. People in life are funny, and Kurosawa always manages to capture this natural level in his films.

On the subject of its length, I have to say that putting an interval in the middle was intrusive for me. I like to immerse myself in films, and this brought me back to reality. Mind you, I did get to see the tape burn during this, which is something I'd never seen in real life. And, if you watched this on video, you wouldn't get one. Mind you, you'd probably get the three hour version which I think is going around - but that might not be such a tragedy, some pruning could be acceptable. But then, you're not getting Kuraswa's vision, so...

I don't think I'd recommend this to be the first Kurosawa film you see, it's just too long. That honour would have to fall to 'Yojmbo'. But once you've seen that and get a thirst for more, I can whole-heartily recommend this one. A real classic, if you're really into films, go watch it.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1449&reviewer=215
originally posted: 06/14/00 23:35:16
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/26/16 Ken One of the best movies made in Japan, if not the best. 5 stars
4/17/15 Potter17 you fool 4 stars
4/16/15 ina not as good as LOTR 4 stars
4/14/15 Hadrianus so overrated. i prefer akira kurosawa RAN than this. 3 stars
4/13/15 trasd the worst akira kurosawa films i have ever seen 1 stars
4/13/15 jokerass lol 1 stars
4/13/15 jokerass lol 1 stars
2/19/15 Chris Jarmick Masterpiece melding of Japanese Samurai and American Western 5 stars
2/15/15 filmiw23 i watch this movie like a shit 1 stars
1/05/15 hakken fantastic 4 stars
10/14/12 austin one of the greatest movies of all-time 5 stars
2/15/12 stanley welles kurosawa's triumphant epic - totally successfully driven by character and story 5 stars
10/18/11 Magic Takes a miracle to make a 3 1/2 hour movie not only not boring, but tightly paced as well. 5 stars
8/03/10 John The film is set in the 16th century, not the 19th, as Chris Parry's review mentions 5 stars
5/31/10 User Name It's run time is almost 3 hours, but it moves quickly, thanks to charactars and photography 5 stars
3/12/10 Chargers Fan One of the greatest films of all time. Period. 5 stars
11/07/09 James Great movie, the actors, story are superb. 5 stars
9/15/09 Christopher one of the best films ever made, has stayed in my mind for years 5 stars
6/28/09 budo One of the GREATEST 5 stars
6/17/09 MP Bartley I was a little suspicious of all the hype...don't make the same mistake, it's amazing. 5 stars
9/15/08 PAUL SHORTT DESPITE IT BEING AN EPIC WORK OF ART, ITS ALSO VIOLENT, ODD, JUVENILLE AND LACKS DEPTH 2 stars
6/29/08 Quigley Epic, masterful filmmaking that everyone who loves the movies should see. 5 stars
3/28/08 Pamela White film is well rounded 5 stars
1/25/08 proper amateur film critic One of the all time greats 5 stars
8/17/07 Jubei Speaks for itself. No one has done samurai films with such regard as Kurosawa did. 5 stars
1/22/07 Eric "Seven Samurai" kicks ass. 5 stars
12/23/06 Todd Wow 5 stars
12/21/06 Eric Phelps This and "Rashomon" are the highlights of Kurosawa's career. 5 stars
12/05/06 §hayne! One of the best movies ever 5 stars
5/19/06 thomas a real movie fun should have watched this movie 5 stars
4/21/06 Reklc One of THE best movies ever made. It has everything! 5 stars
11/30/05 cooler The greatest aspects of any film,stunning cinematography etc.Kurosawa is God 5 stars
10/30/05 Jeanne Yeah, Mifune's hilarious - until he makes you cry. Takashi Shimura is the Uber-Mentor! 5 stars
10/10/05 Sam my favorite movie 5 stars
9/26/05 Anthony Cobban Best Movie Ever Made 5 stars
7/31/05 Brandon DeLanzo Best samurai film ever 5 stars
7/12/05 Jake An amazing Epic. This has been rated as a classic and it's extremely hard to disagree. 5 stars
6/08/05 Agent Sands One of the great epics of all time. 5 stars
5/16/05 Seven Samurai SUCKS worst most boring stupid waste, extinguishing lit matches with my testicles is more fun 1 stars
5/07/05 susan varney seen three will see it again 5 stars
4/24/05 pragni sanghvi too good 4 stars
4/19/05 chethan v s exellent movie,the best i have ever seen 5 stars
3/23/05 matjaž 2001=7 5 stars
3/13/05 pragni sanghvu a visually stunning and encapturing fim. must see for all to-be film ppl 5 stars
3/09/05 Taylor Fladgate are you kidding me??? 1 stars
3/08/05 Los Daddy Aging Classic that is often imitated to this day...This is an epic movie 5 stars
1/28/05 Evil Brain Eater from planet Zolum 5 The greatest Action\Drama\Samurai film ever 5 stars
11/26/04 alien assassin the best action film ever made ? 5 stars
10/14/04 Daniel SWEEEEEEEEEEEET! Mifune kicks ass. 5 stars
10/07/04 Bob Spiegel Incredible movie. Love Toshiro Mifune and Akira Kurosawa 5 stars
9/23/04 matt burgay great 5 stars
9/15/04 Derek Great if you love movies, poor if you only want to see limb-chopping. 4 stars
7/22/04 Minamotono Yoshitsune Incomparable! 5 stars
7/13/04 Hitori Kyo best movie eva 5 stars
6/10/04 herkos akhaion This is the best. It should have inspired "Troy". 5 stars
3/31/04 sansho Magnificent characters, pacing, editing, action; Kurosawa's supreme masterpiece 5 stars
2/16/04 Mr. Blonde Great movie, but the two hour build-up is better than the pay-off. 5 stars
12/19/03 Richard Fritz Bit too long for my taste, but one of Kurosawa's great works. 4 stars
12/16/03 Will fascinating 5 stars
12/13/03 Agent Sands though it's a tad TOO long, there are countless great moments. Mifune & Kurosawa at best. 5 stars
11/28/03 john the battle in the rain is phenomenal- a masterpiece of action and drama 5 stars
11/11/03 Chance Excellent. Would give this 6 stars if I could 5 stars
11/11/03 Mike you cant understand cuz you gave a good rating to joe dirt!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/09/03 SpyFrog Bushido at it's finest! 5 stars
10/17/03 cris colella excellent movie 5 stars
10/02/03 Saxon Hurray for Kurosawa 5 stars
10/01/03 Burnetsky The best Japan movie ever made 5 stars
9/30/03 Fit_Finley Thank you, Kurosawa 5 stars
9/29/03 Zipper_Knob Japan's greatest movie 5 stars
9/14/03 putski i loved the film really.its the best film ever after the shawshank redemption 5 stars
8/16/03 Michael Schlieper I liked it very much. Great movie. One of the best and with most influence on many other di 5 stars
8/08/03 Francoise Groovy film 5 stars
8/02/03 Putski No Comment 1 stars
7/28/03 DM One of my favorite films, and among the best ever made 5 stars
7/02/03 Sammy Best samurai movie made 5 stars
6/23/03 Pete B Excellent film in Japanese but English speaking idiots cant read subtitles 5 stars
6/17/03 Large Farve My favorite movie, hands down 5 stars
6/05/03 Chris pure classic 5 stars
5/25/03 Vena Stupendous sword fighting, amazing, great character developement 5 stars
5/19/03 Ryan F. My favorite foreign film. 5 stars
3/31/03 Dave Great story, great characters, great acting, but for some reason hard to watch. 4 stars
3/28/03 Goofy Maxwell Unobtrusively allegorical, subtly lyrical, gently comical...& samurais--Yeaaeee! 5 stars
2/13/03 natasha_theobald feels like waking up on the other side of a profound experience 5 stars
2/07/03 Travis R. Sorensen on my top ten list (#10) - if only the criterion transfer weren't so shitty 5 stars
1/27/03 The Aussie Film Reviewer Oft-repeated, much-loved, peerless, flawless, perfect samurai film. 5 stars
1/27/03 Jan Big Movie! 5 stars
1/26/03 Banzai a milestone in film history 5 stars
1/24/03 Jonsi Everytime i see this, it's just brilliant. Makes me want to cry at times. 5 stars
1/20/03 Andy Bronson very good film but its a shame kurosawa hadn't started using widescreen at this point 3 stars
12/11/02 NoRefill Very entertaining, well shot film. A Classic. 5 stars
12/04/02 Gary In my humble opinion, this is the best film ever made. 5 stars
12/02/02 Matt brilliant 5 stars
11/21/02 dead great 5 stars
10/20/02 Jamer Lots of quality development (character and plot) that blends together nicely at the end. 4 stars
9/16/02 Diane Unbeatable. Packs an emotional and visual punch that improves with each viewing. 5 stars
8/19/02 LyonHeart44 And that would be what, Carden? Rubber monsters. Doesn't need 'em. 5 stars
6/17/02 Mr Math Kurosawa had his faults, but overall this is one classic worth hunting down. 4 stars
5/24/02 Charles Tatum The fastest three hours of your life 5 stars
4/28/02 Michael Grimm best Kurosawa film of them all, that is truly saying something!!! 5 stars
4/27/02 Brian beautiful 5 stars
4/22/02 Nicholas Shacklock Fucking Great 5 stars
12/05/01 Skip Young I'm a big kurosawa fan, but this one never does it for me till the battle scene. 3 stars
11/27/01 Ian Barr This film is GOD. 5 stars
11/04/01 Andrew Carden Nice Visual Effects and Creative, but Lacks What Most Japan-Based Films Have. 3 stars
10/21/01 Eric Muller This movie kicked my brain's ass!! 5 stars
10/16/01 The Bomb 69 3 hours of cinematic perfection, Hollywood sucks compared to this 5 stars
10/09/01 Jon The Grandfather of good vs. evil films, a cinematic masterpiece..... 5 stars
9/27/01 Otter O'Doom Never fails to uplift and entertain 5 stars
9/23/01 Larry Smith THIS IS THE CLASSIC and Original Magnificent Seven! 5 stars
9/08/01 Trashman One of my all time favorites, loved it from when I first saw it at age 11. 5 stars
8/27/01 james barton inspiring 5 stars
8/15/01 riverman top ten of all time - produced even a cool US version "Mag Seven" 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk This is just amazing. Kirosawa's finest film. 5 stars
7/30/01 DMF Easily one of the ten greatest movies ever made. 5 stars
7/02/01 Boomshanka Any action fan needs to see this, not because it's fast, but because it created the genre. 5 stars
6/29/01 master.node This movie pulls you in. The viewer is a villager, wishing he were one of the seven. 5 stars
6/24/01 Ray Raspberry Excellent Dialog and Acting -- Great Humor too! 5 stars
6/24/01 Monster W. Kung One of the best movies of all time. By the way, the uncut version is better. 5 stars
4/03/01 Jordan Hot Shiest!!!! 5 stars
3/25/01 Rico So intense, emotional, so real. I feel I am IN THERE with the the characters.. 5 stars
2/17/01 The Bomb 69 just watched this and Ran, must go see Yojimbo ASAP!!! 6 hours of enchantment 5 stars
2/16/01 Tyrone One of the original and greatest action adventure moovies. Kurosawa IS MY GOD =) 5 stars
11/18/00 helmet A fantastic film...I was stunned by the end at the craftmanship. Wow. 5 stars
10/31/00 Trisfae good movie in its time but if you are watching it for action don't expect much. 3 stars
9/19/00 Jeff one of the best films i've ever seen 5 stars
7/20/00 Andrew W. Larrison Incredible -- but also incredibly long 5 stars
12/14/99 Dave Wild Awesome. 5 stars
9/16/99 CCGoldrush Not only the greatest Japanese film, but maybe the GREATEST FILM IN HISTORY! Perfect! 5 stars
3/12/99 unstrung whoever said black and white movies suck should be SHOT, Mifune is the man 5 stars
12/26/98 demon_shredder Akira Kurosawa is a movie magician. This movie rocks, BIG time. 5 stars
12/14/98 Binky So worth the time it takes to watch. this is an experience that set film today up as it is. 5 stars
12/14/98 Jules A movie everyone would love if they only took the time and energy to understand it. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Apr-1954 (NR)
  DVD: 05-Sep-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast