Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.73

Awesome: 14.84%
Worth A Look: 23.44%
Just Average: 10.94%
Pretty Crappy: 21.88%
Sucks28.91%

11 reviews, 62 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Nacho Libre
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Lybarger

"The Face of Mediocrity Unmasked"
2 stars

The sight of portly Canadian singer-actor Jack Black in Mexican luchador or wrestling tights is almost funny enough to base an entire feature, but not quite.

“Nacho Libre” is one of those films where the personnel involved are more interesting than the movie itself. Director Jered Hess follows up his successful “Napoleon Dynamite” with a new film that lacks all of the idiosyncratic charm of the earlier effort.

In the previous movie, Idaho came off as strange land that was in its own way as exotic as something J.R.R. Tolkien might have created. With a Mexican monastery as a setting, Hess’ imagination isn’t as fertile.

A lowly friar named Ignacio (Black) has spent most of his life cooking for the orphans and the monks who live with him. Better known as Nacho (presumably for the fact that he both makes and eats a lot of nachos), he has never been able to get past his secret longing to become a luchador.

He forms a tag team with a skinny thief named Esqueleto (Héctor Jiménez), and the two secretly enter the ring for real. Despite some painful training, Nacho and Esqueleto lose most of their matches but earn enough money to prepare better meals for the orphans. The pay also helps make up for being clobbered by a pair of ferocious midgets.

Back at the monastery, however, his fellow friars would not look kindly on his new activities, and a pretty nun (Ana de la Reguera) that Nacho pines for thinks luchadors are doing the Devil’s work.

Despite some over the top moments, “Nacho Libre” seems curiously listless. Black can earn a few chuckles simply from the fact that his bulky frame belies his volcanic energy. Big guys aren’t supposed to be able to run around like he does.

Many of the gags that Hess, his wife Jerusha and “School of Rock” writer Mike White come up with fall as flatly as Nacho does during the middle of his matches. After a while, it becomes tiresome to watch Nacho and Esqueleto taking yet another beating.

In “Napoleon Dynamite,” our nerdy hero gradually became more dignified as the movie progressed, making him progress from a butt of jokes to a genuinely sympathetic character. Nacho’s transformation isn’t as well conceived.

Both “Napoleon Dynamite” and “Nacho Libre” had loose storylines, but the former had so many moments quirky surprise, that the threadbare story didn’t matter. It also helped that Hess avoided using a lot of flatulence gags and other overused crutches that have used to death in the first film. This time around Hess embraces bodily function humor but lacks Mel Brooks’ or even the Farrelly Brothers' gift for making it amusing.

“Nacho Libre” would have been more enjoyable if Hess had found a way to present Mexico in the same oddly delightful way he depicted Idaho.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=14549&reviewer=382
originally posted: 06/22/06 23:24:45
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2006 CineVegas Film Festival For more in the 2006 CineVegas Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

8/27/11 Jennifer We love Jack Black and this is one movie my kids love to watch. Silly but awfully funny. 5 stars
11/21/10 DaveY The silliness is fun- Jack,Hector & Darius r great & Ana is gorgeous - I luv the soundtrak 4 stars
1/25/09 Robert O'Keife David is just using the internet to vent because he is insecure about his small penis 1 stars
1/09/09 Samantha Pruitt pretty funny, very ridiculous! lot of awkward moments, 4 stars
9/08/08 PAUL SHORTT EXTREMELY SILLY AND SUPRISINGLY SWEET 3 stars
12/02/07 Screwball The best movie I've seen about Mexican wrestling. 4 stars
10/19/07 Lynn "Get that corn outa my face!!!!" - The one and only funny line in the whole entire movie 2 stars
7/24/07 frito-laid i want my two hours! 1 stars
6/30/07 Mehmet Unal Boring and totally devoid of anything resembling wit or humour 1 stars
5/18/07 David Pollastrini PRETTY DUMB 3 stars
5/17/07 ES I wanted to like this movie but with two times watching and not making it too the end... 2 stars
1/26/07 diego Alvarez If david thinks this movie is dull, he must have no sense of humor and he is really lame 5 stars
1/22/07 Dave Hilarious movie, David just doesn't get it (or Napoleon Dynamite) 4 stars
1/11/07 rozza david cornelisu is a cunt!! its a minter of a film so is dynamite!! 5 stars
1/05/07 jack diy "or how a large percentage of Mexicans are retarded" ...what tha fuck? fuck you david 1 stars
12/24/06 11pop It's a piece of crap 1 stars
12/05/06 maggie truly dreadful piece of filmmaking 1 stars
12/03/06 Carson I nominate david cornelius for biggest douche in the universe, and this movie was great 5 stars
11/16/06 George The only way to describe this movie is STUPID, but its so stupid that you have to laugh!!! 5 stars
11/16/06 Paul lots of memorable moments, if you`re lookinf for Casablanca go elsewhere 4 stars
11/10/06 surfric I'm a JB fan, but this is strictly a time killer. Laughed maybe twice. 3 stars
11/10/06 DIANA there were some funny moments, not a lot but some 3 stars
11/09/06 Dan Relax, stop being so high brow. It's a classic. 5 stars
11/08/06 Babz I had a good laugh. 3 stars
11/07/06 Derek Just right 5 stars
10/31/06 Mike Really really funny! A breath of fresh air. Laughed my balls off all the way through! 5 stars
10/31/06 ad fresh 4 stars
10/30/06 Bundy Ok, seriously this movie was pretty funny, and David Cornelius is an assfuck. 5 stars
10/30/06 Ryan_A Laughed once - the corncob to the eye bit. Other than that, surprisingly unfunny. 2 stars
10/30/06 ES Ho-hum, almost not worth the watch but it passes time, I guess 3 stars
10/29/06 Roy Smith I might consult a lawyer - this was advertised as a Comedy. 1 stars
8/27/06 Barry Norman what a load of bollcks, jack black must have a movie deal to do this shite 1 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist An ownable Jack Black comedy,about as good as Nepolian Dynamite.Both cult classic-ish 5 stars
8/06/06 Erik Van Sant I wanted to love this movie. Regrettably, it sucked big, floppy donkey dicks. 2 stars
7/25/06 Alex Paquin Unbearably offensive, hispanophobic, and not at all funny. A waste of Jack Black's talent. 1 stars
7/18/06 Marjorie The jokes were puerile and his fat gut was repulsive. 2 stars
7/12/06 Captain Highcrime The least they could have done is pass out some Taco Bell...lost it's comic punch quick 2 stars
7/08/06 Mike Awesome movie - well crafted. Seaver's Review - also Awesome! 5 stars
7/08/06 Edler Hilarious part of the goofy comedy genre. But if you don't know Mexico, you won't get it. 5 stars
7/02/06 Heather Weak movie, wait until the DVD comes out and rent it instead 3 stars
6/30/06 Gerry Irons Too silly and long on one joke -with no wit or substance 2 stars
6/29/06 Mike (of Mike & the MORONS) Great! Lots to laugh at, and great (though odd) soundtrack. 4 stars
6/26/06 Mase Like a long bad snl skit, with Black trapped in the role and a PG rating. 2 stars
6/25/06 verdesage this movie is great and completely worth seeing! theres nothing not to like about it! 5 stars
6/25/06 Cheryl I NEEDED A LAUGH, AND MIND AWAY FROM SERIOUS THINGS OF LIFE, AND I LAUGHED AND ENJOYED . 4 stars
6/25/06 TORI NACHOLIBREISTHEFUNNIESTGUYEVERMAN 5 stars
6/24/06 pin What's with Hess and food shots? Nice pacing, Black was hilarious. 4 stars
6/24/06 ELLY the best 1 stars
6/22/06 Caiphn You people are clearly retarded. 1 stars
6/21/06 Tommy The worst movie I have ever seen bar none 1 stars
6/19/06 pedro painful 2 stars
6/19/06 jitters So, good-natured, pleasant and simple are bad things? I loved it. Viva Nacho! 4 stars
6/19/06 earlrural About as good as I expected. Much more Hollywood than Napoleon Dynamite. 4 stars
6/18/06 John Aster Habig Jack Black carries the film through Hess's slow pace and keeps the laughs constant 5 stars
6/18/06 Darius Silly plot, yes; unbelievable, yes; hilarious, yes; Hector Jimenez, fantastic 5 stars
6/18/06 Kell Dixon Nacho liber was the worst movie I have paid to see in a long time. The end 1 stars
6/18/06 lee Great attention to detail!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/17/06 Stacy Started out kind of slow for me, but definitely worth seeing. 4 stars
6/17/06 nachooo JB was AWESOME in this role. the movie was laugh out loud funny for about 90% of the time. 5 stars
6/17/06 Evil Wolfie At least its better then Napolion Dynamite. 3 stars
6/16/06 KingNeutron Wrestling was good; rest of the movie needed a REAL DIRECTOR + EDITING. JB's worst effort. 2 stars
6/07/06 CJ Payne very funny ,good date movie. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Jun-2006 (PG)
  DVD: 24-Oct-2006

UK
  11-Aug-2006

Australia
  14-Sep-2006




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast