Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.32

Awesome32.97%
Worth A Look: 17.03%
Just Average: 14.86%
Pretty Crappy: 18.84%
Sucks: 16.3%

13 reviews, 198 user ratings


Latest Reviews

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

Almost Coming, Almost Dying by Jay Seaver

Blade Runner 2049 by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Superman Returns
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by David Cornelius

"Look! Up in the sky!"
5 stars

You know how when you watch Christopher Reeve all done up in the red and blue outfit, standing there in confidence, you pause in awe as you think to yourself, “Without a single doubt in the world, that’s Superman?” Other guys may have dressed up in the suit, but only Reeve was one hundred percent convincing. Looking at Brandon Routh in “Superman Returns,” that feeling comes back. Without a single doubt in the world, one hundred percent convincing, this guy is Superman.

That’s a pretty hefty statement to make, but “Superman Returns” deserves nothing but hefty statements - it’s an absolute marvel of a film, a comic book blockbuster that gets everything right. And that everything starts with the casting of Routh, who looked so miscast in those early publicity shots yet proves to us all that, like Reeve before him, he’s the only one for the role. He even cribs a little from his predecessor: his Clark Kent mannerisms show a glimmer of Reeve’s bumbling nerd, while his Superman is as gosh-darn honest as Reeve ever was. (Consider the scene in which Superman, after he’s just stopped an airplane from crashing into downtown Metropolis, steps aboard and reassures the rescued passengers about the general safety of air travel. With this one corny speech, Routh tells the world, “I am Superman.”)

Despite using Reeve’s performance as a launching point, Routh makes the character all his own. He brings a desperate loneliness to the role, a tender sadness that highlights this film’s most surprising (and most refreshing) aspect: its emotional depth. This is a Superman movie about just how alone Superman is in our world. He’s an alien, the last of his kind. There is no one on Earth like him, no one with whom to chat about shared experiences. (There are no other superheroes in this universe. Superman gets no help in saving the day, and the next day, and the next.) And yet he is never alone - he hears everything, all those cries for help, a fact which only makes his isolation all the worse.

Screenwriters Michael Dougherty and Dan Harris (who was joined in the story development stage by director Bryan Singer) up the ante by giving us a story in which Superman has left Earth in search of remnants of Krypton. He found none, and the movie begins with his return to his adopted home. His five-year absence left the world wondering, and it tore apart a few vital relationships, most notably the one with Lois Lane (Kate Bosworth), who has since moved on, landed a fiancé (Jason Marsden), penned an editorial titled “Why the World Doesn’t Need Superman,” and become a mother. This is a pretty risky move for what might have otherwise been a safe summer movie bet - why not just retell the origin story, or whip up some generic adventure? Dougherty and Harris, who brought a strikingly human angle to Singer’s “X2,” are not content with telling just another popcorn spectacle. They want to get to the more intimate side of the Superman myth.

And boy, do they ever. This is a comic book tale where the characters get to be three-dimensional. Not only our hero, but Lois, too. There’s a wonderful moment that parallels the balcony interview scene from the 1978 “Superman” - the one that plays out like a first date for DC Comics’ most famous couple, ending with that romantic flight over the city - only here, it’s a matter of heartbreak for our heroine. Superman never said goodbye, and Lois was left wondering. And now, he returns to her on the roof of the Daily Planet, another late night visit. In this scene, “Superman” as a movie franchise grows up, having to now deal with the pain and confusion of such complicated adult circumstances. Bosworth has never really impressed me before, but here, she shines, revealing a woman torn.

Making things all the more thorny: Richard, the fiancé, is no schlep of a Baxter, but a genuine hero himself, an ace pilot who soars into action, much like the Man of Steel, when danger calls. History tells us to root for Lois and Clark, but there is much hope in Lois and Richard. More so, even, if you consider that Richard does his derring-do without the benefit of alien superpowers. Heck, he even gets to rescue Superman in one scene. In this respect, “Superman Returns” becomes a story about the heroic potential in us all, a theme highlighted by the use of a critical quote from the Reeve-era “Superman” films, in which Superman’s father, Jor-El, left behind this message:

“They can be a great people, Kal-El. They wish to be. They only lack the light to show the way. For this reason above all, their capacity for good, I have sent them you, my only son.”

Forget for a moment the Biblical (both Old and New Testament) undertones of the Superman mythology and how it’s played up in that snippet of dialogue. Focus instead on the heart of such a phrase. “Superman Returns” is, underneath all its heartache and lonesomeness, a most optimistic movie.

That quotation, by the way, brings up a vital issue. In crafting this film, Singer envisioned a companion movie to the early Reeve films. It’s not exactly a sequel to “Superman” and “Superman II,” but instead it can be viewed as a sequel to the spirit of those films. We get character profiles more in line with what audiences saw in 1978 instead of what’s been changed since (archvillain Lex Luthor - here deliciously played with a genius combination of humor and menace, by a perfectly cast Kevin Spacey - is back to being a crook instead of a powerful billionaire; Lois still can’t spell worth spit; etc.), we get John Williams’ epic themes (my vote for the most perfect piece of movie music ever crafted) returning in grand style, and yes, we even get Marlon Brando himself digitally returning from the grave to reprise his role as Jor-El.

All of this sounds on the surface like a cheat, as if Singer and company are too unsure of themselves to craft a new series, so they instead jump on the cape of the well-loved Reeve films. I, for one, was positive during all the pre-release hype that this was a colossally awful idea. Then I saw the movie, and discovered that Singer is most certainly not piggybacking on previous successes, nor is he merely softballing his way through his job. He has, instead, made a movie that is reverent of the Superman mythos - all of it, not just the Reeve era, as evident by countless other references and a few key cameos - all the while never being afraid to push the characters forward. It’s moving ahead while keeping one eye on the past.

Plus, it’s just so much fun to see the classic “flying text” opening credits over Williams’ theme one more time on the big screen. Which brings me to my next point, lest you think I was about to overlook the main reason most of you are wanting to see “Superman Returns:” this is one heck of a good time. Don’t let all my talk about emotions and character development and personal what-not fool you. Singer’s a master at staging breathtaking action, and “Superman Returns” delivers the thrills in spades. The action set pieces are flawlessly constructed to provide maximum visceral experience, so much that I felt myself so wound up by the airplane rescue sequence that I was aching to cheer when it finished - and I found myself in tears after being exhausted by a barrage of heroic rescues, relief only coming when one character gets saved from certain death, and in doing so, muttering a line that’s a valentine to any lifelong Superman fan. (A great moment in a movie loaded with great moments.)

The action is, in a word, big. The whole movie is big, a two-and-a-half hour epic combining drama and comedy and romance and action, action, action. Scenes here recall the larger-than-life spectacle of the 1978 film, updated with utterly believable CGI effects. Reeve convinced me a man can fly, but Routh, aided by the technology of the 21st Century, convinces me a man can not only fly, but fly through massive fireballs at speeds beyond human comprehension.

You may have noticed I have not discussed something important: the plot. Sure, I mentioned the general idea of Superman returning and causing issues with Lois, but I have intentionally left out everything else. This is not because I want to keep secrets from you. It is because what “Superman Returns” is about is not really what “Superman Returns” is about, if you follow me. There’s so much more to this movie than the story outline. Granted, the story is as exciting as can be (side note: some might complain that Lex Luthor’s master plan is preposterous, but hey, all of Lex Luthor’s plans are inherently preposterous; it’s not what he does, but how he does it, and here, he does it wonderfully), but this is a movie that ultimately depends on the internal, not the external. The plot exists to bring us closer to the characters, not just to give the effects crew something to do. This is that rare summer blockbuster that breathes.

It is, if we want to return once more to hefty statements, exactly what we all want our popcorn movies to be. Not the dumbed-down adventures that aspire only to a big opening weekend and some DVD sales, but something more, something that respects intelligence, something that aims to move us with well-crafted characters and precise storytelling. Last year’s “Batman Begins” set the bar so very high for comic book movies, and that after a series of impressive, well-received character-driven efforts that include “X-Men” and “Spider-Man 2.” Now comes “Superman Returns,” which shatters that bar. This is a truly spectacular experience, unquestionably worthy of the 1978 “Superman.” “Superman Returns” joins that predecessor on the short list of all-time great superhero films, but it is more than just a great superhero movie. It is a great movie of any kind. Singer officially becomes one of the very best filmmakers working today; Dougherty and Harris announce themselves as storytellers of the highest order; and Routh?

Why, he’s Superman. Not a single doubt in the world.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=14733&reviewer=392
originally posted: 06/28/06 21:42:39
[printer] printer-friendly format  
DC Characters: For more in the DC Characters series, click here.

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell decent no more no less 3 stars
3/28/16 Aj wales Clarke kent/superman how many words does he speak entire movie. Tv movie acting. 2 stars
3/18/16 Charles Tatum Heavy handed Christian allegory gets in way of handsome production 4 stars
3/10/15 Nik this was about as fun as schindler's list 1 stars
1/20/14 reptilesni Superman is a deadbeat. Real hero is the dad who stuck around. Routh is boring. 1 stars
7/18/13 Joe Snoozefest. 1 stars
12/10/12 Linda Boring. I didn't like it. 2 stars
2/04/11 Roy Smith Bosworth badly miscast, Spacey is Dr Evil, plot is recycled garbage 2 stars
1/11/11 James <a href="mailto:elvin44E29559@fireden.net">email</a> <a href="mailto:lou44E29559@fireden.ne 5 stars
9/14/10 marwinkowa scientists pattern due half 1 stars
6/20/10 Sarah Worst Superman movie. 1 stars
7/24/09 Jimmy Zatoichi! 4 stars
3/03/09 lewis davies Campy, schmaltzy retread of I and II, with Christ imagry tossed in a cheap device 1 stars
1/03/09 RECCERS Superman never had a son, so they just pulled that out of there arse. To long too. 3 stars
11/08/08 Abby Meyer your crazy if you don't like this! 4 stars
9/14/08 hannibal I was expecting a big masterpiece. I think you need to love Superman in order to get it. 3 stars
9/02/08 Shaun Wallner The Action was Amazing! 5 stars
7/20/08 the dork knight Just so.......so........blah. 3 stars
7/08/08 Kevin Spacey Hey Bryan Singer, leave Superman alone and return to Keyzer Soze instead! 2 stars
6/29/08 hiperbolha loved the original. this one was incredibly lame and boring 2 stars
6/24/08 J. Wolf Best comic book movie of all time. 5 stars
6/20/08 David V Best Superman movie. 4 stars
5/20/08 sebastian rea Superman is a shitty hero anyway. 1 stars
5/03/08 Arthur Better than the boring Spiderman films, but not as good as Superman: the move 5 stars
4/26/08 Totir Alexandru I hope to see more Superman movies in the future. The character and story are worth it. 4 stars
3/21/08 Kenny Good movie, but it lacked inspiration 4 stars
3/15/08 Stephen C Not as good as the first Superman, but beats most of the sequels out there 4 stars
2/21/08 Badge For kids only. 1 stars
2/19/08 mrsinister Worse than Hellboy, better than Daredevil. 2 stars
11/04/07 Schweinstein Rubbish film, boring, lifeless. Insult to all who loved the first two superman films 1 stars
10/07/07 Dan Halberg You have no right to say this film is BETTER than X-Men. What bullshit. 1 stars
10/01/07 Andrew Kercher Brandon Routh made me believe a man could fly again. But nobody can outdo Kidder's Lois. 5 stars
9/24/07 Bitchflaps A decent effort, better than X-Men or Spider-Man, but the bland leads let it down. 3 stars
8/21/07 Jubei A solid homage to Richard Donner's Superman but Singer should find his own vision of Supes. 4 stars
8/07/07 iZoe The BEST Superhero movie ever made. But not for action-obsessed "Brain-Dead" fanboys. 5 stars
8/06/07 Frazier G bad storyline and cast. such a disappointment. Hulk was better 2 stars
8/04/07 Kelly Whitekiller How could anyone give this a good rating? Effects were good, thats it. 1 stars
7/20/07 The Golden Martian Worst comic book movie EVER! 1 stars
6/19/07 simmy Honestly, I didn't enjoy one second. 2 stars
6/18/07 Matt Huge disappointment. 1 stars
6/13/07 Lance The only good thing about this movie was the costume, beyond that it sucked on every level 1 stars
5/29/07 ebert great movie 5 stars
5/20/07 NHK Great film. Better than the first movies for Spiderman, X-Men and Batman 4 stars
5/15/07 967 Overrated and overhyped, like most superhero films. 2 stars
5/14/07 movieman loved it 5 stars
5/12/07 Fudd Poor on every level. 1 stars
5/08/07 Kevin Mecham The greatest Superman to date. A wonderful Return. Superman has a heart! 5 stars
5/01/07 Tracey Chambers very disappointing. This piece of crap killed a great franchise 1 stars
4/04/07 Dave Best Superman yet 5 stars
3/08/07 Simm I don't get what's so great about it. 5 stars?? 2 stars
3/07/07 man great comeback to a great series 5 stars
3/06/07 dude great movie 5 stars
3/06/07 dprodigy Too simplistic. Loony villain. Lois is a bitch. Take your pick. 1 stars
2/19/07 Todd M Not bad. The main characters seemed way too young though. 3 stars
2/17/07 JM Synth Good, but you think they could have come up with a bit more in the last twenty years! 3 stars
2/06/07 Meekay Bad casting, boring plot. Horrible excuse for a Superman movie. 1 stars
2/01/07 Anthony Feor Spectacular film, if only the Batman series could have this much intelligence 5 stars
1/08/07 Indrid Cold Not bad, as good as 1 and 2. Too cartoonish to be a real masterpiece though. 4 stars
1/05/07 Matt C REALLY? The kid just HAPPENED to be looking in the water 10 MINUTES AFTER THEY LEFT? REALLY 1 stars
12/29/06 Austin Wertman ONE OF THE 5 BEST COMIC BOOK MOVIES I'VE EVER SEEN 5 stars
12/28/06 Todd Bring on Doomsday goddammit! 1 stars
12/25/06 johnnyfog They should have JUST STARTED OVER! Luthor is too cartoony in this setting. Singer die!!! 2 stars
12/16/06 Jen in Denmark Awful, just awful and disappointing. No story, no content, just a pile of poo. 1 stars
12/05/06 David Pollastrini great action with a few comedy bits 5 stars
11/18/06 Quigley WHAT HAPPENED?!? Bryan Singer was a good director! Too bad. Good Brandon Routh, lame action 2 stars
11/14/06 chris f exellent movie dont listen to the freaks who say its bad they no nothing 5 stars
11/14/06 Zaeem D Movie does not depict Superman. Crap dialogue & characters & costume & plot. Truth, Erik! 1 stars
11/04/06 MP Bartley Routh is good, Spacey is great, Singer does a good job...a good job all round. 4 stars
11/04/06 Sven Harvey Not bad. Horribly miscast. Perhaps the movie should have been a follow on from Smallville. 4 stars
10/20/06 Robyn Jamil-Walid Not bad, despite making Lois Lane not particularly likeable & Spacey making a lame villain. 4 stars
10/19/06 Henry Superman Returns fue del carajo 5 stars
10/17/06 Adrian This movie reflects our culture in society; the need for a hero. 4 stars
10/16/06 David I loved this film.Great special effects and story. 5 stars
10/15/06 William Goss Exhausting escapist entertainment, for better and sometimes for worse. CGI is top-notch. 4 stars
10/04/06 Baldeadly Wanted to leave half way into it.It was so BAD! 1 stars
9/23/06 Farnsy great movie with good story but it didn't leave me in awe 4 stars
9/20/06 Jami W. reminded me of an old boyfriend 1 stars
9/16/06 Aldo Actors were good but the story was BAD...Luthor never seemed threating enough 2 stars
9/04/06 The Maz Bad. Only the shitfest Clerks2 was a worse movie in 2006. 2 stars
9/02/06 Christopher Stucky Pleasant to watch, and I've already forgotten what happened in it. 3 stars
8/30/06 Matt Waterhouse Heartfelt, visually stunning, better than Pirates! Too much nitpicking going on. Fantastic! 5 stars
8/25/06 michael first one was better but still worth seeing 3 stars
8/25/06 james burke Singer likes the Donner film, but hasn't read many superman comics. He doesn't 'get' it. 2 stars
8/23/06 Chad Thomas Best movie of the summer! 5 stars
8/21/06 G Sherfy SuperLONG; could have edited out 30 minutes; 3 stars
8/17/06 Alexander Firestone Give Routh an OSCAR now!!! Fabulous performance! 5 stars
8/17/06 Pn. Spacey impoves on Hackman. End of story. 2 stars
8/15/06 Rohit Loved it! Worth for a sequel 5 stars
8/15/06 Don Paco Enough crappy superhero movies already. 2 stars
8/14/06 sweetgrrl1972 Really really boring. 1 stars
8/07/06 Michael Makes Ben Afleck's Daredevil seem like a masterspiece. 1 stars
8/06/06 Erik Van Sant The only good film this summer. Tragically ignored by people who see 'Pirates' repeatedly. 5 stars
8/01/06 Alexander Firestone Give Brandon Routh an OSCAR right now. 5 stars
7/31/06 Michael Worst superhero movie since Batman and Robin 1 stars
7/31/06 Benjamin Meh. Chop an hour off and it would've been better. 3 stars
7/31/06 Chuck Where were the feel of greatness when you see Super? He is another hero not our Super 2 stars
7/27/06 moops Spacey disappoints, inane plot and action scenes are a bore 2 stars
7/26/06 Koitus Disappointed with ending (and green K; he would have sensed / felt it!). Also, a lame Lois 4 stars
7/25/06 Ricardo leave your brain at home to watch this film 1 stars
7/22/06 Doc Holliday Mediocre and Wooden at Best. Very miscast Lois Lane. 3 stars
7/22/06 ES Had a joygasm watching this. We all missed the Man of Steel 5 stars
7/21/06 RealDeal2006 Absolutley superb 5 stars
7/20/06 Alexander Firestone Routh is wonderful; getting the essential loneliness of the savior perfectly. 5 stars
7/19/06 Dick Shatternacker A step up in the visual effects department but life had been drained out of this super hero 4 stars
7/18/06 Michael Luthor was good. Why must lois have a kid? Cyclops should have been Superman! 5 stars
7/17/06 chris f ignore the movie nerds its a great mocie 5 stars
7/16/06 Charlie O. Smith My God -- you're all such pretentious jackasses! It was a genuinely good movie!!! 4 stars
7/15/06 Swellman I was checking my watch - not a good sign 2 stars
7/14/06 Alejandro Luna First Catwoman, then Electra and the FF. They only paved the way for this turkey. 1 stars
7/14/06 alice First part: BORING Second part: Ok 3 stars
7/13/06 harry junk 1 stars
7/12/06 Ole Man Bourbon Pointless, plotless, soulless, and BORING AS FUCK. Awful. 1 stars
7/12/06 mr. mike the '78 movie was better 3 stars
7/12/06 John S Dismal. How many millions and we get THIS for a script? Pure crap. 1 stars
7/12/06 Guy Smiley This movie sucked in spades. I saw a free bootleg and I got ripped off. 1 stars
7/12/06 Colin McEvoy Jon Peters is the only person to blame for this movie. Not the filmmakers, only Jon Peters 4 stars
7/11/06 Mike V Borrrrrrrrrrrring!!!!!!!!!! 3 stars
7/11/06 Roy Excellent movie, with Fantastic effects , but it didn't leave me in Awe 4 stars
7/11/06 Joseph P. Hughes Akin to Morgan Freeman's plane crash analogy - a series of misssteps. Great SFX. 3 stars
7/10/06 Alexander Firestone Superb portrayal by Brandon Routh emphasizing Superman's essential lonliness. 5 stars
7/10/06 James Fluker This movie was boring beyond all measure. Routh and Bosworth were miscast! No action!!!! 2 stars
7/10/06 Dez An Exceelent ComeBack! Brandon Routh did an awesome job!! 5 stars
7/08/06 Trevor Simply Amazing 5 stars
7/07/06 Jiz "Boring" about sums it up. I've seen Seagal movies with better plot too. 2 stars
7/07/06 Terry Upp In a word: Boring 1 stars
7/07/06 peter arajs this movie is useless 1 stars
7/06/06 Zaw Wow! really take me back to frist time I saw Superman! Looks like remake at first isn't! 5 stars
7/05/06 Mase For suge a long big movie, it felt somewhat vacant and small. and the casting wow horrible. 3 stars
7/05/06 Seanboy A popcorn masterpiece, sits along side batman begins and spidy 2 as the best of its kind 5 stars
7/05/06 areon didn't live up to "Superman: The Movie" but still -----INCREDIBLY AMAZING 5 stars
7/04/06 R.W.Welch Not quite up to the Chris Reeve original but as close as they're likely to get. Snazzy FX. 4 stars
7/04/06 Mike Didn't meet my expectations but still was a decent flick. It seemed a little slow paced tho 4 stars
7/04/06 Alfonso Affinito An incredibly brilliant and even spiritual movie. I loved itl 5 stars
7/04/06 ajay it was okay... still a little campy and over-the-top, needs to be about 20 minutes shorter 3 stars
7/04/06 John Boring, the "character development" didn't ammount to anything. 2 stars
7/04/06 Steve-O Like Christ, Superman will die of crucifixion - at the hands of bitchy nitpicking fanboys 5 stars
7/04/06 BJaq right up there w/ "Hellboy", as the the stupidest superhero movie i've seen 1 stars
7/04/06 stingerman Puny, Stalker, Deadbeat Dad Superman 1 stars
7/03/06 Bob Boring? I thought it was ok. Not sure it was cast right, but the story was fun. 3 stars
7/03/06 LYR So very bad that it actually made me mad that I'd paid to see it! 1 stars
7/03/06 nick movie was sooooo boring 2 stars
7/03/06 phil About as bad as Childress says, and about twice as boring 2 stars
7/03/06 Dan Disappointing. The screenplay wasn't very good, and Luthor's entire plotline was stupid 2 stars
7/03/06 millersxing Too long, overhyped, the human drama is stale, & the action is dissapointing. 2 stars
7/03/06 Roy Smith Did Lex think a nuke or sniper bullet wouldn't come his way ASAP?! He is a total retard. 2 stars
7/03/06 tx2030 this is great movie! 5 stars
7/03/06 Uncle Salty Hot Molten Shit 1 stars
7/02/06 manosteelbars Awesome movie 5 stars
7/02/06 Logan Horberg what the hell? this was the best superhero movie i've seen since v for vendetta 5 stars
7/02/06 Jeff Botting The dialogue was half-baked and Lex Luthor's character was Dr. Evil.. basically. 2 stars
7/02/06 Sean D Very very good. 5 stars
7/02/06 jcjs i'm going all the way with this..rather stunned i like it much more than i expected 5 stars
7/02/06 M Franck No script. A shell of a film. Empty - yet deeply disappointing. 1 stars
7/02/06 The StarWolf This is by the same guy who gave us X-MEN and X-MEN 2? You just be joking. 2 stars
7/02/06 erick A depressed, souless Superman...great summer fun indeed. 2 stars
7/01/06 Nick Supercrap. Childress speaks the truth. 1 stars
7/01/06 steve Childress has it right word for word. 2 stars
7/01/06 George Fantastic effects with great suspense, but it didn't leave me in Awe. 4 stars
7/01/06 cpbjr loved it; HIGHLY entertaining 5 stars
7/01/06 rob Childress had completely the wrong expectations it would seem. 5 stars
7/01/06 Brian Mckay This movie was goddamn amazing. Been trying to nitpick it all night and CAN'T 5 stars
7/01/06 Obi Wan Routh was excellent choice, Singer did a very good job..but too long. 4 stars
6/30/06 phil Childress is completly right, boring as hell 2 stars
6/30/06 Jambi Such a shame, Routh was great, but the movie around him was merely "Meh"...too bad. 3 stars
6/30/06 David LeRoy Don't let others judge it for you...... See it for yourself 5 stars
6/30/06 Peter Has Childress ever read a comic book? I don't think so. 5 stars
6/30/06 Davad Childress is wrong. This movie treats Superman with a wonderful reverence. 5 stars
6/30/06 Ellen This movie was awful. It would have been so easy for people to find out Superman was Clark 2 stars
6/30/06 Scott Wow is all I can say - action with heart - who could ask for more 5 stars
6/30/06 KingNeutron Make your own judgement, but to me Routh *is* Teh New Superman. 4 stars
6/29/06 Nashberg What an epic! Everything Spiderman 2 was, only on a much bigger scale! 5 stars
6/29/06 Mark W I wanted to love this. It was weak. Clark drinks a beer? Has a child? Slow and wrong! 2 stars
6/29/06 Michael Borge The movie was poorly casted and boring 2 stars
6/29/06 Rex To long, slow, and dull. Nothing special about this movie. 2 stars
6/29/06 Mitch Terribly slow-paced and not much fun at all. Donner's is still the best. 3 stars
6/29/06 Melanie Well done! 5 stars
6/29/06 Adrien Some slow parts but still a great movie for a superhero movie. You're way too geek Erik! 4 stars
6/29/06 eric sledge IT WAS EVERYTHING I HOPED FOR AND MORE WELCOME BACK SUPER MAN CANT WAIT FOR THE SEQUEL 5 stars
6/29/06 Bruce Wayne The best SuperHero Movie!!! 5 stars
6/29/06 Steve Martin Boring and overworn. Nothing original, nothing exciting. No real reason to watch. 2 stars
6/29/06 Ricky David Tripp The costume sucked. The movie was only marginally better. 3 stars
6/28/06 Frank Walker This movie reminded us of what makes Superman great and builds a foundation for great sequa 5 stars
6/28/06 Darren Shea Despite some flaws, it is a superb comic book movie. 5 stars
6/28/06 Sam Hozman Interesting take on representing "The American Way" 2 stars
6/28/06 Quiggs Fantastic Film! 5 stars
6/28/06 Reignofjerm I think Erik nailed it. I liked it for the fact that it was Superman, but it was very slow 4 stars
6/28/06 John Stone Erik Childress is an idiot, even for a movie critic. 5 stars
6/28/06 uncle bob childress nailed it. save your money for spidey 3 1 stars
6/28/06 Tswc Can I have my money back so i can use it for Spider-Man 3 please 1 stars
6/28/06 Tony Bussert I thought this was the best of the superhero movies yet. 5 stars
6/28/06 Ole Man Bourbon Beyond boring, plotless, heartless, pointless. Torture session. 1 stars
6/28/06 Doug Are you retarded? Ditching III and IV was the smartest move they could've done. 5 stars
6/28/06 Ron G This was needed to restart the series. But need to be more original and fun from here. 4 stars
6/28/06 BrianWilly Awesome movie, don't miss it. 5 stars
6/28/06 Jord Alexander very very very boring, avoid like the plague 1 stars
6/28/06 Jeremy Swank Sequel to two films made in the friggin 70s? Was looking for an new take on the franchise. 2 stars
6/28/06 Jimmy This just did not make sense, too long and not enough action - Hulksyndrome strikes again 3 stars
6/27/06 Josh Tetreault Erik Childress is a jerk, the movie was superb, possibly the best superhero film ever 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Jun-2006 (PG-13)
  DVD: 28-Nov-2006

UK
  14-Jul-2006

Australia
  29-Jun-2006




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast