Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.31

Awesome: 8.65%
Worth A Look42.31%
Just Average: 25%
Pretty Crappy: 19.23%
Sucks: 4.81%

9 reviews, 50 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Crazy Rich Asians by Peter Sobczynski

Meg, The by Jay Seaver

Island, The (2018) by Jay Seaver

Summer of '84 by Jay Seaver

BlacKkKlansman by Peter Sobczynski

Along with the Gods: The Last 49 Days by Jay Seaver

Along with the Gods: The Two Worlds by Jay Seaver

Mission: Impossible - Fallout by Jay Seaver

Stripped to Kill 2: Live Girls by Jack Sommersby

Ready Player One by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Devil Wears Prada, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by William Goss

"The Devil Wears Out Welcome"
3 stars

Andrea “Andy” Sachs (Anne Hathaway) has a mean boss. However, should she survive said superior for at least a year, she is practically guaranteed a subsequent position at any magazine of her choice. As such, she goes about the torturous tasks that she is charged with in an endless effort to please infamous fashion fascist Miranda Priestly (Meryl Streep), and her endeavors are what passes for plot in 'The Devil Wears Prada,' the film adaptation of a best-selling novel that is entirely inconsequential save for the notion that “at least I don’t have it as bad as Miss 'Princess Diaries' does.”

There is no story to speak of, simply every young girl’s fashionista fantasy interrupted by the 9-to-5 nightmare and a collection of oh-no-she-didn’t! moments whenever Priestly hisses out her latest demands, from delivering skirts and Starbucks to obtaining a copy or two of the latest unpublished Harry Potter installment, always followed by a curt “That’s all.” As Priestly, Streep is certainly hard as nails, whispering derogatory remarks and casting vicious glances without a moment’s hesitation. Over the course of the movie, though, one finds it easy to have their fill of such cattiness, and it’s not for lack of trying on Streep’s part. If anything, it’s all due to the trying nature of her character, a sneering caricature better suited or perhaps doomed to work best in a 3-minute sketch or 368-page paperback than a 109-minute feature.

Hathaway tries to convince us that a Northwestern University journalism major and editor of the school newspaper there has never heard of such a notorious witch as the editor of Runway, for whom she blindly accepts the job that peers constantly remind her many other girls would kill for. With hints of Ellen Page’s ‘aw, shucks’ demeanor and nasally whine from Hard Candy (did she happen to leave it behind for Hathaway following an X-Men: The Last Stand meeting at Fox?), Andy is initially a frumpy girl and practical pińata for Miranda to ravage. However, despite her proclamation that she would never change for her job, here comes a midpoint makeover montage set to Madonna’s “Vogue” as she transforms her look and shuns her friends to adapt to the ruthless fashion world that she claims to know and care nothing about. For the most part, Hathaway just finds herself playing an amalgam of her prior roles, capable enough but not outstanding in the least.

As the token gay associate, Stanley Tucci also seems to hone his previous snide demeanors to play Nigel, a designer who pretty much repeats the harsh remarks of Miranda, yet is somehow determined to be a sympathetic shoulder for Andy to cry on. Both Tucci and Streep seem to playing at that certain level, striking a balance of understated campiness and constant drollness as if they’re gunning for Golden Globe nods each, nothing more, nothing less. However, the droll gives way to dull as director David Frankel and writer Aline Brosh McKenna decides that they need some semblance of story to carry the film through, eventually building up to a Paris trip where the closest thing to a plot twist and character development gets wedged in while humor gets tossed aside and everything plays out in increasingly predictable, er, fashion.

And so it goes, a tale of a bitch and her bitch, working its way from sophisticated to stale, from shallow to downright vain. Streep gets to vamp it up, Hathaway gets to take it in, and any actual comedy steadily fades away. I guess laughs were just SO last hour.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=14734&reviewer=409
originally posted: 07/03/06 23:32:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/17/17 Louise (the real one) The book is way better. 3 stars
3/17/14 Wmchfwqk If china you have the total new sales, and at least a misdemeanor -- after intimidating the 4 stars
9/04/08 Rachel Anne Hathaway is just so damn likeable and Streep is great as always. 4 stars
7/11/08 TreeTiger Avoid this... 1 stars
6/07/08 PAUL SHORTT A CLEVER, FUNNY LOOK AT THE WAY WE SOMETIMES RISK SELLING ONE'S SOUL IN THE NAME OF SUCESS 4 stars
5/05/08 Les one of the best movies of the last 2 years. It's funny and touching. 4 stars
8/13/07 Annonomiss Entertaining film. Streep doesn't go for the obvious. See it! 4 stars
7/01/07 R.W. Welch Slightly satirical take on the fashion game with sharp script and acting. 4 stars
4/27/07 Double M Everybody was really good, But the surprise for me was Emily Blunt, this girl is AWESOME.. 4 stars
3/10/07 Ryan_A Streep was fantastic, as was Tucci (he usually is). Rest of the movie, not so much. 3 stars
2/16/07 Bitchflaps A thoroughly vacuous hour and a half, should be dark, but is cutesy and maudlin. 1 stars
1/29/07 David Pollastrini Anne Hathaway is hot! 5 stars
1/28/07 Stanley Thai Better than many comedies these days. Acting were great. 4 stars
1/27/07 Edith Tide Meryl Streep could have found many less annoying ways to get another Oscar nomination! 2 stars
1/16/07 BigSnake Streep unbelievably good, rest of movie formulaic 4 stars
1/07/07 Phil M. Aficionado It was OK, but not "special" in any way, except Streep was terrific again 3 stars
12/18/06 Ole Man Bourbon Terrible. Predictable. Stupid. And the lead girl has something wrong with her eyes. 1 stars
12/04/06 KT meryl streep is the greatest actor i know so how could this movie be bad?? i love it 5 stars
11/26/06 Alice comedy? didn't laugh much, just an avarage movie. 3 stars
11/23/06 MP Bartley Streep is killer - but the movie is ironically too superficial. 3 stars
11/15/06 KC Meryl Streep's Oscar-worthy performance makes this a must-see! 5 stars
11/10/06 Sandra What possessed Meryl Streep to go near this turkey? Boring. Anne H becoming stereotyped. 1 stars
11/01/06 The Lurchprong Splitter Who said Mery Streep WAS Glenn Close, FCOL? 2 stars
10/26/06 moderntwist.blogspot It set me thinking. 4 stars
10/20/06 Karan Top notch! Highly recommend it 5 stars
10/18/06 Laura Are you stupid?? Meryl Streep is not Glenn Close!!! It's not the same person, idiots! 3 stars
10/18/06 Bruce Streep wonderful, but movie full of negative body image messages for young women 2 stars
10/16/06 Louise Enjoyable but the ending could have been stronger. 4 stars
10/11/06 Anne Hathaway AIN'T fat, but Julia Roberts might BE Jabba The Hut! Must be insulting if you like high fashion; Interminable and repellent if you don't. 2 stars
10/09/06 Meredith Harshaw Meryl Streep makes us miss DEATH BECOMES HER; Anne Hathaway makes us miss ELLA ENCHANTED. 2 stars
10/07/06 Jenny Tullwartz Never a good sign when pernicious indulgence is all that keeps a movie from being boring. 2 stars
10/05/06 Don't care what Eric D may say Twould've been better if all leads had farted in their haute couture lingerie at some point 2 stars
10/05/06 Kole I am in NY and I am straight - My girl dragged me and I must say I enjoyed it! 5 stars
10/02/06 Tanya Streep was priceless! 4 stars
9/29/06 Hart Worth every dollar I spent - 5 stars
9/21/06 Lisa Craven Streep at her best, never knew bitchy could be so good. Entertaining & Fun 4 stars
9/07/06 Hardy This movie really show what is happening in the fashion world as i experienced it myself 5 stars
8/20/06 diljeet singh kalsi Once again Ms Streep proves that she is the undisputed queen of all actresses.I have had th 4 stars
8/17/06 Pn. Walk on my back with spiked heals, Ms. Streep! 4 stars
8/02/06 Bill Good - Music/Cityscapes/Amusing/Worth the price of a ticket 4 stars
7/28/06 Heather Marie go to Hell 1 stars
7/12/06 Captain Highcrime If you're in NY or LA I dare you to find a straight male sitting in the audience. 3 stars
7/12/06 orpament Fun if you go with a teenaged girl! 4 stars
7/11/06 katsat Hathaway annoying but Streep is more than enough reason to see this.And dump the boyfriend! 4 stars
7/07/06 Gerry Irons very silly- not worth a rental 2 stars
7/06/06 Mike V Formulaic, but GOOD formulaic. 4 stars
7/05/06 Mase Proves what i've always felt. Dark Comedy is Streeps true cinematic calling. 5 stars
7/05/06 mwr Immensely enjoyable, Streep is Oscar perfection, Hathaway good too 5 stars
7/04/06 jcjs disturbing people can be so stupid sometimes..talk about lives of quiet desperation, snobs 3 stars
7/03/06 Joseph Great fun, excellent acting 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Jun-2006 (PG-13)
  DVD: 12-Dec-2006

UK
  05-Oct-2006

Australia
  28-Sep-2006




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast