Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.2

Awesome: 16.4%
Worth A Look31.22%
Just Average: 20.63%
Pretty Crappy: 19.58%
Sucks: 12.17%

14 reviews, 105 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Collin Souter

"Buy a ticket. Take the ride. Again."
4 stars

Looking back three years later, itís still quite amazing how the first Pirates of the Caribbean film managed to rake in $300 million, earn an Oscar nomination for its acting and win over audiences and critics alike. Pirate movies have long since been a punchline amongst Hollywood insiders on what NOT to greenlight. After the fiascos Yellowbeard, The Pirate Movie, Roman Polanskiís Pirates and Cutthroat Island, it became crystal clear that audiences werenít interested in paying money to see snarling, one-legged drunks when they could see them for free standing outside Chicagoís Metra Union Station. Plus, they werenít funny or relevant and, thanks to Gilbert and Sullivan, were a little too light in the loafers for some.

But times have changed, as have pirates. The pirate genre lay dormant long enough for people to forget there were such a thing as pirate movies, but along came Johnny Depp and his Keith Richards swagger mixed with Pepe Le Pewís aloof charm and somehow made it cool again. Like he does for all his roles, Deppís Captain Jack Sparrow is his own creation and it remains impossible to imagine any other actor in that part. His performance came out of nowhere and it helped make the slightly overlong pirate adventure a better movie than it would have been if he hadnít been in it.

Honestly, the exact same review could be written for its sequel, Dead Manís Chest. It comes to us no more, no less rousing, funny and endearing as the first film. It also has the same problem as the first film, only slightly more so. The film runs 2 Ĺ hours in length and feels it. Thatís ten minutes longer than the original, with a third film on the way next summer. Thatís a lot of Pirates. Luckily, Dead Manís Chest doesnít overload on Deppís performance. To its credit, it leaves us wanting more and wondering what will come of its three main characters.

We begin on the wedding day as Will Turner (Orlando Bloom) and Elizabeth Swann (Kiera Knightley) are about to be married. However, they are both suddenly found guilty of aiding the escape of a known criminal (Sparrow). For this, they are to be sent to the gallows, unless of course, Will can retrieve Sparrow and bring him back. Will agrees to this, setting forth on a journey find Jack Sparrow and somehow get him to come back so that Will and Elizabeth can get married. Elizabeth sits in a cell and waits (donít worry. Sheís not there for the entire film).

Meanwhile, Sparrow and his crew are embarking on a quest to find a treasure chest, which contains the heart of Davy Jones (Bill Nighy), a tortured soul who, legend has it, lives beneath the sea. Of course, itís not a legend, but a fact of Sparrowís life. Years ago, Sparrow made a deal with Davy Jones and is now expected to make good on his end of it, with his soul. Not about to give in without a fight, Sparrow must find the titular dead manís chest in order to get out of the deal once and for all.

Of course, there lurk plenty of detours and obstacles in his wake. An island where he becomes worshipped as a God, action sequences involving fruit and loose water well wheels, Davy Jonesís fish-like henchmen, a bar fight and a gi-normous water creature called The Krakken (yes, like Clash of the Titans, only different), just to name a few. Iím not really giving anything away by merely mentioning these events or people. The film offers plenty of surprises. All of these events (and plenty more) come into play within a story that is too big to write about in three paragraphs.

Director Gore Verbinski tries to keep the pace brisk without sacrificing the story. More often than not, he succeeds. The film has a bit of a lull in its middle section, but once it picks up in the action and humor, the movie really takes off. Still, with these films, plus last yearís barely-noticed The Weather Man, Verbinski has proved himself a solid director who can work within many different genres. He can put together a hell of an action sequence, which he does here repeatedly, without sacrificing what makes most of these characters so special.

I say most, because only two of the three main characters hold any real interest for me. Part of the problem with this franchise is the casting of a less-than-interesting Orlando Bloom. His Will Turner just doesnít engage me that much. With someone like Jack Sparrow at the forefront, itís not hard to see why Elizabeth would have mixed feelings between the two. She may never say it, but we can see plainly that she wants him. It could just be that Bloom makes for a better wide-eyed Legolas or even a better corporate flunky than a dashing, charismatic leading man in a swashbuckler.

Still, itís to the credit of the rest of the cast and filmmakers that these two Pirate movies remain so much fun. Credit must also go to screenwriters Ted Elliott and Terry Russo for not trying to overcompensate on the Jack Sparrow quotient. After Depp stole the first film, it would have been only natural for the sequel to be dubbed The Johnny Depp Show. Thankfully, this doesnít happen. Dead Manís Chest keeps the franchise fresh and surprising without resorting to old-standbys and like a truly great bridge film (a Part II in an obvious trilogy), it leaves us with terrific cliffhangers. If someone had said weíd be writing reviews like this about a Bruckheimer-produced pirate movie based on a theme park ride, theyíd never have believed it.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=14738&reviewer=233
originally posted: 07/07/06 00:22:36
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/23/09 Chris Whoever wrote the review at the top has no idea what they're talking about. 5 stars
1/20/09 Anonymous. the worst of the trilogy, disappointing. :/ 3 stars
1/14/09 Shaun Wallner Depp is a great actor. 5 stars
11/30/08 Roz Not as good as the first. Plot was an absolute mess. 3 stars
11/30/08 noops.... had grt expectations frm this but disappointed... 3 stars
10/13/08 PAUL SHORTT A PATCHY AND OVERLONG SEQUEL, BUT STILL FULL OF HUMOUR AND TOP NOTCH ACTION 3 stars
6/01/08 R.W. Welch Overdone, overbroad, and overlong. 2 stars
1/04/08 Pamela White vague plot but effects make it interesting 3 stars
8/12/07 Annonomiss 2nd film of trilogy was SO hokey and Disneyed up. Waste of film. 1 stars
6/16/07 Tiffany Losco awesome, loved it. Johnny depp great sexy 5 stars
5/31/07 Ionicera better than the reviews led me to believe 4 stars
5/24/07 Tracey Chambers good movie, but I was exhausted when it was over 3 stars
5/24/07 runes one way, way too many plotlines...even the dog got a plotline...wack!? 1 stars
5/16/07 carlie beautiful movie!!!! i love piratres of the caribbean !!!! and i have the book!!! super 5 stars
4/26/07 Sharlatan the 1st was wicked wtf happened the dog moment and cage swing ws only good bits nothtfunny 2 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK Twice as long and half as good as the original. thank god that Mr Depp saves the day. 3 stars
1/18/07 movieman great movie 5 stars
1/10/07 NANCY YANG WAYYY...... MUCH BETTER THAN THE FIRSST ONE 5 stars
1/05/07 Watch This Movie! Very good, had just as much momentum as the first. Entertaining and fun. 5 stars
12/28/06 Samantha Fields I love pirates of the caribbean 1 & 2 , its funny and can be scary !!! 5 stars
12/26/06 Keelie liked it... ending couldve been better but i think it is much clearer now.... 4 stars
12/25/06 bullit16 Seriously? You're kidding, right? 2 stars
12/17/06 Thealizia The scene were they were were fighting on the wheel was over dramatic 2 stars
12/14/06 Charles Tatum On par with the original, Depp steals his scenes again 4 stars
12/07/06 Ron Better than the first 4 stars
12/05/06 Dude Hilarious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 5 stars
11/22/06 Austin Wertman BETTER THAN THE FIRST 5 stars
11/14/06 reena wful, just awful. arbitrary events dont make a good movie... 1 stars
11/13/06 gracie this was th best movie ever. you suck! 5 stars
10/24/06 Drew G Good sequel to a great movie 4 stars
10/16/06 David Very disappointing 2 stars
10/13/06 Helen Cannot be missed! Savvy? 5 stars
9/28/06 ES A movie worse than the first one, now that's quite a feat 1 stars
9/25/06 Kayla I love this movie so much! The first one was better but even that one had its ups and downs 5 stars
9/21/06 JohnnyFaye I love reading peoples far fetched "I hate" reasons for this movie...haha It's a sweetmovie 5 stars
9/20/06 Pritchett The first one sucked and so does this one. 1 stars
9/16/06 ad lengthy 3 stars
9/13/06 Mara Frost Once again, Johnny Depp is great! Also fun stunts and creature makeup. 5 stars
9/12/06 Agent Sands A disappointment, with perhaps 2 entertaining scenes. 3 stars
9/06/06 bosh not really 2 stars
9/04/06 Ricardo very entertaining 5 stars
9/02/06 Christopher Stucky Didn't expect much, but really liked it... just like the first one. 4 stars
9/01/06 van zwaar ...yarr 2 stars
8/23/06 Chad Thomas Johnny Depp is great! 4 stars
8/21/06 G Sherfy Projector died at the end of the movie; I wasn't disappointed to miss the last 5 minutes. 3 stars
8/13/06 George This is movie is kinda lame 3 stars
8/06/06 Vincent Costa Entertaining 3 stars
8/06/06 Erik Van Sant 15 Minutes in and I was wishing I was watching 'Superman Returns' again. Flaccid follow-up. 2 stars
8/04/06 TiGrBaLm Fast paced, action packed, John Sparrow ROCKS 4 stars
8/03/06 sulman mahmood good 4 stars
8/03/06 Sarah W totally awesome johnny depp was great!!!!! 5 stars
8/02/06 Mike V Too long but a lot of fun....It's Depp...enough said. 4 stars
8/01/06 Mase IF you liked the first you will probably like this, if not tedious and boring. 2 stars
7/29/06 ls All the things that made part 1 good are missing. Part 3 is gonna get downloaded 2 stars
7/29/06 Troy M. Grzych Action sequences were too long and drawn out. Visuals were cool. Movie slow. 4 stars
7/29/06 ahnold All visual. No plot. Nothing compelling. What's happened in hollywood? 1 stars
7/27/06 dj way too long!!! And there is no ending!! 2 stars
7/25/06 Quigley an awesome sequel that has some problems, but I ain't complaining. Depp is the man; see it 5 stars
7/24/06 jess Totally awesome! 5 stars
7/24/06 pin transition film, loose and disappointing. Will still see III 3 stars
7/24/06 Joyce Verhoeven For everyone whom has not seen this movie, watch it, because this movie is super 5 stars
7/23/06 malcolm near perfect blend of action/comedy, but really just half a movie 4 stars
7/22/06 Koitus Keira looked great; hard to understand Voodoo woman; suspicious ending! 3 stars
7/22/06 Agent Sands The 2 action sequences on islands were the only good parts of the movie. 3 stars
7/20/06 michaelb1478 a little overlong but still a fun movie 4 stars
7/20/06 Elizabeth S Some clever humorous action, but needs a major edit. 3 stars
7/19/06 ahnold Just another movie w/2 much action and no compelling plot 2 stars
7/19/06 Butt No treasure in this chest 2 stars
7/19/06 Suzz too long; heavy on special effects; lite on with; not enough Depp 3 stars
7/19/06 Ashley It's totally awesome!!! Cannot wait for the 3rd. I love Johnny Depp! 5 stars
7/18/06 Ole Man Bourbon A lot better than I was expecting. Forgettable, but entertaining. 4 stars
7/16/06 Jim Almost as good as the original 4 stars
7/14/06 Evil Wolfie Slightly less good then the first. 4 stars
7/14/06 MP Bartley Overstuffed, disjointed and silly, but still a giddily fun time. 4 stars
7/14/06 robo it does suck quite badly 2 stars
7/13/06 Somebody people who give it less than 5 stars are just too picky! 5 stars
7/13/06 Stanley Thai Better than the first but it's just too long. 4 stars
7/13/06 Nightjorn PIRATES OF THE CRAP-A-BEAN: THE WRATH OF CTHULHU!!!!! 1 stars
7/13/06 inty utter crap 1 stars
7/13/06 EZ I can't wait for the third one!! 5 stars
7/12/06 Agent Sands Way too long, disorganized, too many dead animals. Only 2 good scenes in the whole movie. 3 stars
7/12/06 Dan great movie to see 5 stars
7/12/06 Captain Highcrime Found myself wanting to hear the "Benny Hill" theme during some of sillier set-pieces 3 stars
7/11/06 Vicious Fun over-all, but it seemed to lack focus. 4 stars
7/11/06 JM Synth Some outstanding set-pieces, but Verbinski is yet another director who lacks restraint 3 stars
7/11/06 Roy I loved the first half but then I got bored 3 stars
7/11/06 Kent S Did I see the same film? I'm sorry but I'm frustrated and angry at the "end" of this movie 2 stars
7/10/06 hooplah could have used about 20 minutes of trimming and it'd be about perfect 4 stars
7/10/06 Kaitlin Reynolds I thought it was very long, confusing and hard to keep up with. 3 stars
7/10/06 Mike Fairly boring, way too long. Blah 2 stars
7/10/06 Jean Smolen The sequel was butt numbingly boring! 1 stars
7/10/06 NoRefill Way too long. Needs about an hour cut. Watching the original again might make it funnier. 3 stars
7/09/06 Richard Green Frequently tiresome, not all that funny. 3 stars
7/09/06 Doug Eh. 3 stars
7/09/06 John Doesn't have legs to stand on it's own. 2 stars
7/09/06 Bob No plot, not funny, and about two hours too long 1 stars
7/09/06 Steve-O An over-cooked 2.5 hour setup for what will hopefully be a much more exciting third movie 3 stars
7/09/06 sully needs about1 hour of editing, Johnny Depp 4 stars 4 stars
7/08/06 Mo Better than the first one 5 stars
7/08/06 Jon Gets pretty repetitive an dull 1 stars
7/07/06 Roy Started off great but then I got bored 3 stars
7/07/06 KingNeutron Only movie this year I'll see more than once. STAY4CREDITS 4 stars
7/07/06 Jambi I still can't believe people actually liked the first pile of mediocrity. 2 stars
7/07/06 Gerry Irons Very Silly 2 stars
7/07/06 asina started out weak, but REALLY picked up by the end. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  07-Jul-2006 (PG-13)
  DVD: 05-Dec-2006

UK
  06-Jul-2006 (12A)

Australia
  06-Jul-2006 (M)



[trailer] Trailer




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast