Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.99

Awesome: 18.63%
Worth A Look23.6%
Just Average: 16.15%
Pretty Crappy: 21.12%
Sucks: 20.5%

8 reviews, 113 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


She's All That
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"May Be the Sleeper of the Year"
4 stars

She’s All That (***) - On a survey that one of my friends gives me every year about movies, he always lists a bunch of special categories like “Favorite Character in a Movie” or “Most Boring Film”. One of the columns lists a title that reads “Biggest Sleeper” - which is in regards to a good film that gets overlooked by the public or a movie that shocked the hell out of me by how much I enjoyed it. Get where I’m going here?

I wasn’t expecting very much out of this film especially since the idea has been retread through tons of feature films, Disney Channel flicks, and after school specials, but I found myself laughing and caring about the two main characters in the film. I’m as skeptical as they come when it comes to retreading stale waters. Forget for a moment that you can see how the film will turn out by the previews or that its another film about a “ugly duckling” that anyone with a good eye could see was a beauty in disguise. Rachael Leigh Cook is that beauty and quite frankly, she’s gorgeous. I could stare into those eyes all day. But I couldn’t believe how much I was laughing in the theater, out loud, and very loud, during many scenes - especially at jokes that seemed like the audience didn’t even get. The last time that happened was another teenage film called “Clueless”. For example, I’m a big hater of MTV’s Real World and this film takes some real shots at it by casting a character who essentially is playing Puck, who all MTV watchers will remember as the jagoff who was such a jagoff that he actually got tossed out of the house. Matthew Lillard from Scream really relishes playing this role, even if he is a minor character. Another great moment involves Kevin Pollak, the father of the Cook character, watching Jeopardy and spouting out incredibly funny answers in a serious tone. To the question - “Who invented the printing press?” Pollak answers “Who is Hewlett-Packard”. It’s a great scene and it’s played in the background while the movie progresses in the foreground. I almost drowned out the foreground with my laughter. Also out of left field comes a whacked-out performance art piece with a cameo from Alexis Arquette (the Boy George wannabe from The Wedding Singer). In the same way the Baldwin brothers get less talented with age - the Arquette boys get weirder and scarier. There are so many great individual moments that make up the movie that you grant the film its premise (unlike in another movie I saw the same night). I loved the moment when Cook is given her makeover. We’ve seen it hundreds of times, but there are little touches that make the scene work perfectly. I don’t wanna say too much to spoil the film, but I’d be remissed if I didn’t mention the film has the best gross out joke I’ve seen since There’s Something About Mary - one which even Clarence Thomas would be proud of. As for the performances - well the film is full of fresh faces, all of them doing their part. But the biggest surprise for me was Freddie Prinze Jr. I have to admit that I didn’t think much of Chico and the Man’s son from the Jennifer Love Hewitt pictures, but he did a complete 180 on me with this role, giving his role some sweetness and not your typical popular asshole jock where Jodi Lyn O’Keefe plays your garden variety Prom Queen bitch, a character that makes a serious argument against the age-old wisdom of not hitting women. And Rachael Leigh Cook is a complete delight. My God those eyes.

I had a smile on my face for all 97 minutes of the film and I wouldn’t be surprised if 1999’s column under “Biggest Sleeper” read She’s All That.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1474&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/16/00 12:49:29
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/24/09 art THUMBS DOWN TO THIS JUNK! 1 stars
11/08/07 Carmen Crowe Lame comedy, silly hero, surly heroine. And HOW can you shit frisbees? 2 stars
2/07/07 David Pollastrini R L Cook is hot! 3 stars
8/02/06 Nicole I liked it, if you like teen movies, this one is worth a look 4 stars
12/22/05 cody a decent teeny flick with good story, rachael and freddy give good perfomances, good music 3 stars
8/25/05 ES Rachael Leigh Cook is gorgeous but this movie is a dumb as can be 1 stars
7/18/05 Eric Rollins Pygmallion were art thou, story so old it has whiskers 2 stars
8/25/04 brooke pure crap 2 stars
6/28/04 vincent great 5 stars
4/30/04 John smith this movie sucked balls 1 stars
3/12/04 ladeela the movie was goddamm horrible and thats all there is to it 1 stars
2/08/04 Whatevr Yeah "she's all that." All that awful! 1 stars
12/23/03 Orbinson Lo mejor la tia buena de Jodie Lynn,....me la pone muy gorda !!!!! 2 stars
11/06/03 Samuel Matthew Lillard is the only thing that makes freddie Prinze Jr. movies good 2 stars
10/18/03 Wendy Carpenter She's all brat is more like it. Rachel Leigh Cook less exciting than hangnails. 2 stars
10/09/03 Erik Van Sant This shit has been done so many times in so many better ways. Prinze is a brownie-hound. 1 stars
9/09/03 nr i thought it was a great film and the actors did great 5 stars
9/02/03 Dawn All involved must die a slow and torturous death at the hands of those who saw the film. 1 stars
8/23/03 Valerie Cameron Good for something. Gave NOT ANOTHER TEEN MOVIE something worth spoofing! 2 stars
3/17/03 Des Excellent 5 stars
1/11/03 Barry they used a double for his dancing. Why not for his fucken acting? Or rather LACK OF IT. 1 stars
11/06/02 a sweet lady she's living my fantasy... a popular guy going for a unique girl like me....won't happen. 5 stars
8/17/02 P.Rodriguez Wendy piss off RLC is the most stunningly beautiful woman in this world. Damn what a honey! 5 stars
7/01/02 KMG Freddie: "Note to self...stop doing the same fucking movie!" 1 stars
6/21/02 Wendy Carpenter She's all brat is more like it. Rachel Leigh Cook less exciting than hangnails. 2 stars
6/16/02 Ashley Corpening "Rectal archaeology" best line; downhill from there. 2 stars
6/12/02 Edith the Maid and Meredith the Mermaid Surly heroine, sometimes cruel jock hero, and HOW can one shit frisbees? 2 stars
5/17/02 Dark Barřn Yeah. 1 stars
4/26/02 Ashley Corpening After seeing Crossroads, I find I was too hard on Britney Spears! 2 stars
4/02/02 Film Guy She's All Shit 1 stars
3/02/02 Wendy Carpenter She's all brat is more like it. Rachel Leigh Cook less exciting than hangnails. 2 stars
2/25/02 minnie it is ok... 5 stars
2/24/02 Jenny Tullwartz Rachael Leigh Cook's a great actress! Believe me! My butt just sucked a fart back in. 1 stars
2/21/02 Julia Cox Best if you pretend it's a parody of NOT ANOTHER TEEN MOVIE 3 stars
2/14/02 Carmen Crowe Lame comedy, silly hero, sultry heroine. And HOW can you shit frisbees? 2 stars
2/10/02 BINGO Not a bad time-waster, but forgettable. 3 stars
2/04/02 Ashley Corpening all that sure ain't much. Rachel Leigh Cook a cross between britney spears & barbara boxer. 2 stars
2/02/02 Allison Lafferty "rectal archaeology" best line; dwnhill frm there; Prinze wsted: wht expct frm R Lie Cook 2 stars
1/26/02 Andrew Carden Watchable, but Not Very Enjoyable At Times. Cute. 3 stars
1/20/02 Alex This Is A Awsome Moive 5 stars
1/09/02 kristina meski uh!!! 3 stars
1/03/02 boy unjur marluga simangunsong what a great romantic funky film 5 stars
11/26/01 KMG Note to Freddie...I want my fucking 4 bucks back! 1 stars
11/11/01 Jon C. Ericson Yes, another stereotypical high school flick. 3 stars
11/11/01 Gracy Lionheart This movie is particularly odious to me. Wow...glasses + braid = ugly. Not Impressed 1 stars
9/01/01 hilary awesome 5 stars
8/22/01 The Boy In The Designer Bubble Not all that 3 stars
8/09/01 Hilary Clarke Interesting but kind of dumb! 5 stars
5/04/01 The Moorhen Total utter complete shit. Usher Raymond thinks he's the music masta, which he isn't. 1 stars
4/09/01 Gary Good movie 4 stars
3/17/01 Hannah B Freddy Prinze Jr is so hot in the movie and thats all i have to say 5 stars
2/05/01 Sully Cook is cute...Prince is predictably bland...kind of funny...good waste of 1.5 hrs. 3 stars
9/08/00 Bob Fugate Chick Flick for teenage girls,silly not funny. 2 stars
7/11/00 Matthew Bartley A price on Prinze Jr's head. How much more of this formulaic crap can they churn out? 1 stars
5/09/00 Steve Layne Predictable, semi-cheesy, but still amusing and entertaining. 4 stars
5/05/00 P.Rodriguez Rachael leigh Cook is the most beautiful female on the planet. Just watch it for her!! 5 stars
3/12/00 Richard Wright "She" may be all that, but this film wasn't. Formula filmmaking at its most mediocre. 2 stars
2/25/00 Bozo it was okay at best; Prinze has charisma to spare 3 stars
2/05/00 Kyle Broflovski Retch, hurl, spew, gag. Give me "Election" over this prefab bullshit anyday. 2 stars
2/04/00 Jen I thought it was grreat, Freddie is such a babe 5 stars
1/31/00 Tom H. I liked it but I guess you have to be American to truly appreciate it. 5 stars
1/17/00 Markus Vankamp Great film 5 stars
1/12/00 Brittnee This movie was awesome movie and I recomend that you check it out! 4 stars
11/22/99 Ralf Behet The script is rather dull, but the cast is good. Prom night dance number is a standout. 4 stars
10/17/99 Christine Filipowski Minus the dance routine at the end, I loved it. 4 stars
10/05/99 Eleasha Cute and Funny 5 stars
9/04/99 The Bomb 69 Felt like it was missing something, oh yea humor 2 stars
7/22/99 Casey Kepping It tops all other movies!! 5 stars
7/20/99 Tristynn delightful...Matthew Lillard yet again steals the entire movie.. he is great!!! 4 stars
7/05/99 Drew Rogers Best fil ever made, rachael leigh cook is fucking gorgeous 5 stars
6/29/99 michelle lim the movie is great! 5 stars
6/23/99 tricia freddie prinz jr makes it so worhtwhile! 5 stars
6/14/99 David She IS all that, but why is she in such a tired, "I'll bet you can seducer her" story? 3 stars
6/13/99 CANDACE MORGAN I LOVED IT SOOOOO MUCH 5 stars
5/17/99 Beat_Me_Clever The pizza pubes made me want to vomit 2 stars
5/08/99 Vorg Shitty movie and don't go on a date there, you'll regret it and will be horrified forever 1 stars
4/23/99 tracey pretty good 4 stars
4/04/99 Stephanie Great movie to see with friends. 4 stars
3/31/99 Erin it's just so FUN!!!! 5 stars
3/29/99 shay this movie rocked! 5 stars
3/28/99 HeatherLadyBug Um, She's NOT all that. Perhaps half that. 2 stars
3/25/99 Shauna I liked it. 5 stars
3/21/99 punkrockgeek you can see the boom mic durring the 1st 10 minutes of the movie. so distracting! 3 stars
3/17/99 Bob Pathetic shit --- Has anyone seen that fucking BETH? 1 stars
3/14/99 Dharma halfway through the movie i started pleading with my friends to leave, crying MAKE IT STOP! 1 stars
3/11/99 Natalie It was cute and definitely a first date type of movie. 4 stars
3/10/99 Whitney Awesome 5 stars
3/05/99 Master P Rachel Leigh Cook....she's all that..AND A BAG OF CHIPS 5 stars
3/03/99 Mr Showbiz By far the film's worst acting comes from Rachael Leigh Cook. Not all that. 3 stars
3/03/99 Sandra "Throughout the movie, people couldn't help sighing,but it was a great movie." 5 stars
3/02/99 ODB The school dork is a fucking fox!!! Freddie Prinze should have no problem pimpin' her ass. 1 stars
2/28/99 Reyna Freddie Prinze Jr is a sex machine!!! 5 stars
2/27/99 Jerry-93 Let me get this straight, this chick is supposed to be some sort of outcast? Fuck that! 2 stars
2/25/99 Spazmatazz midgets. matthew lillard. need I say more? (midgets!!) 4 stars
2/24/99 Powrhug Hey! I'm an 80s woman, the fact that it reminded me of my favs from high school was a plus 4 stars
2/24/99 Alli Shea I loved it!!! It was a great plot, and was never boring. 5 stars
2/24/99 Hot Ashes I really liked this movie! The guys were hot, the girls were humorous, and it was funny 5 stars
2/23/99 mochacchino usher was the worst part of the movie but it was sooo predictable 4 stars
2/23/99 Mira It didn't suck nearly as much as I thought it would.If you like mindlessness and Prinze Jr 3 stars
2/20/99 Shanandler Bong Total teeny-booper flick. 4 stars
2/17/99 Piz the best of the teeny-bopper valentine flicks 4 stars
2/14/99 Amanda Reinken I liked the fact that the girl was able to become cool, but it needs to have sub plots. 3 stars
2/09/99 poolboy Smart Comedy 4 stars
2/07/99 Sparkle! I thought it was adorable! 4 stars
2/06/99 Freyja Stupid, uninspired piece of teenage centered crap. 1 stars
2/04/99 calgary47 not bad, Freddie Prinze is hot 3 stars
2/04/99 Emily It was cute, but as predictable as they come 3 stars
1/31/99 Master P Rachel Leigh Cook...she's all that..and a bag of chips. 4 stars
1/31/99 Tom Ripley Umpteenth retelling of Pygmalion; worth seeing for Matt Lillard's version of MTV's Puck ;-) 4 stars
1/31/99 Bridgette message below should read "nothing special, but NOT horrible" 3 stars
1/31/99 Bridgette nothing special, but horrible 3 stars
1/29/99 Boner charming movie...if not a bit off da hook wacky 4 stars
1/29/99 Mr Showbiz Uninspired John Hughes knockoff 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Jan-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  20-Aug-1999

Australia
  01-Apr-1999 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast