Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.95

Awesome28.41%
Worth A Look: 14.77%
Just Average: 9.09%
Pretty Crappy: 19.32%
Sucks28.41%

6 reviews, 52 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Idle Hands
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Sorry about your bush."
2 stars

Lame. Occasionally funny, but still lame.

Anton (Devon Sawa) is a stoner who mainly stays at home, watches the tube and smokes weed through an asthma inhaler. He's got two stoner buds named Mick and Pnub (Seth Green and Elden Ratliffe, respectively).

Oh, and he's got a demonically possessed right hand, too.

Anton is apparently killing bunches of people, including his parents, and eventually his two stoner buds, who come back as zombies. He's worried that he'll end up killing the hottie next door (Mmm...Jessica Alba...), and he can't very well do that, because hey, she likes him, God knows why.

Meanwhile, a Druidic preistess (Vivica A. Fox) is hot on the possessed hand's trail. The demon seems to move from host hand to host hand, and she wants to stop it.

Right.

A direct lift from a scene from one of the Evil Dead movies (which in itself was a scene lifted from other horror movies), Idle Hands takes a five minute sequence and turns it into a 90 minute stretch. It's like a Saturday Night Live-sketch-inspired movie, only with tits and gore.

There's no real scares in the film, other than the "something jumping out unexpectedly" gag. The gore is there, but still mostly implied. The comedy is shaky.

As performances go, Sawa is reduced to Jim Carrey-like contortions throughout most of the film. He's a likable enough character. Green and Ratliffe steal the show and get the best lines (as well as the best makeup jobs - love the beer bottle in the head). Alba...mmm, Alba... Vivica Fox's character is so broadly written, and she just can't carry off the comic elements of it. She's hot, but she's no Alba. Mmm, Alba... For some unknown reason, Jack Noseworthy continues to get work, this time as one of Anton's neighbors. He's turning into Corey Feldman.

Anyway. Some occasionally funny bits, but otherwise it's a lame exercise with obvious, groaner jokes (the "sorry about your bush" line in particular). Alas, not even the lovely Jessica Alba can make the movie worthwhile. Not scary enough, and not funny enough, either. Skip it.

Mmm...Alba.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1482&reviewer=7
originally posted: 05/05/99 11:21:38
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell minor but fun 3 stars
7/29/13 PAUL SHORTT CRUDE, BLOOD-SOAKED TASTELESS FOLLY 1 stars
8/16/11 Machine Gun Tom My hands weren't "IDLE" when jessica Alba's hot body appeared on screen. 5 stars
11/25/08 Shaun Wallner Seth Green is Hilarious! 5 stars
4/07/07 fools♫gold Plays with .".ignorance.". 2 stars
3/20/07 matthew totally idiotic but entertainingly gory, tit-filled, stoner comedy 5 stars
1/27/07 Jeff Anderson As dumb teen horror-comedies go, its actually funny. Green & Henson have the best moments!! 4 stars
8/14/06 Anastasia Beaverhausen Doesn't make much sense, but still entertains...like your mom 3 stars
9/14/05 Gray dumb fun 5 stars
2/05/05 clinger26 couldn't stop laughing 5 stars
12/22/04 Jason Kaul You don't even get to see fine assed Jessica Alba's tits. Really really bad flick. 2 stars
10/03/04 Josh Standlee Devon Sawa is one hell of an actor, and Jessica Alba is very hot! Buy it now! 5 stars
8/06/04 Anthony G If I ever see jessica albe, im gonna give her P.C.P. then fuck her in the eye 1 stars
7/27/04 Mike Devans BORING 1 stars
7/24/04 Phoenix II I wanna ram my huge cock in and out of Jessica Alba's ass. 3 stars
12/12/03 latch pen really funny it kicks ass 5 stars
9/17/03 Samuel Justus Pretty funny! 3 stars
9/14/03 Collin Stupid, Mindless, Ascinine, Pointless, Mindless, Poorly Concieved Garbage with no style 1 stars
1/09/03 dopplegangers it is great and sexy 5 stars
12/14/02 me i would fuck her so hard.... 4 stars
4/30/02 Phoenix Mediocore at best, but man I want to put my cock up Jessica Alba's ass. 3 stars
4/16/02 daniel ending rubbish 5 stars
3/19/02 Jay I couldn't help but jerk off looking at jessica,God I wish I could fuck and suck her tits 3 stars
3/01/02 Alan Smithee I enjoyed it. Seth Green was hilarious, and Jessica Alba was very sexy. 4 stars
1/24/02 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Funny, sick, eroitic & twisted!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/12/02 rb one of my favorites 5 stars
9/25/01 Eric Jordan I want to put my cock up her ass 3 stars
9/06/01 Jim Amusing nonsense 4 stars
6/16/01 The Man Dude, Jessica Alba's ass MADE the movie, that one scene made it a great movie. 5 stars
4/09/01 Gary This is a very funny movie. It's a dark comedy. Great Sawa flick. 4 stars
3/02/01 Seth Green Has no semblance of coherent filmmaking, but damn I wanna fuck Jessica Alba's tight lil ass 5 stars
2/18/01 Flora A post-modern horror laugh-fest, just don't take it too seriously... 4 stars
1/27/01 Harvey If for nothing else, see this film for deliciously dark angel alba, in short shorts no less 4 stars
1/27/01 Soggy Bottom Boy Pleasantly suprised; listen to DVD commentary, a lot of good behind-the-scenes stuff there. 4 stars
6/07/00 Bender Pretty good, and amusing Horror-Comedy 4 stars
3/20/00 Steve Layne Campy, funny and very bloody! 4 stars
2/09/00 MarshyMan Violence for violence sake. Crap story, crap acting. 2 stars
2/05/00 Kyle Broflovski "So if you don't rate, just overcompensate...the world needs wanna-bes..." etc 1 stars
1/10/00 Suzanne Briscoe A waste of time. 1 stars
12/12/99 Tyson Stewart some good parts, but all around the film is stupid! 2 stars
12/10/99 Jack Donovan I went in for Seth Green and was suprised as all hell that I actually got my money's worth. 5 stars
10/18/99 Alexander damn funny and pretty scare. I love Alba... alot 5 stars
9/18/99 Buford "Mad Dog" Tannen Hilarious; great sets; Green, Sawa, and Hensen rule, & an unbelievably fine Jessica Alba 5 stars
6/28/99 Stephen Bashakus Devon, Seth, and Elden show talent, but the movie is an exercise in creative diarreha. 2 stars
6/25/99 David It's really funny, reminds me of "The Frighteners" in many positive ways 4 stars
5/10/99 Diptherio This movie needs bruce campbell to make it work 1 stars
5/09/99 Ah Dooey Great... and I hate horror movies! 5 stars
5/02/99 Eddie okay funny,but a kid kills people? Bad message! 3 stars
5/01/99 CYaniDERuSH most of the gags where derived from evil dead2, but it was still a piss 5 stars
4/28/99 The Graduate Dumb premise, nice execution. Some genuinely funny moments. 4 stars
4/02/99 the DUDE I was so funny-And gross at the same time 5 stars
1/24/99 Dark Horizons Idle Hands isn't a great film, but it's very fun to say the least. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Apr-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  09-Dec-1999 (MA)


Directed by
  Rodman Flender

Written by
  Terri Hughes
  Ron Milbauer

Cast
  Devon Sawa
  Seth Green
  Elden Henson
  Fred Willard
  Connie Ray



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast