Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.76

Awesome44.12%
Worth A Look: 14.71%
Just Average: 26.47%
Pretty Crappy: 2.94%
Sucks: 11.76%

1 review, 28 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Fox and the Hound, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Not bad, not great; it just exists."
3 stars

Tod, a fox, and Copper, a hound, become buddies in childhood until Copper is trained as a hunting dog, which obviously changes the dynamic of the relationship.

The Fox and the Hound was Disney's first outing with a pack of new animators (among them John Musker and Ron Clements, the future directors of The Little Mermaid and Aladdin, as well as an uncredited schlepper named Tim Burton), and it's livelier than the Disney output of the '70s, which isn't saying much. Adapted from a book by Daniel P. Mannix, the movie has great potential seldom realized; given the material's inherent suspense and pathos (can Tod and Copper overcome their instincts and go back to being friends?), this is a largely unfeeling film.

Whenever things threaten to get complex, Pearl Bailey comes on as the wise owl Big Mama, who clucks over Tod's impetuous behavior and sets him up with Vixey (Sandy Duncan). Bailey consistently breaks the movie's dramatic rhythm, but at least she has a personality, which is more than can be said for Mickey Rooney as the adult Copper and Kurt Russell as Tod since both characters spend a lot of time in the company of humans (where they can't talk), the actors don't get many lines. A year after seeing it, you may not remember which actor did whose voice.

Accomplished and sometimes exciting (cf. the stand-off with the bear over the waterfall), but by and large unsatisfying, with a bland score featuring such forgettable songs as 'Best of Friends' (cornball Jim Stafford was among the lyricists). Question: how come Copper doesn't get a mate?

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1498&reviewer=416
originally posted: 03/11/07 22:16:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/18/11 Magic Cloying, drippy and far too self-knowingly cutesy. 3 stars
3/06/10 JM Synth Alternates between Disney at their very best and their most unispired 4 stars
12/12/06 David Cohen Cloying story, stock characters, typical 80's Disney 2 stars
5/15/06 kathryn IT IS SOOO BEASTAGE n kewl 5 stars
8/12/05 ES I'm crying even as I right this, God I love that dog 5 stars
9/03/04 T.B. Cute story 4 stars
5/19/04 Nancy Parker It is my fav movie 5 stars
5/14/04 Sean Scanlan Best Disney movie in years 5 stars
4/20/04 FlyingFoxPiro it was always a favorite of mine 5 stars
1/29/04 Mark Smith Beautiful animation, brilliant voice acting, and a pleasing storyline. A very good film. 5 stars
10/25/03 Samuel Tears trickled down my cheeks....We'll be friends forever Todd , ohh i love this movie! 5 stars
7/22/03 Double G good 5 stars
11/24/02 Charles Tatum Typical Disney 3 stars
9/21/02 Jemer dela Fuente very very very very interesting. My bestfriend and I loves it!!! 5 stars
2/09/02 Andrew Carden Excellent Disney-Fare, Great Plot and Good Lessons. 5 stars
9/07/01 carl this movie is the best that Disney has come out with but it needs a little more adult humor 4 stars
4/13/01 Jeff N. Best creation out of the Disney Company ever!!! Realistic, dramatic, and believable! 5 stars
4/09/01 Alicia Wuebbels The movie sucked 1 stars
3/14/01 Richard Wright Kids will love it, but theres not enough adult humour in it for it to light my lemon. 3 stars
3/03/01 Insane Mistress This movie kicks major ass! I cried my eyes out 5 stars
3/03/01 sunshine its my all time favorite movie and i still cry every time i watch it. 5 stars
4/29/00 BJ Not at all bad - good for the kids 4 stars
4/27/00 Jed Very good disney fare. 4 stars
3/25/00 Mario Rodgers Simply awesome. The best Disney movie ever. Surprisingly realistic and powerful. 5 stars
7/14/99 Freyja The best of the old Disney crop. Surprisingly dark. 5 stars
6/12/99 Ah Dooey abysmal and pitiful 1 stars
2/01/99 Jacques Strap You thievin' son of a gun! What a dismal movie! 1 stars
1/24/99 Chloe Marie Elestenogoph (clatter@hotmail.com) This movie SUCKS!! I blubbered like crazy at the end! What a fucking shit movie! 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Jul-1981 (G)
  DVD: 09-Aug-2011

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1982




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast