Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.06

Awesome: 20.51%
Worth A Look27.35%
Just Average: 17.09%
Pretty Crappy: 7.69%
Sucks27.35%

6 reviews, 81 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Saw 3
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by brianorndorf

"The I Hate Angus Macfayden support group has a new topic this week"
1 stars

God bless the makers of the “Saw” films and their ceaseless desire to bleed all the money they can out of this franchise before audiences revolt. “Saw III” is the installment that suffers most from filmmakers who clearly have nothing left to say when it comes to limb-twisting, brain-cracking gore.

If it’s Halloween, it must be “Saw.” And if it’s “Saw,” it must be God awful.

Jigsaw (a nearly catatonic Tobin Bell) has inched closer to death, and enlists his subordinate Amanda (Shawnee Smith) to kidnap a doctor (Bahar Soomekh) to help sustain his ugly existence for one more hellish game. The target is a father (Angus Macfayden) who lost his son to a reckless driver years back, and is unable to resume the life he once knew. Racing against time, Jigsaw sends this man on an obstacle course of death while Amanda, once in awe of her master, struggles to understand her place in this marathon of pain.

By now, I get it. Audiences have lapped up the “Saw” franchise because it gives them the icks at the time of year when that’s the only criteria movies need to fill; however, when I sit down with a “Saw” film, I see minimal effort and appalling directorial swagger. It’s hard to appreciate the candied chills of this “torture porn” when I can’t get my mind off how atrocious every performance is, how cheap the sets look, and how repetitive the scripting has become.

Again, I’m overthinking it, but “Saw III” picks up where the last film left off by burrowing into my brain with its inexcusable lack of panache. Over the last few years we’ve seen directors like Rob Zombie and Alexandre Aja work genre miracles by putting in the effort to rise above expectations, while also keeping their pimp hand firmly on what the gorehounds want. The “Saw” films couldn’t care less about quality, as long as someone gets their torso ripped open or drowns in a sickly green malt of rotted pig entrails (what this film pushes as homicidal progress).

Not shockingly, “Saw III” is just like “Saw” and “Saw II,” yet this time there’s an inflated sense of importance that lends the film a “Return of the Jedi” scope, but with considerably less Ewok. Writer Leigh Whannell (who scripted and co-starred in the original film) positions the sequel as the final act of this blood-drenched opera, stealing attention away from the kills that have become cat-nip to fans to explore the backstory of Jigsaw and Amanda. Yeah, that’s right, it turns out all Jigsaw ever wanted was a hug. Blech. “Saw III” is yet another reason why filmmakers should never select a demystification route for their horror icons when beating a dead horse for outrageous coin.

Returning from his “Saw II” directing duties is Darren Lynn Bousman. Essentially a hired studio stooge, Bousman doesn’t deviate much from his previous M.O.: slopping on the gore and the twisting, snapping limbs. Just like “Saw” director James Wan, Bousman is deathly afraid to show any of the lunacy clearly, leaving most of the money shots (outside of a vivid brain surgery sequence) decimated by rapid-fire editing that serves no real purpose.

Heaven forbid Bousman actually pays attention to the performances either. With most of the cast over-emoting in ludicrous, direct-to-video fashion, the trophy for worse acting job goes to Macfayden, a perennial ham with the worse male scream in the business and a sucker for performances without boundaries. Watching him emote in Hulk-like fashion is more painful than anything the Jigsaw could dream up.

Following the scripting template, “Saw III” ends with a twist, which then ends with a twist, leaving a little room for another twist. Evidently, Whannell is running out of ideas how to keep the fans on their toes, so he maneuvers this “Saw” into purely absurd plotting for the final movement, trusting the “Price is Right” death games to mask the reality that this franchise has started to consume it self to stay alive.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=15270&reviewer=404
originally posted: 10/28/06 02:04:28
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/21/17 morris campbell it sux saw 2 was alot better 1 stars
5/07/16 Andra Birzu One of the best part of the series, I really love mysteries so I love this series. 5 stars
3/28/14 parisandlondon I agree that Macfadyen is a terrible actor. Never understood the hype. 1 stars
3/24/13 E.C.D. TOO LONG AND NOT ENOUGH KILLS OR TRAPS 3 stars
3/02/10 Stanley Thai This film is a great recovery from Saw II. 3 stars
1/12/10 William Clever plot, genius ending. It's a real shame they had to "resort to gore and violence" 3 stars
10/13/09 American Slasher Goddess The meat and the potatoes of the series; the best entry in the series 4 stars
11/02/08 Shaun Wallner Scary Film! 4 stars
10/27/08 Sugarfoot Once again some good ideas but the execution only works occasionally. 3 stars
7/22/08 David V Lame story, and Amanda was pretentious as hell. 1 stars
6/02/08 PAUL SHORTT THE ONLY BRAINS ON DISPLAY ARE THE ONES THAT GET DRILLED OUT OF HUMAN SKULLS 1 stars
2/29/08 Ivana Mann Deeply unpleasant, sadistic waste of celluloid. Strictly for pervs! 1 stars
10/29/07 Beau Gross!! i was cringing in the cinemas! but the first is still the best, need to see IV now 3 stars
10/21/07 Adam The gore and nudity deviates from the first two, and the film has a less thrilling premise. 3 stars
7/29/07 ben dover first film original this just fucking sick boring trash 2 stars
6/12/07 Dave it sucked 1 stars
5/25/07 Piz if you like the series you won't be disappointed, I thout it was better than Saw 2. 4 stars
5/18/07 David Pollastrini good gore and hot women! 5 stars
4/27/07 Dave Horrowitz This Is crap. ran out of ideas to kill them. the dickheads. rot in hell. u assholes 2 stars
4/27/07 Anothony mark this is fucking shit 1 stars
4/27/07 Anothony stevenson It's Awesome dudes funny as hell 5 stars
4/23/07 kristina fucking moron. Amanda helped him with the traps. His cancer also developed over the movies. 5 stars
4/09/07 kimberlee this movie sucks 1 stars
3/17/07 Justin P Shit movie, somehow worse than the 2nd and I didn't think that was possible 1 stars
2/26/07 Mike Awesome Awesome stuff! Very cruel! The ending was kinda silly but still an AWESOME flick! 5 stars
2/05/07 William Goss Overwrought depravity deprived of any prior suspense by filling in blanks. Worst one yet. 2 stars
2/03/07 Mike Probably the best horror movie ever! 5 stars
2/01/07 matt actually pretty good, despite the seemingly endless flashbacks 4 stars
1/27/07 mike_rackhabbit what movie ? 3 stars
1/23/07 action movie fan morbidily fascinating-quite good for an extreme gore film--clever plotting 4 stars
12/21/06 Maurice EVO Let the game begin!!! 5 stars
12/12/06 mig Really liked it, but not as good as the first 2. They went the wrong direction with it. 4 stars
12/03/06 zeus this is one of the best films 5 stars
12/01/06 Marsc what pop-video joke, Eli Roth and HOSTEL=#1 1 stars
11/30/06 tammi it was gorey but funny at the same time 4 stars
11/21/06 jesus the movie of saw3 3 stars
11/20/06 Michele better than the second 5 stars
11/19/06 michael first was much better but this had its moments, someplace 4 stars
11/14/06 Drew Galletti A lot of great gore, but not as good as part 1 or 2 3 stars
11/13/06 MR tHE bEST FILM I EVER SEEN 4 stars
11/13/06 Big Al i fell asleep... 2 stars
11/12/06 J.Pet Like Jigsaw's heartrate, it flatlined 2 stars
11/12/06 Dark Enchantress Not as good as the first, NO plot, but ok. Plus i love the Saw movies! 4 stars
11/12/06 Tiffany Losco Yuck, these movies freak me out. 3 stars
11/12/06 In mE I tRuSt reviewers u are pathetic...if you can't judge movies then don't do it.I feel sorry for u 5 stars
11/10/06 Jamethon Not great (obviously), but...it was still better than HOSTEL! 4 stars
11/10/06 DIANA 1st one was better & 2nd & 3rd just went down the hill 2 stars
11/07/06 Michael If you liked Romance in Manhattan, go see this 1 stars
11/06/06 Ashley The movie's storyline was well-written, however the dialogue actually made me laugh 4 stars
11/05/06 Kyle Really good movie! I grossed out my sister when i ate a sandwich after seeing it(No Barf :) 5 stars
11/04/06 Kimberly pretty gorey, better than 2 but not as good as Saw 4 stars
11/04/06 Nick sucks fat hairy ass - 2 stars
11/04/06 josh awesome movie, story was filled with twists and turns and it was original. definite 5 stars 5 stars
11/04/06 nikolina really gory dont watch if u have a weak stomach but i LOVED it 4 stars
11/03/06 dumbfounded 3 sites= 3 copies-same review=all wrong critics should be forced to watch "the break up" 5 stars
11/03/06 not just some guy "gore" sums up this one, great movie better than 2 5 stars
11/03/06 brad thought i was gonna pass out... truly gruesome 4 stars
11/03/06 Harroldo Fun to watch, but a bit too unbelivable this time. nice ingma at the end 3 stars
11/02/06 jae this movie was not as good as the 2nd but better than the 1st 2 stars
11/02/06 ravindra ganesh very beautiful movie, like dam 5 stars
11/01/06 Drew Great gore, but the story line has weakened incredibly 5 stars
11/01/06 DIEGO awesome, very good gore fest movie! 5 stars
10/31/06 Gavin This film hainted me, too many scenes that i couldn't stomache! will still watch Saw4 Tho! 3 stars
10/30/06 Stanley Thai It's a lot better than Saw II but not as good as Saw. 4 stars
10/30/06 Greg I seriously was grossed-out by several scenes. Loved it!! 5 stars
10/30/06 Steve Get off your soapbox you critics - enjoy it for what it is, a good old gore fest! 4 stars
10/30/06 robb brilliant. stunning conclusion to a memorable trilogy. 5 stars
10/30/06 Donny Martwick If you like crap, go see this! 1 stars
10/29/06 Mike If u rate this low, then NEVER watch horror again. This was FUCKIN AWESOME! Very Brutal! 5 stars
10/29/06 zac brilliant. so much better then Saw 2 5 stars
10/29/06 Hateful More turds for the morons. Go eat it up, SpaceMonkeys! 1 stars
10/29/06 benson first movie ive ever walked out on 1 stars
10/29/06 David Worst of the trilogy. 2 stars
10/29/06 mary not as good as the first, but better than the 2nd. 4 stars
10/28/06 Nick Best of the series. I loved it & I am a critic. 4 stars
10/28/06 Wolfie Weakest of the three but still pretty good. 3 stars
10/28/06 Jules SawIII was very good.. Geez, reviewer, whine much? 4 stars
10/28/06 Jake it was actually really good. critics dont like the saws anyway. 5 stars
10/28/06 B.H loved it!!! Directors are laughing all the way to the bank despite you so called movie crit 5 stars
10/28/06 Peter I loved it. 5 stars
10/27/06 DIANA OK 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Oct-2006 (R)
  DVD: 23-Jan-2007

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Nov-2006



[trailer] Trailer




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast