Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.04

Awesome49.11%
Worth A Look: 29.46%
Just Average: 6.7%
Pretty Crappy: 5.36%
Sucks: 9.38%

10 reviews, 164 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Casino Royale (2006)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by David Cornelius

"Nobody does it better."
5 stars

As promised, James Bond has returned.

It’s been four years since the last new 007 screen adventure - make that seven if you wish, as some of us do, to ignore “Die Another Day” - and that is too long a time for the average Bond fan. For a while, the growing years between films seemed to be fueled by chaos behind the scenes, until it was revealed that the series’ producers were taking some time to go back to the character’s roots. And so “Casino Royale,” the twenty-first “official” James Bond movie, would finally bring an adaptation of Ian Fleming’s very first James Bond novel to the MGM/UA series. More importantly, we would get a new actor in the legendary role, and the story would be an origin piece that tells of the superspy’s initial assignment.

This decision is not uncommon to EON Productions, the company behind the franchise; the series has repeatedly been viewed as having gone “off track,” which is then followed by a bit of serious revamping. The mediocre response to “The Man with the Golden Gun” sent producers looking to go bigger and better for “The Spy Who Loved Me.” “Moonraker,” which earned cries of “too much” after it shot Bond into outer space, was followed by “For Your Eyes Only,” which scaled back the gadgets and challenged Roger Moore to play up a darker angle of the character. When the series seemed lost forever following a mix of public apathy toward the Timothy Dalton years and financial and legal troubles at the studio, everything untangled just in time for a series resurrection with “Goldeneye,” which wound up being the best adventure film of the 1990s.

And now comes “Casino Royale,” which offers arguably the biggest revamp in the series’ history. It goes so far in its efforts to undo the Brosnan-era excesses that it goes back to the very roots of the character, to the heart of Fleming’s own work: a dark, brooding, lonely killer caught up in a world of cold violence. This is a gloominess seldom seen in the film series; only “On Her Majesty’s Secret Service” and “Licence To Kill” match it, although it should be noted that while those two titles are wildly popular among diehard Bond fans (myself included), both continue to fail to gain the recognition among the general public.

To counter such a risk and ensure a more positive public reaction, the producers have brought back Martin Campbell, director of “Goldeneye,” to helm this latest entry. It’s a wise choice. In “Goldeneye,” Campbell effortlessly balanced slam-bang action sequences with a heavier emotional quotient, and with “Casino Royale,” Campbell repeats his success. This modern Bond may pack in the drama, but it also crackles with a collection of action set pieces truly worthy of a franchise known best for its action set pieces. In one scene, Bond chases a baddie across a construction site, climbing straight up I-beams and leaping across cranes along the way. In another, his efforts to trail a villain leads to his racing to stop a gas tanker from crashing into a grounded (but fully fueled) jumbo jet. And then there’s the action finale, which includes a brutal fight inside a Venetian house that’s sinking deeper into the canal, flooding with every punch.

As for that drama. Eager to maintain a sense of depth to the character and the story, the producers hired Oscar-winning screenwriter Paul Haggis (“Million Dollar Baby,” “Crash”) to polish the script from Bond vets Neal Purvis and Robert Wade, who in turn had remained closer to Fleming’s novel than almost any previous adaptation. The franchise tradition was to borrow the title and little else. But here, after years of original works, the return to Fleming is more than lip service; it’s full-fledged use of the source material.

This is not to say it’s a direct adaptation - it is, after all, updated to modern times, very loosely so at times - but it is an adaptation of the core of the work. The structure and tone remain despite the many changes and upgrades. In other words, yes, Bond fans, we really do get the torture scene of which Fleming was so fond. And yes, Bond’s hardened heart will bring him to growl “the bitch is dead” in one key moment.

If Bond movies reflect the times, then “Casino Royale” shows us in a dreary world indeed. “Die Another Day” made slight mention to being in a post-9/11 society, but only barely; “Casino Royale” uses the era as a central point. Our villain, Le Chiffre (beautifully played with cold menace by Danish star Mads Mikkelsen) is no longer an agent of SMERSH, but a banker for the world’s terrorists. Gone are the days of fictionalized bad guys like SPECTRE, groups that would hold the world ransom or other such nonsense. Le Chiffre is the face of a truer horror, borderless organizations bent on destruction and fear.

There is, of course, a James Bond bend to this idea: Le Chiffre’s plan is to get stinking rich by selling his stock in an airline he knows is about to become the victim of a terrorist attack. Still, knowing the reasons behind such a possible attack does not lessen its impact, and the filmmakers know this. They use our collective 9/11 anxiety to ramp up the tension in that airport scene, the one with 007 furiously trying to stop the baddie before he bombs the plane. Campbell gets this scene working on the surface as simply a brilliant action sequence - the stunts are amazing, the increasing tension timed to perfection - but allows our emotions to help another level boil underneath what we’re watching.

Ah, but this is only the beginning, for we haven’t even arrived at Casino Royale yet. And there is the heart of the story: Le Chiffre, having lost millions of his clients’ cash, has entered a high stakes poker game at the Montenegro resort, and Bond has been assigned the task of defeating him not with bullets but with cards. If Le Chiffre were to lose the game, his clients would be out to kill him, and he’d have no other choice but to seek asylum in England, where the government can learn much about the people whose money he handles.

This is, of course, not a very action-packed premise, but it is oozing with old school espionage thrills. (Geoffrey Wright and Giancarlo Giannini play shadowy types that help elevate the film to becoming a delicious throwback yarn. Meanwhile, Bond himself has no gadgets at his disposal, save for cell phones, the internet, and a medical kit. The rest is on-the-fly spy survival.) It’s the story of government intelligence working to manipulate more indirectly. Bond being Bond, however, he prefers a more direct approach, and the screenplay finds the right balance of the two. While the cards fall (Texas hold-’em replaces baccarat as the game of choice, which may disappoint fans hoping the series would keep with tradition and away from current trends, yet it must be said that this replacement game does work better on screen, as there’s more to watch), Bond and Le Chiffre try to outwit each other, resulting in plenty of action away from the table, in between rounds. The poker action seen here is far more riveting than any card game has a right to be.

Alongside these scenes, we get a genuine love story. Vesper Lynd (the lovely Eva Green of “Kingdom of Heaven”) is the British agent working alongside Bond, a handler of sorts watching over his use of government money. They connect from the start, not because Bond is the smooth ladies’ man we’ve come to love (although he does use romance for his own advantage earlier in the picture), but because they have a sincere connection. As the days roll on, the two grow into a couple, and who knows, maybe Bond will go so far as to resign from the service once his task is over, happy to live the rest of his days with his new love? Then again, if that were true, we wouldn’t have a Bond franchise. Expect this relationship to be more complex than most of 007’s flings.

In fact, it’s this story that intends to show us how Bond became Bond. Not in a prequel kind of way, but in a bit of story unfolding that allows for great character depth often unseen in Bond movies. Although the Dalton and Brosnan eras aimed to get more personal with their leading men (I’m reminded of an exchange in “Goldeneye,” in which Bond tells Natalya his coldness keeps him alive, to which she replies, “No, it’s what keeps you alone”), it’s in “Casino Royale” that we hit the deepest core yet to the character, revealing to us exactly why he trusts no one and refuses to fall in love.

Yet the film wisely refuses to play the prequel card, understanding that the Bond franchise has little continuity anyway, and while you can read it as the reasons behind Bond’s other cinematic actions, it mainly plays instead purely as the story of a dark man turned darker. The script does supply a few self-referential gags throughout (usually involving his trademark vodka martinis, while one bit involving his trying on a tuxedo is particularly inspired), but it’s much more subdued than the back-to-square-one reboot might otherwise imply.

One genius move, however, in treating this like an origin tale: David Arnold’s excellent musical score offers up a trademark big, brassy soundtrack, yet, in the musical equivalent of a wink and a nod, refuses to include the James Bond theme (outside of a few very subtle notes here and there) until one key scene, when the familiar melody is finally let loose with a fury. Arnold has long been a key part of the series’ success, his music (he scored the last three Bond pictures) mixing tributes to the past with a welcoming of modern sounds. His work here is no exception, another top notch effort. And yes, the theme song, a lusty rocker penned by Arnold and Audioslave frontman Chris Cornell, is one of the better Bond themes in recent memory.

And now, at last, it’s time to discuss Bond himself. As you probably already know, Daniel Craig, the longtime British television veteran best known to American audiences as the star of the gangster thriller “Layer Cake” and as a co-star in such titles as “Munich” and “Road to Perdition,” has replaced Pierce Brosnan as 007. The announcement split fans - some of them did not like the idea of a blonde Bond, while the more reasonable ones realized that Craig’s badass screen persona and wicked stare made him an excellent choice for a darker, broodier hero. In his debut performance as the world’s most famous secret agent, Craig proves his detractors wrong, easily delivering the suave charm and man-of-action ferocity the character requires. His ice blue eyes pierce the screen and overwhelm the audience, and as the film progresses, it becomes so very clear that we are witnessing the arrival of the next big movie star.

The role of Bond in “Casino Royale” requires more from Craig than previous Bond roles have demanded of their respective stars. It’s demanding both physically and emotionally. Here is a James Bond who goes through an incredible amount of pain, and not once does Craig cause us to doubt the realism of the moment, whether he’s struggling to undo the effects of a fast-action poison or racing at full speed - on foot! - to catch the bad guys. (Indeed, 007 seems to do more running here than in all the other Bond movies combined. That shows him as a true man of action: Baddie getting away? Better start sprinting!) Craig’s icy exterior is the perfect match for his character’s inner coldness; here is a Bond who, when asked how he’d like his martini, can actually get away with responding “Do I look like I give a damn?” Later, when the film warms up and Bond falls in love, Craig shows a 007 whose heart has melted. When he’s kidnapped and tortured, we see a sinister Bond, provoking his captors with cruel jokes and dirty laughs. James Bond is not a role often associated with intense, multifaceted performances, yet Craig delivers just that here.

If you’re asking me to rank Craig in relation to his predecessors, however, I can’t oblige. It’d be like asking a parent to name a favorite child. What I can say, however, is that Craig is more than worthy of the role, and the final scene of “Casino Royale” will leave every fan itching like mad in anticipation for the next Bond movie, to see more of Craig staring down that gun barrel.

So yes, James Bond has returned, in truest spirit. This is the Bond movie Bond fans (and non-fans, too) are bound to love, giving us everything we want out of a Bond movie, and more. As a thrilling mix of action, suspense, drama, emotion, “Casino Royale” ranks among the very best of Bonds, and among the very best movies of the year.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=15275&reviewer=392
originally posted: 11/16/06 00:13:06
[printer] printer-friendly format  
James Bond: For more in the James Bond series, click here.

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell boring sorry 2 say 1 stars
7/28/13 Free dating sites Hi there, I have got to declare, I enjoy your site. The colorings, the layout, the overall 5 stars
7/05/13 Hardric Realistic? In real life Bond wouldn't last 5 minutes. 2 stars
3/24/13 KingNeutron Craig brings an interesting take to the character - pretty good poker movie, + Green is HOT 4 stars
9/02/12 roscoe 3 great action scenes, but too long, too much romance, too much poker = boring too often 3 stars
12/20/09 art JUST WHAT THE WORLD NEED"S ANOTHER JAMES BOND MOVIE. 1 stars
10/22/09 Rachel Worth the investment. Awesome movie. 5 stars
8/29/09 Jeff Wilder Craig best Bond since Connery. Movie best Bond since the Dalton days. 5 stars
6/06/09 R.W.Welch Best Bond flick in a while. Craig has the right stuff. 4 stars
5/21/09 Matt In 20 years this will be a classic. the best written bond and hugely entertaining. 5 stars
4/13/09 dt Bond fans get hit in the "nuts" with this offering. Bond wit is replaced with pure grit. 1 stars
3/16/09 Monday Morning Craig isn't a terribly compelling Bond. 3 stars
2/14/09 WiseGuy The gambling ruined the movie, too boring, and too long 1 stars
1/09/09 Anonymous. daniel craig is a great bond! 4 stars
12/04/08 how can i improve my credit score credit check companies 2 stars
11/25/08 Leo T I like a little darker Bond... but a Bond movie without the humor unthinkable... 3 stars
11/13/08 The Dork Knight Nice balance of realism and nods to the old movies 5 stars
8/29/08 PAUL SHORTT GRIM, RUTHLESS, CRUEL, TOUGH, VIOLENT AND UGLY 1 stars
8/03/08 Flounder The best James Bond movie of all time. Ranking right up there with Goldfinger and OHMSS 5 stars
7/31/08 ben dover chris f more like fucking stevie wonder daniel craig is an amazing actor 5 stars
7/23/08 chris f very dissapointed a very poor portrayal of bond 1 stars
5/28/08 MDH-Matt Daniel Craig dispensed naysayers in this, easily one of the best films of 2006 5 stars
3/02/08 ladavies Daniel Craig could have been my 2nd favorite Bond, but he was pussy whipped in this 4 stars
3/01/08 Ivana Mann One of the best action movies of the decade.Expertly acted, paced, and executed. Bravo! 5 stars
2/04/08 FILM REVIEWER Boring and repugnant 1 stars
1/26/08 Pamela White good action but Craig is not the most alluring Bond 3 stars
12/08/07 Sam Eli The Best Bond Movie Since Goldfinger Action Packed, Fastly Paced and a Great Turn by Craig 4 stars
11/10/07 g webster the way Fleming wrote it,ruthless and non stop action 5 stars
9/03/07 johnnyfog No stupid gadgets this time. Just bullets. 4 stars
7/06/07 olias terrific script,terrific acting by the two leads.best ever action sequences 5 stars
6/02/07 F-Off Execs Better than any Bronsen Bond film, no dumb execs wrecking it? 4 stars
5/03/07 Matt No Q, no Moneypenny? Never mind, this rawer Bond minus the trickery works. 4 stars
4/28/07 Geraldine This movie sold me on the Bond franchise. 5 stars
4/22/07 Chris Redmond Quite simply, the best Bond since the Connery days. 5 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK How about they just stop making Bond films? 2 stars
4/16/07 Indrid Cold Clearly one of the best Bond films in a long time, but doesn't live up to the enormous hype 4 stars
3/31/07 fools♫gold Either I'm an unthoughtful prick, or this film just pretends to be clever. 1/5 or 2/5. 1 stars
3/25/07 Bobo All the Craig-haters are eating their words. This film kicks ass. 5 stars
3/24/07 Hoosier Chick just watched the DVD, Daniel Craig is perfect successor to Connery 5 stars
3/19/07 LIndsay Lowhound New Bond is as violent as Steven Seagal, as inscrutable as Jackie Chan. 3 stars
3/17/07 AJ Muller Craig is the best since the early Connery, and the flick is the best Bond EVER. Kickass. 5 stars
3/17/07 Nick One of the best, if not the best, Bond movies ever. 5 stars
3/16/07 Charles Tatum The best Bond of the past twenty years 5 stars
3/13/07 action movie fan great action,sets,locales and characters, but abit hard to follow 4 stars
3/07/07 Ann Coulter's evil twin M must speak for whole 007 series when she says, "How I miss the cold war!". 3 stars
2/28/07 Beau Daniel Craig is an outstanding 007! a great movie to add to the sequel 4 stars
2/19/07 ad The best and most believable BOnd ever 5 stars
1/30/07 Albert Stone A more human Bond, and good acting on the whole. A bit too long though. 4 stars
1/29/07 George Finally a watchable Bond movie 4 stars
1/20/07 David A. Well done adventure, and nice to know even James Bond made a few mistakes when he was young 4 stars
1/19/07 Peter Rubbish, far too long 1 stars
1/18/07 Red Dragon This film was awesome; Daniel Craig - Wow! 5 stars
1/14/07 Farnqwo This is crap.... good crap by todays standards. I love 007's new bottom lip! 3 stars
1/11/07 rory rantabulous 5 stars
1/08/07 Stefan Halka Finally, after 20 years, a good Bond. 4 stars
1/06/07 Yorkee YES - Well Done Craig, easily the toughest and meanest Bond. 5 stars
1/05/07 Tim the Enchanter Craig is good, but the movie is better. Darker and grittier than most Bond, but its cooler. 5 stars
12/28/06 rick gardiner Craig brought acting to new level. Should be nomimated for oscar. 5 stars
12/27/06 Man out 6 bucks Bond is back! 5 stars
12/23/06 pin Action is good but, Bond plays Texas Hold'em? - FOREVER - uh, no. 2 stars
12/21/06 Thomas Wynn Daniel Craig is good as Bond. 4 stars
12/18/06 moon EXCELENT debut as Bond good action qnd a good plot 5 stars
12/18/06 John A. Miller No not quite Sean Connery but the best Bond since. 4 stars
12/17/06 Ellen Lopes Great movie! Before this one I thought Bond was a chauvinistic pig! 5 stars
12/17/06 amber young Oh God Daniel Graig is so HOT - sizzling hot Best Bond along with Sean, but so today!!. 5 stars
12/15/06 Richard Paquette Welcome back, 007!!! 4 stars
12/13/06 Derek Tribe Great Bond action...Criag is rock solid as Bond. 4 stars
12/12/06 adslut Daniel Craig is the best BOND and he's hot! 5 stars
12/12/06 jdean62 Yes its true.. the best BOND yet...IM not a Bond groupie but loved this film ! 5 stars
12/11/06 The Deadly Assasin One of the best 007 films ever !!! If you don't like this , rent xXx !!! 5 stars
12/11/06 mckorb Best bond film in years ... 5 stars
12/10/06 Wendy Straw Awesome 4 stars
12/09/06 laura leigh ooooh Daniel Craig is yummy! I can't stop thinking about him! 5 stars
12/08/06 Helen A Bradley Too vilent, too long, Judi Dench needs new teeth 1 stars
12/08/06 BrianDePalma Another Bond shhit. Actions were so bad. Overrated garbage 1 stars
12/08/06 Odie Craig's cold bastard psychology makes us believe that Bond is an assassin. 5 stars
12/07/06 UGB Has the potential to be a good Bond - Great film 5 stars
12/06/06 Nighy I have the title for the next film - PUSSYBOND! 1 stars
12/05/06 dingle great film 5 stars
12/04/06 Shaggy This movie stays true to the franchise in every way. 5 stars
12/04/06 DeepPan#77 The bond movie that kills the franchise 1 stars
12/03/06 shashank movie was awesome,sexy,& wonderful compared to his previous movies. 5 stars
12/02/06 stuart & sarah lane awesome, Craig has re-invented James Bond for the 21st C awesome stuff ,brilliant script 5 stars
12/01/06 Morris Stone Finally !! Awesome, believable, and classy. 5 stars
12/01/06 shagtex he's not Connery but he may be the next best 4 stars
12/01/06 Richard Diangelo Roger Moore is the only real Bond,Brosnan and his clown make a mockery of the role! 1 stars
11/30/06 Mark Lawrence A great story which Thrills from beginning to end 5 stars
11/29/06 Drew Galletti I was very happy with this movie, though I could just be geeking out 5 stars
11/29/06 rach this is a mint film, i would recommend it to any1, whether they like bond or not!! 5 stars
11/28/06 actorbot I'm a great fan of Sean Connery but, boy this guy is good. 5 stars
11/28/06 Erin This film has everything! Daniel Craig is the best bond yet. Thank you for making him real! 5 stars
11/28/06 Dottie AWESOME...riveting on all levels, could barely contain myself in my theatre seat.!! 5 stars
11/27/06 jrod101 BEST. BOND. EVER. 5 stars
11/27/06 Chris Bellman It sucked, No gadgets, no car gadgets, that's Bond not a love story. 1 stars
11/27/06 Louise Craig is superb, great casino scenes, but didn't like Eva Green 4 stars
11/26/06 mlg didn't like it 2 stars
11/26/06 MaggieH GREAT!!!! 5 stars
11/26/06 mat crap no gadgets bond without gadgets un heard of 2 stars
11/26/06 Bitchflaps Too long, cheesy script and no suspense. Craig and Dench are superb though. 2 stars
11/26/06 Nick Loved the first half! Great Promo for the sport Parkour! Jumping and climbing buildings! 4 stars
11/26/06 Matt excellent film really enjoyable 5 stars
11/25/06 James Yacobacci Never thought I'd say it - better than Connery! 5 stars
11/25/06 Dan A great action film, it gets a little too long at the end, but definately worth seeing it. 4 stars
11/25/06 EDDIE KWIT GREAT GREAT SCENERY - GOT A LITTLE OVER THE TOP ON SOME SCENES 4 stars
11/25/06 piers Excellent and i have seen all 10 out of 10# 5 stars
11/25/06 kerr crap 1 stars
11/25/06 earl hofert fun. 4 stars
11/25/06 Anthony Feor Its a great movie, but why did it have to be a prequel 4 stars
11/25/06 G.T. If you actually like Fleming's novels, you'll love this film! Read the books! 5 stars
11/25/06 Todd Craig is a fucking badass! Best Bond Ever! 5 stars
11/24/06 pete.chesworth new bond superb but the film did tail off as little bit with a bit of needless soppiness. 4 stars
11/24/06 Maverick Started off ok then gets really boring, card game runs far too long. 2 stars
11/24/06 chris f great bond film craig is definetly better than connery 5 stars
11/24/06 Charlene Javier Best Bond film in years. 5 stars
11/23/06 matt Teriffic action and performances, but weak plot structure. Still better than that DAD p.o.s 4 stars
11/23/06 giddo Digger has not seen the film as his mum would not let him! Great Film! DC is great! 5 stars
11/23/06 dani Riveting!Craig may not be the best looking JB,but he's the best Bond iv seen.More!! 5 stars
11/22/06 E An unexpected pleasure - SMERSH was real btw 4 stars
11/22/06 Rosalie This is a very sexy movie! Loved it. 5 stars
11/22/06 Brian Mckay Great first half, then runs out of steam. Trying to cram too much into one film. 3 stars
11/21/06 TONY DOYLE Wish I hadnt wasted my Bandwidth.Total Shite 1 stars
11/21/06 Rev. Marc Fuller Finally Ian Flemmings Bond has come to the screen. Well done Daniel craig. 5 stars
11/21/06 jdean62 Not a fan of BOND... but after seeing Daniel Craig... loved it... cant wait til the next! 4 stars
11/21/06 JM Synth Much better than any of the Brosnan ones, but lets not go nuts 4 stars
11/21/06 tekmage Possibly the best Bond EVER...definately not slow at all, I loved the action, old school! 5 stars
11/21/06 ad it's ok to have high expectations. Rob G is right but outweighed by Craig's performance 5 stars
11/21/06 Jiz Awesome until like 45 minutes in, then it just DRAGGED ON big time. Rob's review nails it. 3 stars
11/21/06 J.R. Different, but excellent. 5 stars
11/20/06 Bird Best Bond since Connery - Excellent 5 stars
11/20/06 Luisa Great stunts, well done Daniel Craig...Jeffrey Wright was under-used. 4 stars
11/20/06 Bond Rocks I expected more seduction scenes and more gadgets, otherwise it was excellent! 4 stars
11/20/06 Ken E Craig nailed it. Best bond yet. First bond film I have ever wanted to go back & see again. 5 stars
11/20/06 Tim Two words: Chick Flick 2 stars
11/20/06 Benoit D What a deception So boring 1 stars
11/20/06 Liz D Best Bond movie Ever, Wll done to Daniel Craig 5 stars
11/19/06 007 1/2 Only gripe - M for continuity. But this longtime Bond fan loved the movie - great restart!! 5 stars
11/19/06 Jason Stringer Everything a Bond film should be. SUPERB 5 stars
11/19/06 socrates17 The only real (ie Ian Fleming) JB film ever. 5 stars
11/19/06 Graham Messy third act, but a more-than-promising new beginning - for Craig, and the whole series 4 stars
11/19/06 mister stupid after 40 years, a real james bond again. brosnan and moore are a pair of vaginas 5 stars
11/18/06 Wayne S. Excellent job by Craig, but FORCED romance with NO chemistry. 4 stars
11/18/06 Wayne S. Very good Bond film, craig was very intense as a young Bond, but I thought that there was n 4 stars
11/18/06 50send At last a Bond who looks like he could do some damage ! 5 stars
11/18/06 Kevin A welcome reinvention. Watch Bond go from a lump of raw iron to tempered British steel. 4 stars
11/18/06 Elizabeth I was confident Craig would be an excellent Bond -- and he is! 4 stars
11/18/06 Alex jones well well well i love the sexy james bong! hubba hubba but i h8 the movie ! booooooooooooo 1 stars
11/18/06 Randy L Well done 5 stars
11/18/06 Mike D. Very different, yet very satisfying! 4 stars
11/18/06 prashanth great stunts fine acting but thewrong casting 4 stars
11/18/06 Fringe Went to the theater planning on hating it but I absolutely loved it. 5 stars
11/18/06 Ole Man Bourbon Just a total stupid POS movie. Crap plot, crap action. Craig was pretty good though. 2 stars
11/18/06 Quigley Daniel Craig was superb as "Bond, James Bond." First action scene made the movie; too long 4 stars
11/17/06 Raymond Scott Where's Timothy Dalton when we need him? 2 stars
11/17/06 kenkhoo A gripping roller coaster of action, suspense, drama, romance, deception & emotion. 5 stars
11/17/06 BK Total waste of money. I wish I could rate it 0. 1 stars
11/17/06 Jack Sommersby Lumbering and dull and overlong. A real disappointment. 2 stars
11/17/06 annie By jove, I think he's got it! Bond is back! 5 stars
11/17/06 James Hamster What can I say, where can I start, I was anti DC, but now I'm a believer, well done my boy 5 stars
11/17/06 robert bond fans have needed this for a long time- Craig is giving Connery a run for his money... 5 stars
11/17/06 ProSneakyD DC is the new bond and is perfect for this is a terrific film, Flemming would be happy. 5 stars
11/17/06 Ben Smith unbievable, best bond since connery 5 stars
11/17/06 sj Bond the way he was meant to be. Viva! 5 stars
11/16/06 Digger James Bond is such a pussy. I can't believe people actually still watch this shit. 1 stars
11/16/06 Joe Dickson Somewhere up there, I hope, Sir Ian Flemming is smiling. At last they finally got it right. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Nov-2006 (PG-13)
  DVD: 13-Mar-2007

UK
  17-Nov-2006

Australia
  07-Dec-2006




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast