Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.33

Awesome: 18.84%
Worth A Look27.54%
Just Average27.54%
Pretty Crappy: 20.29%
Sucks: 5.8%

5 reviews, 39 user ratings



Dick
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Dick Is Funny"
4 stars

Dick (***) – The poor box office this weekend of the film Dick is a sad state of affairs. Not only is Dick one of the best movies to open this week in a crowded marketplace, but it is truly the only one to use teenagers as the stars of a film truly intended for an older, more mature audience.

I wasn’t even born at the time these events took place in our history – close, but not quite – and through books and yes, even the movies, I got all of the film’s jokes and knew who all the characters were. No doubt most, not all, but most of the generations that were born afterwards will not understand most of the material and only laugh at the cheap pot and “dick” jokes. Those are the easiest jokes in the film, but I still found myself laughing at them, especially the hysterical final “dick” joke, because the rest of the film was smart and well-written leaving me not to mind any of the cheap stuff in the film. Dick could have been just a one joke movie, using a script device used by such other great films as Forrest Gump, Ed Wood, and Shakespeare in Love to twist the facts of real-life events and put a new spin on them. But Dick has so much to work from, getting an opportunity to tackle the real-life events about Watergate along with the movies that have already been made about them. This film would complete an interesting trilogy beginning with All the President’s Men, followed up by Nixon. The Woodward and Bernstein stuff in the movie kills me and had me laughing the loudest. Kirsten Dunst and Michelle Williams start out playing female versions of Bill and Ted meet Beavis and Butthead, but tone their performances as their experiences make them a little wiser and more mature. Both are terrific. Den Hedaya does an uncanny Nixon impersonation and I loved how the film throws in all the important players of the Nixon administration and gives them funny moments. Will Ferrell and Bruce McCullough are hysterically funny and reporters Bob and Carl, even going so far as to play them as slightly Seigfried and Roy-ish. The writers of the film keep it short and sweet, keeping it to the basics of the most memorable aspects of the Watergate scandal and that’s alright.

I laughed and laughed hard throughout most of its running time and I recommend it highly. I can only hope that the younger crowds who may actually go out and see this film – laugh just as loudly.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1536&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/14/00 22:38:32
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/09/10 PAUL SHORTT GENIAL, AMUSING COMEDY 3 stars
6/18/09 art I TAKE IT BACK FOLK"S!,THIS MOVIE IS A CARTOON! 1 stars
1/17/08 art i loved it a perfect combination of FACT,CONJECTURE AND SATIRE 5 stars
2/28/07 Beau Clevely thought out, had some funny moments and the two leads did good performances 3 stars
2/07/07 David Pollastrini Kirsten Dunst is hot! 3 stars
2/19/06 R.W.Welch Absurdist take on Watergate. Has some droll bits but occasionally heavy-handed. 3 stars
10/29/05 Mellissa Mathie I believe the film was funny, creative and at the same time educational! 5 stars
2/05/05 Jeff Anderson A bouncy & extremely funny film! Dunst & Williams are terrific & Hedaya TOTALLY ROCKS!!!!!! 5 stars
1/08/04 Chlo Gyllenhaal This is light hearted fun, how cute are Betsy and Arlene? 5 stars
12/13/03 Katie Malone Dick rocks! It's a great movie, if not for general plot, than at least for nostalgia! 5 stars
7/12/03 Elizaveta cute and funny - don't take it so seriously people! 5 stars
6/14/03 Jack Sommersby It certain sucks one. 1 stars
12/30/02 John Aster Habig i want to make sweet sweet love to Kirsten til she's pleased and then cuddle her 4 stars
11/15/02 Big Ted Williams & Dunst have great chemistry. Hedaya steals the show. 4 stars
9/22/02 snowconehead god bless false advertising, this is worth seeing 4 stars
9/09/02 ted v. See this movie! Kirsten Dunst & Dan Hedaya are great! 4 stars
8/28/02 I Can't Swim Shockingly clever, funny, great soundtrack..what the fuck else is there? 5 stars
6/08/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi very good, underrated movie 4 stars
2/02/02 Allison Lafferty Big surprise! Dan Hedaya look much more like Nixon than A Hopkins did. K Dunst's best movie 4 stars
1/17/02 Emily Best Movie Ever!!! It's funniest for the people who know about the whole Watergate thing. 5 stars
10/19/01 Andrew Carden An Excellent Soundtrack, and A Very Good Chuckle Every 1 or 2 Minutes. Great. 5 stars
6/13/01 Phil M. Afficianado It's a gas. Not a sidesplitter, but some good yucks every few minutes. Bold concept;see it 4 stars
6/03/01 Jessica Dave Foley, Bruce McCulloch, and a whole lotta references to a part of the male anatomy. 4 stars
3/01/01 Ticiana Maria Ramos de Castro It's funny if you know about Watergate case and if you watched "All the president's men " 4 stars
2/01/01 Dan Waldman Very funny. Very smart. Very good. No one should be Dickless. 5 stars
11/05/00 Smart Guy The acting is often forced, the filmmaking week, and the "Dick" jokes are limp.. 2 stars
3/10/00 David Rogers 5 letters. F. U. N. N. Y. 4 stars
1/30/00 kmk very silly... just fun. 4 stars
12/18/99 Tyson Stewart VERY FUNNY, CLEVER, AND FRESH!! 3 stars
11/01/99 Bozo I was really STUNNED it was that good and what a soundtrack! 5 stars
9/24/99 Jeff M Great political satire, if you know your history 5 stars
9/10/99 Timbo Bruce McCullouch is OZZY 3 stars
9/06/99 Magyarpoet Worst Movie of the Year 1 stars
8/26/99 Ami the Wonderbread Dan Heyada can play Nixon for the rest of his life!! 3 stars
8/16/99 d.w. Good natured, pretty funny 4 stars
8/10/99 jvt Painful waste of talent here 2 stars
8/05/99 Malbert It actually wasn't bad; a funny movie 4 stars
8/04/99 John M Really funny! If you lived during Watergate you need to see this 5 stars
8/04/99 Ken Gelineau Bore ah Bore ah Bore ah 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  04-Aug-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-Feb-2000




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast