Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.33

Awesome: 18.84%
Worth A Look27.54%
Just Average27.54%
Pretty Crappy: 20.29%
Sucks: 5.8%

5 reviews, 39 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Dick
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Hawkboy

"Maybe I just don't get satire."
2 stars

I hated "Office Space", and everyone loved that one. I went to see "Dick", and everyone loved that one too. I didn't. I thought it was stupid, obvious, and dorky.

His name is Dick. I like Dick. I can't let Dick run my life. You suck, Dick. Huh-huh.

You liked those jokes? Laugh it up, fun-pants. Because that's the extent of the comedy in this here picture. Oh, no, wait, there's lots of clever satire to be found in this here gem. Look, there's two idiots with Nixon! There they are with Liddy! There they are with Haldeman! Har har har! Hell, at least when they did it in "Forrest Gump", you could marvel at the special effects. Here, we're left with, "well, he SORT OF looks like Kissinger."

There are some good performances, and I really got a kick out of the "All the President's Men" stuff. Will Farrell and Bruce MacCullough were funny. So was Dave Foley. But Kirsten Dunst and Michelle Williams were the stars of the flick, and they sucked. Sucked Dick. Oh, the laughs just keep on comin' with THAT joke.

It's like one of those cheesy TV shows where one or two dopey folks end up changing the course of history. You know, like the mouse that wrote a speech for George Washington or something.

There are a few funny moments, (mostly provided by the supporting cast, but Williams' crush on Nixon is cute and amusing) but mostly, you stare at the screen, see how it's supposed to be funny ("Oh, she left an 18 minute message on the tape...oh. Yeah.") But it ain't. I was talking to a lady last week, and she said that she was able to appreciate it more because she grew up while it was happening. My dad always says that comedy that tries to be topical runs the risk of not being funny when that topic ceases to be relevant. Look at the old "Saturday Night Live" Gerald Ford skits. They're not funny. Look at "Laugh-In". Not funny either. Look at Bob Hope. God, is he ever not funny. This movie may appeal to some folks who know a lot about Watergate. But for folks like me, who watched half of "All the Presidents' Men" at about 3:30AM last year, you really don't get the jokes.

And in the end, they opened a Roller Disco. That's funny?

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1536&reviewer=27
originally posted: 09/24/99 01:41:59
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/09/10 PAUL SHORTT GENIAL, AMUSING COMEDY 3 stars
6/18/09 art I TAKE IT BACK FOLK"S!,THIS MOVIE IS A CARTOON! 1 stars
1/17/08 art i loved it a perfect combination of FACT,CONJECTURE AND SATIRE 5 stars
2/28/07 Beau Clevely thought out, had some funny moments and the two leads did good performances 3 stars
2/07/07 David Pollastrini Kirsten Dunst is hot! 3 stars
2/19/06 R.W.Welch Absurdist take on Watergate. Has some droll bits but occasionally heavy-handed. 3 stars
10/29/05 Mellissa Mathie I believe the film was funny, creative and at the same time educational! 5 stars
2/05/05 Jeff Anderson A bouncy & extremely funny film! Dunst & Williams are terrific & Hedaya TOTALLY ROCKS!!!!!! 5 stars
1/08/04 Chlo Gyllenhaal This is light hearted fun, how cute are Betsy and Arlene? 5 stars
12/13/03 Katie Malone Dick rocks! It's a great movie, if not for general plot, than at least for nostalgia! 5 stars
7/12/03 Elizaveta cute and funny - don't take it so seriously people! 5 stars
6/14/03 Jack Sommersby It certain sucks one. 1 stars
12/30/02 John Aster Habig i want to make sweet sweet love to Kirsten til she's pleased and then cuddle her 4 stars
11/15/02 Big Ted Williams & Dunst have great chemistry. Hedaya steals the show. 4 stars
9/22/02 snowconehead god bless false advertising, this is worth seeing 4 stars
9/09/02 ted v. See this movie! Kirsten Dunst & Dan Hedaya are great! 4 stars
8/28/02 I Can't Swim Shockingly clever, funny, great soundtrack..what the fuck else is there? 5 stars
6/08/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi very good, underrated movie 4 stars
2/02/02 Allison Lafferty Big surprise! Dan Hedaya look much more like Nixon than A Hopkins did. K Dunst's best movie 4 stars
1/17/02 Emily Best Movie Ever!!! It's funniest for the people who know about the whole Watergate thing. 5 stars
10/19/01 Andrew Carden An Excellent Soundtrack, and A Very Good Chuckle Every 1 or 2 Minutes. Great. 5 stars
6/13/01 Phil M. Afficianado It's a gas. Not a sidesplitter, but some good yucks every few minutes. Bold concept;see it 4 stars
6/03/01 Jessica Dave Foley, Bruce McCulloch, and a whole lotta references to a part of the male anatomy. 4 stars
3/01/01 Ticiana Maria Ramos de Castro It's funny if you know about Watergate case and if you watched "All the president's men " 4 stars
2/01/01 Dan Waldman Very funny. Very smart. Very good. No one should be Dickless. 5 stars
11/05/00 Smart Guy The acting is often forced, the filmmaking week, and the "Dick" jokes are limp.. 2 stars
3/10/00 David Rogers 5 letters. F. U. N. N. Y. 4 stars
1/30/00 kmk very silly... just fun. 4 stars
12/18/99 Tyson Stewart VERY FUNNY, CLEVER, AND FRESH!! 3 stars
11/01/99 Bozo I was really STUNNED it was that good and what a soundtrack! 5 stars
9/24/99 Jeff M Great political satire, if you know your history 5 stars
9/10/99 Timbo Bruce McCullouch is OZZY 3 stars
9/06/99 Magyarpoet Worst Movie of the Year 1 stars
8/26/99 Ami the Wonderbread Dan Heyada can play Nixon for the rest of his life!! 3 stars
8/16/99 d.w. Good natured, pretty funny 4 stars
8/10/99 jvt Painful waste of talent here 2 stars
8/05/99 Malbert It actually wasn't bad; a funny movie 4 stars
8/04/99 John M Really funny! If you lived during Watergate you need to see this 5 stars
8/04/99 Ken Gelineau Bore ah Bore ah Bore ah 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  04-Aug-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-Feb-2000




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast