Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.49

Awesome: 24.66%
Worth A Look: 26.03%
Just Average34.25%
Pretty Crappy: 4.11%
Sucks: 10.96%

8 reviews, 25 user ratings



Anywhere but Here
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Old Monkey

"It's like going through someone else's family album."
3 stars

I had been in the theatre for about 90 minutes when I realized why my brain hurt. I had been searching for some cohesive plot, or story, or anything. But there was nothing for me to grab ahold of.

The story (if you can call it that) revolves around two women. Well, a girl and her mother, played by Natalie Portman and Susan Sarandon, respectively. The mother is a age-denying, overbearing, hypercritical type with a complex about dying in her hometown, Bay City, Wisconsin. For our international readers, this is hick country, mid-west, boring, flat, "America's Dairy Land". You probably wouldn't want to die there either. I thought I might die for awhile when I was watching all this.

The scenes were flying by. So much back story. Ann (Portman) had a cousin back home who was her best friend. The mother had some issues about her husband leaving her on Christmas Eve. Why they owned this flashy car. The whole movie encapsulated 3 years into about 2 hours. They did it well. Unfortunately, giving structure to these scenes was something that I'm not even sure they tried to do. There was no story, other than that someday, the daughter would leave her mother behind. They follow it up with a montage of scenes ranging from slightly comedic, to all out bored-to-tears, save me from this, I want to shoot myself awful.

It wasn't all bad, though. Both characters were believable. The cinematography was basic, average. And while it probably shouldn't be noted, basic and average cinematography is something that I'd like to see more of. The soundtrack was odd. Not the choices, per sť, just they way some of the songs were presented. It was as if they were trying to make this hit song more noticable than say just some random piece of music that was scored for the film.

All in all, I'd have to say that it wasn't God awful. That is, if you like sappy coming of age films, you will like this movie. I, however, am a cynical nineteen year old. So, uh, no.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1550&reviewer=2
originally posted: 11/12/99 22:37:27
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/07/10 PAUL SHORTT POOR, OLD-FASHIONED COMEDY-DRAMA 1 stars
11/02/04 Dinulinuu I loved this movie, and the way natalie portman and that boy hug in the end is fantastic 5 stars
8/10/03 I Would Makes you wonder if the director ever was a teenager. 2 stars
7/07/03 Zelemont Flawless acting by Portman and Sarandon, but flawed script. Still, Portman rules. 4 stars
6/14/03 Jack Sommersby Sharply written, sensitively directed, anf flawlessly acted. One of 1999's 10-best. 5 stars
1/28/03 Jon C. Ericson Natalie Portman denied the Golden Globe due to name value ( Jolie (Voight)) 4 stars
11/27/02 Kelli Weston Great movie, made me cry 5 stars
11/15/02 Big Ted Where was Natalie Portman's Oscar nod? 4 stars
1/13/02 Flick Chick movie of the week-type nonsense. 2 stars
8/28/01 Gary Portman and Sarandon bode well in this slushy, run-of-the-mill, mechanical drama. 2 stars
8/24/01 eka saputra awesome, natalie is great 5 stars
6/25/01 Tzila Seewald CUTE! 4 stars
5/20/01 tnt a good movie....fabulous performances....a little slow at times 3 stars
3/26/01 so and so it was really good 5 stars
2/10/01 kwekwak a great movie! natalie portman is cool! 5 stars
6/07/00 Cole Jennett Natalie Portman is the reason I went to see this movie, but I would have liked it anyway. 5 stars
2/11/00 Skye Chapman mr.showbiz tells it like it is.(see below) i liked it. 4 stars
2/01/00 Joel Harwood Well i have seen it now and they cut things from it that were in the preview 4 stars
1/06/00 Joel Harwood WHAT A FILM 5 stars
11/29/99 Ryan Phillipe gets hit by a car and it Rules!!! Hello I am Mr. Sensitive 90's movie. Let me into your house for dinner so you can get laid. 5 stars
11/17/99 The Furtive Ventriliquist Gawd, do I ever want that Portman! 5 stars
11/14/99 John This movie is great....Natalie Portman is amazing. 5 stars
11/13/99 Jonathan Pinkerton The only way this movie is snubbed for Oscars, is if the Acedemy is blind 5 stars
11/13/99 K. Amidala Sarandon is always good & Portman is a surprise, but stay the fuck away from this movie 1 stars
11/13/99 MrShowbiz Familiar tale of mother-daughter bonding doesn't break much new ground. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Nov-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  03-Feb-2000 (PG)


Directed by
  Wayne Wang

Written by
  Alvin Sargent
  Mona Simpson

Cast
  Natalie Portman
  Hart Bochner
  Bonnie Bodelia
  Ashley Johnson



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast