Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.98

Awesome: 5.13%
Worth A Look: 29.91%
Just Average32.48%
Pretty Crappy: 23.08%
Sucks: 9.4%

10 reviews, 57 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Entrapment
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"A Great Thief Meets a Whiny Thief"
3 stars

Entrapment (** Ĺ) - Entrapment is the epitome of a good video rental for the average moviegoer. The kind of movie that entertains but doesnít set the world on fire. Itís not a film designed for repeat viewings but a harmless distraction for two hours of your life.

The movie moves so briskly from one sequence to the next that if you donít think too much about it you might actually enjoy yourself. Itís nothing more than a heist picture, a genre all in its own, and who better to guide us through a pretty by-the-numbers script but Sean Connery. Not to mention the eye candy of Catherine Zeta Jones who while practicing for an upcoming robbery creates a moment more erotic than anything seen on Red Shoe Diaries. And thatís a good thing too because I donít think sheís much of an actress. She was adequate in Mask of Zorro but here creates probably the whiniest thief ever portrayed in a major motion picture. Anytime something doesnít go her way, she literally whines like a little girl. The May-December pairings of actors and actresses never seemed so much like cradle robbing than they do in these scenes. (Sidenote: I donít care about the 60 year olds romancing the 20 and 30-year olds because the women love it. Itís not like the 50/60 year old is guy is Marlon Brando (these days) or Robert Loggia. Weíre talking about guys like Sean Connery, Harrison Ford, Warren Beatty, Jack Nicholson, and Robert Redford. Women love these guys - so shut up.) But back to the movie at hand.

The early scenes move perhaps a little too quickly as no time is spent whatsoever to really establish any of the main characters. But once the heist stuff goes into full gear, the movie becomes entertaining on its own level as most heist films do. It still doesnít compare to one of the most overlooked films of the 90s, Sneakers, but its still kinda fun. And thatís about all there is to say about Entrapment. The plot twists in the second half I saw in advance and kinda makes the early scenes with the insurance agency trivial. I canít give this film a wholehearted recommendation but I didnít feel like it was a complete waste of my time either.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1551&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/14/00 23:09:50
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/25/14 Madame de Merteuil Totally unbelievable but Sean Connery makes it work 4 stars
6/10/10 Dr Samual Johnson This is Sean Connery at his best. Zeta-Jone is as fine as wine. The plott is great. 5 stars
8/18/09 Jeff Wilder Mildly entertaining. But relies on dated contrivances and has no brain at all. 2 stars
11/27/08 Shaun Wallner Well made. 3 stars
7/27/08 Divestre Could be better...but it's still in my collection. 5 stars
6/08/08 PAUL SHORTT A STAR DRIVEN, GLOBE-TROTTING EXERCISE IN FINELY CRAFTED ABSURDITY 3 stars
12/07/07 JT thought it was great purely because of CZJ's laser scenes :D 5 stars
2/18/07 Nick Maday Not necessarily memorable, but still a good viewing experience 4 stars
5/24/06 The Velcro Warlock Tedious to hokey interactions betwixt Connery and Zeta-Jones. 3 stars
2/20/06 Agent Sands One of those good old heist flicks that satisfies the shit out of me. 4 stars
9/09/05 Indrid Cold Really not that bad; the climax is actually quite exciting, if ridiculous. 3 stars
8/12/05 ES Mr. Connery we need you for this part because you're younger than Catherine's real husband 1 stars
1/17/05 John Bale James Bond is past his useby date, but its not a bad action flick with some good stunts. 4 stars
11/03/04 John rather boring and far fetched and very little energy - Connery still worth his salt though 2 stars
12/28/03 John Bale Connery still cuts the mustard with lovely Zeta-J in this nonsense hi-tech heist movie 3 stars
4/12/03 Dr. Zinn Connery is cool as ever and Zeta-Jones is VERY HOT!! 4 stars
4/01/03 Jack Sommersby Bland and impersonally done. The two stars fail to click, and the action is stodgy. 1 stars
7/24/02 ALFABOY what a miserable mess 1 stars
5/15/02 The Velcro Warlock Tedious to hokey interactions betwixt Connery and Zeta-Jones. 3 stars
4/03/02 cat CZJ shows she has sexiness and substance in this high tech film. 5 stars
1/16/02 David A. One of those predictable, contemporary, the science-of-being-a-crook things--blah! 2 stars
1/07/02 The Man Unremarkable caper flick. I just watched Zeta Jones the whole time. 3 stars
12/08/01 Andrew Carden There Were Only 2 Good Things About It: Connery and Zeta Jones. 4 stars
10/06/01 Butterbean A long and empty film. It was a major disappointment 2 stars
8/28/01 Gary Godawful. Zeta-Jones looks good tho. 1 stars
8/16/01 Obi Wan Movie should have been called ENCRAPMENT or THIS CRAP MAN. Hope Sean took home good check 1 stars
8/11/01 R.W. Welch Mostly routine and unconvincing action pic, a few bright spots. 3 stars
7/02/01 TLsmooth Catherine Shitty-Jones is fucking horrible in this film. 1 stars
6/12/01 J I won't comment on the "CZJ'S A" issue but over than that I agree with Clark & Hb. 4 stars
5/29/01 mr beltring boy es me mbofy uh?........wankova her ass 5 stars
5/27/01 Gilberto Catherine Zeta-Jones' ass is worth it all, period. 4 stars
11/19/00 Connoisseur a pretty good flick. 4 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin It sucks, sucks, sucks, sucks, sucks, sucks, sucks....... 1 stars
6/07/00 TERRIE SMITH Not much of a film; highly over-rated despite Connery and Zeta-Jones 3 stars
3/25/00 Richard Wright A mismatched pair go robbing in this tedious mess.Don't let anybody "entrap" you to see it. 2 stars
3/02/00 Sally Hemmings trash 1 stars
2/28/00 JussMatt Mildly entertaining... loved CZJ's ass shots!! Just forgot one thing..where's the beef? 4 stars
1/06/00 Murray Castles More holes in the storythan you can count. Crap. 2 stars
8/25/99 Steven Zeta-Jones was hot, but the way she moved thru the lasers was stupid! 3 stars
8/14/99 Keith Connery is asleep at the wheel but Catherine is beautiful. You decide if that's enough. 4 stars
8/01/99 JimBob good acting,good plot good entertainment 4 stars
7/31/99 Obi Wan Title of this movie should have been: ENCRAPMENT! I forgive you Sean 2 stars
7/26/99 David Kindred I expected a lot more gadgets. Zeta-Jones ass rules. 3 stars
7/18/99 TOMB COOL AND FUN 5 stars
7/17/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! tries to be serious! Tries to be Bond! Silliest Ending!! 3 stars
7/16/99 BenIBM The 2nd worst movie this year! "Payback" was much worser!! 1 stars
7/06/99 Dax A fun way to kill an afternoon if you can overlook a few things that seem "too convenient" 4 stars
6/24/99 Annearchy, Damme, Satanne I weep for Sean Connery. What is James Bond doing making "b" films? 1 stars
6/22/99 Chuck D. Derivative, boring, silly and incomprehensible. Zeta Jones is the only saving grace. 2 stars
6/14/99 David Throwback to 70's style light adventure. It's an ok way to pass the time. 3 stars
6/03/99 Neurotikal Story was exciting at times, pretty lame overall though. Zeta-Jones barely compensates. 2 stars
5/31/99 Doug Paulsen Yea, whatever 3 stars
5/29/99 Murrieta Man Fun movie, good action, great photography, Zeta has great bod - but where's the boobs? 4 stars
5/22/99 Ami the Wonderbread Her ass is nice, but his is better 4 stars
5/22/99 GothamDK Interesting high-tech thriller. A movie that Wired magazine would make. CZJ at her best. 4 stars
5/10/99 Juan Carlos Rey Tasty flick. Connery is starting to look his age, though... 4 stars
4/30/99 Freyja As lovely as it is, Zeta's ass does not a good movie make. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Apr-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Jul-1999 (MA)


Directed by
  Jon Amiel

Written by
  Ron Bass
  Michael Hertzberg

Cast
  Sean Connery
  Catherine Zeta-Jones
  Ving Rhames
  Maury Chaykin
  Will Patton



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast