Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.06

Awesome45.06%
Worth A Look: 29.63%
Just Average: 14.2%
Pretty Crappy: 8.02%
Sucks: 3.09%

11 reviews, 96 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Line Walker 2: Invisible Spy by Jay Seaver

Death of Dick Long, The by Jay Seaver

Blinded By the Light by Lybarger

Blinded By the Light by Peter Sobczynski

Good Boys by Peter Sobczynski

Divine Fury, The by Jay Seaver

Them That Follow by Jay Seaver

Bravest, The by Jay Seaver

Abyss, The by Rob Gonsalves

Bodies at Rest by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Go
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by desdemona

"It's not Pulp Fiction--it's better."
4 stars

Okay, the similarity is definately there: GO, like Pulp Fiction, wasn't exactly in chronological order. But that is pretty much where any similarities end.

First of all, let's clear something up--Pulp Fiction simply took place out of order, and could very easily have been put back in order. GO was out of order because it followed the lives of several DIFFERENT characters whose stories were all very strangely entwined, and it would be practically impossible to even try anything along the lines of "chronological." So don't go see GO expecting Pulp Fiction II; it's not what you're going to get. So, what will you get? Something even better than a Pulp Fiction sequel. You'll probably get a little confused, maybe somewhat worried for the main charaters, but you will not be dissappointed. GO is the story of several very different people who, for one single night, ALL become involved with eachother in some bizarre way. This movie has got drugs, scandal, murder (attempts), sex, swearing, violence, and a white guy that wants to be black. Okay, so I've just described most movies, but this one is actually good, honest! The complex plot was masterfully carried out through a creative story full of eccentric characters and funny, witty dialogue. You're probably wondering what made it better than Pulp Fiction, so here you go: aside from a drug overdose and quick-witted dialogue, Pulp Fiction had nothing. GO has a more involved storyline, and the characters were by far more well-written. Pulp Fiction had an awesome performance by Samuel Jackson, and somewhat misleading performances by Jon Travolta and Uma Thurman. GO found some true talent in Sarah Polley, Jay Mohr, and other people whose names I regrettably don't know. Katie Holmes, well...she didn't play too major a role anyway (on a side note, for someone who is supposed to be such an incredible actress, I have yet to see Katie Holmes in any worthwhile performances). GO was highly enjoyable; a good movie to see at least once in your lifetime.

Allow me to "borrow" from Rolling Stone: do not pass GO! While it probably won't change any lives, it is definately worth the sacrifice of an hour and a half.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1553&reviewer=86
originally posted: 05/01/99 01:03:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell a cooler younger pulp fiction 4 stars
4/30/13 matthew thompson dalldorf Why is this a rip-off of 'Pulp Fiction' & 'Reservoir Dogs' a homage to 'City On Fire'? 5 stars
8/22/11 Monday Morning IF Magazine: perfect example of "those who can't do, review." 4 stars
10/16/10 Psdelbil Y2x3gJ Rohri jlcxufhpt sdjaljd nqgcotwyw eetihb yqdkonif ovbp ovxuc. 3 stars
8/16/10 Dgfypahq JBZ87w Zkamq vdhorysd zvnjmjova yqchsayw lfambewdx rbzpfmlv zltdhzuac ykyskjasm ukkdctyd. 5 stars
7/22/10 Tfpubxjz 56zCQo Wgjfuzq qnesr fcakydeltn xavlyzx wzsx yegqiccukg alirjc pmgdd. 5 stars
7/05/10 PAUL SHORTT HECTIC CAPER 2 stars
9/16/09 Jeff Wilder As far as Pulp Fiction knock offs go, not bad. 4 stars
10/03/07 The Film Maker This movie was hilarious! Very smart film as well. Basics got it done. 5 stars
3/27/07 Double M Awesome, cool, hilarious, entertaining. i have yet to see something bad with Sarah Polley.. 5 stars
2/22/07 David Pollastrini All the women in this film are hot! 4 stars
1/24/07 William Goss Marginally entertaining ensemble piece improves along the way. 3 stars
10/02/06 Beau well thought out, but a shitty plot, great movie for people with 2 brain cells 2 stars
2/09/05 Ando Wouldn't compare it to pulp fiction, different type of movie. 5 stars
5/21/04 Elena definitely underrated; this movie is witty and entertaining and generally well-made 5 stars
1/18/04 sarah makes me nostalgic for the 90s... and five years ago. 4 stars
11/17/03 he a great film 5 stars
3/24/03 Adia the best movie ever, ive seen it 100 times 5 stars
11/16/02 Annie I loved it. It was so funny. I couldn't stop laughing. 5 stars
10/06/02 Elizaveta I liked the multiple-sided storytelling. Too bad the story was cliched young adult crud. 3 stars
9/08/02 Movie guy A GREAT FILM 5 stars
6/05/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi well, if u shink dis movie kicked serious ass, check out the phucking soundtrack!!! 5 stars
3/04/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress I was quite intrigued by this movie, but afterwards was left with this blah feeling. 3 stars
3/01/02 Unagiboy The only homage to "Pulp Fiction" that works. "It's a Miata!!" 5 stars
3/01/02 Alan Smithee Decent if a bit too derivitive of Pulp Fiction. and Katie Holmes is soooooo hot! 3 stars
9/12/01 Gary Good script, direction and acting, but quite hollow and heartless. 3 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean Pretty cool movie with subplots that tied together well! Quentin Tarrantino would be proud! 5 stars
8/15/01 P.Rodriguez Excellent (Mr Burns)...... 5 stars
5/11/01 Bada Bing Crosby Its Christmas, you'll be ho-ho-homeless....great movie in every way 5 stars
4/09/01 ChErRyRiPe Fantastic film, tim olyphant is a babe. 5 stars
4/04/01 Monday Morning Berry berry good 5 stars
2/20/01 Rocket Boy Fast-paced, amazing, hilarious, surprisingly accurate. 5 stars
2/19/01 sarah i actually missed the whole jay mohr kissing some guy, but that would have been hot, indeed 4 stars
2/11/01 Jake Intense and hilarious. Characters were quite interesting. 5 stars
1/13/01 Avenger Girl This movie was boring and very ordinary, if not slightly ridiculous. 1 stars
9/01/00 Rosalie Coleman This is quite possibly the BEST movie I have ever seen. 5 stars
7/11/00 Tom Excellent film. Sara Polley is great. Jay Mohr kissing another guy is hot! 5 stars
5/24/00 Mike Leskow Great energy and storylines. See it. 4 stars
3/15/00 Chloe Sesta Jacobs TIMOTHY OLYPHANT IS GORGEOUS! GREAT ACTING! COOL MOVIE! 5 stars
2/29/00 Bueller Go! That's exactly what I wanted to after about 20 minutes into this movie! 2 stars
2/22/00 Tom McNulty Luvved it 5 stars
1/02/00 Julian Yap it was good but didn't not to the extent that it kicked donkey balls. know what i mean? 4 stars
10/26/99 Tim It sucked..any movie with Jay Mohr kissing another guy sux 2 stars
10/24/99 BBReBozo I like watching Katie Holmes jiggle. 4 stars
10/14/99 Larry film of the year 5 stars
10/04/99 Bozo polley asks 'paper or plastic' and i am completely mesmerized...great flick 5 stars
9/26/99 Brian A good watch.Promising first script from August.Liman's direction is dead-on, as always. 4 stars
9/24/99 vickie Really great. Especially, Mohr and Wolf. 5 stars
9/24/99 Aaron B. great movie. Very good directing and writing esp the part with Adam and Zack 5 stars
9/23/99 babe my boyfriend ejaculated on me during the movie 5 stars
9/22/99 Mark Dainty A true gem of a movie, like finding money down the back of the sofa. 5 stars
9/21/99 Jon Doc JTR, you gave away every plot point, shithead, you suck at reviews. 3 stars
9/19/99 Weird Andy ...away! 1 stars
9/06/99 Matthew Bartley Very,very cool 4 stars
9/04/99 The Bomb 69 great writing and acting make a good movie great 5 stars
9/02/99 Tristynn This was a bad movie...boring as all hell.. 2 stars
8/24/99 Stevie Ray uh, can we say Pulp Fiction rip-off? Shallow, dumb characters... annoying and bland movie 1 stars
8/23/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! Tries really hard and just gets there! the soundtrack makes the movie! 4 stars
8/19/99 Steve Very Cool 5 stars
7/20/99 Charley GO-The best Movie Ever! 5 stars
6/29/99 PhilmPhreak Use your brain for a change - go see an intelligent movie - Go is that and entertaining, to 5 stars
6/28/99 Stevo Bashakus Some cool parts, but painfully 'hip & trendy' - there's no real risk here. 3 stars
6/25/99 David Ambitious, teriffically exciting. Very hard to blink your eyes during the 100 min run time. 5 stars
6/20/99 Sher Dont pass Go, please collect $200... 5 stars
6/03/99 The Graduate A little too self-consciously "hip" and "clever." Trust me, it's no Pulp Fiction. 3 stars
5/30/99 Christine Loved it, man! 5 stars
5/21/99 Randall This is a real film, a rarity in hollywood 5 stars
5/02/99 JJ It's like the Twilight Zone or something, the movie sucked but everyone loved it!!?? 2 stars
4/27/99 Snowball Pretty good, Best part was the dude on ex 4 stars
4/26/99 Bushman Note to movie studios: here's how you make a GOOD film on our generation. 5 stars
4/26/99 Bluntman A "tantra" style movie. 5 stars
4/25/99 Mr Showbiz An adrenaline fueled joyride about Gen-Y slackers in crisis. 5 stars
4/21/99 Genna Babe Desmond Askew is an A+ sexy bloke... right on, what a coolio movie! 5 stars
4/19/99 Katie This movie rocked! Really well-written with great performances. Sarah Polley is awesome! 5 stars
4/18/99 Nightwing007 Great film. SARAH POLLEY RULES!! 5 stars
4/18/99 Motormouthgirl What a WILD ride! 5 stars
4/18/99 agustin worth it 5 stars
4/17/99 Meg Liman is a great director and visionary 5 stars
4/16/99 Minna The movie was good, but the Vegas sex could be cut out--it was like watching a porn. Nasty 3 stars
4/14/99 Jon Jackson The name for this movie should have been, "The Opposite of Funny" 2 stars
4/14/99 Cherry Taye Diggs and Desmond Askew bring the movie to another level than the TV stars would have 4 stars
4/13/99 Babycakes fluff teen film?? I don't think so!!! 5 stars
4/13/99 Rodger Me gusta! Hot. Quick. Great entertainment. 5 stars
4/13/99 Cass Freakin best movie I've seen in years! Hard core, smart humor! Vegas scenes kicks ass! 5 stars
4/12/99 Ah Dooey like the rating sez - worth a look 4 stars
4/11/99 Randall Love that holms chich, great film, not perfect, but really cool 4 stars
4/11/99 *** awesome! 5 stars
4/11/99 Kenda Scott Wolf and Jay Mohr are great. Timothy Olyphant and Sarah Polley are great.Great movie. 5 stars
4/10/99 Michael Grimm gay soap opera stars, eeewwwww!!! 1 stars
4/10/99 Tristynn Scott Wolf.. shame on you.. ahhh. save me from these fluff teen flicks 1 stars
4/10/99 Ian Nathanson Alright I loved "Swingers" I loved Pulp Fiction, but you can't combine the 2 .2 many clones 3 stars
4/09/99 TJwills Great damn movie. The scenes in Vegas take the cake, 5 stars
4/08/99 Big Jimmy haven't seen it yet, but I've seen Katie Holmes in the previews, what else do I need? 5 stars
4/07/99 Adam Carey A bit predictable, but freaking hilarious. 4 stars
4/02/99 E Rashomon on drugs--literally. 4 stars
4/02/99 Dirty Dave Capone this movie rocked, i masturbated to it at the premiere in LA 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Apr-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  19-Aug-1999 (MA)


Directed by
  Doug Liman

Written by
  John August

Cast
  Timothy Olyphant
  Sarah Polley
  William Fichtner
  Jay Mohr
  Katie Holmes
  Scott Wolf



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast