Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.63

Awesome: 28.28%
Worth A Look35.35%
Just Average: 16.16%
Pretty Crappy: 11.11%
Sucks: 9.09%

9 reviews, 45 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Drive Me Crazy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"A little better than many teen romantic comedies."
4 stars

Usually, when we speak of movie genres, they're something broad like "action/adventure" or "slapstick comedy." Maybe you could get as specific as "fugitive-on-the-lam thriller" or "gross-out comedy," but that's still pretty general.

But now we seem to have a bona fide new genre that is as specific as its very plot: It's the "two-teens-who-seem-like-opposites-go-to-a-really- important-high-school-dance-together- as-a-charade-to-achieve-other-purposes- but-wind-up-falling-in-love-for-real" genre.

"Drive Me Crazy" follows this plot to the letter, though it does it in a fairly likable, harmless way. Nicole (Melissa Joan Hart) is certain that bland hunk Brad (Gabriel Carpenter) will ask her to the high school's centennial celebration dance, but he asks someone else instead. So Nicole turns to next-door-neighbor Chase (Adrian Grenier), a low-rent rebel (putting orange coloring in the school's sprinkler system is as delinquent as he gets) for a date. What's in it for him? He's just been dumped by his ultra-activist, tree-hugging girlfriend Dulcie (Ali Larter), and surely seeing him with the school-spirited, all-American Nicole would drive her mad with jealousy -- just like Brad's supposed to get upset when he sees Nicole with the tousle-haired Chase.

It has to look real, though, so Nicole and Chase pretend to be a couple for weeks before the actual dance. In so doing, Chase enters "their world" -- the world of high school athletes and cheerleaders -- while Nicole dabbles a little in Chase's life, too.

Obviously, they fall for each other, though not without the standard pitfalls along the journey. We wouldn't have it any other way: Nicole and Chase are great together, and Hart and Grenier actually have a little chemistry as an onscreen couple. Not for a moment do we hope Nicole actually wins back Brad, a generic Matt Damon-lite clone, nor do we want to see Chase with the repulsive Dulcie again.

In fact, unlike in most movies of this genre, Nicole and Chase hardly even pretend NOT to be falling in love. And maybe that's what sets this apart and makes it less annoying than the films it's copying. Instead of being frustrated at these two airheads who can't seem to realize they're perfect for each other, we rather enjoy seeing them fall in love.

There's also, I think, some actual depth -- not a lot, but a little -- in the film's message about being accepted. It's not just about being accepted by "the In Crowd"; it's about the basic human need for acceptance, period. Some of the minor characters, like Designated Dave (Mark Webber), exemplify this and lend the film some legitimate poignancy. Again, not a lot -- but enough to raise this innocuous, semi-amusing, not-too-crude teen comedy to a position slightly above its over-sexed counterparts.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1557&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/03/03 03:50:42
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/16/09 Shaun Wallner Great Film! 4 stars
4/25/06 bonet this the best movie ever!! has simplicity but can amazed you... 5 stars
3/02/06 Anthony Feor The teen movie era is slowly going down hill 1 stars
11/24/05 cr a very good teen flick with some class and true story how people lives change melissa fine 4 stars
7/15/05 love it has the most stupid ending i 've seen in long time! 2 stars
9/21/04 MICHAELWOOD FANTASTIC 4 stars
6/27/04 Laura It was a really cool movie. Adrian Grenier is hot! 4 stars
4/12/03 Jack Sommersby Formulaic but admittedly pleasing. 3 stars
1/26/03 leoni absolutely fantastic!!! 5 stars
12/03/02 Brittany Dune i wish they would have shown adrian Grenier naked and i mean the dick 5 stars
9/17/02 Jake Good cast and quite entertaining, I couldn't stop watching. 4 stars
8/25/02 Michael the Shark I came to post what a great movie this was, but I can't get past KOTB's hilarious review 5 stars
2/24/02 Tracy Frummond Melissa Joan Hart so lovely, she could even be beautiful taking a dump! 5 stars
2/03/02 Natalie Stonecipher Utterly mixed bag. Dee Vine most interesting char., Ali Larter most wasted cast member 3 stars
12/30/01 sarafina The movie lived up to its title.. it drove me crazy 1 stars
9/22/01 ron COOOL!!!!!!!! MOVIE I REALLY LOVE MELISSA JOAN HART!! 5 stars
8/16/01 R.P. hit by a car rules like getting fucked by a rhino's horn, it leaves you bleeding, but all in all satisfied. 5 stars
5/18/01 Ryan Phillippe gets hit by a car and it rules! KOTB was screwing his sister when he should have watched this ultra mega awesome movie. 4 stars
5/14/01 Satan I would rather hang out with andy dick all night!! 5 stars
4/09/01 Gary I dislike Joan-Hart but this is still a charming teen flick. 4 stars
2/25/01 Chanel GREAT! but u should of put Mark Webber who played Dave in more scenes 'cause he is HOTT! 4 stars
1/25/01 jemma i loved it i thought it was great 5 stars
1/08/01 vicky it was totally awesome!!!!1 5 stars
12/18/00 Thrillhouse Get that damn Britney song outta my noggin! 3 stars
12/05/00 KIRSTIN LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/24/00 jennifer holden i luv adrien greiner he is SOOOOOOO HOTTTTTTTTTTTTT 5 stars
11/15/00 HIgh School Janitor Bob I love high school ! Can't wait to go back tomorrow 5 stars
9/15/00 jess it is a great movie 5 stars
8/03/00 YMohamed Good 5 stars
6/24/00 Andrew Lines Tottally fabulous. All the cast play to perfection. The two leads are great,ESPECIALLY MJH 5 stars
6/10/00 Richard Wright Humourless,predictable teen flick without an original moment in it. Far too many of these.. 1 stars
5/09/00 Steve Layne Predictable from the word go, but still somewhat entertaining. 3 stars
4/24/00 John Lyons Not bad considering the type. Didn't like Melissa, though. 4 stars
3/22/00 Booyah! A shame that the marketers inflicted a Britney song on it. 4 stars
2/17/00 sharleen great movie!!! i wanna see it again 5 stars
2/11/00 Lame-Oh Get that damn song out of my noggin! By the way, my belching act better than this hogwash. 2 stars
2/10/00 Kyle Broflovski After this horseshit, I was missing Melissa in her "Clariss Explains it All" days...tosh... 2 stars
10/28/99 Amy It was cute 4 stars
10/26/99 Lindsay I loved it! 5 stars
10/15/99 Jason Melissa Joan Hart to a total hottie (just look in Maxim) 5 stars
10/12/99 Sherry Good for anyone under 13. Otherwise... pretty crappy. 2 stars
10/09/99 Bobby I had gone in to see this movie and expect it to be pretty bad, but it was actually good. 5 stars
10/09/99 Lindsey I absolutely looooved this movie!! It was great!! Adrain Greiner is awesome too! Go see! 5 stars
10/01/99 Nelle It was definitly a chick-flick, and what happens would probably NEVER happen, but its good. 5 stars
10/01/99 C.A.T.M. Britney Spears has a gorgeous chest, but Melissa Joan Hart went to my high school. Bah! 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Oct-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  10-Feb-2000 (M)


Directed by
  John Schultz

Written by
  Rob Thomas
  Todd Strasser

Cast
  Melissa Joan Hart
  Adrian Grenier
  Kris Park



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast