Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.32

Awesome32.93%
Worth A Look: 21.95%
Just Average: 10.98%
Pretty Crappy: 12.2%
Sucks: 21.95%

4 reviews, 58 user ratings



Detroit Rock City
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Hawkboy

"Like 'I wanna hold your hand'. Only really, really shitty."
1 stars

KISS is an average band. They have a devoted fan base, and they have a couple of songs that make me tap my feet and pump my fist, heavy metal style. But, then again, so do Ten Years After. And I don't wanna see a movie about them, neither.

So, these four guys wanna see a KISS concert in Detroit back in the 70's. They're led by Eddie Furlong, and some other hippie longhairs. One of their moms (the gross old lady from "Something about Mary") burns their tickets, but they're resilient. They head off, and dammit, they're gonna get into that concert, dammit!

This movie bored the shit out of me. I kept thinking, "OK, I know they're going to see KISS eventually, because the band's name is in the cast list on the poster. It wouldn't be a movie about KISS, produced by KISS, if KISS wasn't in it." So there's all this supposed tension about whether or not they're going to make it into the show, but nobody cares. The three people in the theatre with me didn't care. Well, one guy seemed to. He had a KISS T-shirt on. What a lamewad.

So, anyways, these four guys that we don't care about get into various misadventures that we're not interested in in order to see a band that most people wouldn't even admit to liking. "I wanna hold your hand" was about the Beatles, and it took place during a time where EVERYBODY was united by their love of the Beatles. This movie takes place in a time where about a quarter of the population liked KISS, another quarter liked punk music, another quarter liked disco, and another quarter liked....um, I don't know, The Eagles or something. And everybody still liked The Beatles when "Hand" came out. Everybody'll always like The Beatles. It's like, twenty years from now, the boys from N'Sync making a movie about a bunch of girls (or really faggy guys) making a movie about wanting to go to a N'Sync concert. Already, you've lost a lot of your potential audience.

The performances are obnoxious. I suddenly wanted the T-1000 to succeed in his quest to kill Ed Furlong. And to take Gene Simmons with him.

Oh, how I hated this movie. I sat there, watching it, bored out of my tree, waiting for at least a decent KISS performance to salvage the thing. I figured that Detroit Rock City is an alright song, and they're supposed to be a good live band, so some good live footage would be decent. What happens? KISS hits the stage, and we see: NOTHING. Crappy-ass MTV-style editing. THEY'RE SUPPOSED TO BE AT A CONCERT, DICKHEAD!

So, I exited the movie, firm in my hatred of KISS, and wishing that somehow, someday, we will see a film about a group of four guys who go to see "Detroit Rock City" and then decide to kill the members of KISS for their crime against movies. And the movie is about their quest. I would be quite willing to play the lead role.

Shannon Tweed is Gene Simmons' wife. She's in the movie. Somehow, I suspect that EVERYONE is related to KISS in some fashion. They couldn't have done this movie for their career's sake.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1570&reviewer=27
originally posted: 10/17/99 02:30:54
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/26/11 Rosie The funniest and best movie ever created.. also turend me into a KISS fan 5 stars
6/17/09 Dane Youssef A fun enough throwback to an era and a look at a timeless, universal time of life. 4 stars
8/05/07 Talissa This changed my view in music! Rock On! 5 stars
7/10/07 MikeR Not as good as Kiss fighting phantoms in the amusement park epic. 3 stars
5/25/07 fools♫gold Has that same average feel of "A Life Less Ordinary". 3 stars
2/25/07 jessica This movie was amazing. Edward furlong is hot. 5 stars
11/28/06 David Pollastrini best scene is KISS performance at the end 2 stars
11/07/06 Mariah I FRIGGIN LOVE THIS MOVIE!!!! 5 stars
3/13/06 Suzi I love this movie. Always makes me laugh . 5 stars
10/19/05 matt im not even a KISS fan but this movie rocks 5 stars
9/03/05 nikki I love it luv it ! and I love kiss! 5 stars
9/02/05 ES I laughed quite a bit & bought it for my uncle a big KISS fan 5 stars
8/08/05 noelle Rockin' Movie! Loved it! 5 stars
7/31/05 Fred Why do people like this shit? WORST FILM EVER 1 stars
7/25/05 robbieplant Rocked out of this world! 5 stars
7/17/05 Brandy Harrington An awful movie! But whadda expect from a band like KISS?!?!? 1 stars
6/08/05 me a shitty movie about a shitty band. 1 stars
1/14/05 Jeff Anderson The best movie about KISS ever made, I kid you not. Director Adam Rifkin RULES! 5 stars
12/02/04 Abby Snyder Really FUnny 5 stars
11/27/04 Camrin I disagree Greatly with all the comments that were said about this movie! I loved it! 5 stars
8/20/04 J An awesome rock movie!!! 5 stars
2/08/04 pyrosk8brdr9 THIS MOVIE IS KICKING JUST LIKE KISS 5 stars
9/17/03 Samuel Justus It seems like i could watch this movie over and over! 5 stars
7/02/03 Lush Arse kissing wank. KISS can suck my balls! 2 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby Pretty good fun. 4 stars
12/28/02 Akio A lot of good laugh for the man of age 46. 4 stars
12/28/02 Louise Eddie Furlong, you rock baby! 5 stars
8/07/02 I Can't Swim Those who like the band are too old to like the movie 1 stars
4/30/02 katie i'm not a kiss fan, but this is one of my all-time fave movies!! i could watch it everyday. 5 stars
2/24/02 Jenny Tullwartz Thought Lin Shaye could'nt get more insufferable than in SOMETHING ABOUT MARY, but she does 2 stars
1/25/02 Andrew Carden If The Movie Was About 70's Disco [Not Hard Rock], It Would Have Been Watchable. 1 stars
11/12/01 Melissa This is the best movie 5 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat Mean-spirited, but awesome. 4 stars
3/28/01 TheRock see it for the kickass soundtrack 5 stars
3/04/01 Scarlett I LOVED THIS MOVIE especially cuz Lex (Giuseppe Andrews) is super hot!!!!! 5 stars
2/06/01 the?girl not a fan of spew jokes, but laughed at most bits. 3 stars
1/15/01 Manda Kane Detroit Rock City is the best movie I have ever seen I love it and I love Jam!!!!!! 5 stars
1/01/01 J in TN wonderful film; fantastic DVD -- captures the period perfectly--I know; I was there. A+++ 4 stars
8/16/00 unholy1965 I`m a mad kiss fan and I thought it was goodit shows whata kiss fan will do to see them 5 stars
7/11/00 Bender The first half is full of bad jokes, but the second half is funny and entertainiing. 3 stars
6/28/00 Elvisfan It was OK. A laugh or two. Natasha Lyonne is always worth seeing 4 stars
5/20/00 perverted pixie Kiss suck!- but this is a really charming no-brainer 4 stars
4/23/00 Ryan i am not a fan of teenage wasteland movies... but KISS is one of the best bands alive... 3 stars
4/12/00 Cleatus The Slack Jawed Yokel It was good, even though KISS sucks 4 stars
3/05/00 Kyle Broflovski Kept me suitably entertained while waiting for a phone call... 3 stars
2/20/00 arnold funny at best 3 stars
2/13/00 toneely i loved this movie......it was so funny 5 stars
1/23/00 arnold pretty damn funny kiss sucks though 4 stars
12/08/99 Lincoln Read For KISS fans only 4 stars
9/16/99 Kory I'm a big KISS fan but must admit this movie is pretty lame 2 stars
9/15/99 Ratso God, I want to have sex with Shannon Tweed. 3 stars
9/10/99 Timbo Wow anyone can get laid at a Kiss show 3 stars
9/06/99 Chet Patel I felt ripped off after I saw this piece of shit,and I did not even pay for it. 1 stars
8/26/99 Ah Dooey If you hate this, you're not as tough as you think. Only Spiceworld: The Movie is worse. 5 stars
8/21/99 Vampyre9mm I'm not a big KISS fan, but I dug this movie. Killer Soundtrack!!! 4 stars
8/16/99 danimal i loved this look at the 70's. made me remember a lot! 5 stars
8/15/99 mason a boneheaded classic , in league with meatballs and porkeys (not to mention satan) 5 stars
8/13/99 mara funny even if you're not a KISS mega-fan 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Aug-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Dec-1999 (MA)


Directed by
  Adam Rifkin

Written by
  Carl Dupre

Cast
  Edward Furlong
  James DeBello
  Sam Huntington
  Giuseppe Andrews
  Lin Shaye
  KISS



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast