Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.28

Awesome: 21.38%
Worth A Look32.41%
Just Average: 18.62%
Pretty Crappy: 7.59%
Sucks: 20%

7 reviews, 103 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Forces Of Nature
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Did John Hughes Do a Rewrite?"
3 stars

Forces of Nature (** Ĺ) - This film is shameless in the amount of material in rips off from other films. It plays like a Zucker brothers parody without the laughs because unlike the Zuckers, the screenwriters are counting on the fact that the audience hasnít seen any of the films being copied.

On the other hand, youíve got the delightful Sandra Bullock once again doing her Sandra Bullock thing which is simply being completely likable. She also comes off as more flexible than one would have guessed from her previous roles - something that the male audience members should appreciate. I know I did. This is the kind of film that I know is not a good film in many regards. There are some good moments. There are some good laughs. But I couldnít help but count the number of ripped off scenes from other movies. (1) The obvious Planes, Trains, and Automobiles-esque plot. (2) To keep with the John Hughes aspect - Bullock and Affleck spend ten minutes lounging and contemplating life in a K-Mart - right out of Career Opportunities. (3) Both of them begin laughing hysterically late in the film as they watch a cash station burn down - just like the burning car scene in P, T, & A (which when anagrammed like that sounds like a porn film about golden showers - sorry, had to.) (4) Both of them get caught by members of the wedding party wading in a hotel swimming pool - shades of Chevy Chase in the original Vacation film. (5) They pretend to be man and wife at one point a la It Happened One Night. A second viewing might produce even more highway robbery, but I think Iíll wait until video. You would think that with all these problems I seem to have with the film that I might have given it a lower star rating. But up until the eleventh hour walking out of that theater - I was debating what I actually thought about the movie - because personally I was never bored with the material. There are some nicely written moments about the nature of marriage. Steve Zahn turns in another funny supporting performance. And naturally youíve got Sandra Bullock who you just wanna take home and hug.

But its unoriginality sticks out like a sore thumb and every time I started getting taken in by the performances, another metaphorical stick-up job would happen. And the film should have lost the fianceís ex-boyfriend as well. We could have done without him and his butcher job of Phil Collinsí beautiful Against All Odds. (Note: This is the same guy who killed himself last Monday. I wrote this review last Sunday) And I donít wanna give away the ending of the film, but it didnít work for me the way it should have because we needed to know more about the fiance for it to work. And that was disheartening because itís an ending that I normally would have applauded, but I realized that I would have chosen differently. A mixed review but a slightly negative one.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1586&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/15/00 16:16:35
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/17/10 PAUL SHORTT TREADBARE, WITLESS COMEDY 1 stars
10/07/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome story! 5 stars
8/29/07 Lilly i watched it every time it i know it will be shown on the tv. A movie that has it all! 5 stars
5/22/06 Ashley Hinz I didn't like it. Ben and Sandy together was interesting, however. 3 stars
4/19/05 Jeff Anderson Hopelessly bad, unfunny & absolutely poorly made(Elliot Davis' camerawork is unattractive)! 1 stars
6/17/03 Erin didn't like. period 2 stars
6/05/03 Shadaan Felfeli loved the film 5 stars
3/18/03 Gracy Lionheart This movie, while not awful, is fairly close to that label. No sparks fly here. 2 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby The two stars are unbearable; the photography is ugly; the film is a catastrophe. 1 stars
5/14/02 Blake This was most romantic movie of the year. 5 stars
2/09/02 Adrienne Waters Typical Sandra Bullock drivel, immensely unpleasant. 1 stars
11/24/01 Butterbean I only watched this for Ben Affleck's fine looking ass. This flick is watchable.. 3 stars
6/22/01 Justin Cheung Sandra is the best! 5 stars
4/16/01 LiL Good, but the ending was predictable and a bit dissapointing 3 stars
7/24/00 Elvisfan Aside from some nice cinematography, this movie blows goats 2 stars
4/26/00 verbalgirl cute 4 stars
4/13/00 Fishsticks One of those romantic comedies that doesn't embarass itself too much. 4 stars
3/12/00 Trina Barnard Good enough that I bought it 4 stars
2/05/00 Kyle Broflovski Good buildup to a truly shitty ending. Bah. 3 stars
10/03/99 Britney Very cool movie...Great actors! 5 stars
9/21/99 Tristynn not that great.. kind of fun... Ben is good and Sandy does an okay job.. bad plot.. 3 stars
9/19/99 vickie Very entertaining, light fare 4 stars
7/27/99 Gina Movie was a bore! I guess they're showing it on flights to Moscow to help passengers sleep 1 stars
7/05/99 Angie if it wasn't for the ending this movie would've sucked all ass..bullock looked like a whore 3 stars
7/02/99 blue b. I'm a huge Ben fan, but I found this movie to be a waste of time. 2 stars
6/21/99 EmpresS I lub those Afflecks, the movie was annoying though 3 stars
6/17/99 matchbox20 Affleck looked tired and uninterested through out the movie 1 stars
6/15/99 Kim Great Actors, great movie. 5 stars
6/15/99 Melissa just go to see Affleck...he's very believeable in this role, a fine performance 4 stars
6/14/99 Sally BORE, SNOOZE, YAWN! Ben's cool! Movie sucks! 1 stars
6/14/99 jes ben affleck, all the way 5 stars
5/27/99 Ferggie WHAT A SNOOZE!!! 1 stars
5/20/99 Mike Hunt Not only did the ending BLOW, but so did the entire film! 1 stars
5/20/99 Carisa Bullock and Affleck 5 stars, movie 3 stars 4 stars
5/17/99 Beat_Me_Clever This fucking rocked, Ben is DA MAN 5 stars
5/13/99 Jeffie Can you say SNOOZE? If you have insomnia, u certainly won't be afflicted during this film! 1 stars
5/10/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! Bullock/Affleck both drool worthy/great FX and a realistic ending. 4 stars
5/09/99 GG Story SUCKS ALL ASS! What a BORE! Too bad for Affleck and Bullock. 1 stars
5/03/99 JJ Get over Affleck already -He's hung up on Gwen!! IT SUCKED 1 stars
4/30/99 Tristynn very disappointing...Ben and Sandra I love,but this movie is a snooze.to bad.see it for Ben 4 stars
4/29/99 Lisa It was fun--nothing more. That's not always bad. 4 stars
4/28/99 George Like Affleck & Bullock. But this SUCKED and BLEW! God-awful writing, directing, etc. 1 stars
4/27/99 Red See this one for Affleck and Bullock. It's sad that the story didn't live up to the hype. 3 stars
4/26/99 Angie once again, Ben looked sexy, but the movie wasn't too great. Sandra was awful! 3 stars
4/24/99 aoakely13 "awesome movie, okay ending" 4 stars
4/23/99 sweet lady!!! Ben was so hot, Id like to give my own force of nature! 5 stars
4/23/99 gibb Piss on Ben. Thsi movie was slow and dull 1 stars
4/22/99 Anabell I loved it,it was sweet, funny, and wonderfully acted (ahem, ben). The ending made sense 5 stars
4/22/99 Jessica Jordan Interesting concept for a film. Separately Ben 4 stars
4/19/99 Lovebug Disappointing. Sandra and Ben are good but the movie doesn't really flow. 3 stars
4/19/99 sonia Forces of nature rocked. It was funny, sweet and the ending kind of caught me off guard. 5 stars
4/18/99 Ben Like "Planes, Trains and Automobiles" ONLY this sucked!!!!!!!! 1 stars
4/18/99 Kristyne What a pussy review. Why not give those involved with the film a hand job to go along with 3 stars
4/17/99 Jennie I love it, especially the ending! Ben Affleck is such a fantastic actor and cute. 4 stars
4/13/99 Ami the Wonderbread Ben is on the way to superstardom. I love Sandy 4 stars
4/13/99 Michelle It's nice to see a "romantic comedy" that doesn't stick to the proven formula - good ending 4 stars
4/12/99 Shanda Besler Although I thought Ben and Sandra were great...the movie lacked "something" for me. 3 stars
4/10/99 Tristynn Sorry.. love Ben and Sandra but this movie is a snooze ..come on Ben, you can do better... 3 stars
4/09/99 Randall The ending wasn't a cop-out. i went into this movie with low expectations, but i was wrong 5 stars
4/08/99 Heidi Pressly Great Movie! Ben and Sandra were awsome. 5 stars
4/08/99 Me A must see for any Ben Affleck fan. He looked amazing! 5 stars
4/08/99 Big Jimmy movie sucked, but Bullock looks hot with that black shit around her eyes 2 stars
4/07/99 Daun Harner Great movie! Ben and Sandra were great together! 5 stars
4/07/99 Dave Maura needs to stick with "news Radio" Not a movie star she SUCKED and was boring 1 stars
4/07/99 sweet lady!!! I wanna fuck ben so hard!!! 5 stars
4/06/99 E. SMITH YOU EITHER GET IT OR YOU DON'T. THE ENDINGS PERFECT! 5 stars
4/06/99 Jocelyn J. two great actors working with an OK script, all in all a good movie but not up for a oscar 4 stars
4/06/99 lianesse ben--mmm, funny, uplifting 5 stars
4/05/99 LR Really a good movie, whether you have a date or not! Loved the ending! 4 stars
4/04/99 Stephanie OK, so I'm in love with Ben, but this movie was awesome. 5 stars
4/03/99 Jerry This gets two bitchslaps 1 stars
4/02/99 Kate I loved the ending. Ben Affleck has great comic skills. 5 stars
3/31/99 Erin I really liked it but the ending was a downer!!! 4 stars
3/30/99 Heather Loy Definetely drool worthy!! Ben is absolutely looking his best in this modern day love story! 5 stars
3/30/99 CM Affleck SPFX were incredible and so was Ben. It was a cute movie that i would definatly see again. 5 stars
3/29/99 Michael Ms.Bullock you ought to be ashamed of this movie 1 stars
3/29/99 Patti I love this movie. Ben is what I call "whole package sexy." 5 stars
3/28/99 Chuck not good, the plane should crashed woulda saved an hour and a half of lame dialogue 1 stars
3/28/99 mike Microphones in every shot. Affleck is getting Gwyneth's mom work now-sucked 1 stars
3/28/99 Kenda Ben played himself. Sandra played herself. Much better than I expected, though. 4 stars
3/28/99 Ebert's twin Miserable piece of crap. SAVE YOUR MONEY PEOPLE! 1 stars
3/28/99 Katie Visuals are awesome, story is okay, Ben is a cutie. 4 stars
3/28/99 HeatherLadyBug Did maura Tierney forget that she wasen't playing lisa??? Sandra was Great! 4 stars
3/27/99 Shanandler Bong Ben was great as a guy in Love, and Sandy was great as a free spirit 5 stars
3/27/99 Lisa Great leads in a decent movie. SPFX oddly overwhelm key emotional scenes. 3 stars
3/26/99 Shel My only complaint was that Big Ben did not remove enough clothes during his strip. 5 stars
3/26/99 Jade generic, predictable movie, but Affleck and Bullock show great acting-worth it to see them 4 stars
3/25/99 Valerie Three words:Ben Affleck Stripping 5 stars
3/25/99 Jackie(schultj@csd.uwm.edu) I laughed harder during the strip scene then I have in ages,But.... Can't WAIT for Dogma!! 4 stars
3/24/99 Powrhug loved the ending-Ben was charming as usual-he and Sandra seemed more brother-sister though 4 stars
3/23/99 Jeff Ben Affleck shows the 2nd step to greatest following Chasing AMY 5 stars
3/22/99 Malbert Sandra Bullock&Ben Affleck were great!...the music didn't go with the movie 4 stars
3/21/99 Marjorie The movie was okay - would like to see Ben in a more challenging role 3 stars
3/21/99 Ah Dooey Sandra Bullock?! Agh! I'd rather throw up for this! 4 stars
3/21/99 Alexis Very enjoyable, I loved the ending. 5 stars
3/21/99 Ali excellent chemistry, and the strip scene was hilariously funny!! 5 stars
3/21/99 Kevin Knapp A waste $6.50 in my oppinion! A definate "chick flick" - No offense 1 stars
3/20/99 Film Review Well,Creep,you have to count Armageddon.That was A+.This is very entertaining as well. 4 stars
3/20/99 Cool thing Didn't hate it, and for a Bullock film that's amazing. 4 stars
3/19/99 lianesse ben=sex 5 stars
3/19/99 Orgazmo A dumb, insiped piece of my dog's shit. 1 stars
3/19/99 MissMod okay 4 stars
3/17/99 Negative Creep Funny in all the right places. Could be Ben's Breakthough film if you dont count Armageddon 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Mar-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  07-May-1999

Australia
  06-May-1999




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast