Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.28

Awesome: 21.38%
Worth A Look32.41%
Just Average: 18.62%
Pretty Crappy: 7.59%
Sucks: 20%

7 reviews, 103 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Forces Of Nature
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Oh yeah. Now we're honeymoonin'."
3 stars

There are better films and there are worse films.

Ben (Ben Affleck) is headed to Savannah for his marriage to Bridget (Maura Tierney). Already a nervous flier, the plane never makes it off the runway, and Ben is a mess. Nonetheless, he hooks up with Sarah (Sandra Bullock, playing a bit against type), who is also headed to Savannah. As they travel, Ben becomes more and more attracted to Sarah, and the events that happen to them (various natural disasters and freak events - the forces of nature of the title) seem destined to keep Ben from his impending marriage. Soon, even he starts to think it's a sign from the heavens. There's no denying the attraction between Ben and Sarah.

So there's the quandry.

Why doesn't it work?

The script.

Writer Marc Lawrence seems to throw coincidence after coincidence out there. Each segment or disaster is the impetus that leads to another disaster, with little to tie one to another. Further, the Sarah character pulls solutions quite literally from out of nowhere. She used to have this job, so she knows how to handle this situation. Right. Bits and pieces of her backstory pop up repeatedly throughout the film, leading one to wonder if the screenwriter was just sitting there writing, and suddenly thinks, "Wouldn't it be great if Sarah said/did/felt this?"

The ending, which I won't give away, is such a horrible cop out, by the way.

An already shaky premise is undermined by sloppy writing.

What is good here is the chemistry between the leads. Affleck is inching closer to that leading man status that you know his charm is meant for. Bullock, whom I generally dislike, plays the free-spirit role admirably. She'd not horribly miscast, and she makes the most of it. It's a decent comeback for a star who's in need of a hit. The supporting cast is fine as well. Tierney is radiant as always, and makes the most of her role. Steve Zahn once again outdoes everyone else in the film.

The effects are passable, although a scene in the climax, when Ben is talking to Bridget while a hurricane is nearby seems odd. Nevermind the furniture flying by in the background, look at Maura Tierney's hair. Barely moves. You could say that the conversation takes place in the eye of the storms surrounding them, but that's kinda hokey.

As a date movie, it's average fare. Affleck's fans will like it, but it could have been so much better.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1586&reviewer=7
originally posted: 03/29/99 14:02:11
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/17/10 PAUL SHORTT TREADBARE, WITLESS COMEDY 1 stars
10/07/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome story! 5 stars
8/29/07 Lilly i watched it every time it i know it will be shown on the tv. A movie that has it all! 5 stars
5/22/06 Ashley Hinz I didn't like it. Ben and Sandy together was interesting, however. 3 stars
4/19/05 Jeff Anderson Hopelessly bad, unfunny & absolutely poorly made(Elliot Davis' camerawork is unattractive)! 1 stars
6/17/03 Erin didn't like. period 2 stars
6/05/03 Shadaan Felfeli loved the film 5 stars
3/18/03 Gracy Lionheart This movie, while not awful, is fairly close to that label. No sparks fly here. 2 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby The two stars are unbearable; the photography is ugly; the film is a catastrophe. 1 stars
5/14/02 Blake This was most romantic movie of the year. 5 stars
2/09/02 Adrienne Waters Typical Sandra Bullock drivel, immensely unpleasant. 1 stars
11/24/01 Butterbean I only watched this for Ben Affleck's fine looking ass. This flick is watchable.. 3 stars
6/22/01 Justin Cheung Sandra is the best! 5 stars
4/16/01 LiL Good, but the ending was predictable and a bit dissapointing 3 stars
7/24/00 Elvisfan Aside from some nice cinematography, this movie blows goats 2 stars
4/26/00 verbalgirl cute 4 stars
4/13/00 Fishsticks One of those romantic comedies that doesn't embarass itself too much. 4 stars
3/12/00 Trina Barnard Good enough that I bought it 4 stars
2/05/00 Kyle Broflovski Good buildup to a truly shitty ending. Bah. 3 stars
10/03/99 Britney Very cool movie...Great actors! 5 stars
9/21/99 Tristynn not that great.. kind of fun... Ben is good and Sandy does an okay job.. bad plot.. 3 stars
9/19/99 vickie Very entertaining, light fare 4 stars
7/27/99 Gina Movie was a bore! I guess they're showing it on flights to Moscow to help passengers sleep 1 stars
7/05/99 Angie if it wasn't for the ending this movie would've sucked all ass..bullock looked like a whore 3 stars
7/02/99 blue b. I'm a huge Ben fan, but I found this movie to be a waste of time. 2 stars
6/21/99 EmpresS I lub those Afflecks, the movie was annoying though 3 stars
6/17/99 matchbox20 Affleck looked tired and uninterested through out the movie 1 stars
6/15/99 Kim Great Actors, great movie. 5 stars
6/15/99 Melissa just go to see Affleck...he's very believeable in this role, a fine performance 4 stars
6/14/99 Sally BORE, SNOOZE, YAWN! Ben's cool! Movie sucks! 1 stars
6/14/99 jes ben affleck, all the way 5 stars
5/27/99 Ferggie WHAT A SNOOZE!!! 1 stars
5/20/99 Mike Hunt Not only did the ending BLOW, but so did the entire film! 1 stars
5/20/99 Carisa Bullock and Affleck 5 stars, movie 3 stars 4 stars
5/17/99 Beat_Me_Clever This fucking rocked, Ben is DA MAN 5 stars
5/13/99 Jeffie Can you say SNOOZE? If you have insomnia, u certainly won't be afflicted during this film! 1 stars
5/10/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! Bullock/Affleck both drool worthy/great FX and a realistic ending. 4 stars
5/09/99 GG Story SUCKS ALL ASS! What a BORE! Too bad for Affleck and Bullock. 1 stars
5/03/99 JJ Get over Affleck already -He's hung up on Gwen!! IT SUCKED 1 stars
4/30/99 Tristynn very disappointing...Ben and Sandra I love,but this movie is a snooze.to bad.see it for Ben 4 stars
4/29/99 Lisa It was fun--nothing more. That's not always bad. 4 stars
4/28/99 George Like Affleck & Bullock. But this SUCKED and BLEW! God-awful writing, directing, etc. 1 stars
4/27/99 Red See this one for Affleck and Bullock. It's sad that the story didn't live up to the hype. 3 stars
4/26/99 Angie once again, Ben looked sexy, but the movie wasn't too great. Sandra was awful! 3 stars
4/24/99 aoakely13 "awesome movie, okay ending" 4 stars
4/23/99 sweet lady!!! Ben was so hot, Id like to give my own force of nature! 5 stars
4/23/99 gibb Piss on Ben. Thsi movie was slow and dull 1 stars
4/22/99 Anabell I loved it,it was sweet, funny, and wonderfully acted (ahem, ben). The ending made sense 5 stars
4/22/99 Jessica Jordan Interesting concept for a film. Separately Ben 4 stars
4/19/99 Lovebug Disappointing. Sandra and Ben are good but the movie doesn't really flow. 3 stars
4/19/99 sonia Forces of nature rocked. It was funny, sweet and the ending kind of caught me off guard. 5 stars
4/18/99 Ben Like "Planes, Trains and Automobiles" ONLY this sucked!!!!!!!! 1 stars
4/18/99 Kristyne What a pussy review. Why not give those involved with the film a hand job to go along with 3 stars
4/17/99 Jennie I love it, especially the ending! Ben Affleck is such a fantastic actor and cute. 4 stars
4/13/99 Ami the Wonderbread Ben is on the way to superstardom. I love Sandy 4 stars
4/13/99 Michelle It's nice to see a "romantic comedy" that doesn't stick to the proven formula - good ending 4 stars
4/12/99 Shanda Besler Although I thought Ben and Sandra were great...the movie lacked "something" for me. 3 stars
4/10/99 Tristynn Sorry.. love Ben and Sandra but this movie is a snooze ..come on Ben, you can do better... 3 stars
4/09/99 Randall The ending wasn't a cop-out. i went into this movie with low expectations, but i was wrong 5 stars
4/08/99 Heidi Pressly Great Movie! Ben and Sandra were awsome. 5 stars
4/08/99 Me A must see for any Ben Affleck fan. He looked amazing! 5 stars
4/08/99 Big Jimmy movie sucked, but Bullock looks hot with that black shit around her eyes 2 stars
4/07/99 Daun Harner Great movie! Ben and Sandra were great together! 5 stars
4/07/99 Dave Maura needs to stick with "news Radio" Not a movie star she SUCKED and was boring 1 stars
4/07/99 sweet lady!!! I wanna fuck ben so hard!!! 5 stars
4/06/99 E. SMITH YOU EITHER GET IT OR YOU DON'T. THE ENDINGS PERFECT! 5 stars
4/06/99 Jocelyn J. two great actors working with an OK script, all in all a good movie but not up for a oscar 4 stars
4/06/99 lianesse ben--mmm, funny, uplifting 5 stars
4/05/99 LR Really a good movie, whether you have a date or not! Loved the ending! 4 stars
4/04/99 Stephanie OK, so I'm in love with Ben, but this movie was awesome. 5 stars
4/03/99 Jerry This gets two bitchslaps 1 stars
4/02/99 Kate I loved the ending. Ben Affleck has great comic skills. 5 stars
3/31/99 Erin I really liked it but the ending was a downer!!! 4 stars
3/30/99 Heather Loy Definetely drool worthy!! Ben is absolutely looking his best in this modern day love story! 5 stars
3/30/99 CM Affleck SPFX were incredible and so was Ben. It was a cute movie that i would definatly see again. 5 stars
3/29/99 Michael Ms.Bullock you ought to be ashamed of this movie 1 stars
3/29/99 Patti I love this movie. Ben is what I call "whole package sexy." 5 stars
3/28/99 Chuck not good, the plane should crashed woulda saved an hour and a half of lame dialogue 1 stars
3/28/99 mike Microphones in every shot. Affleck is getting Gwyneth's mom work now-sucked 1 stars
3/28/99 Kenda Ben played himself. Sandra played herself. Much better than I expected, though. 4 stars
3/28/99 Ebert's twin Miserable piece of crap. SAVE YOUR MONEY PEOPLE! 1 stars
3/28/99 Katie Visuals are awesome, story is okay, Ben is a cutie. 4 stars
3/28/99 HeatherLadyBug Did maura Tierney forget that she wasen't playing lisa??? Sandra was Great! 4 stars
3/27/99 Shanandler Bong Ben was great as a guy in Love, and Sandy was great as a free spirit 5 stars
3/27/99 Lisa Great leads in a decent movie. SPFX oddly overwhelm key emotional scenes. 3 stars
3/26/99 Shel My only complaint was that Big Ben did not remove enough clothes during his strip. 5 stars
3/26/99 Jade generic, predictable movie, but Affleck and Bullock show great acting-worth it to see them 4 stars
3/25/99 Valerie Three words:Ben Affleck Stripping 5 stars
3/25/99 Jackie(schultj@csd.uwm.edu) I laughed harder during the strip scene then I have in ages,But.... Can't WAIT for Dogma!! 4 stars
3/24/99 Powrhug loved the ending-Ben was charming as usual-he and Sandra seemed more brother-sister though 4 stars
3/23/99 Jeff Ben Affleck shows the 2nd step to greatest following Chasing AMY 5 stars
3/22/99 Malbert Sandra Bullock&Ben Affleck were great!...the music didn't go with the movie 4 stars
3/21/99 Marjorie The movie was okay - would like to see Ben in a more challenging role 3 stars
3/21/99 Ah Dooey Sandra Bullock?! Agh! I'd rather throw up for this! 4 stars
3/21/99 Alexis Very enjoyable, I loved the ending. 5 stars
3/21/99 Ali excellent chemistry, and the strip scene was hilariously funny!! 5 stars
3/21/99 Kevin Knapp A waste $6.50 in my oppinion! A definate "chick flick" - No offense 1 stars
3/20/99 Film Review Well,Creep,you have to count Armageddon.That was A+.This is very entertaining as well. 4 stars
3/20/99 Cool thing Didn't hate it, and for a Bullock film that's amazing. 4 stars
3/19/99 lianesse ben=sex 5 stars
3/19/99 Orgazmo A dumb, insiped piece of my dog's shit. 1 stars
3/19/99 MissMod okay 4 stars
3/17/99 Negative Creep Funny in all the right places. Could be Ben's Breakthough film if you dont count Armageddon 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Mar-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  07-May-1999

Australia
  06-May-1999




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast