Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.87

Awesome: 9.21%
Worth A Look32.89%
Just Average: 13.16%
Pretty Crappy: 25%
Sucks: 19.74%

13 reviews, 74 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Stigmata
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by f*r*o*s*t*y

"Whip me, puncture me, nail me to a cross. Sounds like S&M..."
2 stars

This movie is neither scary nor controversial, discuss. Hell, it wasn't much of anything. Gabriel Byrne, what happened to you? Patricia Arquette... Go see a plastic surgeon, now! And whoever wrote this thing... It WASN'T as deep as you had hoped it to be. Coming from a "recovering Christian", I could've taught you a thing or two.

Whoever came up with the trailer for this movie had to be a goddamned genius. They need to work on whatever movies are a total piece of crap so that the general public will feel enticed to go see them. Because... That's how I felt. When I saw the trailer for "Stigmata," I thought, "Oooh. That looks kinda scary and sharp."

Nah-ah.

Somewhere someone said that "Stigmata" was like one long music video. I have to agree with that statement. There were a lot of pretty pictures, but nothing driving it. I felt no zing, no controversy, nothing. Granted, it ended up showing how corrupt churches can (and will) be, when all was said and done, I felt nothing. Going to Christian school for 7 years was more shocking and frightening than two hours in this movie could ever be.

Let me rewind a tad. Patricia Arquette plays a usual urban "trendy beast" where she lives her day to day existence not thinking of much anything aside from her job, who she's currently sleeping with, "unwinding" on work nights and being as fasionable as possible. Her mom is vacation-hopping over in Italy (or some foreign country, I didn't pay too much attention to this junk) where some little kid sells her a rosary that he ripped off from a dead priest (niiiiiiice). She, in turn, sends it to her daughter (the aforementioned Arquette). Said daughter starts getting creepy visions, marks, stab wounds, blah blah blah as soon after she touches it.

Gabriel Byrne comes into her life as a... Priest Detective, if you will. He investigates all the little oddities that may or may not have to do with religion that may or may not be authentic.

Then all hell breaks loose and "wacky hilarity" ensues. All in all, it was a little interesting to watch someone's interpretation of all things holy.

If you're looking for something that's going to thrill you, grab you by your neck and show you the light... This ain't it.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1610&reviewer=22
originally posted: 09/20/99 07:55:33
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell the exorcist 4 the m tv crowd 1 stars
7/30/10 PAUL SHORTT SILLY HORROR WITH BAD PERFORMANCES 1 stars
1/14/09 FrankNFurter Overly-bashed,surprisingly entertaining "Exorcist" rip-off that's a lot of fun! 3 stars
7/30/07 Indrid Cold Gabriel Byrne apparently has a corner on this market. Why wasn't he in The Da Vinci Code? 2 stars
6/05/07 David Pollastrini Saw it and have no memory of it so it must have sucked 2 stars
1/21/07 David A. About halfway thru, this horror tries to become inspirational. Weak ending. 3 stars
12/31/06 del Easily one of the stupidest movies I've ever seen. 1 stars
6/04/06 chris I like this movie and I think it's great. 5 stars
3/30/06 Anthony Feor i got stigmata from watching this 1 stars
9/09/05 aiza awesome.... i like the story itself.. 5 stars
8/12/05 Lily So boring. Couldn't wait for it to end. 1 stars
8/11/05 ES catholic priest stumbles on a terrible plot that proves protestants were right, oh no! 3 stars
5/30/05 yosef ilove creative dildoes 5 stars
10/03/04 Bobble Very Entertaining, gory, and far-fetched. Why all the fuss ? 4 stars
8/04/04 Mia I loved the movie and I believe that it was one of the greatest movies yet to come. 5 stars
6/18/04 Alex Bound to hit a few nerves, expect NO unbiased opinions of this movie 5 stars
5/22/04 John caveat emptor 1 stars
5/06/04 Alex Fucked up movie. The guy who derectied it was a wannabe and a dam cunt. It was offensive. 1 stars
3/17/04 Trevor Definitely one of the better films in the 90's, I hope Wainright will direct again soon! 5 stars
1/05/04 cwlg420 It was fun, and it P/O the pope 5 stars
10/17/03 Summer Very well done. Beautiful. 4 stars
8/07/03 Brandy I enjoyed this movie. Obviously, those that did not, didn't get it. 5 stars
7/26/03 Monster W. Kung A ridiculous, inane and ignorant wanna-be scary, wanna-be 'message' movie. Pathetic. 1 stars
5/02/03 shaban very nice movie 2 stars
3/17/03 Mahdy Mazahary That Was Impressive 5 stars
9/26/02 Lee Wall Stigmata takes an old idea and makes it new...inspired and inspiring. 5 stars
7/11/02 KMG Less Catholic propaganda and more plot please! 3 stars
7/01/02 R.W. Welch Curious mix of conspiracy and mysticism; squirrelly but not badly done. 3 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Badly written story. Not much punch. 2 stars
1/16/02 Jockstud Exorcist + B Movie Script + Enigma = Stigmata 3 stars
1/15/02 David A. Starts out as horror and ends up being inspirational--go figure 4 stars
12/07/01 Dominik Duprelle a Dayglow, MTV, abominatrix. Balls. 1 stars
8/05/01 badfish Hello?Hollywood?We dont need any more blasphemic, unbelievable pieces of elephant feces. 1 stars
4/01/01 Joe Bova If you are aroused by lots and lots of candles and dripping water, then this is your porn. 2 stars
3/24/01 Monster W. Kung Not as idiotic as End Of Days, but rather superficial and crappy nevertheless. 2 stars
2/12/01 Jake Awful. Pathetic attempt at horror. 1 stars
2/08/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Doesn't "suspend" your disbelief...kinda ties a noose and slips it around your neck... 3 stars
11/25/00 The Bomb 69 pleasantly surprised, wasn't expecting much but the plot was strong 5 stars
10/28/00 Mitja Podgajski The greates "antichurch" movie... i love it! 5 stars
9/05/00 Terrie Smith Byrne makes the film better than it really is; major disappointment. 3 stars
5/20/00 mellemel Pretty crappy sums it up 2 stars
5/19/00 Queer with a Brain Excellent material, poorly executed. Agnes of God better deals w/similar subject. 3 stars
4/25/00 Austin Ritter This film was an awesome look into the foolishess of the modern chuch. It makes you think. 5 stars
4/06/00 SID Entertaining, but that's it. Awful MTV-editing, and soundtrack. 3 stars
3/14/00 Chrissy T Gabriel Byrne was the only thing in this keeping me from laughing my ass off. Amusing trash 4 stars
3/08/00 Mr. Kramitall coulda been a great X-Files episode 3 stars
3/05/00 Kyle Broflovski I'm a Jew, so I'm scared of the Catholic Church, anyway 4 stars
2/11/00 James Woodman Scary (but inconsistant) shit. 4 stars
2/05/00 Frank Curigliano Dull and derivative 3 stars
1/28/00 puppyboy434@aol.com wild fun ride with catholic church as villans! 4 stars
1/26/00 Joel Harwood Freaky 5 stars
1/24/00 Italian Stallion. Great Directing...Patricia cant act for shit,ending sux..kepps u thinking though!! 4 stars
1/23/00 Phil Smith above average,value for cinema buck,quite enjoyable 4 stars
11/18/99 bishopj@pumpkinsfan.com Corgan rules, this film doesn't. BEst part was Arquette in the hot green top in the opening 2 stars
11/14/99 Mark Damn, catholicism is creepy, I need a new religion 3 stars
10/14/99 Lame-Oh lame-ass schlock 2 stars
10/10/99 Ben Ryan Interesting, Binding, keeps u watching to see what the Catholics will screw up next! 4 stars
10/04/99 Holliwud I liked , I think it's worth a look 4 stars
9/29/99 Weezal316 Creepy. . .Disturbing. . .A Brillant Film 4 stars
9/25/99 Costars Redundant, hyperbolic, gross bullshit 2 stars
9/24/99 XenoWolf Alright that scene was pointless o look bloods pouring out of wrists again 2 stars
9/24/99 Tom Such a waste of time and money, should have been called Stink-mata 1 stars
9/22/99 Fork Different movie, cool concept, execution somewhat flagrant. 3 stars
9/20/99 Gunhed All style, no plot makes for one piss poor symbolic piece 'o' crap. Give me the Omen. 1 stars
9/19/99 Admiral Crunch Right on with the review, rocksolidace. Nutcase movie to be exact. 2 stars
9/16/99 ChicoWildcat Take everyone else's word and don't pay to see this train wreck. 2 stars
9/14/99 Dennis Forcier Rent 'Life of Brian' instead. 1 stars
9/13/99 Chukls When it comes to zany nutball comedy, you can't go wrong here! 1 stars
9/13/99 Elijah Stigmata = Menstruation. Nuff said. 2 stars
9/12/99 janet It made me think. Effects and soundtrack great. 4 stars
9/12/99 mason good story , rotten film 1 stars
9/12/99 Mr Showbiz An incomprehensible mess. 1 stars
9/11/99 Dr. Worm Convoluted & excruciatingly gory, alternately inducing boredom and hyperkinetic convulsions 1 stars
9/11/99 Obi Wan Something different...I was expecting too much after TBWP...but it was worth watching 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Sep-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Jan-2000 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast