Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.87

Awesome: 9.21%
Worth A Look32.89%
Just Average: 13.16%
Pretty Crappy: 25%
Sucks: 19.74%

13 reviews, 74 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Stigmata
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by davebo

"A very good idea"
4 stars

I love it whenever the Catholic church is in any way discredited in any sort of public medium. This movie uses stunning sequences and painfully annoying music to convey a really interesting and thought-provoking message. Who needs church?

The Good:
Unfortunately i don't think i can tell you much of the plot without giving something away that is better experienced when you watch the movie. But to sum it up, a 23 year old athiest who enjoys her life (played by Patricia Arquette) experiences insane attacks by a demon that inflict on her the same 5 wounds jesus received during that whole crucifixtion deal. The catholic church sends a scientist/priest over to investigate. The wacky thing is that the "demon" is the good guy, depending on how you look at it. Yeah, i think that's all i can tell you, but rest assured there's a lot of cool surprises. I just really really liked the whole premise of the film.

The Bad:
The soundtrack to Stigmata was done by Billy Corgan, lead of the smashing pumpkins. Its just loud and noisy most of the time. It fits the sequences perfectly but that doesn't mean i enjoyed it or that it was absolutely neccessary to the film to have such a huge impact. All the sequences where the wounds are inflicted on Frankie (the girl) are pretty graphic, with a LOT of fast cuts (edits, not slashes) whizzing by to the loud noisy music i just mentioned What's more is that they all pretty much come right out of nowhere, which is always kind of exciting when nothing is happening, then BOOM its loud and there's a bunch of stuff going by, but when it happens 6 or 7 times it starts getting kind of bothersome.

The Ugly:
In big movies like Saving private ryan where people's limbs are getting blown off, i'm okay with that, hey, a limb is missing, no big deal. but if you show me a scene where someone is slashing up their arm with a kitchen knife real slow and there's blood everywhere, that's just gross. i can't help but feeling like its my arm being cut up, and while i'm normally all for movies that make you feel like you're a part of what's going on, i really really don't like being cut.

I fully reccommend this movie to anyone with an open mind, and if you're some really religious person who gets offended easily when the huge flaws in your church are pointed out to you, just rent Air Bud or something. One star detracted for all the nasty stuff.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1610&reviewer=30
originally posted: 09/12/99 21:56:16
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell the exorcist 4 the m tv crowd 1 stars
7/30/10 PAUL SHORTT SILLY HORROR WITH BAD PERFORMANCES 1 stars
1/14/09 FrankNFurter Overly-bashed,surprisingly entertaining "Exorcist" rip-off that's a lot of fun! 3 stars
7/30/07 Indrid Cold Gabriel Byrne apparently has a corner on this market. Why wasn't he in The Da Vinci Code? 2 stars
6/05/07 David Pollastrini Saw it and have no memory of it so it must have sucked 2 stars
1/21/07 David A. About halfway thru, this horror tries to become inspirational. Weak ending. 3 stars
12/31/06 del Easily one of the stupidest movies I've ever seen. 1 stars
6/04/06 chris I like this movie and I think it's great. 5 stars
3/30/06 Anthony Feor i got stigmata from watching this 1 stars
9/09/05 aiza awesome.... i like the story itself.. 5 stars
8/12/05 Lily So boring. Couldn't wait for it to end. 1 stars
8/11/05 ES catholic priest stumbles on a terrible plot that proves protestants were right, oh no! 3 stars
5/30/05 yosef ilove creative dildoes 5 stars
10/03/04 Bobble Very Entertaining, gory, and far-fetched. Why all the fuss ? 4 stars
8/04/04 Mia I loved the movie and I believe that it was one of the greatest movies yet to come. 5 stars
6/18/04 Alex Bound to hit a few nerves, expect NO unbiased opinions of this movie 5 stars
5/22/04 John caveat emptor 1 stars
5/06/04 Alex Fucked up movie. The guy who derectied it was a wannabe and a dam cunt. It was offensive. 1 stars
3/17/04 Trevor Definitely one of the better films in the 90's, I hope Wainright will direct again soon! 5 stars
1/05/04 cwlg420 It was fun, and it P/O the pope 5 stars
10/17/03 Summer Very well done. Beautiful. 4 stars
8/07/03 Brandy I enjoyed this movie. Obviously, those that did not, didn't get it. 5 stars
7/26/03 Monster W. Kung A ridiculous, inane and ignorant wanna-be scary, wanna-be 'message' movie. Pathetic. 1 stars
5/02/03 shaban very nice movie 2 stars
3/17/03 Mahdy Mazahary That Was Impressive 5 stars
9/26/02 Lee Wall Stigmata takes an old idea and makes it new...inspired and inspiring. 5 stars
7/11/02 KMG Less Catholic propaganda and more plot please! 3 stars
7/01/02 R.W. Welch Curious mix of conspiracy and mysticism; squirrelly but not badly done. 3 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Badly written story. Not much punch. 2 stars
1/16/02 Jockstud Exorcist + B Movie Script + Enigma = Stigmata 3 stars
1/15/02 David A. Starts out as horror and ends up being inspirational--go figure 4 stars
12/07/01 Dominik Duprelle a Dayglow, MTV, abominatrix. Balls. 1 stars
8/05/01 badfish Hello?Hollywood?We dont need any more blasphemic, unbelievable pieces of elephant feces. 1 stars
4/01/01 Joe Bova If you are aroused by lots and lots of candles and dripping water, then this is your porn. 2 stars
3/24/01 Monster W. Kung Not as idiotic as End Of Days, but rather superficial and crappy nevertheless. 2 stars
2/12/01 Jake Awful. Pathetic attempt at horror. 1 stars
2/08/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Doesn't "suspend" your disbelief...kinda ties a noose and slips it around your neck... 3 stars
11/25/00 The Bomb 69 pleasantly surprised, wasn't expecting much but the plot was strong 5 stars
10/28/00 Mitja Podgajski The greates "antichurch" movie... i love it! 5 stars
9/05/00 Terrie Smith Byrne makes the film better than it really is; major disappointment. 3 stars
5/20/00 mellemel Pretty crappy sums it up 2 stars
5/19/00 Queer with a Brain Excellent material, poorly executed. Agnes of God better deals w/similar subject. 3 stars
4/25/00 Austin Ritter This film was an awesome look into the foolishess of the modern chuch. It makes you think. 5 stars
4/06/00 SID Entertaining, but that's it. Awful MTV-editing, and soundtrack. 3 stars
3/14/00 Chrissy T Gabriel Byrne was the only thing in this keeping me from laughing my ass off. Amusing trash 4 stars
3/08/00 Mr. Kramitall coulda been a great X-Files episode 3 stars
3/05/00 Kyle Broflovski I'm a Jew, so I'm scared of the Catholic Church, anyway 4 stars
2/11/00 James Woodman Scary (but inconsistant) shit. 4 stars
2/05/00 Frank Curigliano Dull and derivative 3 stars
1/28/00 puppyboy434@aol.com wild fun ride with catholic church as villans! 4 stars
1/26/00 Joel Harwood Freaky 5 stars
1/24/00 Italian Stallion. Great Directing...Patricia cant act for shit,ending sux..kepps u thinking though!! 4 stars
1/23/00 Phil Smith above average,value for cinema buck,quite enjoyable 4 stars
11/18/99 bishopj@pumpkinsfan.com Corgan rules, this film doesn't. BEst part was Arquette in the hot green top in the opening 2 stars
11/14/99 Mark Damn, catholicism is creepy, I need a new religion 3 stars
10/14/99 Lame-Oh lame-ass schlock 2 stars
10/10/99 Ben Ryan Interesting, Binding, keeps u watching to see what the Catholics will screw up next! 4 stars
10/04/99 Holliwud I liked , I think it's worth a look 4 stars
9/29/99 Weezal316 Creepy. . .Disturbing. . .A Brillant Film 4 stars
9/25/99 Costars Redundant, hyperbolic, gross bullshit 2 stars
9/24/99 XenoWolf Alright that scene was pointless o look bloods pouring out of wrists again 2 stars
9/24/99 Tom Such a waste of time and money, should have been called Stink-mata 1 stars
9/22/99 Fork Different movie, cool concept, execution somewhat flagrant. 3 stars
9/20/99 Gunhed All style, no plot makes for one piss poor symbolic piece 'o' crap. Give me the Omen. 1 stars
9/19/99 Admiral Crunch Right on with the review, rocksolidace. Nutcase movie to be exact. 2 stars
9/16/99 ChicoWildcat Take everyone else's word and don't pay to see this train wreck. 2 stars
9/14/99 Dennis Forcier Rent 'Life of Brian' instead. 1 stars
9/13/99 Chukls When it comes to zany nutball comedy, you can't go wrong here! 1 stars
9/13/99 Elijah Stigmata = Menstruation. Nuff said. 2 stars
9/12/99 janet It made me think. Effects and soundtrack great. 4 stars
9/12/99 mason good story , rotten film 1 stars
9/12/99 Mr Showbiz An incomprehensible mess. 1 stars
9/11/99 Dr. Worm Convoluted & excruciatingly gory, alternately inducing boredom and hyperkinetic convulsions 1 stars
9/11/99 Obi Wan Something different...I was expecting too much after TBWP...but it was worth watching 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Sep-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Jan-2000 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast