Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.39

Awesome58.93%
Worth A Look: 33.93%
Just Average: 0%
Pretty Crappy: 1.79%
Sucks: 5.36%

4 reviews, 32 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Bad Genius by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Jay Seaver

Cold Hell by Jay Seaver

House of the Disappeared by Jay Seaver

Lady Macbeth by alejandroariera

Lady Macbeth by Peter Sobczynski

Poor Agnes by Jay Seaver

Sequence Break by Jay Seaver

Have a Nice Day by Jay Seaver

Liberation Day by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Lawn Dogs
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"A great film seen by not nearly enough people. Find it."
5 stars

Sam Rockwell, someone who I've never been overly fond of, is awesome in this low budget "under the radar" flick about suburban prejudices in modern day USA.

His superb performance, however, is totally overshadowed by that of a young non-actor, Misha Barton. She is out of this world as a troubled young girl (Trent) wondering why she can't go where she wants, be friends with who she wants and why the most evil people in her life are the ones that the fences keep in.

Trent is a little askew from those around her and her actions aren't always (in fact are rarely ever) those of a rational well-adjusted young lady. But by the end of this film you're left wondering if rational is the way to go.

The relationship between Rockwell and Barton's characters is particularly unnerving. A twenty something guy and a ten year old girl just "shouldn't" be friends, but these two seem to be able to relate to each other on a level apart from everyone else.
Perhaps it's because they're both slightly mental.

You're always waiting for the whole thing to get sordid, but it never does. Well, at least never between those two. Those really dangerous to young Trent are the people who consider themselves her "protectors".

Christopher McDonald and Kathleen Quinlan, though a little overplayed as Misha's parents, only serve as to emphasise just how good the two leads are.

The story itself takes some time to warm up, but it slams you along the way that many times that you find yourself totally intrigued.

This is a film well worth hunting down, a film that will hold your attention until the unexpected finish, and a film that the less open minded out there will (and have) degrade as akin to porn. It's far from that. It's more an example of just how close-minded some people are.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=164&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/17/98 02:27:49
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/28/16 Aj wales Movie does not age. Dreamlike fairytale. Emotional ending. Watch. 5 stars
6/30/11 Anon E. Muss That's how you tell a story. Exceptionally well done. 5 stars
10/05/10 PAUL SHORTT INTRIGUING, COMPELLING AND WELL ACTED 4 stars
7/10/07 not Trent Sam Rockwell's character's name is Trent, and the girl is Devon. 4 stars
4/22/07 tynecastle21 Refreshing t see an American not reliant on big names, big budget and special effects. Exce 5 stars
11/26/06 Lawn Duk Dong Hang yourself with the laces of Micha's Keds before watching this pile of doggie poo. 1 stars
7/13/06 Gord - the Mad Doctor Without a doubt, the best movie in my collection. 5 stars
7/05/05 anon I wanna say that Misha Barton sux in all her movies>:( and shes a ugly lil slut 1 stars
6/03/05 John Jacob Jingle Heimer Schmidt No no "Disappointed" YOU think you're smarter than you really are. Brilliant film. 5 stars
5/21/05 disappointed thinks it is far smarter than it really is. 1 stars
3/07/05 Song The young girl's name is Devon, not Trent. Get it right. No credibility as a reviewer. 2 stars
10/06/04 Meaghan Mischa Barton plays a fantastic role and i really enjoyed watching this movie! 5 stars
6/01/03 michelle LOVED IT! 5 stars
1/22/03 Pinkline Jones Excellent film - imaginative and thoughtful 5 stars
5/18/02 Lisa I'm sorry, but isn't her name Devon? Not Trent.. 5 stars
12/23/01 Ray Foltz Great movie!Mischa Barton is great and sexy! 5 stars
12/14/01 Andrew Mchugh Visually superb with twisted humour and fear 5 stars
10/21/01 muddy Great job from Sam Rockwell and Mischa Barton. (note: The diving scene was cool!) 5 stars
10/21/01 kylie it rocked 5 stars
9/26/01 Xerox Sam Rockwell did a much better job in "Jerry and Tom".A better film I might add. 4 stars
9/06/01 Jeff It was pretty interesting, and it was filmed in my neighborhood--so it was fun to watch 4 stars
9/01/01 Devereux delicious discovery!! thanks 5 stars
2/03/01 Piotr I love it! Devon is adorable 5 stars
10/20/99 Lauren loved it.....filmed in my home city a couple blocks away from me....very realistic... 5 stars
8/14/99 Angela Maruca I love this movie!! I think SAM ROCKWELL IS AMAZING!! 5 stars
6/22/99 Nicole Toro Great flick, why haven't I heard of Sam Rockwell before? He was incredible. Big future. 5 stars
4/09/99 Jeff Very good flick--even if it was filmed in Kentucky. Mystical realism and no subtitles! 4 stars
11/25/98 Mr.Pink Magical movie that you won't forget. Highly Recommended! 5 stars
11/14/98 Barrie I wept and wept. Not from the sadness of the ending, but for the overall mysticism. Brill. 5 stars
9/26/98 MR HOLLYWOOD!! 1 word.......TOUCHING..........Wheres OSCAR ??? 4 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Like a nursery rhyme that you keep thinking is going to turn into kiddie porn. Great. 5 stars
8/15/98 {{{OZ}}} Almost Tim Burton-esque at times, a great dark comedy of a film. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-May-1998 (R)
  DVD: 08-Dec-1998

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast