Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.53

Awesome77.94%
Worth A Look: 7.35%
Just Average: 6.62%
Pretty Crappy: 5.88%
Sucks: 2.21%

2 reviews, 124 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Why Did I Get Married?
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by brianorndorf

"Tyler Perry finally makes a film that doesn't require a shower afterwards"
3 stars

“Why Did I Get Married?” is Tyler Perry’s best screen effort to date, which is to say it’s comfortably mediocre instead of criminally intolerable.

Four couples, Terry (Tyler Perry) and Diane (Sherry Leal), Patricia (Janet Jackson) and Gavin (Malik Yoba), Marcus (Michael Jai White) and Angela (Tasha Smith), and Mike (Richard T. Jones) and Shelia (Jill Scott), gather together every year for a vacation to clear their heads. Now in the snowy Colorado Mountains, the couples find this year to be their most explosive, with everyone’s dirty laundry aired out over the course of the hellish week, ending friendships and marriages. With their lives now scattered, the couples do their best to revive their love, only to find they might be better off apart.

Last February’s “Daddy’s Little Girls” brought mogul/filmmaker Tyler Perry to his lowest point. Not only was the feature a cancerous, socially irresponsible catastrophe, it was greeted with his lowest box office grosses yet. Perhaps the diminished reception of “Girls” played a subconscious role in the creation of “Married,” because this new film shows incredible growth on Perry’s part as a storyteller and director.

Perry loves to play with stereotypes and melodrama. They are his preferred tools to fashion his string of plays, cinematic efforts, and recent television forays (the excretal “House of Payne”). “Married” is another slice of obvious to fit snugly in Perry’s oeuvre, playing broadly to his core audience with an expected buffet of obnoxious characters and “Guiding Light” plotting. However, there’s a spark to “Married” that’s never revealed itself in the filmmaker’s work before. Dare I call it maturation?

For the first time, Perry is writing intimate drama, and when the attention stays put between the characters as they engage in marital combat, the results are engaging. Perry is actually allowing his writing some authentic humanity for once, especially in the Shelia character – an overweight, humiliated woman fighting to retain her self-respect in the gale force wind of her husband’s obscene wickedness. Perhaps this is Perry working with strong actors for a change or the tighter focus given to the story, but I was stunned to witness the filmmaker treat select moments with sincerity and respect, instead of his traditional route, which is to take a water spray bottle and scold empathy from entering the room.

Now, all is not well with “Married.” While I’m thrilled to see Perry slowly inch away from overbearing religious overtones (God only gets a few shoutouts here), using said overtones to justify spousal ultraviolence, and a general spread of easy answers, he does allow his attempts at comedy to stop the film cold. Dishing out borderline offensive depictions of homosexuals (dressed in lavender, lispy, and carrying a miniature dog) and Caucasians (depicted as fearful of African-Americans and all white-privilege complainy), Perry throws a wet blanket on his work by permitting such inanity. Characters such as Mike (a one-note jerk) and Marcus (a one-note moron) also demonstrate that Perry can’t trust his heart and write thoroughly demanding portraits of spousal misdeeds. All too often, he’ll cut right to cartoon for the easy way out.

“Why Did I Get Married?” has so much to say about interpersonal communication, trust, and fidelity, and certainly Tyler Perry is sneaking closer to making a film about adults with a sophistication his previous product was violently lacking. It’s still thwarted by Perry’s comfort zones, but it is an improvement.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=16766&reviewer=404
originally posted: 10/12/07 16:49:59
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/11/11 tyler perry you people have terrible taste 1 stars
10/12/08 TLynn Excellent excellent movie! And Angela, was the truth! 5 stars
1/13/08 Asanda Khakhana Emotionally and spiritually inspiring 5 stars
12/16/07 LATOUSHA HARRIS THIS MOVIE SAYS APART OF HOW MY LIFE IS TODAY MORE LIKE PATRICIA& GAVIN 5 stars
11/19/07 teddavid It's refreshing to see an excellent movie starring an all black cast. Good Job TP. 5 stars
11/13/07 Sonia Took my appreciation/love for my husband to another level. Thank u TP 5 stars
11/11/07 Shelly Thumbs up for more positive black film! Thanks Tyler. 5 stars
11/09/07 angie very great movie 5 stars
11/08/07 Sarah Thrilled to not seereligious overtones? Your opinions of TP films lost all credibility. 5 stars
11/07/07 Tunisha This was an execellent movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/06/07 D.C. GREAT MOVIE. ANYONE WHO SAYS IT WASN'T MUST HAVE BEEN WATCHING FROM THE CORN FIELD. 5 stars
11/06/07 Dana A beautiful interesting inspiring film which has taste and appeal 5 stars
11/05/07 blackangel24k I LOVED THIS MOVIE I THINK WENT TO SEE IT 3X I AM A TP FAN BUT THIS IS HIS BEST WORK YET 5 stars
11/05/07 DB It's a shameful how white people hate on Black progress...good job TP 4 stars
11/04/07 Beth To answer one commenters question, I'm white...and I enjoyed the movie. 4 stars
11/04/07 dee Great movie! 5 stars
11/03/07 Deb Loved it! 5 stars
11/02/07 KP Excellent work. It's obvious by the attendance. 5 stars
11/01/07 Rachael Great movie! An emotional rollercoaster full of surprises and happy endings! 5 stars
10/31/07 ahslew All Tyler's productions are well thought, remember audiance its the "message". 5 stars
10/30/07 a person Okay, honestly, did any NON-AFRICAN AMERICANS enjoy this movie? What gives? 2 stars
10/30/07 victoria jackson very moving i love tyler any way 5 stars
10/29/07 crawbabe A movie written by us..for us... thanks Perry 5 stars
10/29/07 star We see the african-american community is so film starved that they will give this 5 stars. 3 stars
10/29/07 TBROWN Wonderful performances. Touching. I laughed and cried. Good writing. 5 stars
10/28/07 sharon I think the movie was great I loved it everybody kept it real just like what people go thro 5 stars
10/28/07 Cynthia Tillery Excellent film. I totally love it! 5 stars
10/28/07 MBledsoe This movie is a slice of life. Count on TP to keep it real. Great movie!!! 5 stars
10/25/07 Joyce Bell An excellent film with an inside reallity of what life couples go through. 5 stars
10/25/07 orpy corny & weird, yet strangely enjoyable at times 3 stars
10/24/07 jazz Everyone who voted 5 is a relative of Tyler Perry 'cause this is ASS. 1 stars
10/23/07 La Tanya Jones This movie was vey touching, I would recomend it to anyone, esp. married couples!! 5 stars
10/23/07 fredricka excellent movie Tyler is growing up in film making 5 stars
10/23/07 Jasmine ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT, ESPECIALLY MARCUS' WIFE!!! .MY NEW FAVORITE MOVIE.CANT WAIT 4 DVD! 5 stars
10/23/07 Antoinette Lewis Great as is ALL of your work GOD is the center which is why you will have cont. success. 5 stars
10/23/07 Jasmynn Best movie I've seen this year. EXCELLENT. Crazy critic! 5 stars
10/22/07 meudonna me and my husband love this move..he really enjoyed it 5 stars
10/22/07 T Me and my husband just loved this movie. Best one yet! Jill Scott was amazing! 5 stars
10/22/07 Erika Booker I loved this movie. It was his best one yet. 5 stars
10/22/07 sherrym Great Movie,I laugh &cried well see again, THANKS GREAT JOB, 5 stars
10/21/07 Ramona Tyler you are a true gift from God the moive is great ! No weapon form against you will pro 5 stars
10/21/07 lisa Loved It! This Reviewer is obviously unfamiliar with Mr Perry's millieu! 5 stars
10/21/07 Lisa Great movie. I laughed, cried, and cheered. 5 stars
10/21/07 Brad Went with my wife and we both enjoyed it. Ending seemed rushed but still a good movie. 4 stars
10/20/07 Janene I Love it!! I can't wait for it on DVD! 5 stars
10/20/07 George Jill Scott is this year's Jennifer Hudson, this girl can act! Janet was a close second. 5 stars
10/20/07 Tiffany Agree with my namesake Tiffani 5 stars
10/20/07 William Goss Easily Tyler Perry's most tolerable film to date, stereotypes and cliches aside. 2 stars
10/19/07 Charice Excellent. Real Drama and Comedy. Excellent actors and actresses. Shows class for blacks 4 stars
10/19/07 Sean Tyler you really did it I enjoyed it I laughed and cried will go see again. 5 stars
10/19/07 Sheila The movie was absolutely awesome!! It was all what I expected plus much more. Tyler you are 5 stars
10/19/07 Linda A moving blend of comedy and drama. More sophisticated than I expected, congratulations TP 5 stars
10/19/07 Samuel Sears "EXECELLENT" movie, your best work yet 5 stars
10/19/07 Trina Sampson LOVED THE MOVIE!!!! I HAVE ALREADY SEEN THIS MOVIE TWICE AND PLAN TO SEE IT AGAIN. 5 stars
10/19/07 Tashua Awesome Movie! Will see it again before I watch other crap out there! 5 stars
10/19/07 Tre Going to see it again so I can see the parts I missed from laughing.Can't wait for the DVD! 5 stars
10/19/07 Tammy R Nice! Well done, I love it.....keep it up Tyler. 5 stars
10/18/07 Watsi Can't wait till the weekend...interesting how only the critics diss TP movies. Loved it! 5 stars
10/18/07 Kia Awesome movie, can't wait to see it again! Tyler Perry keeps getting better and better. 5 stars
10/18/07 Vicki Excellent! I've seen it twice and going again this weekend. Waiting on the DVD! 5 stars
10/18/07 KC A BLACK MOVIE THAT SHOWS CLASS & INSPIRATION. GREAT JOB.!! 5 stars
10/18/07 Jay Flo Excellent Movie, Great Entertainment. Money well spend 4 stars
10/18/07 Deborah Payne The whole family Loved It! Thanks for showing how giving Love is. 5 stars
10/18/07 sheila Great movie. Love the 80/20 rule. Appreciate what you have!!! 5 stars
10/17/07 kel THE AUDIENCE LAUGHED SO HARD I'LL HAVE TO SEE IT AGAIN. A SMALLER VERSION OF THE BIG CHILL 5 stars
10/17/07 Joyia Best Tyler Perry Movie To Date 5 stars
10/17/07 Renee Entertaining, funny, real..Janet nailed it for any parent who has lost a child.. 5 stars
10/17/07 Michael SUPER - EXCELLENT movie. I laughed so hard, I cried. Top Cast, Great for Relastionships!!!! 5 stars
10/17/07 KaylaS Heart Felt--Critics only have no idea..thank god no one listened to them. 5 stars
10/16/07 Ebony Tyler Perry I Love Your Movies. God will always bless his people 5 stars
10/16/07 Pastafarian I thought you were gonna delete planted reviews.Well theres a bunch above. 1 stars
10/16/07 MARIAELENA YOU MAKE A GREAT FILM WITH LOVE AND TRUTH I HAVE BEEN MARRIED 20 YEAR GOD IS IMPORTANT 5 stars
10/16/07 Barbara Wonderfu! Wonderful movie with a message. Can't wait for DVD. 5 stars
10/16/07 Janet D I saw the film twice this pass weekend and enjoyed it so much. I can't wait for the DVD. 5 stars
10/16/07 Tina This movie tops all of Tyler Perry's films. 5 stars
10/16/07 B Ross Powerful and wonderful movie 5 stars
10/16/07 LVK Excellent film, it's a "cultural thing" so lets no worry because the critics did not get it 5 stars
10/16/07 An great film, good topic worth the trip 5 stars
10/16/07 Jordan BEST TP FILM YET. WILL SEE IT AGAIN. CRITIC IS AN IDIOT 5 stars
10/16/07 MANDY TRUTHFUL, FUNNY, PASSIONATE, LOVED IT! 5 stars
10/16/07 israel it is needed to refresh the question of why did i get married? liberating to see 5 stars
10/16/07 Kisha Don't hate, appreciate! Tyler, keep letting God use you and continue making awesome films. 5 stars
10/16/07 SamuelP Great Movie, especially for couples 5 stars
10/15/07 A.W. It was great. Very moving and touching!! 5 stars
10/15/07 Kim Smith Awesome Movie 5 stars
10/15/07 BrianB Brianorndorf's an idiot, great movie! 5 stars
10/15/07 Deanneen I can't wait to see it again to hear the parts I missed because of all the laughing. 5 stars
10/15/07 gus Mature, well acted drama. Best tyler Perry to dater 4 stars
10/15/07 Donna Loved it, will see again 5 stars
10/15/07 Shanie Wonderful job! Love the case... Tyler is going to be a legend, Watch! 5 stars
10/15/07 Karen FANTASTIC I am going o see t again his week! 5 stars
10/15/07 Adrienne The best Tyler Perry film ever! This film showed marriage in all aspects. Loved it!! 5 stars
10/15/07 ryan My wife coerced me into seeing this on my wedding anniversary. Bad Move. How depressing. 3 stars
10/15/07 Greg Simon wonderful movie Great cast a must see again movie 5 stars
10/15/07 Tiffany Best Tyler movie yet...saw it twice 5 stars
10/15/07 DJ Excellent Move!! 5 stars
10/15/07 Debbie Highly recommend. We are caucasians and christians n want more movies like these. 5 stars
10/15/07 TIA GREAT MOVIE. FOR BOTH MARRIAGE AND FRIENDSHIP .HOW MUCH CAN BOTH HANDLE 4 stars
10/15/07 Gloria Hickman Outstanding, His best yet!!! 5 stars
10/15/07 Tiffani Great movie, great cast. Black professionals, intelligent, beautiful and dramatic! 5 stars
10/15/07 Nailah Tyler Perry's best film yet. Very relatable characters. 5 stars
10/15/07 k. earle Every nuance was exact including those made about crazy prejudice whites. 5 stars
10/14/07 HBCUkidz A great movie with a wonderful cast of professional actors and actresses who deserve love! 5 stars
10/14/07 Naiomi Pitre BEST MOVIE OF THE YEAR! AWESOME! 5 stars
10/14/07 Ra Excellent Movie! 5 stars
10/14/07 BCS This was a Great movie, A MUST SEE . 5 stars
10/14/07 Fayee GREAT MOVIE!! Gotta go see it everyone! 5 stars
10/14/07 Aj This is hands down his best movie. If you don't get - it's because you don't want to. 5 stars
10/14/07 Brenda Whittley Tyler keep letting God use you, let the haters hate. 5 stars
10/14/07 Kay Tyler Perry writes feel good movies for real people, not for Oscars. 4 stars
10/14/07 THE BEST MOVIE EVER!!!! Most everyone A Movie that most everyone can relate to! The BEST movie EVER! 5 stars
10/14/07 Vita why so judgemental. u wish u could do what he does and have the money he has. HATER 5 stars
10/14/07 Lady T I am going to see it again. 5 stars
10/14/07 Steven A. Gilley Great Movie! Made me think about issues I will be concerned with when I get married 5 stars
10/14/07 ProdigyChild I think what critics miss is growing up around real Black people, which Perry captures well 4 stars
10/13/07 TBROWN Critics don't get Tyler. BUT WE DO!! This is a delightful, wonderful, thought -provoking. 5 stars
10/13/07 twinkle a VAST improvement over his other films 4 stars
10/13/07 james Wonderful film. Most critics miss the point of Perry's films. 5 stars
10/13/07 Will Great adaptation of the play..Tyler stays true 5 stars
10/12/07 Monica This is one of Tyler Perry's best films. 5 stars
10/12/07 Tiffani Its obvious that the critics don't "get" us....but TP sure does. Must see for couples! 5 stars
10/12/07 Rhonda Inspiring movie. All married couples could relate. 5 stars
10/12/07 SamuelP Outstanding Film for Revitalizing Your Marriage 5 stars
10/12/07 Crystal A wonderful and positive representation of intelligent young black married couples. A gem! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Oct-2007 (PG-13)
  DVD: 12-Feb-2008

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Tyler Perry

Written by
  Tyler Perry

Cast
  Tyler Perry
  Janet Jackson
  Jill Scott
  Lamman Rucker
  Sharon Leal
  Richard T. Jones



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast