Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.9

Awesome: 23.13%
Worth A Look47.76%
Just Average: 26.12%
Pretty Crappy: 1.49%
Sucks: 1.49%

13 reviews, 56 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Boiler Room
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Stock brokers are somehow made to seem interesting."
4 stars

"Boiler Room" is an intense, graphic, testosterone-laden, man's-man-type movie about ... stock brokers.

That's right, the weenies of the '80s (who are the idols of the people in this film) are the subject of this worthy first effort from new director Ben Younger.

Seth Davis (Giovanni Ribisi) is a New York college drop-out, but he's ambitious: He's established an illegal 24-hour casino in his apartment. His father (Ron Rifkin), a federal judge, is not too happy with his son's choice of careers, and he withholds not only his blessing but even, it would seem, his paternal love until Seth can do something respectable.

Working for J.T. Marlin, an investment firm, would seem to be just what the judge ordered, but J.T. Marlin is no ordinary firm. Seth's job, along with dozens of other wannabe millionaires, is to call people who own any stock in anything and try to sell them on some new IPO for a product that may or may not actually exist. They collect the commission and everyone's moved on to the next product by the time this one comes crashing down.

Seth, like everyone else, wants to get rich without earning it. He quotes rapper Notorious B.I.G. (whom I will just paraphrase) as saying that everyone wants to either sell crack or shoot hoops to make a fast buck. No one wants to work for it.

The rap soundtrack, the vulgar language from the all-male staff, the fact that J.T. Marlin's official policy is to not sell stock to women (they worry too much, it is reasoned) -- all of this underscores the film's undeniably MALE point of view. (Do women even WANT to get rich quick? Seems like it's always men who want that.)

While Younger's inexperience shows in most of the melodramatic, maudlin scenes between father and son (Younger also scripted), he also proves he can construct real tension, too. A sequence involving Seth and a man whose life savings he may have blown on worthless stock is gut-wrenching and harrowing.

Ribisi carries the film on his young shoulders, carefully showing the changes his character goes through from beginning to end. The supporting cast is mixed, from the great Vin Diesel as a sympathetic supervisor to a weak-but-loud Ben Affleck who barely registers as the drill sergeant-style trainer.

Overall, "Boiler Room" is a curiously provocative look at the male psyche, ultimately turning inward to examine issues of ethics and morality -- all while still being as crass and vulgar as possible. Just like a guy.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1715&reviewer=247
originally posted: 06/30/03 03:35:32
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/05/10 PAUL SHORTT ENTERTAINING AND DYNAMIC 3 stars
6/10/06 William Goss 118 ways to sell bullshit and be a yuppie asshole. Meh. 3 stars
4/30/06 R.W.Welch Maybe a tad overdone but at least it's off the beaten path. 4 stars
12/13/05 Indrid Cold Cheesy but good ripoff of "Glengarry" and "Wall Street", both of which it quotes openly. 4 stars
4/17/05 Vince Ribisi totally rocked in this. All in all a solid effort, worth seeing. 4 stars
3/19/05 Tay Great film 4 stars
7/30/04 M If it wasnt for Vin this movie would go down hill.... fast! 4 stars
6/22/04 eivind it's good 4 stars
6/20/04 Rock Hound convinced me to open my own casino 3 stars
5/20/04 Sales God A fresh spin on an old idea. yeah its derivitive but well acted and executed (except Affle 4 stars
4/22/04 sealy Film was great, very fast, great stuff. Could have had more of a ending. 5 stars
2/22/04 s smith Premise is skewed, but characterizations are strong, sad thinly veiled lives. 4 stars
12/25/03 breadman DON"T pitch the bitch. I don't care if Nancy Sinatra calls. 5 stars
12/24/03 Tiffani Boiler Room is cool. It's Just so cool....The testosterone flows beautifully 5 stars
10/14/03 PJ Ribisi is the shit quit bangin on this film, great work by Ben Younger 5 stars
6/15/03 Boiler room guy I wish there were more movies like this. So real and yet not overdone 5 stars
6/09/03 R.W. Welch Stock scam pic has an authentic feel to it and is adeptly acted. Sort of educational too. 4 stars
3/02/03 Jack Sommersby Pretty involving until it piles on the contrivances. Vin Diesel is a standout. 2 stars
11/25/02 Stephen X - EXCELLENT - X 5 stars
10/26/02 MarktheShark6 The way they inserted Wall Street into the film revealed its roots, but it was good anyway. 4 stars
9/03/02 movie guy A GREAT FILM 5 stars
7/26/02 Matt Crav Fuck Vin. Well, hes awesome, but Ribisi is great. Inspirational flick. This movie is great. 5 stars
7/10/02 Interrog8 Great film! Provides a genuine look at the late-90's stock market greed 5 stars
2/18/02 alicia morris any movie with vin in it is worth watching! 4 stars
1/29/02 jessica fowler it's my favorite movie...great acting by everyone! 5 stars
1/18/02 Chrisaidis Georgia It was really cool, not to say for Vin Diesel he is really sexy. 4 stars
11/26/01 Kathleen Greene The only thing that makes this movie viewable is VIN DIESEL. 4 stars
11/25/01 Senor Pescolido Ya know, i really wanted to like it, but it was far too clean and cliche. 3 stars
9/01/01 Butterbean Vin and Ben were hot. The part where they were watching "Wall Street" was stupid. 3 stars
7/30/01 Robert Vin is the man 5 stars
7/15/01 NasTKasT My Favorite Flic of ALL Time. Very pimp movie! 5 stars
6/29/01 tinkerbell142@aol.com such a good movie, def worth watching :) 4 stars
6/16/01 Dominique Dixon Parts with Vin Deisel in it were the only ones worth looking at. Racist jokes sucked!!! 4 stars
3/22/01 Yanick Forget Very good movie, great acting. 5 stars
3/15/01 Gideon If you dont see it you are missing out on a tight ass movie! 5 stars
2/27/01 Soggy Bottom Boy All the ingredients are there: good concept, great actors; they could have done more w/it. 3 stars
2/19/01 joh rich, young white guys use the word fuck a lot. Deisel is a damn cool actor 4 stars
10/30/00 Matt Redmond You do not deserve to review movies. 5 stars
10/04/00 Jed An alright movie funny though a bit laughable. 4 stars
10/01/00 Robin Hot men in suits! Ben Affleck is a major ++++ 5 stars
9/25/00 Sully Ben Affleck is the worst actor of our generation. movie starts fine, ends terrible. 3 stars
9/02/00 jetcat repulsive display of greed and too-skinny men; compelling nonetheless 4 stars
8/01/00 Jed I may need a 2nd viewing but overall it was alright. 3 stars
7/28/00 Davis Intelligent, doesn't pull any punches. Ribisi is a perfect hero. Best Movie of the Year 5 stars
7/17/00 Monday Morning Great drama with comic balance, outstanding characters & dialogue. Ribisi bugged me, tho'. 4 stars
3/24/00 malcolm Nia Long was worth price of admission. Diesel and Affleck kicked ass. 4 stars
3/13/00 Chartsy Giovanni, you've come a long way since My Two Dads, baby! 5 stars
3/12/00 Jim NOT relevant to today's stock market: Internet, online, Wall St. Ben shot cameos in 1 day. 1 stars
3/03/00 jill Ben Affleck can suck my ass. 1 stars
2/27/00 Malbert Pretty cool, I liked it a lot 4 stars
2/24/00 Ben Ryan Worth watching just so you can see the stupidity. 2 stars
2/24/00 Allan Vogt Filthiest soundtrack ever. The secretary was worth the $9.50. Good audience interaction. 3 stars
2/22/00 Charles "Fight Club" in reverse. Loved the secretary! 3 stars
2/21/00 Alexis good acting and a plot that moved along at a brisk pace 5 stars
2/20/00 Jason Kallelis Damn good! Good acting and the plot can suck you in. 4 stars
2/20/00 frank some quality acting, but an average story line 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Feb-2000 (R)
  DVD: 04-Mar-2014

UK
  05-May-2000 (15)

Australia
  12-Oct-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast