Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.7

Awesome47.4%
Worth A Look: 18.65%
Just Average: 10.09%
Pretty Crappy: 4.28%
Sucks: 19.57%

18 reviews, 219 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Magnolia
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Andrew Howe

"A lament for lost souls"
4 stars

In 1993 director Robert Altman released Short Cuts, a film based on the short stories of Raymond Carver. Featuring an ensemble cast of respected second-tier actors, it wove a number of disparate plot threads into a satisfying whole, chronicling the day-to-day lives of a variety of relatively “normal” suburbanites. Its primary theme was the breakdown in communication between the denizens of modern-day society, and the viewer was left to draw the inescapable conclusion that, regardless of our efforts to foster meaningful relationships, we are destined to travel through this world in a state of emotional isolation.

Six years have passed since then, but if Paul Thomas Anderson‘s Magnolia is to be believed the passage of time has done little to improve the situation. Short Cuts danced on the edge of abyss, but Magnolia plunges us deep into the fires of Hell, and any hope of salvation is left stranded on the far side of the Styx. It is a dark, uncompromising film which is anything but cathartic, and it speaks of things which some may feel are best left unsaid, but few will be able to deny that it is a powerful, unsettling vision, and that alone makes it worthy of our attention.

Magnolia features nine major characters, nine lives in varying states of disrepair. There’s T.J. Mackey (Tom Cruise), a motivational guru who makes a living transforming downtrodden losers into barroom Casanovas; an old man (Jason Robards) searching for death-bed repentance after a lifetime of self-absorption, aided and abetted by his over-emotional male nurse (the ubiquitous Philip Seymour Hoffman) and Prozac-chugging wife (Julianne Moore); a child prodigy (Jeremy Blackman) who provides a cheesy quiz show with its resident performing seal, and his seriously screwed-up middle-aged predecessor (William H. Macy, who makes Hoffman look like a recluse); the host of the aforementioned quiz show (Philip Baker Hall) and his drug-addled daughter (Melora Walters); and a cop named Jim who takes his job way too seriously (John C. Reilly).

Given the number of characters competing for screen time, it would have been impossible for Anderson to shoehorn a conventional three-act storyline into the three hours available. The film is therefore devoted to laying the souls of its protagonists bare over a single 24 hour period, and while each has their own story to tell the plot threads are interrelated to varying degrees. It’s a relatively low-key affair compared to Anderson’s previous effort, Boogie Nights, focussing on interpersonal conflict and meaningful conversations at the expense of sex, violence and suspense. Anyone looking for a fast-paced narrative may find it decidedly soporific, and the absence of a neat conclusion will alienate those who abhor loose ends.

On the other hand, if you can tune into its wavelength it is an involving and deeply affecting journey, for as a character study it succeeds admirably. Each of the characters is heir to several major-league unresolved problems, but the film takes care not to alienate the viewer from their plight. The issues are universal – fear of dying, fear of living, the lure of chemical relief and the sorrowful memory of opportunities squandered – and as a result there are few who will not identify with the suffering of these lost and weary souls.

If you believe the opening narrative, the theme of this film is that sometimes impossible things do happen, a concept which actually doesn’t seem to be explored in any particular depth (apart, that is, from a visually arresting climax which seeks to ram the point home with a jackhammer but which, strangely enough, has little effect on the majority of the characters). Certainly there’s minor coincidences here and there, the kind of unlikely occurrences which can make you wonder whether there’s a higher force at work, but I would suggest that the film has no central theme, but rather encompasses a witches brew of modern-day traumas: our struggle to communicate with our fellow man, the brittle core of family ties, the pain engendered by unrequited love (or lust), the weight of regret and the way in which the promise of a better tomorrow can seem like hollow words indeed.

Given that the script dwells on the negative aspects of the human psyche it’s no surprise that most of the characters come across as mean-spirited and self-absorbed, but in reality that’s merely because we are not privy to their redeeming qualities. Moore’s character, for example, walks the knife-edge of anti-depressants and suicidal tendencies, screaming abuse at people who deserve better as she sinks into an increasingly irrational state of mind. As a result she is not a particularly likeable person, but there are characters in other films who have suffered from similar problems without losing the viewer’s sympathy. The difference is that Magnolia refuses to reveal anything that might cause us to appreciate her finer qualities – it’s almost as if the characters are presented in the way they see themselves. Even the characters who are evidently supposed to be likeable, such as Jim the cop, possess a number of less-than-admirable attributes (he’s a prude, for one, and you get the impression that he may be on a minor-league power trip).

However, we should not confuse this with a failure to supply the characters with believable motivations, for this is something Magnolia has in spades. By the last third of the film you know exactly why each of them behaves the way they do, and it is this understanding which allows the viewer to empathise with their individual predicaments. It would be going too far to say you ever really get behind most of them, and as a result the film feels a little cold and dispassionate, but it does mean that we are left to make our own decisions about the relative merits of the characters, and that can be more than a little refreshing.

Given the track record of the majority of the major players, it shouldn’t come as any surprise that the acting is of a uniformly high standard. Cruise is the obvious stand-out, revelling in a role which takes the “unscrupulous money-grubber with a heart of gold” he honed in Rain Man and boots the heart of gold over the sideline. He’s certainly given the best lines in the film (all of which are designed to give Grandma a coronary), but he backs them up with one of his most charismatic performances in recent memory. However, what really sets this film apart is the way in which the lesser-known actors hold their own with the big guns (Reilly and Flynn warrant special mention), leaving us with an ensemble which rarely puts a foot wrong.

Cruise aside, the fact that the film features no major stars actually works in its favour, since A-list actors are rarely adept at portraying normal people (the recognition factor is too high, and the fact that many of them look like models doesn’t help). Actors like Macy and Hoffman, on the other hand, eat roles like these for breakfast, and this allows the characters to live and breath, unfettered by the knowledge that we are watching nothing more than a good-looking, filthy-rich megastar pretending to be an average Joe. Considering the salaries of the entire cast probably amounted to less than an A-list actor pockets for a cameo, this film proves once again that the chequebooks are opened for the wrong people far too often.

As befits the subject matter, much of this film is literally dark, since the majority of the scenes are shot either indoors, at night or during a rainstorm. This contributes to the film’s depressing aura, making you wonder whether Anderson has been taking notes from David Fincher in his spare time. On the other hand, the film’s claustrophobic atmosphere (aided by Anderson’s penchant for close-up’s) infuses it with the feel of an intimate barroom conversation in the early hours of the morning – close, personal and fuelled by a combination of fatigue and drug-induced euphoria.

Not everything works, however - Anderson has an annoying tendency to drown out the dialogue with music, inviting viewers to risk damage to their ear-drums as they attempt to work out what’s being said, and he plays out half of Robards’ final monologue over a number of interesting visual events, making it impossible to concentrate on both at the same time. In an unusual move, the film also features a number of moments which can make you wonder whether you are supposed to be taking it seriously, such as a camera which wanders off on its own during an interlude backstage at the quiz show, or a bizarre radio sing-along featuring every major character in the piece (though that latter device was probably yet another of those unsubtle nods to the “impossible things do happen” theme). Personally I found these episodes distracting, since they highlight the fact that what we are watching is, after all, only a work of fiction, and thereby breaks the spell which only true immersion in a film can bring. There is, however, a hugely enjoyable opening sequence featuring a grab-bag of popular urban myths and sundry coincidences, though the similarly audacious climax appears to have alienated as many viewers as it impressed (I found it to be a refreshingly energising conclusion to an otherwise slow-paced narrative, though it was a trifle out of place with the generally serious tone of the film).

The film is long (the short and sweet ninety minute feature seems to have fallen out of favour in recent times), and parts of it drag a little (usually those involving Jason Robards’ character, who seems intent on boring the audience to death via a number of interminable scenes), but in general it services its extended running time with distinction. It’s also worth mentioning that the film features a great soundtrack courtesy of Aimee Mann (lead singer of ‘Til Tuesday in another life) which provides an appropriate companion to the proceedings.

Given its fine cast, involving storyline and three-dimensional characters, Magnolia is a film which deserves our respect. There are certainly flaws – subtlety is not one of the film’s many virtues, and the dearth of likeable characters can occasionally distance the viewer from the proceedings.

However, when the closing credits roll there are few of us who will walk away unaffected, since it speaks to us from places we know all too well – the dark side of the morning, and the solitary depths of the human heart.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1727&reviewer=193
originally posted: 04/16/00 02:27:28
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/22/16 Bents Very good acting performances - and very well made 5 stars
1/18/15 Alan Where's the story? Could have, should have been great, but falls short. 3 stars
9/20/13 Shawn Stylish aspects, but in the end I don't think there's really anything there. 3 stars
6/05/13 Langano Great flick 5 stars
7/24/12 Quigley Some kind of masterpiece, for sure. 5 stars
7/13/12 Mike Shallow and pedantic. Indubitably. Seriously though, this movie blows. 1 stars
5/26/11 chris c Like reading a long book, for those who can stay awake. 5 stars
3/11/10 FRANK TJ MACKEY Oh,your gonna give me that cherrypiesweetmamababy!-Cruise's best role ever 5 stars
12/18/09 DocJ OK, let's have everybody sing the song. Oh, yeah, the guy on respirator too. Crap hell. 1 stars
12/04/09 Selenium Waste of three hours, was a terrible movie. Had potential.. 1 stars
9/05/09 HsvsRsvsesv none 1 stars
6/02/09 PT I'm sorry. It really was a piece of crap. 1 stars
1/28/09 blah blah amazing briliant acting and an emotional rollercoaster 5 stars
12/05/08 K. Sear A rare gem. 5 stars
11/02/08 PAUL SHORTT MISTAKES REDUNDANCY FOR DEPTH 1 stars
8/13/08 Claudia This movie reminds me of 'The Emperor's New Clothes', deep down everyone knows it's shit. 1 stars
2/03/08 Chris Really well acted, good movie, I thought Cruise deserved the Oscar for this movie 4 stars
2/03/08 Derek Seriously, this pretentious piece of pure rubbish is the greatest waste of time of all time 1 stars
1/23/08 Scott I just watched it again (this time fully awake) I take it back this movie fucking blows 1 stars
11/27/07 Scott It's a good sign that most of the movies detractors post vulgar nonsese. Great movie 5 stars
11/05/07 Michael "My mind is the thing i miss the most" -Cruise reflecting. 5 stars
10/11/07 Sarah Clark One of the best movies I have ever soon. Real, authentic, heart breaking, affirming. Great. 5 stars
9/26/07 Stalemate wow, never watch this, i mean i lost 3hrs of my life...i have patience but this movie was S 1 stars
8/07/07 Lynn Was good until the WTF? moment with the frogs!!!! 2 stars
6/09/07 matt the most pretentious and useless film EVER 1 stars
6/01/07 Mark D Tom Cruise overacting...again 1 stars
4/06/07 Anthony Great script score and acting. A tad long but worth the effort 5 stars
3/27/07 Double M Cruise was robbed of an oscar, the rest of the cast were almost as good... great movie 5 stars
3/25/07 Eric R Brilliant movie, made before Tom Cruise lost his mind... 5 stars
3/14/07 Sombke Love it or Hate it.... I loved it. Profound. 5 stars
2/27/07 Marcus Dennis Brilliant Direction, Story, and Acting 5 stars
1/31/07 Melissa Tokarczyk Frogs rule! 4 stars
1/26/07 Phil M. Aficionado 7 parts brilliance with 2 parts "huh?" and 1 part "nahh", plus great acting 4 stars
12/23/06 del If you look up "Pretentious" in the dicionary, there's a picture of this film's poster. 1 stars
10/02/06 Lisa Craven Cruise is a POWERHOUSE...never get tired of watching this flick, love Aimee MAnn 5 stars
8/27/06 David Corneillie Mesmorizing stuff. Great character and scene elaboration. 5 stars
6/25/06 MP Bartley Self-indulgent? Sure. But there are so may stretches of brilliance here you can forgive it. 5 stars
6/06/06 William Goss Remarkably potent and rather uncontrived, although slightly self-indulgent. 4 stars
1/28/06 Magnolia sucks Vomit-inducingly bad shit from a fucking idiot of a director, fuck. 1 stars
1/16/06 Jared Wilson My favorite movie. period. 5 stars
1/01/06 harry crap shit film.Cruise sucks 1 stars
10/31/05 -CUJO- Amazingly intelligent movie, if you are an idiot. 1 stars
10/21/05 Marcia Gebhardt A spell binding movie. Does anyone know the connection between Magnolia and the movie ? 4 stars
10/16/05 Luca That proves anybody who thinks Magnolia is a piece of shit is one stupid fucka. 5 stars
10/13/05 Fucka I really don't understand how anybody could think Magnolia is not a piece of shit. 1 stars
10/08/05 Mr. Durden Amazing, A true work of art. 5 stars
10/04/05 Leo An intelligent and powerfull film whose disparate parts become a cohesive structure 5 stars
8/23/05 Luca I really don't understand how anybody could think Magnolia is a bad movie. 5 stars
7/24/05 JFK WOW 5 stars
7/10/05 Pablo Esto film es mierda!!!! 1 stars
6/27/05 R a big cane should've pulled the actors off the screen at the end of the big music number. 1 stars
5/27/05 Jake Brilliantly superb, well acted, and breathtaking. At 3 hours long, it goes by quick. 5 stars
5/12/05 Indrid Cold Like Boogie, has nothing profound to say, but unlike Boogie, there's no colorful spectacle. 3 stars
5/02/05 Naka I pity the "Total crap" foilks, not intelligent enough to enjoy things like this... 5 stars
2/21/05 ELI Sad to say, if you think this movies bad, you're kinda...retarded :( 5 stars
12/25/04 Faceslapper Probably the worst movie ever made. An insulting, idotic piece of shit with morons screamin 1 stars
12/15/04 Andy Quirion makes you think, maybe I am having a good day 5 stars
12/11/04 Charlene Javier Didn't know Tom Cruise can act! 5 stars
12/05/04 Jimmy Kustes Listen to the soundtrack from Aimee Mann 5 stars
10/06/04 kentukey i hate it 1 stars
8/21/04 Peter James A great film 5 stars
6/25/04 DAVE SOLID 4 stars
6/13/04 MyGreenBed A great artistic leep (think Beatles, Help-to-Sgt.Peppers/Boogie-to-Magnolia). 5 stars
5/01/04 the bride Emotionally exhausting. But an incredible achievement too. 5 stars
4/26/04 Logan Well, I don't really know what to say about this one. 5 stars
3/24/04 George Jung Perfect. 5 stars
2/23/04 Naturezrevenge A brilliant piece which dissect the interlaced microcosmos of life. "Happiness"w less pedos 5 stars
2/12/04 Kai Excellent. A film which actually has substance and meaning is a rare find. 5 stars
10/23/03 laurabetty great but what's with the fucking frogs? 4 stars
9/08/03 Buck one of the most original and exhilarating movies ever 5 stars
8/04/03 Dirk Diggler An unbelievably perceptive and hypnotic film about real, actual human feelings. 5 stars
7/30/03 Kooler Mann' song says what the viewer feels: It's not going to stop, it's not going to stop! 4 stars
7/20/03 Monster W. Kung Amazing what they try to pass as 'intelligent' these days. T-R-A-S-H 1 stars
6/07/03 George Jung I have lots of love to give. 5 stars
5/31/03 Jon Lyrik Brilliant. 5 stars
5/12/03 MAnda Who do you think you are Anderson?! 1 stars
4/28/03 Lea Antonopoulos It was crazy, different but I liked it! 4 stars
4/12/03 Jack Sommersby Bloated, pretentious and trite. A failed venture into Altman country. 1 stars
4/03/03 Jack Bourbon Waaaaaaahhhh! Boo hoo hoo!!! Sniffle, sniffle. OK, now you've seen it. 1 stars
3/19/03 sunshine A bunch of horrible &or unrealistic guys and fucked up women. boring! 1 stars
3/18/03 WestcoastPunk Speachless 5 stars
3/16/03 Robbie Banfitch nothing to say 5 stars
3/02/03 johan Great! 5 stars
3/01/03 Monster W. Kung One of the most pretentious, most irritating, and worst written movies ever. 1 stars
2/11/03 The Man Well done, Tom Cruise is great but no sympathetic characters, and the frogs bothered me. 4 stars
2/01/03 Sarah ***** 5 stars
1/13/03 Vince the acting makes this one. 5 stars
1/12/03 Stevo Every single second of this snoozeathon is totally boring with no decent moments 1 stars
12/11/02 Gruther Quality, intelligent film making 4 stars
10/20/02 Paul pointless crap 1 stars
10/11/02 Uncle Salty What a boing, drawn out, pointless movie. Beat me over the head next time. 1 stars
9/16/02 The Truth Every single second of this masterpiece is absolute brilliance with no boring moments 5 stars
8/26/02 bonnie blue Length was PERFECT, and I avoided movies for years for fear of being trapped in seat. 5 stars
7/23/02 TheChronic Loved the sofa moving black lady, the ONLY movie I ever walked out on. NOT Tom Cruise! 2 stars
7/22/02 Bueller Enough talent for three really good films. The storylines gave me nothing to care about. 2 stars
7/18/02 STEVE BRILLIANT!OUTSTANDING!FUNNY( THE FROGS) AND WHAT A GREAT CAST!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/12/02 Edfink Lombardo Always engaging with interesting characters that pop from the screen. Brilliant. 5 stars
6/24/02 Robbie Banfitch The best yet from a brilliant director 5 stars
6/04/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi well, very good, sadiefuls, moving 4 stars
3/24/02 Tomper If you're into movies that make you uncomfortable this is it.Shows our dark side very well. 4 stars
3/20/02 lucy fur utter waste of your brains cells 1 stars
3/11/02 James Lindstrom see it 5 stars
3/01/02 Tiffany Thunderhurst Never a good sign when it needs to rain frogs to see who's still awake! 1 stars
2/25/02 Nick Anderson does it again, simply beautiful 5 stars
2/17/02 Clarance AMAZING..Great directing/music/acting and plot! What a piece of work! 5 stars
2/11/02 john james a boring piece of shit. i wished all the characters would've died of cancer! 1 stars
1/11/02 Robert This movie is genius, plain and simple. You who dislike it simply refuse to understand it. 5 stars
1/10/02 Geo7654 One of the biggest Piles of shit ever made. 1 stars
1/08/02 Spyguy2 Too long? Yes. Aggravating? Yes. Confusing? Yes Brilliant? Hell Yeah, Motherfucker!! 5 stars
12/30/01 Monday Morning Just slightly better than "Ishtar". 1 stars
12/14/01 Cracked head Lesson for moviemakers make a fucking soap opera, and disguise it as 'art'. Pure bullshit. 1 stars
12/01/01 BlueDog Great movie 5 stars
11/30/01 Phoenix A brilliant work of art. Terrific direction by Paul Thomas Anderson, and great acting too. 5 stars
11/28/01 Cookie Cutter The only "movie" I walked out, EVER. An insult to anybody's intelligence. 1 stars
11/03/01 Andrew Carden Too Many Sub-Plots Going Around, With No Point At All. 1 stars
10/25/01 Kat Don't think what Hollywood tells you to. 2nd worst movie ever. 1 stars
9/29/01 daniboy this is just great. One of my favorite movies of all-time 5 stars
8/26/01 Gary Emotional, torrid, touching and powerful. Immaculately drawn characters and superb acting. 5 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk Beautifully written and directed...everyone is on-target in this odd look at life. 5 stars
7/31/01 Terrie Smith Has its moments but far too long & exasperating to watch. Cruise is something else. 3 stars
7/26/01 Rolling Thunder Tried to like it, but I just couldn't. It's so arrogantly horrid it makes me sick. 1 stars
7/26/01 Caligula Awful. Overlong, overacted, self-indulgent, full of idiotic deus-ex-machina (live TV show?) 1 stars
7/26/01 Crisis Management One of the worst movies ever made. 1 stars
7/19/01 Gus It has to be in the top ten movies ever made. 5 stars
7/03/01 fysl Incredible pice of art 5 stars
7/02/01 Tracy If you didn't understand its depth, then you obviously were not the intended audience. 5 stars
6/12/01 Rac So bad I was forced to cut my own throat 1 stars
6/02/01 Del the Funky Homo sapiens Kold Kickin' it live with the KKK! 5 stars
5/25/01 Dean's twin brother, Dan I don't like thinkin'! Why movie no spell it out for me? Ooh, my head hurts! 5 stars
5/23/01 Dean 3 and a half hours of boring film to see the most pointless ending ever. 1 stars
5/21/01 MeatFlute AB is tripe. Watch the intro of Mag again and maybe you'll understandthe frogs, Desdemoner 5 stars
5/02/01 Bueller A 3 hour ensemble peice that doesn't feature even ONE compelling character! Boring as hell! 1 stars
3/27/01 Jesse L Like Thanksgiving Dinner at my mom's house....long boring depressing 1 stars
3/20/01 Monster W. Kung Boring, self-indulgent crap. 2 stars
3/11/01 Your Mom Read Exodus, you ignorant fuck! 4 stars
3/11/01 zeitgeist first two hours were great, then it draaaaaaged 4 stars
3/03/01 za one of the few films that live up to its audaciousness. PT took a huge risk and won!! 5 stars
2/28/01 Gray Amazing movie. PTA is a great director and the scenes with the singing &frogs are brilliant 5 stars
2/25/01 Wilson Robinson GREAT MOVIE 5 stars
2/20/01 The Frogurt Messiah Holy shit--I think i swallowed my gum. 5 stars
2/09/01 No Way This movie blows. Too hard to follow, and disgusting ending! 2 stars
1/18/01 Lisa this movie rocks my world all over again, every time I see it 5 stars
1/11/01 Matt69 An ambitious thought provoking film. Respect the cock. 5 stars
1/09/01 Rob Banfitch The people in this movie stay with you. 5 stars
12/20/00 Markus Larsson Incredible... This movie has everything. Great cast, direction, music, cutting... and so on 5 stars
12/20/00 David Very entertaining but there seemed to be no point. 4 stars
11/20/00 The Bill Head Great acting, directing, and writing!! Cruise is a standout..wonderful score. Must see! 5 stars
11/19/00 Jeremy Rumsey I thought it was awesome until the frogs came down but then it all made sense. 4 stars
11/17/00 Juanfer It analyse the guiltyness in the human beeing, shown in a lot of people. It's great. 5 stars
10/20/00 hum interesting but somehow not as engaging as it should be 3 stars
9/30/00 JS Very, very, very.... very goood 5 stars
9/05/00 Monday Morning Great acting, pointless story, wasted money. 2 stars
8/14/00 Clarance By Far! The best movie I have ever seen!!! 5 stars
8/11/00 Yassen Roussev Makes you think 5 stars
8/09/00 Todd J An awesome display! Didn't get the "82" connection 5 stars
7/31/00 God Heartbreaking and magnificent, a towering achievement. Made me cry and re-think my life 5 stars
7/11/00 Jami One word- BREATHTAKING 5 stars
6/23/00 Aaron White Alman meets Tarantino meets Days of our Lives. Stunning plate-spinning. Flawless acting. 4 stars
6/04/00 Blubberbot It looked great but what was the story about? I've never seen a great movie suck so bad. 2 stars
5/31/00 Bruce This is a great one, awesome!! 5 stars
5/20/00 mellemel Interesting. A tad long, but the frogs made it worth it. 4 stars
4/11/00 K.B. P.T. does for emotional scenes what Tarantino did for violent scenes. Amazing! 5 stars
4/11/00 Sasha Amazing tapestry of a movie done with superior skill 5 stars
4/10/00 kohawk I don't know, the frogs may have been worth the price of admission...Maybe. Overrated 3 stars
4/09/00 punkass Thought provoking & interesting if your heads as far up your arse as mine 4 stars
4/05/00 P! You jerks that didn't love this movie- Your all Fucking Morons, stick to Armageddon, idiots 5 stars
4/01/00 Kriperace What about the biblical allusion to the 10 plagues? 5 stars
3/30/00 Arnaldo Cruz great direction,great editing,and great acting, the best movie 5 stars
3/29/00 Matthew Bartley Staggeringly well done. Only about 15 minutes superflous stuff 5 stars
3/23/00 Zander McGill The best film of the year by far. Although simple-minded moviegoers seem not to like it. 5 stars
3/23/00 Laura the good part was the frogs. the ONLY good part 1 stars
3/22/00 jim rice Rambling load of BOLLOCKS ! Pretentious load of CRAP! Surprisingly Cruise is good 1 stars
3/22/00 Pierce Lanson Missed the frogs, -walked out . Awful people, awful stories, awful film. 1 stars
3/16/00 Aaron Amazingly good - can't wait to buy the DVD. 5 stars
3/15/00 Justine Briggs I want my three hours back. Borrrrrrrring!!!!!! 1 stars
3/13/00 Willie Rose Without a doubt the best movie of the last five years - "Brilliant" 5 stars
3/12/00 Matthew Smith a devestating masterpiece, brilliantly acted. 5 stars
3/05/00 Captain Highcrime Pretty damn good, but way too fucking long to see again. 4 stars
3/03/00 Pizaster engaging, absorbing...very well acted, could've been trimmed though 4 stars
3/03/00 Mic One of the most boring movies ever made. How it ever made the IMDb top 50 is beyond me. 1 stars
2/25/00 Zaren Absolutely compelling in voice- Pure genius in vision, one of the best films in years 5 stars
2/14/00 theguy 1/10th as good as PT Anderson thinks it is. 1 stars
2/14/00 natasha not predigested for public consumption-- really challenging in the best way 5 stars
2/11/00 Skye Chapman excessive. anderson needs a slap, but i admire his guts 5 stars
2/06/00 Morgen Wilson A unique work of cinematic genius. 5 stars
2/06/00 Reed Rothchild Paul Thomas Anderson is one fucking talented director! 5 stars
2/05/00 Bueller Not even ONE compelling character in THREE hours! Don't ever waste my time like this again! 1 stars
1/29/00 Ami the Wonderbread I was truly awed by Tom Cruise for maybe the first time. Bring on MI2 4 stars
1/22/00 Brian P. Hanley This movie was riveting. A joy to watch. 5 stars
1/20/00 jvt Hardly "average" but some of it's great while some just sucks 3 stars
1/19/00 MAXOMENOS This movie blew me away. Wonderful characters and full of surprises. A modern parable. 5 stars
1/19/00 k.tomkowski An interesting movie. Cruise is an average actor and privately an arsehole. 4 stars
1/17/00 commando_337 I'm still wondering about this movie, and I get almost anything, CRAZY!!! 1 stars
1/16/00 Pearl Very Deep. Did anyone else relate this to the Ten commandments in Exodus where it rained f 4 stars
1/16/00 BBReBozo Amazing. I'm still thinking about it one week later. 5 stars
1/15/00 Kevin Cho Bizarre -brilliant. I hate Tom Cruise - he's a terrible person - but the movie was GREAT. 5 stars
1/15/00 The Voice of Reason Movie Freek, way to be subtle (opening paragraph). You should be arrested. 5 stars
1/14/00 Heather P.T. Anderson pulls off another masterpiece, didn't like the movie? then you didn't get it! 5 stars
1/13/00 Monkey'sUncle you better listen to albert u dumbasses! this movie was pointless! why the hell the frogs?? 1 stars
1/13/00 Albert This movie was just a collection of opportunities for actors to try and win an award. 1 stars
1/13/00 mosch disjointed, depressing, yet compelling? 3 stars
1/13/00 TheOnlyOneWithSomeSense are u people fucking retarded? this movie was complete shit!! it was over 3 hours long! 1 stars
1/13/00 shanababana Truly brilliant. Long, but worth it. 4 stars
1/11/00 majawat industrial 5 stars
1/11/00 Podbrey MASSIVE MASSIVE MASSIVE 5 stars
1/10/00 ashton fastecf 4 stars
1/10/00 Laura Petermann Fucking Phenomenal - Absolutely riviting! 5 stars
1/09/00 epowell Felt like an acid trip and EVERY scene was too damn long. 2 stars
1/09/00 sherrie much like an Altman film 4 stars
1/09/00 Jim Russo A waste of $7.50!! I should have tossed it in the sewer - - where this movie should be. 1 stars
1/09/00 PurityJustBegs Tom Crusie doing a self-parody? are you sure you saw Magnolia? Brilliant film, by the way.. 5 stars
1/09/00 E. David Sheldon I've got nine words for you... what the fuck is the deal with the frogs? 4 stars
1/08/00 jenn "Blu Smrf" This movie could not have been better, amazing! totally awesome!!!! 5 stars
1/08/00 Adam Ouch, my head hurts. Don't go in expecting a light movie, but don't expect a bad one eithe 4 stars
1/08/00 Rue the Whirl PT Anderson is a fucking madman genius!!! 5 stars
1/08/00 Malbert Could have been *really* good-poor directing, great score, awesome acting, *way* too long! 3 stars
1/05/00 tim francis very altman, very good. 4 stars
12/31/99 Tyson Stewart FOUR STARS (out of four) The second best film of the year; #1-Eyes Wide Shut. Excellent!!! 5 stars
12/23/99 abby heart wrenching and insightful 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  07-Jan-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  09-Mar-2000 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast