Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.39

Awesome: 16.67%
Worth A Look: 10.22%
Just Average: 9.68%
Pretty Crappy: 22.04%
Sucks41.4%

8 reviews, 138 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Urban Legend
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Paulapalooza

"For the same effect, just watch a badly dubbed copy of 'Scream'"
2 stars

An urban legend serial killer? Seems unlikely.

Here's the pitch: Let's get some semi-popular young stars, mainly known for their television work, and stick them in a slasher flick! We can make pop culture allusions and be self-referential, and the kids will eat it up!

In short, we'll rip off "Scream"!

Green light!

Pointing out how "Urban Legend" rips off "Scream" has been done to death by every critic out there, but it's important to recognize source material. "Scream" was fun and exciting and witty because it recognized what it was "borrowing" from, and did so with a certain respect. "Urban Legend" is ripping off a rip-off, and the second-generation degradation shows.

It's not even that the cast is so bad. No great performances here, but leads Alicia Witt (who's supposedly smart---why'd she do this?) and Jared Leto don't embarass themselves. Sadly, the same can't be said for most anyone else. Maybe they'd be helped along if the script or the director had any sense of pacing or suspense. Synergy, people!

Not many pluses, but it's always cool to see Brad Dourif show up. And I did chuckle a couple of times. But that's it. Horror films are made to scare you, and this one didn't even come close.

An "Urban Legend" sequel? Seems unlikely.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=173&reviewer=21
originally posted: 10/29/98 20:35:07
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/01/11 art ADD THIS OUTSTANDING MYSTERY to your DVD COLLECTION! 5 stars
5/08/10 art A THROWBACK to 1980's horror film's,like FRIDAY THE 13TH and APRIL FOOL"S DAY!,EXCELLENT! 5 stars
10/28/09 art AN EXCELLENT MYSTERY!,REMIND"S ME OF AGATHA CHRISTIE! 4 stars
11/17/08 PAUL SHORTT THE USUAL SORDID MIX OF MULTIPLE MURDERS AND SHOCKS 1 stars
11/07/07 art a good one two punch a slasher film and a mystery 4 stars
2/04/07 David haha, shit im pretty late hey. yeah but fuck it was a good movie to laugh at. 1 stars
1/10/07 David Pollastrini didn't see that twist coming! 4 stars
9/13/06 JM Synth Interesting idea, poor execution, but still watchable. 2 stars
1/11/06 Darren O Despite stretching creditbility and logic, this is a novel and well done slasher flick. 4 stars
10/23/05 tony not a total waste of time. But still dumb 3 stars
8/03/05 ^podo very entertaining! 4 stars
5/23/05 E-FUNK Piece of shit. I hated every second of this movie. The noxema girl is the killer. 1 stars
8/05/04 Jack Alicia Witt can be VERY bad or STELLAR. Watch her in FUN and HOTEL ROOM. 2 stars
5/12/04 Yasu sick, sad, pathetic. and NOT scary. 1 stars
2/01/04 Rocko horse shit 1 stars
11/08/03 Samuel Better than the sequel, which isn't saying to much... 4 stars
11/03/03 American Slasher Goddess Halfway decent slasher flick that manages to deliever a few scares. 3 stars
7/25/03 3man I love Rebecca Gayheart but the rest of the movie is too cheesy. 2 stars
7/24/03 Double G I like the movies plot of the urban legends, but why cook a dog in a microwave. That's gay! 2 stars
7/07/03 Samantha Robinson it was well put together 5 stars
6/22/03 Hottie I thought this was a GREAT movie and the actors did great also! 5 stars
4/16/03 Nicole Why do all these movies suck? 2 stars
4/11/03 Jeremy This piece of shit made up for its lack of originality with more gore than was necessary. 1 stars
4/10/03 Jack Sommersby Nothing great, but it's passable and delivers some scares. 3 stars
2/02/03 scott great 5 stars
12/15/02 tegan clark great but the second one was crap 5 stars
12/15/02 tegan clark great the second was crap 5 stars
11/06/02 Charles Tatum So stupid 1 stars
9/04/02 Chancey Thunderpants Trash! 2 stars
8/22/02 Sully Gayheart is so hot!!! Decent plot turns. Kinda scary. Not bad. 4 stars
6/02/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi Well....i didn't absolutely h8 dis moovie, but i really disagree with scott 4 stars
5/14/02 Blake This movie has the best plot ever 5 stars
3/18/02 frank fabulous simply faboluos 5 stars
3/14/02 Christian The best installment of the teen horror revival, bar the original Scream. 5 stars
3/10/02 josh thompson ther second is better 2 stars
3/04/02 Sarah I don't know what's wrong with it and i started to like it. 5 stars
3/01/02 Alan Smithee While there's a couple of cool kill scenes, that's about all it has to offer. 2 stars
2/02/02 Renee Boring, Worst Movie Ever 1 stars
1/24/02 Sarah Inkster To be honest, it looks scary and i quite like it. 4 stars
1/13/02 Andrew Carden Not Too Bad, but Once Again A Horror Teen Movie That Makes No Sense At The End. 3 stars
11/29/01 Rutt13 Stupid, but the girls are cute, and part 2 makes it look like "Deer Hunter" 2 stars
10/27/01 kristy kirkpatrick I thought it was great! I don't really think it was scary though. 5 stars
10/23/01 Sthenno Thia movie was just stupid.Tried hard to be serious.Just was another dumb horror film. 2 stars
10/15/01 Lolly Just because other ppl didnt enjoy it doesnt mean that you wont. See for yourself :) 4 stars
10/03/01 Phoenix It's no Scream, but still an enjoyable experience. 4 stars
9/25/01 daina how old are your reveiwers they dont exactly meet the target audience 4 stars
8/23/01 Stonedog Creative premise. Forget what the grouches say- this flick is fun and frightening 5 stars
5/14/01 Hashika Awesome, i loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/03/01 Gracy Lionheart I watch horror movies with my friends to make fun of the, but I couldn't even stay awake. 1 stars
4/16/01 LiL Very dissapointing, but it's a fucking masterpiece compared to number 2 1 stars
2/12/01 Richard Wright I wish the director and producer were released into a real-life version of this film. 1 stars
2/10/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi The very "middle-of-the-roadness" is what kills this movie. It's just THERE. 2 stars
1/22/01 K. Wilson This movie was awesome!! Try watching it with a group of your drunk friends 5 stars
1/18/01 Ground Zero Never seen worse. Seriously. 1 stars
12/18/00 Thrillhouse Wrong, John Smith, this movie is heaps o' garbage! Plus, it destroys the horror type! 1 stars
12/05/00 Cristopher Revilla One of the worst in a whole line of fucked up teenybopper horror trash flicks 1 stars
11/21/00 John Smith It's heaps cool 5 stars
10/22/00 TiGgEr #13 It dissapoints the horror genre. 1 stars
10/06/00 Rianon pretty good except when josh died 4 stars
10/06/00 Stuntman Like Erik the Movieman said, just when it couldn't get any worse 1 stars
10/04/00 Spetters This has got to be one of the most stupidest films i have seen in years!!! 1 stars
9/22/00 Jacques Strap pretty stupid, Gayheart has no talent 1 stars
9/16/00 Gray Let's hope Rebecca Gayheart's career ends here. 1 stars
9/16/00 B.j It's fresh and new it's great 4 stars
9/13/00 Ground Zero horror flicks aren't supposed to be that predictable... HAHA 1 stars
9/04/00 Tracey Gailey It was pretty awesome. i enjoyed it and even thought it scary so. HAH 5 stars
9/02/00 The 6th Beatle I used to hate this film like everyone else, until I realized it could be fun instead 5 stars
8/24/00 Lisa solari pretty good 5 stars
8/02/00 Piz snoozer story with a Tarzan meets Jane script...waste of time 1 stars
7/22/00 Digitalus WTH... the killer is a hot chick?! Ugh! Modern-day villains suck goat! 1 stars
7/09/00 Bender The premise is great. The movie is decent. The ending is hilarious. 3 stars
4/25/00 Pansy freakin' shit 1 stars
2/21/00 Mr. Kramitall Whoever thought up this ineptitude is an moron! Dude, it sucked! 1 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski It came along in the wake of "Scream." That is its only real fuck up. 4 stars
1/18/00 Jedi15 And I thought "I Still Know What You Did Last Summer" sucked! This movie is monkey shit! 1 stars
1/09/00 Will mommy I'm scared of flashing my headlights now 1 stars
11/14/99 Pacey Brooks Fun cast & better, more beautiful production values than any horror movie I've ever seen 5 stars
11/04/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster The problem with cool movies like Scream is , they produce lame knockoffs like this . 2 stars
11/03/99 dane it fucking rips 5 stars
10/30/99 Lindsey This was an awesome movie!! It wasn't scary, but the whole plot was creative and cool!! 5 stars
10/30/99 Lame-Oh throughly misguided movie which proves you shouldn't slap a rabid dog. 1 stars
10/03/99 Joe Schmoe Brilliant like liquified slag 1 stars
7/23/99 Hagbard Celine A malodorous pile of steaming offal. Unmitigated rot. Sucks sucks sucks. 1 stars
7/19/99 Imagoner stupid, stupid movie 1 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg Never seen this. Looks like another shitty "Scream" cash-in though. 1 stars
5/03/99 The Bomb 69 it takes a lot from Scream but I laughed at a few parts 3 stars
5/02/99 PJ Yet another blah 90s slasher flick...with a "cute" premise. Blef. In one ear, out the other 2 stars
4/23/99 gibb Leto is definately acting better since good 'ole TV days 5 stars
4/18/99 jimmy jam Jared was great. the rest was crap. 2 stars
4/15/99 Mr. Kramitall Geez, can we make horror movies actually thrilling? Uhh, maybe not. 1 stars
4/08/99 James E. Laczkowski a complete carbon copy clone of SCREAM! alicia witt needs to go back to FUN 2 stars
4/01/99 MAD The best line - "boo." 3 stars
3/21/99 Gravy The killer is a hot chick? ptooey! Modern day villians suck goat. 1 stars
3/19/99 Dee Dee Righto with the review. Anybody who puts toilet on this site shall be barred from Hollywood 1 stars
3/12/99 Ah Dooey I agree with Filmink Magazine. The movie totally sucked. Gayheart's acting was shit! 1 stars
3/10/99 Go Swans Back to VCA with you Jamie. And don't come out until you think up something original!!!!!! 2 stars
3/09/99 Oggy Scream was the bomb, not this pussy crap! 1 stars
3/07/99 KK Dusenbury Crap. Rebecca Gayheart doesn't scare me... her acting does but she doesn't.. 2 stars
2/24/99 Viral Messiah An pathetic ripoff of Scream. Scream was better! 1 stars
2/20/99 MR HOLLYWOOD!! Great idea but awfully put together,could have been more scary,Enguld SUX!!! 3 stars
2/11/99 Raheem Destiny This is da' bomb yo! This is the shit man. Yea man, this is what should be oscar yo! 5 stars
1/30/99 El Dorko Bullshit! 1 stars
12/13/98 Binky Truly awful. 1 stars
12/10/98 Mike Mc ideas were'nt from other movies, but from urban legends(hence the name) good idea, badmovie 2 stars
12/09/98 Andrea Abney It wasn't the best "horror" movie I've seen, but it definitely wasn't the worst. 3 stars
11/27/98 ShadowStar© Two words: Rebecca Gayheart 4 stars
11/19/98 ray it was good 5 stars
11/16/98 Tom Ripley Better than Scream, far better than H20; deserved a much bigger audience. 5 stars
11/10/98 Anne Frank The "Leprechaun Pt. 2" of the nineties!(See also shit, bull) 1 stars
11/08/98 Spice What did I miss I feel asleep again. 2 stars
11/06/98 Lord Of The Dunce Five stars for the premise, minus four for the cast and minus one for the script. God awful 1 stars
10/28/98 chris seip it freakin ruled!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/26/98 Ashley It sucked. Extremely horrible, I walked out. 1 stars
10/26/98 RYN ANOTHER SCREAM KNOCKOFF 3 stars
10/20/98 Vincent If ever anyone wanted a primer for how to kill the horror genre this film is it- IT SUCKS! 1 stars
10/19/98 Sage The same formula as Scream, this time with even more redundant cliches! 2 stars
10/18/98 Babylon Bounce Shit movie I seen. Urban legend needs to be shot dead. 1 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo YUCK!!!! Why keep making movies devoid of intellect? Get actresses, not Noxema models! 1 stars
10/17/98 katherine i liked it. good storyline, good twist. and two wonderful wrds: JOSHUA JACKSON!!! 5 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz The latest Scream rip-off features a bevy of sexy coeds being stalked by a sadistic killer. 2 stars
10/11/98 cheryl_ann the absolute worst movie i have seen 1 stars
10/07/98 Korny Island You couldn't make a worse botch-up of this idea if you intended it. 1 stars
10/05/98 Pat Flanagan Premise was a great one, but it could have been done a little better. 3 stars
10/01/98 Negative Creep Interesting premise, ruined by The Studio's interference. 2 stars
9/29/98 GC I liked it. 5 stars
9/28/98 Matt Stone Oh, My God They Made another sucky movie! You Bastards! 1 stars
9/28/98 CreamCorn They should have called this movie "Monica Lewinsky" because it sure does blow. 1 stars
9/27/98 John Hawkins Not very original, but tons of fun! 4 stars
9/27/98 King Creed What a waste of fucking time and money. This is churn'em'out formula cinema at it's worst. 1 stars
9/27/98 spork-girl the biggest waste of my money so far this year. but jordan catalano is a hottie. 1 stars
9/27/98 bizzy eh? 3 stars
9/26/98 Kimberly It sucked and that is being kind. 1 stars
9/26/98 katherine I actually sort of like this movie. But it needs more gore. 4 stars
9/26/98 Miss Stress um....all the legends were wrong, and they killed pacey. i saw it free and it was bad! 2 stars
9/26/98 brian I really love folklore etc. So I loved this movie! 5 stars
9/23/98 katherine pretty good, i luv horrors 5 stars
9/13/98 Chip Taylor Screw the teen slasher movie genre now. All those movies suck. Scream, Scream 2, H20 suck. 1 stars
8/29/98 {{{OZ}}} This is awesome. A serial killer who uses old urban legends as his MO. A few slow bits. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Sep-1998 (R)
  DVD: 07-Sep-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  28-Jan-1999 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast