Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.54

Awesome: 30%
Worth A Look34.29%
Just Average: 12.86%
Pretty Crappy: 5.71%
Sucks: 17.14%

5 reviews, 40 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Bounce
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Splat."
3 stars

The interesting behind-the-scenes story about "Bounce" -- in which a man falls in love with the widow whose husband died in a plane crash that he, the suitor, was supposed to be in, too -- is that stars Gwyneth Paltrow and Ben Affleck are a real-life ex-couple. We know they have (or at least had) chemistry in real life; will it show up onscreen, too?

The answer is yes -- but unfortunately, the easy charm the two have as a couple is about all "Bounce" has going for it.

Affleck is Buddy Amaral, a cocky L.A. ad exec who relinquishes his seat on a delayed flight to airport acquaintance Greg Janello (Tony Goldwyn). When the flight crashes and everyone is killed, Buddy feel tremendous guilt, drinks a lot, and winds up in re-hab. Following the 12 steps of Alcoholics Anonymous, he seeks to make restitution, as much as possible, by checking up on Greg's widow, Abby (Paltrow), and their two kids. What was intended as a one-time favor turns into a romance, with Buddy hiding the truth from Abby and Abby telling Buddy she's divorced.

Writer/director Don Roos -- also responsible for the bitingly funny "The Opposite of Sex" -- does a complete 180 here, and not for the better. His characters are generically sainted (Abby, seeing a girl on her way to the prom with toilet paper stuck to her shoe, rushes forward to remove the offending article so the teen won't be embarrassed), and Abby even has a husky-voiced, wise-cracking neighbor (Caroline Aaron) to confide in. The dialogue is often clunky, though Affleck and Paltrow have enough acting prowess between them to make most of it palatable, and much of the plot is not only predictable (especially if youčve seen the trailer), but awkwardly established.

Affleck isn't entirely convincing as a self-centered jerk, and the character is under-written in that area. But he and Paltrow have a certain amount of magic together that this romantic melodrama would have been wise to make better use of. "Bounce" is a bad title for such a moody, plodding film; "Lumber" would be a better one.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1746&reviewer=247
originally posted: 06/30/03 03:38:38
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/18/07 Boris I never was in a situation like that. but imagine this is not how one would act or feel 1 stars
8/26/05 ES Not woth the bother, cookie cutter plot and ending 2 stars
3/21/04 Cupid I was in tears. it was so emotional 5 stars
10/12/03 Sehgha Hejvunpam Gwyneth Foultrow's worst movie. She's yucky-schmucky in this. Avoid. 1 stars
4/21/03 Pam be Dextrous Best line: What is a dooryard? But that does not a movie make. 2 stars
4/09/03 Joesco Watched it for Natasha who needn't have turned up but a good film with Ben & Gwyn excellent 4 stars
1/04/03 Sully Affleck is the WORST actor this side of Danny Bonnaduchi. HE SUCKS DOG ASS!!!!! 1 stars
11/15/02 Big Ted Gwyneth shoulda won the Oscar for this NOT Shakespeare In Love. 5 stars
10/23/02 Phil M. Aficionado I agree 100% with Erik the Movieman; it is a fine film, albeit a bit trite 4 stars
4/22/02 KMG Watching "Gwennie" and the Benster on film was nauseating 2 stars
3/31/02 Kakararniniginjia Sinitraviwasanjofraz Like making pivot in the ball when the collector sends it again to the jar 2 stars
1/27/02 Andrew Carden I Would Have Liked To See More Jennifer Grey, She Was Interesting. 3 stars
1/20/02 Soggy Bottom Boy Good acting, but a lot of the film felt contrived. First half was good, but went downhill. 4 stars
7/21/01 J I'm suprisingly with Erik & Nuwanda on this one. (Though I wasn't too far to go with Greg) 4 stars
6/25/01 Tzila Seewald Perfect movie! 5 stars
4/20/01 Monday Morning Movie is cliche-city but I'm loving GP more and more each film she's in. 3 stars
2/11/01 ASHLEY LOEL she is a nasty BIT** 1 stars
12/24/00 Wada Loved it. 5 stars
12/19/00 AlGore I hate Ben Affleck and his movies. Good thing he's dating Billy Bob daughter and not mine! 1 stars
12/10/00 natasha Honest, with a good heart. I can't wait to see Don Roos' and Ben Affleck's next movies. 5 stars
12/10/00 BrittenysPears Affleck is the most overrated actor and "writer" of our time. lame as hell movie save your$ 1 stars
12/05/00 Affleckted Loved it. Ben was great. Love their chemistry. I'd see it again and again. 5 stars
12/05/00 Heidi This movie was slow but awesome 5 stars
12/05/00 Robin Elizabeth Loved it! Ben, When are we going to meet? 5 stars
12/02/00 jeff michael Boring......................slept thru it... 1 stars
12/02/00 AffleckFan Predictable. I was expecting another "Opposite of Sex". 3 stars
12/02/00 miyax What a waste of $8.75...I've never seen anything so predictable... 1 stars
12/01/00 Angela Murtagh A great flick...entertaining... 5 stars
12/01/00 TJMax Long live Ben and Gwen, whose talent is given maximum coverage here. Wonderful 5 stars
11/30/00 Gilberto Mello The Reallity About Phantom Business in Brazil 5 stars
11/26/00 Fred Excellent movie. Enjoyed by both Gwyneth's and Ben's performances and their 'chemistry'. 5 stars
11/23/00 KoHawk If you see this for a reason other than your woman dragged you there, you should be ashamed 1 stars
11/20/00 Kirsten Ben looks and acts better than ever. 4 stars
11/20/00 chuckmfh good way to spend a couple of hours 5 stars
11/19/00 Nick The story line never catches up -kinda like Al Gore. This Movie is a real loser. 1 stars
11/19/00 chris Best movie of the year! 5 stars
11/19/00 mesawyou It's entertaining 4 stars
11/18/00 Mike This movie had NO SUBSTANCE. Ben &Gwen need to give the world a rest 1 stars
11/11/00 Carol I loved this movie! Ben Affleck is so hot! 5 stars
11/04/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Dear God, when will Paltrow quit movies and give the world a rest? 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Nov-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Mar-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast