Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.67

Awesome82.11%
Worth A Look: 10.57%
Just Average: 1.63%
Pretty Crappy: 3.25%
Sucks: 2.44%

5 reviews, 93 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fraud by Jay Seaver

Their Finest by Jay Seaver

Tommy's Honour by Jay Seaver

Colossal by Peter Sobczynski

Fate of the Furious, The by Peter Sobczynski

68 Kill by Jay Seaver

Inhumanwich! by Jack Sommersby

Life (2017) by Jay Seaver

Going in Style (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Void, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Hedwig and the Angry Inch
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Charles Tatum

"Glam Slammed"
5 stars

I boldly shout it from the cyber rooftops: "I loved this frickin' movie!"

Hedwig (John Cameron Mitchell) and his band, the Angry Inch, is touring America, shadowing the more successful tour of Tommy Gnosis (Michael Pitt). Gnosis plays arenas, Hedwig plays Bilgewater's chain restaurants. Gnosis stole Hedwig's songs years earlier, when they were a couple.

Hedwig is the product of an American G.I. father and an East German mother. He grew up in East Berlin, in an apartment so small he had to play in the oven. He meets and falls in love with Luther (Maurice Dean Wint), but must pass a physical so he can go to America. Hedwig is castrated, leaving an angry inch of flesh. He goes to America, is dumped, and meets with Tommy, whom he immediately falls for.

The two have a strange connection as Hedwig tries to get a music career off the ground. Tommy becomes more successful, and Hedwig sings his songs with a little more anger and swagger. He takes his frustrations out on his band, especially Yitzhak (Miriam Shor), eventually ending up alone. Then Tommy drives back into his life.

This was a successful stage play written by Mitchell, with incredible songs by Stephen Trask, who also stars as one of the band members. Mitchell turns in a perfect performance. This difficult part seems easy in his hands. His performances of the songs are astounding. This is not an actor going through karaoke motions, the songs are wonderful and so is he. Andrea Martin is also very good as Phyllis, the agent, without overshadowing the production. Wint does a lot with a small role, Miriam Shor is very convincing as Yitzhak, the scene with Hedwig when Yitzhak wants to leave the band is a standout. Michael Pitt as Tommy looks about sixteen years old, but he plays his role to the hilt.

John Cameron Mitchell also directed the film, and being so familiar with the characters helps immensely. The shots are imaginative without showing off, the musical numbers outshine anything on MTV right now, and the pace is snappy.

"Hedwig and the Angry Inch" is an imaginative, touching, fun, heartbreaking, serious love story between a flawed man and his music. I waited too long to see this, and I am sorry I can only champion it now that it is on video. The songs are still running through my head, I think I found my favorite film of the new millennium.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1760&reviewer=325
originally posted: 06/11/04 09:57:46
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 SXSW Film Festival. For more in the 2005 South By Southwest Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

4/13/15 jokerass lol 1 stars
4/13/15 jokerass lol 1 stars
2/12/09 Sonja Definitely nothing like RHPS but has its own charm. Refreshing. 4 stars
9/25/08 Timothy Kirkland Well though out movie, great writing. 2 or 3 powerful songs, point on acting 4 stars
9/02/08 pin very well made. great acting. wonderful soundtrack. a sad pleasure. 4 stars
8/24/07 Dark Enchantress great movie! 5 stars
8/23/07 AMT It was crazy, and scary, and appauling, but in an absolutely amazing thought provoking way! 5 stars
3/20/07 James Dunn Sing-a-long fun for all fans of Glam rock! Amazing songs! 5 stars
2/18/07 Nick Maday How do I describe how much I loved this movie, especially "What do you think of the pelt?" 5 stars
8/19/06 Verrine The movie, the music & the look were great. 5 stars
6/08/06 Polly-Anne Interesting, alittle trippy at times. Iwant her hair! 5 stars
5/23/06 Billy Death to us part 1 stars
9/18/05 Sam Poignant, bizarre, creative, thought-provoking... on my top 100 movies ever list 5 stars
10/21/04 Linda Perfect!!!! 5 stars
7/19/04 Tina Awesome Music. Loved It!! 5 stars
7/13/04 DM Moving, but not as much plain fun as "Rocky Horror" 4 stars
6/16/04 KT I love this as much as RHPS...and what's wrong with Tim Curry in fishnets? He's hot! 5 stars
6/11/04 tatum The best musically inclined film since "Cabaret" 5 stars
5/14/04 laura an excelant film !!! the best of it's kind !!!!! 5 stars
4/29/04 Jessica Visually and emotionally stunning 5 stars
4/21/04 Kristin Krawczak i would love to see this beautiful woman face to face someday! 5 stars
3/22/04 Leon Wish I had see it in a theater instead of Cable 5 stars
3/05/04 Kelly It's an awesome awesome movie. 5 stars
2/04/04 Pia My Oh how it completed Roskilde festival, with an open screen-show!! great! 5 stars
1/29/04 Darcy brilliant, completely amasing 5 stars
1/24/04 Elena I adore the sarcastic humour and subtle wit of Hedwig's character. ORIGINAL, WONDERFUL FILM 5 stars
12/25/03 Lynda Vick My whole family loved this movie! (Yes, I allowed my teens to watch it with us) 5 stars
11/27/03 Christine THIS MOVIE IS THE BEST!!! IT ROCKS!!! 5 stars
9/24/03 kevin great movie, even greater theatrical musical 5 stars
8/05/03 Lorenz Esguerra Enjoyed it n Sundance! Had to own the DVD! 5 stars
4/25/03 mr. Pink This movie fuckin ROCKS!!! 5 stars
3/22/03 the Number Yellow John Cameron Mitchell is brilliant. Words don't describe it. 5 stars
10/31/02 Marla brilliant 4 stars
10/26/02 katty how can you NOT like this?!?!?! 5 stars
10/01/02 Alexa John Cameron Mitchell is a genius. Micael Pitt is beautiful. Miriam Shor is amazing 5 stars
9/19/02 jacintha Absolutely the most wonderful, poignant, thought-provoking movie i have ever seen! 5 stars
9/07/02 Nettie This movie was SO amazing. It's Rocky Horror, Moulin Rouge in a beatiful love story 5 stars
7/24/02 zRebecca All crossdressed people in the film hate their persona. Trans Bashing Gay Movie; no thanks. 4 stars
6/09/02 hum interesting and apealing 4 stars
3/01/02 Unagiboy My favorite pic for 2001. This was the wittiest movie in a long time. 5 stars
2/26/02 natasha the movie about making the movie on the DVD is as good as the film itself 5 stars
2/25/02 KRP This is the best musical in a long time (even beats out Disney musical cartoons) 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Not a well made film. I didn't like the music. 2 stars
2/17/02 Andrew Carden Not Horrible, but Very Weak and Long Movie. 2 stars
2/14/02 rue the whirl i loved it. it was much better than "cats"...i'm going to see it again and again 5 stars
1/31/02 Don Hite Perfect mix of wit, music, and substance. Light-hearted and heart-wrenching at once! 5 stars
12/22/01 tenshi awesome movie!! one of my faves. right up there with rocky horror 5 stars
12/19/01 The Bomb 69 completely original, music was awesome and intrical to the storyline, more dialogue plz 5 stars
12/05/01 Mrs Reaney Will you sleep with me anybody. 5 stars
11/26/01 ^Elendil^ Musicals just don't work for me. 3 stars
11/08/01 Belinda Boring as hell. 2 stars
9/30/01 daniboy this should get nomianated 5 stars
9/25/01 steven The soundtrack was the first cd I bought, instead of downloaded, in a year-year and a half. 5 stars
9/02/01 KCobain Not too impressive. Overblown with too much filler. Doesn't make the grade. 2 stars
8/31/01 Andros Fucking awesome movie. Listening to the soundtrack that kicks ass! 5 stars
8/29/01 Cara The best time I've had at a movie in years. I'm still singing! 5 stars
8/24/01 Jake Overrated. Only mildly entertaining and doesn't mesh well. 3 stars
8/23/01 The Graduate Great music, and really moving. Surprisingly un-campy. See it in the theater! 5 stars
8/22/01 Marce I love Hedwig!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/22/01 Sean Kicks Ass 5 stars
8/20/01 Bridgette Summer Surprise 5 stars
8/17/01 bowie923 Amazing. Compelling, involving story + great music. 5 stars
8/15/01 Dave To say it is a gay Spinal Tap is not doing it enough justice! 5 stars
8/07/01 Vicious Toy/Electric Crotch The fucking summer movie of 2001! 5 stars
8/05/01 Jimmy S Blown Away 5 stars
8/05/01 Lynnette Kinter Amazing, Amazing, Amazing 5 stars
8/03/01 David Steinberg Goodbye to old notions of gender! 5 stars
8/03/01 Sarsi Snapdragon *orgasm* Damn, that was good. 5 stars
8/02/01 Mr. X Great movie, although it is missing some info from the stage production. 5 stars
8/01/01 Nick Romantic My God!!! I haven't been fucked like that since grade school. 5 stars
8/01/01 Greg The best film ever! 5 stars
8/01/01 killer I've been 5 times so far, and I aint quitin anytime soon. 5 stars
8/01/01 Two-Spirit Rock N Roll Queer Heaven.!!! 5 stars
8/01/01 pink addict utter brilliance 5 stars
8/01/01 erin it ROCKS! 5 stars
7/31/01 Wicked Little Sarah Pull your wig off the shelf and see this movie! NOW! 5 stars
7/31/01 jamie dont let the premise make you pre-judge...this has something for everyone! 5 stars
7/31/01 Daniel Hirshleifer Best movie of 2001, hands down! 5 stars
7/31/01 jamie dont let the premise make you pre-judge...this has something for everyone! 5 stars
7/31/01 Anthony No other film like it. Maybe I'm biased. 5 stars
7/31/01 Matthew Harris Havin' a "Barbie Doll crotch" may not be such a bad thing. 5 stars
7/31/01 Derek Martin this movie rules 5 stars
7/30/01 Loretta Jones Wonderful! Don't miss it! 5 stars
7/29/01 Kurt Translated brilliantly from stage to screen! 5 stars
7/27/01 Blubberbot I liked 5 stars
7/27/01 GeorgE McCaul i really liked this movie but RHPS is still #1 in my mind 5 stars
7/25/01 michael lavin Have seen the Manhatan off broadway Hedwig seven time and can't wait for the film version. 5 stars
7/23/01 david Hedwig Rocks!! 5 stars
7/21/01 skye LOVED IT! butiworrythathedwigwillbecomemainstreamandloseitscharm.notforeveryone. 5 stars
7/14/01 ZachF wonderful, best of Sundance 5 stars
5/25/01 Thor-Leo A blast. 5 stars
5/05/01 Irina Alex brilliant music,touching acting 5 stars
5/02/01 BitchGoddess Brilliant, hysterical, priceless, delicious, sarcastic, intimate, not just for gays at all. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Jul-2001 (R)
  DVD: 11-Dec-2001

UK
  17-Aug-2001 (15)

Australia
  01-Nov-2001 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2016, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast