Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.21

Awesome57.47%
Worth A Look: 22.41%
Just Average: 8.62%
Pretty Crappy: 6.32%
Sucks: 5.17%

4 reviews, 150 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Damsel by Jay Seaver

Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom by alejandroariera

Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom by Peter Sobczynski

Third Murder, The by Jay Seaver

We the Animals by Jay Seaver

Race 3 by Jay Seaver

Nothing Is Truer than Truth by Jay Seaver

Incredibles 2 by Peter Sobczynski

Hearts Beat Loud by Peter Sobczynski

Never Goin' Back by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Bug's Life, A
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Pixar Does It Again"
4 stars

A Bug’s Life (*** ½) - Computer technology is the true future of animation, in case no one figured that out by now. Since Toy Story (which I have listed in my Top 50 films of all time), the stakes have been raised. Save for The Hunchback of Notre Dame (the most underrated of all recent Disney features) - I haven’t been all that impressed with the Disney animation. I enjoyed both Hercules and Mulan on their own merit, and I loved the battle sequences in Mulan, but some of the animation, especially in Hercules, seemed bush league compared to what we’ve gotten this year alone in both Antz and now, A Bug’s Life.

The obvious comparisons are there between the two films, and I’d be remissed if I didn’t say how much more I enjoyed Antz. But that being said, A Bug’s Life is still an extraordinary entertainment. The computer enhanced images are a treat in themselves to be treasured - so good you could almost enjoy the film without any sound and just marvel at the images. The movie is also very funny with a well-written script, although not quite as biting as Antz (no pun intended). The main storyline is kind of a simplification of the Antz story, and seems geared more towards kids. But, unlike the new Rugrats film, this is just as much a film for adults as for kids. I found myself laughing very hard, especially during the early city/circus sequence. The film is basically just a wonder to look at and admire until this sequence (about 20 minutes in) really energizes the humor level. I was also quite impressed once again at the action sequences.

We get a couple really well thought out scenes, where like Toy Story (which contains one of my favorite action chases ever) - they are very exciting and imaginative. But, perhaps the funniest part of the movie comes during the closing credits. I won’t spoil it for you, but just remember to stay, because all I can say is - brilliant. And even with a film like Antz out there, A Bug’s Life truly qualifies as one of the year’s best films.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=177&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/14/00 23:39:42
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/08/15 Jake Even if this is not as popular as Toy Story or Inside Out, this amazing film. 5 stars
12/23/13 Michelle O got to experience the Disney World "RIDE" with my kids = sheer delight! 5 stars
5/10/13 pikachu Vieja no está tan mal 3 stars
10/18/11 Magic Possibly the best remake of Seven Samurai ever. 4 stars
12/29/09 Dane Youssef Suprasses their earlier triumph "Toy Story." This one shows a whole universe in the grass. 5 stars
10/22/09 Boy18 Community engagement is a two-way street where the school, families, and the com- munity ac 4 stars
7/12/09 nparker people swearing at a bugs life....GET A LIFE IDIOTS! 5 stars
6/06/08 PAUL SHORTT A CLEVER TRIUMPH OF STORYTELLING AND CHARACTER DEVELOPEMENT 4 stars
3/29/08 Pamela White PIXAR great animation but needed a better script 3 stars
3/21/08 chienne Er, not as verbally witty as Antz? Isn't it a kid's film? Superior in every way 2 Antz. 5 stars
7/27/07 mb Interesting 3 stars
2/18/07 Nick Maday Thouroughly enjoyable movie for the entire family. 4 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Good, clean Disney/Pixar fun 4 stars
2/08/07 Raph Branca Another Pixar triumph. 5 stars
9/21/06 ProSneakyD Not as sophisticated as Toy Story, but an amazing effort & the circus bugs are hillarious. 4 stars
7/12/06 David Cohen I liked it 5 stars
5/28/06 Troy M. Grzych Funny, Nice effort from PIXAR, but not their best. 4 stars
5/10/06 chienne We simply loved it, STILL waiting for the sequel 5 stars
12/06/05 Quigley the old geezer playing chess with himself is the only reason to watch this. pixar's weakest 3 stars
10/30/05 Jeanne It's an entomologist's "Seven Samurai"! - wonderful. 5 stars
9/07/05 Ladybug I love this movie! espcially francis. 5 stars
6/08/05 oh my god but if u like him fine 2 stars
6/08/05 oh my god ew his a ugly dog 1 stars
6/08/05 HOT CHIK I LUV JUSTIN IDAT 5 stars
6/08/05 hadka ill tell u something its just all bullshit crap 1 stars
6/08/05 BABYDOLL IN DA HOUSE ITS ALL IMAGINITIVE BULLSHIT 1 stars
6/08/05 broll not its all a piece of crap 1 stars
6/08/05 KITTY KAT THIS IS DA BEST SHIT IDAT 5 stars
6/08/05 kate pretty good 5 stars
6/08/05 Kimba Its da best 5 stars
6/08/05 kate its alright for kids 3 stars
6/08/05 Shauna Is a great children's film 5 stars
2/05/05 clinger26 One of disney's greates 5 stars
1/14/05 Smytheman Pixar's films best of animation 4 stars
1/03/05 t-1000 I didn't laugh even once! this is no imaginative at all; hyped-up bullshit 1 stars
6/29/04 James Bond Pixar magic 5 stars
6/04/04 Sean Scanlan Pixar is alot better than all the dumb shows, except for one, on Cartoon Fridays 5 stars
6/03/04 Daveman An insect version of The Seven Samurai! Brilliant! 4 stars
5/16/04 DM Funny and well-acted, but a bit too predictable 4 stars
5/14/04 Sean Scanlan So funny 5 stars
4/23/04 J. Pianta great animated movie, pixar's best! 5 stars
3/28/04 LadyApocalymon This has been my favorite movie ever since I first saw it. Doesn't get any better. =) 5 stars
2/28/04 Littlepurch In my opinion, best of the Disney/Pixar films. Spacey is yet another excellent bad guy! 5 stars
12/08/03 john disappointing compared to Toy Story and Nemo but cute 3 stars
6/23/03 Lush Yet another great way to rip off a Kurosawa film. Turn the seven samurai into bugs, 4 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Pretty damn cool. 5 stars
12/08/02 Goofy Maxwell I'd watch this anytime but I'd watch live ants before watching Antz. 5 stars
10/26/02 Charles Tatum Better than Shrek 5 stars
2/16/02 R.W. Welch Crack animation but the story line doesn't really hold you. 3 stars
12/16/01 Michael T.S. Browne Goddamn right, Oz & Ryan_A, WONDERFUL CARTOON. One of the best movies I have ever seen =^) 5 stars
8/28/01 Gary Visually awesome, excellent voiceovers and slapstick but lacking Antz's heart and wit. 4 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk Great Disney movie. Fun and innovative. 4 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat IF YOU MISS THIS MOVIE, IT'S A SHAME! 5 stars
6/20/01 J No offense that I am disappointed about going with Erik more than Ryan and OZ but its good. 4 stars
4/09/01 Gary This was a great movie. 5 stars
11/12/00 The EVIL Penguin I disagree with Pokejedservo 2 stars
11/02/00 buzz ok, but toy story was much better. Goofs at end r funniest part 3 stars
3/23/00 David Rogers This one was actually disappointing compaired to Toy Story. 2 stars
3/01/00 Mic Lasseter (Toy Story 1 and 2) has yet to fail in any way. 5 stars
2/12/00 Richard Wright Not as witty or gripping as Toy Story 1 or 2, still a decent flick, fab animation as usual. 4 stars
8/22/99 Michael Grimm I liked Ants better 4 stars
6/27/99 caroline good 5 stars
6/21/99 Angie adorable movie!! the screwups in the end were hysterical!! 5 stars
5/30/99 kmk great animation and some funny moments. spacey rocks. 4 stars
5/17/99 jose david cabrales r. godd 5 stars
5/10/99 Angie I loved it!!! The special effects rocked!!! 5 stars
4/28/99 Dribble I can't wait for Toy Story 2! 2 stars
4/23/99 gibb cute movie 3 stars
3/11/99 Natasha Minnaert the movie was excellent, I loved it. 5 stars
2/27/99 ITALIANGUY. great as it was,but could have been HEAPS better. 4 stars
2/23/99 Julie LOL I was cracking up the whole time1 5 stars
2/23/99 Scott I see movies for free & I'd pay to see it again 5 stars
2/22/99 Jeff HOUN bug's life was definitely better than ANTZ, both could've used more work on the plots 4 stars
2/20/99 Shanandler Bong This was on my list of top ten flicks of '98. What #, though, I can't remember 5 stars
2/18/99 The Graduate Gorgeous animation and colorful characters, but the plot is paint-by-numbers. 4 stars
1/24/99 melissa i think that the movie coulda been betta,the graphics were good though 3 stars
1/24/99 Meepos. Animation far superior to Antz, story likewise. On it's own, awesome. 5 stars
1/19/99 Odd Pieman The only great part of this movie was the cut scenes during the credits. Decent movie. 3 stars
1/18/99 Yo Momma Incredible! Just incredible! 5 stars
1/15/99 Steve Kelley Think "Three Amigos" meets "Antz." The "Three Amigos" was better. "Antz" was better. 3 stars
1/15/99 ACME-TNT A Bugs Life rocks. Geri's Game rocks hard. Toy Story rocks harder. Antz Rocks the hardest!! 3 stars
1/15/99 donkey_dew Don't look at the light. Don't look at the light. I can't help it, it's beautiful! 1 stars
1/08/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! could of been better !!, though funny,entertaining & money worthy,Kevin Spacey Rocks! 4 stars
1/07/99 demon_shredder Funny how Geri's Game knocked the socks off of the movie it preceded. Antz was far better. 1 stars
1/03/99 jlgallardo MUST SEE!!! EXCELLENT!! CAN'T SAY NOTHING BAD ABOUT IT. GET READY TO LAUGH!! 5 stars
1/02/99 Negative Creep Beats the pants off of Antz. Hey that rhymed. 4 stars
1/02/99 Shana Slim was cute and Hopper was awesome. Pixar is the best CGI house. 5 stars
1/02/99 Dasha I was disapponted. Antz was MUCH better. 3 stars
1/02/99 Jules Great. And I loved the short film that preceded it! 4 stars
1/02/99 Critic Deluxe Outstanding. Clever dialog and entertaining characters. 5 stars
1/01/99 Fat Joe The bloopers in the credits are the only really funny part. 4 stars
1/01/99 John The kids loved it. I liked the segment with the bird. Hopper is superb. 5 stars
1/01/99 Oscar Goldman The state of the art in animation. Great verbal humor. 5 stars
1/01/99 Jack Deth Great flick,gotta love those grasshoppers,even better than toy story animation wise 5 stars
12/31/98 Jack Ripper Story could have been better, but the animation was out of this world. Worth the money. 5 stars
12/31/98 Lindsay It was cute, not as good as Toy Story though. 4 stars
12/30/98 grunter best Disney film in a decade; cleverly designed; TWEET TWEET!! 4 stars
12/29/98 Jules Very entertaining, but I gotta say, aside from the incredible animation, not much to it. 4 stars
12/29/98 Peter Fitswell The best of the genre this season. Rugrats was the only real competition. 5 stars
12/29/98 Sylvia The dialog is too sophisticated for little kids, but perfect for adults and older kids. 5 stars
12/29/98 FRED Groovy movie baby!!! 5 stars
12/28/98 Hugh Jass This thing rules! The bird segment was fantastic. Slim is great. Dot is cute. Funny! 5 stars
12/27/98 Mercury Hayes Unbelievable animation. The top CGI talent is at Pixar. PDI is minor league. 5 stars
12/26/98 Clint Beastwood Awesome!!!!!! Best kiddie flick of the season by far. 5 stars
12/25/98 Bridgette jiminy h. cricket! 4 stars
12/24/98 Jack Wilson Fantastic animation. Slim and Hopper are great. Pixar is in a class by itself. 5 stars
12/23/98 Lou Pine, Jr. Skews younger than Antz but neither film exploits the medium as deftly as Toy Story. 3 stars
12/18/98 Carole Whitehill Too busy. Kiddie oriented. ANTZ was much better 2 stars
12/18/98 PyThomas Pretty fucking clever of 'em to put animated "outtakes" during the closing credits. 5 stars
12/17/98 jenn EWWW 1 stars
12/14/98 boboy it's funny...thats great 4 stars
12/13/98 Binky A rare treat. A smart, funny, non consumerist movie. See studios? They do make money! 5 stars
12/12/98 Carl spectacular animation! 4 stars
12/10/98 Mike Mc excellent - check out the bloopers at the end (how bout a review WITHOUT mention of Antz?) 5 stars
12/10/98 Brent Funnier and better-animated than Antz. The "bloopers" at the end are hilarious. 5 stars
12/10/98 Bryan Too Funny 5 stars
12/07/98 sarah amazing,had everything; action, adventure,romance,great characters and animation. a must se 5 stars
12/06/98 Mr Showbiz More Kid-friendly than Antz but not as clever. 4 stars
12/04/98 Jason Stein Pixar=Kick ass movie...WAY better than Antz 5 stars
12/04/98 Shadow Raider Stunning CGI animation and terrific voicing. How beautiful. 5 stars
12/03/98 Burgandy Kevin Spacey rocked nads! Go see it, and drag your pain in the ass cousin with you. 5 stars
12/01/98 16 in, of swingin' meat and a bucket of balls Very, very funny. Superb animation and characterization make this one of the year's best! 5 stars
12/01/98 buddy This film erased the headache I had from watching Antz a few weeks earlier. 5 stars
12/01/98 Jerry Greatest animated film ever made. Makes Antz look like shit hanging off Katzenbergs asshole 5 stars
11/30/98 Kirgo For kids. Good but not as inventive as Antz. 4 stars
11/30/98 Michele "Flik" Lefkowitz Yeah!! BUG'S LIFE Kicks ASS!!! 5 stars
11/30/98 The Dude The motherfucking movies kick so much ass 5 stars
11/30/98 N. Hananoki The more times you view it the more you'll love it! Abundant fun & genius! 5 stars
11/29/98 Lindsay Very funny. Good film. Best part was the outtakes at the end. 5 stars
11/29/98 Ann Rogers Just an amazing film!!! 5 stars
11/27/98 Lord Of The Dunce Sensational movie. Leaves Antz looking pale. Or brown. 5 stars
11/26/98 Freyja Yeah...yeah...,YEAH!!!! It rocks! 5 stars
11/25/98 Jenni Ware absolutely lively and amazing , a masterpiece for sure... 5 stars
11/25/98 Katsat Funny, sweet, visually stunning. Slightly uneven but full of energy, delight. 5 stars
11/25/98 Louis Munro The visuals are excellent. Plenty of humor. A bit pastel. Better voices than in Antz. 5 stars
11/25/98 Bryan Bird ballot stuffing aside, it's a great film 5 stars
11/25/98 Andrew Kinney Un-fucking-believeable 5 stars
11/21/98 Baked Spam awesome, totally awesome. By far the best looking animated film of all time! 5 stars
11/17/98 Leticia Romero Toy Story was crap compared to this!! Kurosawa would have been pleased!! 5 stars
11/15/98 Manstruate A spectacular movie! Dave Foley is superb as Flik! Newman's score is stirring & beautiful! 5 stars
11/15/98 Martin Ransfield Incredibly funny, amazing visuals, great characters. Absolutely not just for kids. 5 stars
11/15/98 Kleckboy Yay Dave Foley. Yay Denis Leary. Yay other voice talents. 5 stars
11/15/98 Mr. Scream I'm gonna see the hell out of this flick. 5 stars
11/15/98 Josh Luttenberger ANTZ kicks ass to this movie that only a three year old would find funny. 1 stars
11/05/98 Andrew Gould This movie is spectacularly entertaining. 5 stars
11/02/98 Simon DeBolivar Incredible 5 stars
10/24/98 Lord Of The Dunce A great god damn movie. NOT a kiddie film. 5 stars
10/22/98 James Humberdink Friekin Killer!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/19/98 Dark Horizons Visually speaking at least, this film was absolutely awesome to look at, at least. 4 stars
10/03/98 spork-girl Pixar rules. Bah to Woody Allen. Save your 7.50 for this one. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Nov-1998 (G)
  DVD: 27-May-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  03-Dec-1998 (G)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast