Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.65

Awesome78.62%
Worth A Look: 12.41%
Just Average: 6.21%
Pretty Crappy: 0.69%
Sucks: 2.07%

9 reviews, 91 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Stan & Ollie by Jay Seaver

Inuyashiki by Jay Seaver

Glass (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Destroyer by Jay Seaver

Replicas by Jay Seaver

Modest Heroes by Jay Seaver

House That Jack Built, The (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Rider, The by Jay Seaver

Witch in the Window, The by Jay Seaver

Dark Money by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Iron Giant, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by RottenZ

"Fuck you, Ameircan movie going public. No, seriously. Fuck you."
5 stars

I understand that a reviewer's job is to review a film and focus solely on its content, but for now, fuck that. I'm so pissed off that people are going to ignore this movie that right now, you can toss all of that "proper criticism etiquette" out of the window. And yes, I do notice the vague irony of heavy swearing in a review of a childrens movie.

This is the movie that should have been for this generation what so many defining films were for us. Every twenty-thirty something has a special place in our hearts for those certain films of their youth. For me and my friends it was such gems as The Goonies and The Secret of Nimh. The Iron Giant should be one of those films, only in this case, I believe that this movie is better than the above mentioned films.

But what's the point of reviewing it? None of you went to see it, anyway...

Warner Brothers is partially to blame. Their marketing from the film should be taught in film schools as how NOT to sell a movie. Everything from underhyping the movie to using the Scorpions in the background of the trailer. The Dubba-Dubba-Dubba Ewe Bee seemed to want to do whatever they could to make sure this movie was absolutely buried. Predictably, it was dead in the water this weekend.

So what's the point of me reviewing it? None of you are going to go see it, anyway...

Here's the point. If you have a soul, go see this movie. If you still have a part of you that's a kid, go see this movie. If the idea of ever having your own giant robot has ever, at any point in your life, appealed to you, go see this movie. If you are living, go see this god damned awesome film. Really. Really! Its that good. There's really nothing wrong with it. The dynamics of the movie are perfect on almost every level. The animation is beautiful, the script is clever and deep enough for both adults and children, and there are surprises aplenty through-out. It's smart, funny, exciting, and ultimately, touching and poigniant. Essentially, it's EVERY GOD DAMNED THING THAT PARENTS HAVE DEMANDED IN A FAMILY MOVIE!!!! And no one's going to see it.

So go see The Iron Giant. If you don't like it, then you're clearly soulless. But if YOU don't see it, along with everyone else, then I don't EVER want to hear ANYONE bitching about the fact that there are no good movies for families anymore. That includes YOU, Michael Medved. ESPECIALLY you. This is a movie that I will watch proudly with my children, over and over, if I ever have any. You should, too.

But you won't. No one will. Fuck you, America.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1791&reviewer=134
originally posted: 08/11/99 06:10:10
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2015 Boston SciFi Film Festival For more in the 2015 Boston Sci-Fi Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

3/24/18 morris campbell very good i liked it alot 4 stars
10/03/15 WALTER THE ANIMATION REMINDS ME OF OLIVER AND COMPANY. 5 stars
4/13/15 jokerass lol 1 stars
12/04/13 Reiska Heart the size of a universe, top of the world-class cartoon. 5 stars
2/19/11 Ark Great stuff! Saw it on HBO! Very satisfying, don't know why didn't do better at theaters! 5 stars
8/22/08 Little Buddy The Iron Giant combines the joy of SNOW WHITE,PINOCCHIO and FANTASIA. 5 stars
5/18/08 PAUL SHORTT A SOLIDLY BUILT, FUNNY AND ENTERTAINING FILM FOR KIDS OF ALL AGES 4 stars
3/21/08 Pamela White cute movie but preachy pacifistic 4 stars
12/06/06 Browncoat "Souls don't die."Very true.This movie shouldn't either.dn 5 stars
11/11/06 J This movie should have been a blockbuster. 5 stars
6/11/06 Dave Webber Brad Bird is a genius! 5 stars
5/31/06 William Goss What a truly terrific film. 5 stars
8/27/05 D Buckley Great. Seriously. 5 stars
8/25/05 ES This movie is as great as the incredibles, love it 5 stars
6/23/05 John Aster Habig Very overlooked Why are great animated features always overshadowed by Disney Crap 5 stars
1/31/05 clinger26 THe best 5 stars
12/17/04 Theresa Wagner great for kids and adults 4 stars
12/06/04 Robbin Mattingly This movie should and will be a classic 5 stars
12/05/04 Jimmy Kustes I've been waiting to pick up the special edition 5 stars
12/04/04 Kristina Williams the only decent work by Mr. Vin Diesel 5 stars
11/26/04 sbpat21 brilliant 5 stars
11/15/04 Dunce Totally schools typical Disney garbage - the animated film I waited my whole life for! 5 stars
9/17/04 Naka Wonderful, one of the best animated films of the 90s. 5 stars
9/14/04 tatum Fantastic, truly wonderful 5 stars
5/14/04 Sean Scanlan Great, but no Toy Story 2 4 stars
4/04/04 Durin's Bane Superb film! Should have been a blockbuster! 5 stars
11/29/03 *A Monotonous Creton who loves Tom Hulce* amazing. luv connick jr. 5 stars
5/31/03 Jon Lyrik One incredible film. 5 stars
4/24/03 Jack Sommersby Fuck that bland, gutless Disney shit. This is the real thing! 5 stars
2/11/03 T. Long The Iron Giant is without a doubt the best movie I ever see. Period 5 stars
11/29/02 R.W. Welch Okay sci-fantasy, but you have the feeling you've seen all this before somewhere. 3 stars
11/29/02 Goofy Maxwell A pacifist packing serious heat? Yeah, but Bot got soul. He's a lover, not a hater. 5 stars
9/05/02 Monster W. Kung The kid was a little annoying, but the story was just very, very good; great ending. 4 stars
5/10/02 Lorena Bain Uhh...I've never seen it before but I think its good cos it has Eli in it!!! 5 stars
4/14/02 WolfTracker great keep a box of tissues handy though 5 stars
3/27/02 eedah !@#$%^&* 5 stars
3/11/02 The $1.98 Pyramid This movie made me wanting to be a kid again. 5 stars
3/11/02 Cat A beautiful cartoon! haven't cried at a cartoon in a very long time 4 stars
1/24/02 Andrew Carden Good Story, but The Movie Is Taken To A Bad Level When Violence Occurs. 3 stars
12/10/01 Jim "The Iron Giant" out-Supermans Superman 5 stars
9/04/01 Butterbean Surprisingly brilliant animated film! A tear jerker that deserves attention. 5 stars
6/22/01 Marijan Srdic Billy Bob,you're a fucking homo! I guess some idiots just dont get it... Kick-ass movie! 5 stars
4/30/01 Steph Williams SUPERMAN!!!! This is a heart warming, beautiful film. It appeals to adults as well as kids! 5 stars
4/24/01 Billy Bob the person who made this sight is a homo 1 stars
3/12/01 Jon Cotleur This movie made me cry. Not water, CRY. Alas, it will forever be lost to the masses... 5 stars
3/11/01 james "bite me" womack this is the first animated movie that made me cry since charlottes web. superman indeed 5 stars
2/16/01 Jason I love this film :) 5 stars
12/15/00 viking Contains the element of innovation lacking in most recent Disney features 5 stars
11/24/00 The Evil Penguin Looks more like "King Kong" 3 stars
9/25/00 Jed Ignore H'Wood Bigshot this is a good reason why most PG-rated animated films rule! 5 stars
9/07/00 Richard Wright A masterpiece of storytelling, emotion, humour and animation. Wonderful, intelligent film. 5 stars
7/29/00 Marilyn Joel's mom Best animated film in constant rotation at the video kidplex! 5 stars
7/28/00 Jinx H'wood bigshot: the Giant wasn't Russian. Excellent poignant film. Disney, take THIS lesson 5 stars
6/29/00 Naushad Khanji Good not gteat.Brisk pacing only in last 15 minutes. 4 stars
6/07/00 JC Better than most disney animated films 5 stars
5/18/00 The Hunter good 5 stars
5/12/00 Will a touching, excellent lil' movie 5 stars
5/02/00 H'wood bigshot I figured it out! America: Bad..U.S.S.R.: Good. Which one's still around? 1 stars
5/02/00 bullit17 Very unfortunate it was poorly marketed, because everyone should see this one 5 stars
5/01/00 master.node May be the best animated feature of all time. 5 stars
4/21/00 Mic Absolutely brilliant. Damn Warner Bros for not marketing it for what it's worth. 5 stars
12/21/99 Jonathan Although only loosely based upon the book it still expouses the same worthy ideals. 5 stars
12/18/99 Rino@ He@rtilly Great Movie. Teaches about moral values 5 stars
11/24/99 Manos2weapon Joe Schmoe has said it all! (Among the others that give this a Awesome rating) 5 stars
11/20/99 Amy Brilliant, underrated movie. One of my favorites of the year. 5 stars
11/16/99 Buck 2K Makes you feel like Superman. 5 stars
11/15/99 Adam A masterpiece. Don't look this one over just because its not Disney Academy members. 5 stars
10/13/99 Lame-Oh This is not Disney. EXCELLENT! 5 stars
10/09/99 Viral Messiah Whoever hates this is a friggin' moron! A must see for any age! 5 stars
10/03/99 Joe Schmoe Pg rated cartoons rule! 5 stars
9/29/99 Orgazmo Totally mediocre storytelling with flat jokes 2 stars
9/27/99 Slurpee_E The best movie of the year. 5 stars
9/24/99 Matthew Briggs warner brothers suddenly forgot how to sell a movie--no reason to stay away 5 stars
9/19/99 Weird Andy Kiddie flicks don't ALWAYS suck. 5 stars
9/19/99 Admiral Crunch A brilliant masterpiece! 5 stars
9/12/99 Mr Showbiz Beautifully, lucidly captures the adventurousness of childhood. 5 stars
9/08/99 martin excellent for anyone of any age 5 stars
8/25/99 Baked Spam yet again cal arts has churned out another top notch director. 5 stars
8/20/99 Ah Dooey Awesome, this cartoon kills Doug's First Movie. Suck on this, Disney! 5 stars
8/18/99 Tree Entertaining, Iron Giants Stomps Tarzan 4 stars
8/17/99 William Ansley See this movie, no matter what your age! 5 stars
8/16/99 danimal this movie is one of the best animated films i have ever seen, bar none! 5 stars
8/15/99 Kenyata "Tarzan" is not the best animated film of the summer....not even close. 5 stars
8/15/99 Noreen Sweet, clever, fun, though not the Masterpiece I was expecting 4 stars
8/15/99 mason godlike soundtrack , tastefull animation , moving story , best film of the year hands down 5 stars
8/12/99 ProfJim Animated, shanimated, this is a touching, clever film that EVERYONE should see! 5 stars
8/11/99 Kevin Beautiful, amazing movie for all ages. See it while you can. 5 stars
8/10/99 Nornus Incredible film, best of the year. 5 stars
8/04/99 Goofus A great flick. Not your usual kiddie-driven animated flick. A must-see. 5 stars
8/03/99 Raj Nice animated film has great message and no sappy, lame-ass songs! 4 stars
8/02/99 The Graduate Surprisingly mature, and the Giant kicks ass! I want one of my own! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  04-Aug-1999 (PG)
  DVD: 16-Nov-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-Apr-2000 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast