Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.9

Awesome: 21.67%
Worth A Look: 20.83%
Just Average: 12.5%
Pretty Crappy: 15.83%
Sucks29.17%

7 reviews, 78 user ratings



Little Nicky
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jason Whyte

"Sandler's Funeral."
1 stars

"Little Nicky" is an offensive, dry, unfunny and just plain deathly comedy. I am not being sarcastic. This movie is pure torture in so many ways. I'm amazed that the filmmakers here ever went to post-secondary school with awful cinematography, editing, transitions and a cheap, straight-to-video look. What's worse, these guys don't even seem to make the viewer laugh, which is at least one thing I would expect after everything else fails.

I couldn't even chuckle once; viewing this in a deserted theater (so much so that I got up a few times and walked around the back rows and would have walked OUT if not staying to see another movie), there were no laughs to be had by any of the 8 people for the cheap tuesday night show. The theater could have been at 350-seat capacity, and I'm sure it would have garnered the same response (or depending on IQ, it could have been the opposite. Sad.)

So here we have Adam Sandler, who needs to hire a new agent. He plays the title character Nicky, a devil's son who is enlisted to go up to earth and stop two of his brothers who are on a rampage up there. Nicky's father (Harvey Keitel, who must have lost a bet) is decomposing, which quickly makes Nicky heads on up there and then falls for a dim-witted woman (Patricia Arquette) who doesn't seem to react to ANYTHING that Nicky does, nor does his roomate, or the drugged up friends who show up somewhere for no reason; heck, no one reacts to a talking bulldog.

No one reacts to ANYTHING in this movie! The only person reacting is me; banging my head against the seat, which didn't help as the film plodded along with Nicky hardly trying to get his brothers into a little metal flask that will seal up the crazy brothers.

Director Paul Thomas Anderson, the much celebrated director of "Magnolia" and "Boogie Nights" has Adam Sandler lined up for his next comedic film. I sure hope Anderson doesn't see this film, or perhaps he should..who knows. I'm sure he could direct Sandler a little better than THIS...hopefully he will bring back his funny character from "Happy Gilmore", which is the only one I like to date.

This is not a review. It is a public service message to avoid "Little Nicky" at all costs. The ignorant will respond with a "Now I HAVE to see this movie if Jason says it is so bad!", it's happened before. It will be even sadder to society if they come out and LIKE it!

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1792&reviewer=350
originally posted: 07/08/04 23:51:24
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/08/17 Louise (the actual one) The trailer alone was enough to make me think: AVOID. 1 stars
3/01/14 matthew thompson dalldorf Funny...on occasion. 2 stars
12/21/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess Great cast, if only it had some good gags to go along with it 2 stars
9/07/09 art THIS MOVIE IS SICK! 1 stars
3/02/09 Samantha Pruitt pretty funny, but i always love Adam! 4 stars
11/30/08 solo if u didnt enjoy this movie u got no sense and no humor, and no sense of humor. 4 stars
2/08/07 Raph Branca This film has a bad rap but it is actually quite enjoyable. 4 stars
7/07/06 NS I watched it on TBS at 3:00 AM, it was funny. 3 stars
5/01/06 Anthony Feor The movie is funny the first time, after that, you're asleep 1 stars
3/04/06 matt Oh come on! this movie was funny 5 stars
2/26/06 Steven Lewis dark humor is always fun. 4 stars
8/11/05 ES little nicky=a let down and garbage 1 stars
6/19/05 R Adam Sandler says, "Wow, you'll watch anything!" 1 stars
5/24/05 The shizz "popeye's chicken is the shizznet" funniest line ever said. I cried 5 stars
4/25/05 E-FUNK People who enjoy this disease-on-film should not be allowed to procreate. 1 stars
3/29/05 Lyn i didnt stop laughing 5 stars
2/21/05 Dan Funny as hell, lmao. 5 stars
1/27/05 Jack Scallops Funny as hell 3 stars
9/27/04 Archanist_101 "It's Ozzy!" "HOLY SHIT!" 5 stars
7/23/04 Sandy Turynowicz funny 4 stars
7/19/04 godan what were you thinking... bleh 1 stars
5/28/04 J OUTRAGESLY and OBNOXIOUSLY FUNNY!!! *** 1/2 out of 4 5 stars
4/19/04 LIAM JACKSON this was funny. anyone who doesn't like it has no sense of humour 5 stars
3/20/04 Jack-pyschO-Lantern FUNNY AS... Well you get the picture. 5 stars
8/15/03 bit this is a pretty funny movie,worth renting,adam sandler is as funny as hell 4 stars
8/02/03 Double G bad movie, Reese Witherspoon SUCKS!!! 1 stars
7/04/03 T3 Ozzy O's scene ruled, the bat, its Ozzy....that was the high point of the movie 3 stars
5/21/03 fartzrgood movie aint funny. sandler aint funny. Fartz are funny. 1 stars
5/11/03 Jareth Reese Witherspoon is so bad, she makes Liz Hurley look like the next Audrey Hepburn. 1 stars
4/11/03 Jack Sommersby Lots of ideas, not one of them funny. Damn near unwatchable. 1 stars
3/26/03 Tim Baker IT Was Funny 5 stars
3/16/03 Peter This movie just sucked... only funny thing is Sandler's accent here... 1 stars
2/21/03 Jon nothing spectacular 4 stars
2/16/03 Lee WORST...COMEDY...EVERRRR! 1 stars
1/05/03 Kyle Ugh.... just.... ugh.... 2 stars
11/08/02 Michael Bolton This movie is terrible, adam sandler sucks 1 stars
7/30/02 KMG USUAL SANDLER SHIT 1 stars
7/01/02 hghjhjhjghhj Clerks and Monty Python are real comedies. This is comedy for morons. 1 stars
5/15/02 vixenJ Oh my god!lesson to parents do not let your kids see this!Adrian is DD handsome ! 5 stars
3/17/02 Butterbean This was an okay flick. Not as bad as critics say 4 stars
3/07/02 Liza Blashkey this movie is so fucken cool! u should make a l.n #2 5 stars
2/08/02 Valerie Cameron Tied with BILLY MADISON for Adam Sandler's best chick flick 5 stars
1/09/02 auroradae adam sandlers finest masterpiece, truly under appreciated 5 stars
1/01/02 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Good calls, Jeremy! All of Adam Sandler's movies kick ass. He hasn't and never will flop! 4 stars
11/25/01 Will Diamond Poop... but funny poop 3 stars
11/11/01 P.Rodriguez SHITE! 1 stars
11/07/01 Hum its an adam sandler movie. its pretty much what you would expect 2 stars
9/25/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! He's from the south, the deep south. Sandler will make you piss yourself laughing!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/07/01 darrin perrone what load of shit.Adam Sander what were u thinking.Totally shit 1 stars
8/18/01 LawHog24 Better than I expected, but that isn't saying a whole lot. Even so, Sandler's best, I think 4 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk I would like to beat the shit out of everyone involved in making this cluster-fuck. 1 stars
8/06/01 Mr. Hat Not bad. Adam Sandler, the dog, that one guy, and Quentin Tarantino R cool. 4 stars
7/26/01 Denz :) 5 stars
7/23/01 Monday Morning This makes "Water Boy" seem intelligent. 1 stars
7/22/01 D.R. Funny, but no Waterboy or Wedding Singer, not even Big Daddy 4 stars
7/03/01 Piz Certainly not the funniest Sandler film, but some parts had me rolling. 3 stars
6/24/01 Tzila Seewald It's so funny movie! Adam Rocks! 5 stars
6/06/01 King Jackass Strictly for die-hard Sandler fans. But I'm a die-hard Sandler fan, so THIS MOVIE RULES! 5 stars
6/04/01 Peter Brook What a pitiful, hopeless attempt at humour. Sandler is the most irritating actor EVER. 1 stars
5/03/01 roby lafon another adam sandler good 5 stars
2/02/01 cami Fisher soooooo FUNNY!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/11/01 Matt69 Adam Sandler is so fucking annoying. 2 stars
12/22/00 Viking To hell with this baloney !!! 2 stars
12/10/00 bobby sucks 1 stars
12/07/00 Robynn hilarious 5 stars
12/03/00 Sarah eh . . . 3 stars
11/22/00 A.K. You have to be retarded to like this movie. I have no idea why people like this. 1 stars
11/21/00 Bill Neal I'm drunk!! Pass the JD!! I've got an erection...come here Joanne!! 1 stars
11/19/00 Finity this movie was boring and stupid and had very few funny scenes 2 stars
11/17/00 The Bomb 69 not bad but Sandler seems to be getting progressively worse with each movie 4 stars
11/17/00 Edward A Leonard Split on this one, yes plot sucks, but some funny weed jokes, if you liked, see Half-Baked. 3 stars
11/16/00 Johnny Figaro Desperately unfunny. Among the year's worst in a year with lots of bad movies 1 stars
11/15/00 Heather Adam Sandler gets $20m, you get a shitty movie 1 stars
11/13/00 bee Least funny Adam Sandler voice yet. Jokes get old quick. 1 stars
11/12/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Satan once again has the last laugh. SUCKERS 1 stars
11/12/00 Gray Another shit Adam Sandler vehicle. Better than Big Daddy, but shitter than Waterboy. 1 stars
11/12/00 Stuntman shit on theaters, good when it gets released on video and DVD 3 stars
11/11/00 Greyjack A few laughs, but not that many. Go rent The Waterboy instead; wait for Nicky to hit video 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Nov-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Dec-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast