Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.72

Awesome: 19.81%
Worth A Look48.11%
Just Average: 18.87%
Pretty Crappy: 10.38%
Sucks: 2.83%

8 reviews, 58 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Mask of Zorro, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Holy crap! This movie DIDN'T suck!"
4 stars

Will someone please send me all the 8x10 glossies they have of Catherine Zeta Jones? Thank you.

Going in to all the summer movies I saw, I expected this one to suck the most. I was pleasantly surprised.

It's a decent flick, kind of a high-adventure-type deal in the vein of the Indiana Jones series. Zorro is one of the most recognizable (and one of the most often portrayed) characters in almost any media, and it was interesting to see how badly it would be screwed up if given a 90's spin.

It wasn't.

It's old Mexico. And while there are elements of humor, it's not pop culture references left and right. It's got swordplay, for cryin' out loud. How many movies give you elegantly choreographed swordplay in place of crappy CGI effects? Not very many. It's a welcome change of pace.

I had my doubts about Banderas. I haven't liked a lot of his previous work, and to be honest, he's often times hard to understand with that thick accent of his. But he surprised me. He's got the panache, the charisma, to pull off what is probably the best role of his career. What's more, he's got incredible chemistry with Catherine Zeta Jones. It's nice to have two leads that can simmer on screen, rather than be like a couple of mannequins (take note Fiennes and Thurman). Chemistry is vital as Zeta Jones falls for the man behind the mask. It works.

And finally, Anthony Hopkins. I've said it before, and I'll say it again. He could read the phonebook aloud and I'd find it riveting.

What's bad? The second villain. The American captain (whose name escapes me) just isn't sinister enough. Granted, while Hopkins chases his old nemesis around, the new Zorro DOES need something to do, but the bad guy, in this case, isn't really a bad enough guy.

On the whole, though, The Mask Of Zorro is a good flick, especially for the family. The violence isn't gory, the sex appeal is all smoldering looks and passionate kissing, and there's nary a swear word to be found. And Catherine Zeta Jones is a hottie.

Yes, Antonio, with this we forgive you for "Two Much." But not "Assassins."

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=18&reviewer=7
originally posted: 08/19/98 23:57:20
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/11/09 Slapper Stinking suck-fest..! 1 stars
5/21/08 PAUL SHORTT A ZESTFUL REVIVAL OF THE SWASHBUCKLER FILM THAT CARVES A MARK IN YOUR CONSCIOUSNESS 4 stars
10/04/06 R.W.Welch Borderline brilliant at times. Could have been tighter. 4 stars
6/21/06 TB Hopkins was the only one, who was the best Zorro 3 stars
5/18/06 chienne Loved it. Harmless fun 4 a story we all know 5 stars
4/20/06 Becky I liked it quite a bit. Banderas kicks ass and looks good doing it. Same for Zeta-Jones 4 stars
2/14/06 ES Suckiedy, suck, suck. Suckiedy, suck, suck, look at Zorro blow 1 stars
11/25/05 Estefilla yay 5 stars
10/15/05 Quigley banderas and hopkins are awesome as usual, but they can't save this really dull film 3 stars
10/06/05 Wisamane Fucking "A" 5 stars
11/03/04 John a slick package and entertains in parts but in the end feels very uninspired 3 stars
9/30/04 Aaron Smith Quite fun, Hopkins, Zeta-Jones, and Banderas are charming. 4 stars
9/04/04 DM Zorro 4 stars
8/18/04 courtney banderas will still the hart of every woman that watches it 5 stars
5/13/04 Agent Sands A overall great burrito western. 5 stars
12/08/03 Samuel Great action movie, Strong performances, a very good movie!! 5 stars
10/10/03 SuperBarbie2003 This is a fantastic movie. Definately worth a look!!! 5 stars
3/26/03 Jen I liked this movie, but the sword fight scene in the barn was just totally unnecessary. 4 stars
10/16/02 Charles Tatum Very good action 5 stars
7/20/02 KMG Interesting: all three leads are sexy and the colors are vibrant...OLE! 4 stars
7/10/02 Frances not to be watched more than twice but a good story, banderas is nice apart frm the afro 5 stars
4/03/02 cat This movie was the highlight of my high school career. CZJ turned ordinary extraordinary! 5 stars
1/11/02 Faith Benz The MOST AMAZING FILM ever to be created in this world! and Banderas is stunning! 5 stars
11/29/01 Andrew Carden Movie That Even Zeta-Jones Can't Help. Fair Scripts and Acting. 2 stars
10/26/01 Connoisseur typical big Hollywood production-- too overblown and not as exciting as old swashbucklers 3 stars
8/06/01 Mr. Hat Zorro is no gay blade. 5 stars
5/28/01 cinkcool Good Movie. 4 stars
11/28/00 The Evil Penguin a lot of action scenes, but a lot of plot holes. 4 stars
8/10/00 Terrie Smith Pretty good actioner; Zeta-Jones brightens up the screen. 4 stars
6/23/00 Naushad Khanji Not Swashbuckling enough.Tepid story.Where is Richard Lester?. 2 stars
2/09/00 Richard Wright Decent swashbuckler with well choreographed sword fights and a refreshing sense of humour. 4 stars
1/17/00 Dirk Diggler very good movie 5 stars
1/13/00 henry hill a very well done and entertaining film 5 stars
10/26/99 Katherine Catherine Zeta and Antonio Banderas are just great in this movie! NICEcouple 5 stars
8/11/99 Merry It 2 stars
7/26/99 Eric Entertaining in the first half, but gets boring and repetitive in the second half. 2 stars
7/07/99 Scott Predictable, but Catherine is dreamy. *sigh* 4 stars
6/03/99 Matthew Bartley Catherine Zeta, Catherine Zeta, Catherine Zeta... 4 stars
4/23/99 lucas jackson Matilda,funny,exciting,action packed and full of thrills,the best part made for all ages 5 stars
4/03/99 Albert CZJ makes the tip of my sword quiver. Strange, so does Banderas. Hmmm... 5 stars
1/10/99 Diogenesnutz Not terribly innovative, but a lot of fun. 4 stars
1/08/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! A dull action movie!,Hopkins looks lost,Banderas LOVES himself alot & Zeta-jones is sexy!! 3 stars
1/06/99 famillier The Spanish babe (no, not Antonio!) makes it worth the ticket. 5 stars
12/31/98 Lindsay Had it's moments, but all in all, just average. 3 stars
12/30/98 JDC It's about time we had high adventure without corniness. Zorro delivers. 4 stars
12/29/98 Jules Entertaining but tiresome as well. Just too much rediculousness. 3 stars
12/28/98 Lucy B. Not that original but surprisingly entertaining. Worth seeing for Hopkins performance alone 4 stars
11/30/98 Kirgo why could zeta-jones character not understand SPANISH???? 4 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Cath Zeta-Jones should be the next Lara Croft. She is just awesome in this film. Good film 5 stars
10/17/98 Sailor Moon Ate My Balls Doesn't suck much, well worth it. 4 stars
9/30/98 katherine i got dragged to see it, and im glad i didnt refuse! this is 1 action movie that i like! 5 stars
9/25/98 B.O.B Could have been better - ALOT better! 2 stars
9/14/98 Negative Creep Like Dark Knight Returns, only not as good. Anthony Hopkins was nifty as the old Zorro. 3 stars
9/13/98 Chip Taylor BAD LEAD ACTOR AND THE ONLY FIGHT HE'S PUTTING UP IS AGAINST THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE. TOO BAD. 1 stars
9/03/98 Badass i liked it when I saw it. But now I'm having trouble remembering it. 4 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Really, really enjoyable. Really. 5 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet A good movie. Forget Hopkins' awful make-up early on. Zeta-Jones is luscious. 4 stars
8/12/98 {{OZ}} Didn't suck much at all. Surprisingly enjoyable 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Jul-1998 (PG-13)
  DVD: 18-Oct-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Dec-1998 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast