Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.31

Awesome: 5.11%
Worth A Look: 16.06%
Just Average: 18.98%
Pretty Crappy: 24.09%
Sucks35.77%

4 reviews, 113 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Psycho (1998)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"You Can Do a Lot Worse Than This Remake"
3 stars

Psycho (1998) (** Ĺ) - I thought Iíd be the last person to jump on the bandwagon of this film. I feel I have to fully justify my 2 1/2-star rating or Iíll be stoned by the film freaks of the world and Jesus wonít be there to stop it. So let me explain and hold on to your stones.

This film shouldnít have been made. Iíve said that since I first read the article in Variety earlier this year. And I still say it. That being said - you could do worse things with your moviegoing time than see this remake. Itís not like A Perfect Murder (which I liked) or even Christopher Reeveís mediocre Rear Window remake. Those films tried different versions of the basic stories. Since this is a virtual shot-by-shot, line-by-line remake of the original masterpiece, itís like watching a new version of a Shakespeare play. Think about it. Already in the 90ís weíve had two versions of Hamlet. Basically youíre watching the actors act out a classic story. And theyíre not bad overall. I had reservations about Anne Hecheís performance early on until she starts having the long conversation with Norman Bates. Janet Leigh gets the nod here. Iím also not a big Viggo Mortensen fan and he seems to switch from stud to hick to tough guy too often. John Gavinís performance made the final scenes in the original more effective. However, Julianne Moore does another great turn as the sister and she was a total pleasure to watch. I also thought the always-entertaining William H. Macy was right-on as the private eye. Martin Balsamís performance in the original was great and Macy is up to the challenge. That leaves the granddaddy of the filmís roles, Norman Bates. Vince Vaughn Iíd have to say - pulls off the role as best he could. Itís almost impossible to top the original Anthony Perkins performance, but Vaughn does a nice job bringing a level of credibility to the film. (Note: My stupid-ass screenwriting teacher while watching a clip from Psycho said - ďPerkins really was a bad actor, wasnít he?Ē After watching the original again a few hours before the remake, I think she should be shot. Then again she thinks Switchback is a great thriller.) Anyway, the film is not without error. One stand-out mistake almost drags the film down under for good. That mistake involves the ďpeeping tomĒ sequence. Letís just say, that what was implied before is no longer implied now - sound effects and all. It gets an unintentional laugh from the crowd twice (the second time when Bates covers his mouth after the shower scene and slowly moves his fingers away from his face) and the film is lucky to recover. We also didnít need to see Viggoís ass in the first scene. I know that shot wasnít in the original. And the shower scene isnít all successful either. Itís about half right. The slow motion opening revelation of the pulled curtain is unneeded. Neither is the final spread-eagle shot as she falls out of the shower. Regardless these are mistakes. Why didnít Universal shoot the exterior Bates House stuff on the original set at Universal studios. The new house isnít as menacing. I also miss the original Bates sign. Why are they mistakes? Because they are unnecessarily added shots. But I did enjoy the film on a certain level - primarily because they are doing a true remake of the film. They didnít try to improve (too much) on the original film which is a near-perfect masterpiece of suspense and storytelling. The pacing and music are all the same.

Maybe this film will get the younger ones who enjoy the recent barrage of crappy slasher films to know what real suspense and storytelling can be about. Maybe itíll get them to watch the original film. People were screaming during the appropriate shock scenes and perhaps thatís a good sign. I havenít heard screaming in the theater in a long time. Bottom line: The film shouldnít have been made. But Iíll watch it 100 times before I see any of the other crappy movies Iíve talked about before. So, please, put your stones down.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=180&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/16/00 13:08:49
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Horror Remakes: For more in the Horror Remakes series, click here.

User Comments

2/07/17 Louise The most pointless remake ever. Why was it even made?? 1 stars
10/15/15 David Hollingsworth pointless and absolutely forgettable 1 stars
10/08/10 art PSYCHO 2 from 1983 was better than this RETREAD of the 1960 ORIGINAL! 1 stars
3/25/09 Anonymous. psycho is one of the many movies that doesnt require a remake. 2 stars
2/12/08 chris true to the original (good) 4 stars
10/20/07 Rae Nope. Not working for meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee 2 stars
2/18/07 Nick Maday Not the best remake out there. 3 stars
1/26/07 action movie fan lame pointless remake the original is and will always be the best 2 stars
11/30/06 David Pollastrini why not just colorize the original? 4 stars
9/24/06 DK i enjoyed it, mind i never saw the original 4 stars
7/10/06 David Cohen Van Sant's lesson in humility, pity he didn't learn anything 2 stars
12/02/05 cody a poor remake but like the original one, but actors and directing suck bad! 2 stars
11/19/04 screb viggos ass was the only decent thing in it 2 stars
8/16/04 sally anne mchugh it was brilliant vince rocks i hope he brings more movies like that out 5 stars
7/31/04 jmsynth Pointless, but the original is so good this is at least enjoyable. 3 stars
7/10/04 chantelle d. this movie wuz ok 3 stars
6/06/04 Ryan Clark Same as the original, save for slightly altered dialogue, but lacks the originality. 2 stars
3/22/04 Trannon Goble How could they?? 2 stars
12/08/03 Samuel Its a shot for shot remake..why does everyone think this sucks, its the same!!! 3 stars
11/27/03 John why? 1 stars
10/09/03 Erik Van Sant Blasphemy! How do you manage to fuck up a shot-for-shot re-make? Watch and learn. CRAP 1 stars
9/30/03 Samuel Justus As the origional! 3 stars
8/11/03 Double G I hated this movie, but its still better than the piece of krap psyco(1960)! I hate both!!! 1 stars
6/18/03 Lush You thought Vanilla Sky and 101 Dalmations was pointless? Just wait till you see this 2 stars
3/24/03 Jack Sommersby Well-photographed but utterly pointless. 2 stars
11/24/02 Kyle Oh, please....... 1 stars
11/02/02 Logan ITS THE SAME FUCKING MOVIE!!! 1 stars
8/15/02 Shaun Something about black and white film that made the first better than this POS 2 stars
4/27/02 Butterbean Both of those films suck, it's just that the original was a novelty. 2 stars
2/11/02 Meryl K. Crap. Crap. Crap. Not even Viggo could've saved this one. 1 stars
1/16/02 David A. The masturbating scene weakened it. The real (1960) Norman was a killer, not a typical teen 3 stars
12/09/01 Cracked head What the hell is this? 1 stars
11/20/01 Chris K. Is Gus Van Saint making any films today? No, and thank God! BAD DIRECTOR! 1 stars
9/29/01 Andrew Carden A Very Scary, Well Done Film. 4 stars
8/06/01 Mr. Hat If U've already seen the original version,U don't need to see this.It's the same damn movie 3 stars
8/05/01 E-Funk I can't believe I share the same last name as the director of this film. Horrible idea. 1 stars
6/06/01 Dean Awful acting, laughable costumes, idiotic remake. May Gus Van Sant burn in hell. 1 stars
4/25/01 Spetters WHY!!!???????!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
4/15/01 Rampage I agree with you, Monster W. Kung! Sucked shit! 1 stars
3/24/01 Monster W. Kung One of the lamest remakes ever. A huge pile of steaming shit. 1 stars
2/14/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Neither honored nor insulted the original. Great cast. 4 stars
11/27/00 Cristopher Revilla i hope that the originator of this shitbag burns in hell and be haunted by hitchcocks curse 1 stars
9/13/00 Ground Zero Get that Van Sant dud off that site! That remake sucked like shit! 1 stars
7/22/00 Tyler Peterson Whoever thought up this horseshit should be drug out into the street and shot. 1 stars
7/17/00 Digitalus Tell that Van Sant dud to sthu (shut the hell up)! This stinks on the classic 1 stars
6/05/00 JonnyA This film didn't need to be made, but Vince is a mufuckin pimp, biznatch. 3 stars
5/28/00 todd ugh 1 stars
5/04/00 TIGGER This shits on the original 1 stars
4/14/00 malcolm not as good as the original but 1000 x better than any scream movie 4 stars
3/08/00 Mr. Kramitall That's not Norman beating off, it's Van Sant. Lowlife killed Psycho. 1 stars
2/05/00 Kyle Broflovski Neither honored nor insulted the original. Really good cast. 5 stars
1/25/00 Chris Whitney I loved it. A neat twist on a classic 5 stars
12/17/99 SID I figured since it was only retreading the original, it couldn't be that bad. Oops. 2 stars
10/19/99 Lame-Oh Worse than The Haunting! Why screw up a perfect classic? 1 stars
8/18/99 Matthew Bartley WHY? 1 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg What's the point of remaking a masterpiece if you're not gonna improve anything? Waste. 2 stars
5/02/99 PJ Note to Hollywood: LEAVE THE FUCKING CLASSICS ALONE FOR CHRIST'S SAKE!!! 1 stars
5/02/99 Oz A sham of a remake and they should be shot for trying, Hitchcock is rolling in his grave 1 stars
4/23/99 gibb it wasen't that bad 3 stars
4/19/99 baps WHAT HAPPENED? See the original 2 stars
4/18/99 jimmy jam Not good 2 stars
4/03/99 Albert Ugh -- "Psycho," starring Peter Pan. 1 stars
3/19/99 Dee Dee That movie was toilet. 1 stars
3/12/99 Joe Schmoe Pretty bad for a remake of a classy movie. 1 stars
3/05/99 Mike Rotch Superfly's review sucks! The movie stunk and Norman was awful. 1 stars
3/04/99 Gary Stevens Is it because of my youth, or am I wrong in saying that this Psycho is just as good? 4 stars
2/24/99 Viral Messiah Worse than the classic. Like this one and you deserve a goddam beating. 1 stars
2/20/99 MR HOLLYWOOD!! Heche & Vaughn give the film a new light,at least Van Sant tried. 3 stars
2/17/99 Bishop Why was this necessary? Not as bad as people say though, Vauhgn's not bad, but not money. 3 stars
2/15/99 Uncle Roy I saw it to hear Norman beat off 1 stars
2/01/99 Jacques Strap Damn Van Sant. He directs crap. 1 stars
1/28/99 James E. Laczkowski There are words to describe my animosity towards this horrid trash!!! 1 stars
1/27/99 Whiplash Who cares about total-net dude? Nobody. This movie is bullshit! 1 stars
1/27/99 Brandi Gilbert sucked 1 stars
1/26/99 Kooky Sal Too bad total-net boy. You're now banned. 3 stars
1/24/99 Chad Touchette Too short of a movie, but it was awesome. 4 stars
1/23/99 MR HOLLYWOOD!! If you havent seen the original,watch this first,great to kill 2 hours with! 4 stars
1/22/99 TB I think they should change the name of this movie too.... "Vince Vaughn... You Devil, You!" 3 stars
1/19/99 Odd Pieman Did he jack off in the original or was that some special edition footage cut from the orig? 2 stars
1/13/99 jvt Van Sant's last 2 movies prove he can screw up even the best source material. 1 stars
1/11/99 Kevin Maynard The original was a classic. This wasn't as good, but still better than a Kevin Williamson. 4 stars
1/11/99 Doug Dogg Master. Bates finished jacking of in about 10 seconds...what a bitch 1 stars
1/11/99 Joe C. It was good but not as great as the original... but it is worth taking a look at. 4 stars
1/11/99 Doug Dogg i come to see anne hesche's muff, i get some dude's hairy ass, fuck you Van sant 1 stars
1/09/99 Heather It was borning 2 stars
1/05/99 E That's not Norman beating off, it's Van Sant. Asshole ruined Psycho. 1 stars
1/03/99 Fartass Worse than the classic version. Like this stupid remake and you oughta get a bitchslap! 1 stars
1/02/99 Negative Creep Hilarious film, if youve seen the original 3 stars
12/30/98 FRED groovy movie baby!!! I did Anne Heche. 5 stars
12/29/98 Bill Hartman A great tribute to Hitchcock! Van Sant does the classic justice. 4 stars
12/25/98 Jennifer Its been said before: never fuck with a classic. I did kinda like the end, though 3 stars
12/23/98 agsmith I kinda liked it.. Is that so wrong? Price I would pay to see this: $4.00 4 stars
12/23/98 Van It was SO great. If you're a Vince fan, you'll wanna see it!! 5 stars
12/23/98 Daddy Rich A replica that is just average 3 stars
12/20/98 Binky Much as you might hate the concept (as I do) on it's own this is a fair film. No classic. 3 stars
12/20/98 Mr Showbiz A worshipfully faithful replica. 4 stars
12/19/98 Tom Ripley Completely falls apart during the parlor scene, and never recovers. 1 stars
12/19/98 Jason Stein Stay WAYYYY the hell away from this piece of crap 1 stars
12/13/98 Zak Mc Graw Psycho '98 was great. It was almost as good as the original, and the original was classic 4 stars
12/12/98 kozmic fresh look , same old story. you won't miss anything 3 stars
12/11/98 Rodger Pille It's certainly not original at all, but it's still a great plot. 3 stars
12/11/98 nathan good 5 stars
12/11/98 Joseph Blow Ars Gratis Ars 5 stars
12/11/98 DrEvil If a filmmaker does not have an original vision, why bother? More wasted money. 1 stars
12/10/98 Mike Mc vaughn was not the right man for this..maybe edward norton? nice try, but no prize 3 stars
12/10/98 Marion Davies Hitchcock would throw up nonstop after seeing this bastardized ripoff of his classy flick! 2 stars
12/09/98 Lord Dennis Oh yeah, young people won't watch a black and white movie. Well, guess what? TOUGH!!! 1 stars
12/07/98 Jumbles Impressive re-creation. Ineffective re-make. 2 stars
12/06/98 Mr Showbiz No tacky rip-off, it's a worshipfully faithful replica of the original. 4 stars
12/05/98 Johny Go rent the original and aviod this piece of crap, please. It gives a good film a bad name. 1 stars
12/05/98 16 in. of swingin' meat and a bucket of balls Hitchcock must be rolling over in his grave. Watch the original and skip this turd film. 1 stars
10/28/98 zenball there's a reason the original is a classic. don't fuck with it 1 stars
8/27/98 Mister Whoopee Awful, awful, awful. This film will die very quickly. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  04-Dec-1998 (R)
  DVD: 24-Aug-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  21-Jan-1999


Directed by
  Gus Van Sant

Written by
  Jospeh Stefano

Cast
  Vince Vaughan
  Anne Heche
  William H. Macy
  Robert Forster
  Viggo Mortenson



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast