Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.56

Awesome: 19.89%
Worth A Look35.8%
Just Average: 28.98%
Pretty Crappy: 10.8%
Sucks: 4.55%

12 reviews, 104 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Pitch Black
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Isobel Sharp

"Always remember to pack the mad killer on interstellar expeditions."
2 stars

Okay, so, first itís like really really sunny? And then, right, itís like reeeealy dark. And then a lot of people die. Did I leave anything out?

A deep space transport vessel, crossing the path of a comet, gets punched full of teeny yet deadly holes, and crashes on an unknown planet. The surviving crew consists of the pragmatic yet spunky Carolyn (Radha Mitchell), who finds herself in charge of a wacky bunch of misfits, including pilgrims on a hadj, prospectors on the search, one antiquities dealer Ė oh, and a mad killer and said killerís keeper. Does Carolyn wish she had managed to jettison these passengers and thereby prevent herself from being marooned with them on this hot, sunny rock? Oh yes indeedy she does.

The killer, however, is having a much better time. Riddick (Vin Diesel) takes advantage of the crash to escape (a couple of times) and lurk menacingly in the background. During one of his stints as a free man, one of the prospectors gets killed Ė was it Riddick? Even better! There are apparently some creepy crawly things living below the ground, who are more than happy to snack on anyone dumb enough to stick their head into their lair. Solution: Stay above ground where itís safe! The critters seem to prefer the dark, and on a planet with three suns, darkness must be a pretty rare commodity. Right?

You can guess by the title that no amount of suns will keep the lights from going out, and the monsters from coming above ground to snack on the hapless passengers. Riddick to the rescue! Well, sort of Ė he alternates between being helpful for obscure reasons, and being deadly for more clear ones, while generally being ominous in a vaguely sexy way. As the group gets pared down to a lonely few, Carolyn forms an tenuous alliance with Riddick to get the survivors off-planet. Does he help? Can Riddick be trusted? And most importantly, who will die the goriest death?

The first half of this film is pretty tedious. We rattle through the characters, set the scene, schlep around in the sun, blah blah blah. But when it gets dark, things suddenly get better Ė dialogue is funnier, action is more action-y Ė and itís even occasionally scary. Because the monsters lurk in the dark, we donít really see them much, but thatís fine Ė they arenít really frightening in and of themselves: itís quantity over quality. The best and creepiest scenes take place in near-darkness, when everythingís scarier because itís not quite visible, but you know itís there.

Dieselís Riddick, once unchained and given something to do, is fun to watch Ė he so clearly cares almost nothing for anyone but himself, and seems sort of amused at the prospect of his companions getting picked off one by one. Why he even bothers to care about them at all is unclear; we do get a bit of Ďoh poor me, I never had a chanceí from him, but heís basically just a bad guy we never really understand. Thatís not Dieselís fault, though, and he really does a fine job with a character that otherwise could be flat and pointless. Mitchellís Carolyn is a bit more nuanced, but not much, and the rest of them play their stereotypes adequately. But then, this is not a film for those seeking snappy dialogue and character development. Some things sneak around, some people die (though not as gruesomely as one might hope), and the effects are fine.

This film is for those who absolutely must see everything Vin Dieselís ever done, or who absolutely must see every horror movie ever made, but thatís about all. In closing: Space is big/Space is dark/Itís hard to find/A place to park./Burma Shave. Words to live by.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1801&reviewer=291
originally posted: 05/11/02 01:00:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2016 Boston SciFi Film Festival For more in the 2016 Boston Sci-Fi Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

10/30/16 morris campbell i dont hate u scott ur right its derivative cool but derivative 4 stars
10/12/13 David H. didn't make sense to me 2 stars
1/31/13 jcar a very good scfi flick with good effects, acting, action, and diesdel kicking butt! 4 stars
1/28/12 hurdygurdy man Plot on thin ice, c'mon frosbitten and didn't cover gloveless hand?? Left me cold. 2 stars
7/23/10 bagwell5 A rip off of Alien, but still well done. Cole Hauser gives a great performance, 5 stars
6/08/10 Harvey Scott Great introduction to the Riddick character. LIked it! 4 stars
8/29/09 CTT Nicely realized sci-fi 4 stars
2/16/09 Samuel NIce aliens(called biorapters) awesome movie 5 stars
1/10/09 PAUL SHORTT NEITHER SCARY NOR EXCITING 1 stars
8/29/08 Shaun Wallner This one was kinda boring. 2 stars
3/01/08 Pamela White Diesel's best movie so far 5 stars
10/12/07 Carlos Vin Diesals best movie hands down... 5 stars
8/10/07 TheRealNapster I loved this Film. It made it into my collection 5 stars
8/08/07 TigerSlap Erik Childress is so full of shit! This movie is great entertainment! 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Fun action thriller, but they could do a bit better than expected. 3 stars
1/17/07 David Pollastrini great action, great gore 5 stars
6/08/06 William Goss Shameless sci-fi rehash that is loads more fun than it has any right to be. 4 stars
3/09/06 Dk A poor mans Alien it never really gets going 2 stars
3/04/06 chris f brilliant film way better that the trashy sequel 5 stars
1/01/06 cody a alien ripoff but a cool scfi action flick with cool characters, but ending stunk 3 stars
12/08/05 JM Synth Mr Diesel's only genuinely good film 4 stars
8/12/05 ES Better than its piece of garbage sequel 4 stars
5/27/05 Jake Great, sci-fi fun 5 stars
12/31/04 Max Without Vin this movie would of bombed! 5 stars
11/13/04 Rachel I love this movie. Great script (for the most part) intensely funny moments, good acting 5 stars
9/03/04 alisha vanmaanen wierd but i was still held captive to the end 3 stars
8/16/04 Herolder Yeah, it's an Alien rip-off, but a good one 5 stars
7/25/04 Vince Totally agree wth Star-Crosser : great cinematography + Vin Diesel. Excellent. 5 stars
6/09/04 Ali Hbous A fine piece of Sci-Fi 4 stars
2/29/04 Star-Crosser The cinematography and Deisel's suprising charisma make it worthwhile. 5 stars
12/08/03 John Bale Like an old Saturday Arvo Serial but the imaginative photography makes it watchable. 3 stars
11/12/03 Twenty-Two YUMMMmmmmmm........ Vin Diesel! 5 stars
11/01/03 American Slasher Goddess Extremely dull clone of Aliens. 1 stars
10/03/03 Timmy Best movie since "Aliens" 5 stars
7/07/03 Shawn Great Movie! Watch it a couple of times and it gets even better. 4 stars
5/27/03 Alana This film is awesome - Vin Diesel's best performance to date& excellent cinematography. 5 stars
5/26/03 mr. Pink An Alien rip-off, which isn't even a good one at that. Really dull! 1 stars
3/23/03 Sugarfoot I need no more proof, when I say that Scott Weinberg is a dumbass. 4 stars
12/30/02 Bob Hardcore Boring commercial crap. 1 stars
11/23/02 Sweetgrrl1972 It's super fun fantastic! Who goes to a movie like this to think anyway? 5 stars
9/22/02 Eloise i enjoyed the blood'n guts, the birdy monsters and Vin, yummeee 5 stars
7/04/02 KMG The little girl looked like Leaf Phoenix when he was in "Space Camp" 3 stars
6/10/02 Zefram Mann What would have been a throwaway flick is made great by the dynamic Diesel's character adds 5 stars
3/02/02 Butterbean Great Movie!!! I'm looking forward to the sequel! 5 stars
2/18/02 Katie Sheppard I loved it!!!! Vin Diesel is sooooooooooo sexy and he plays and awesome killer!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/13/02 Chris Bradford Im a big fan of Vin Diesel 5 stars
1/28/02 Gracy Lionheart Predictable, but fun to watch if you're in the right mood. Better than The Patriot any day. 4 stars
1/26/02 Andrew Carden Pretty Good For A Movie That Was In Theaters For Only 1 Month. 4 stars
12/11/01 Jim Reasonably suspenseful, cool cinematography, nasty aliens, and Radha Mitchell in a tank top 4 stars
10/30/01 Sumixam Not too bad, the creatures aren't overly exciting but a promising flick nevertheless 4 stars
10/03/01 Mark Conway Can i just say this is one of the crapest movies i have ever seen in my life. 1 stars
10/01/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Good! but the ending was unexpected?????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 3 stars
8/13/01 Kitty It's an original movie plus Vin Diesel is in it! 4 stars
8/02/01 KC Au Pretty forgettable flick. Not scary. 3 stars
7/30/01 Robert best sci fi movie ever 5 stars
7/07/01 officer 412/l nice looking sci-fi on a low budget 3 stars
6/20/01 Beth The movie kicks ass Vin Deisel is a major hottie in it 5 stars
6/19/01 jessica ohh Vin, baby 4 stars
6/15/01 M Hatfield Wow! Wot a bod! 5 stars
6/14/01 Elaine Lewis Fucking Awesome 5 stars
6/11/01 ReeRee757 Mmmm...... Vin Diesel. Ay papi. Oh yeah, loved the movie too. 5 stars
5/28/01 Desire' Vin , baby you are sooooo fine!!! 4 stars
4/22/01 TigerDream Cool effects and all but still a crappy story to go with it and very dull 2 stars
2/06/01 Trashstar I liked the colour scheme of the movie, liked the charecters, almost awesome,bad ending. 4 stars
1/06/01 Toni That movie kicked so much ass I loved it! Vin ,baby you are hott! 5 stars
12/08/00 jetcat punchy, tidy script with cool filming style 4 stars
11/20/00 Matthew Bartley Thoroughly enjoyable 4 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin Made Deisel a rising star. 4 stars
11/13/00 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Pointless, derivative, and DULL!! I can't believe people actually dug this. 1 stars
11/12/00 Neil Not a bad movie with good effects and very origional 4 stars
10/17/00 terry c compared to anaconda this one shines 4 stars
6/07/00 Jaime N. Christley Underrated sci-fi actioner; fast, well-made, and SHORT 4 stars
5/31/00 Keiros Shoulda spent an extra coulple of million to make Alien5 2 stars
5/20/00 mellemel BORING! Why did I waste my money! 1 stars
5/19/00 MR joel harwood VERY DRY 4 stars
5/09/00 The worst killer alien movie I think I have ever seen. 1 stars
4/17/00 Brien kidna sucked 3 stars
4/11/00 Dr. Rev. Krule, MD Decent movie, well worth seeing Diesel, good special effects 4 stars
3/24/00 malcolm had some nice shots. too coincidental. Diesel eats up the screen. 3 stars
3/22/00 Adam Fun, that's it. 4 stars
3/20/00 bonedaddy what was with the glow worms 4 stars
3/20/00 El Tigre Turn off you brain and enjoy the ride. Vin is awesome. 4 stars
3/10/00 brentley Very entertaining, but script & FX could have been better. 4 stars
3/09/00 Kyle Broflovski I liked this movie better than it liked me. 4 stars
3/06/00 yankee this movie was tiring. Special effects was all there was. No plot what so ever 2 stars
3/02/00 Michael Thompson Decent fun Sci-Fi Fare 4 stars
2/29/00 PhilmPhreak Any sci fi is better than no sci fi 3 stars
2/29/00 DarkNyt Not as good as I expected, but much better than what it could have been. 4 stars
2/29/00 Captain Highcrime I've seen better; but on the up side, it could have been ALOT worse (Supernova, anyone?) 3 stars
2/25/00 Alyssa What Alien 3 SHOULD have been. Vin Diesel is incredible. 5 stars
2/25/00 Drano Cool as Fuck!! Vin Diesel kicks ass! 4 stars
2/24/00 Crispin Fully disagree with illiterate Erik. This is a well made and paced movie. 5 stars
2/24/00 Cheaps Never, ever complain about Star Wars again ! 3 stars
2/23/00 notspork are you crazy??? vin diesel is a fucking SUPERHUMAN. every female should see this movie. 5 stars
2/23/00 Wyatt Earp Way better than I expected 4 stars
2/22/00 Overflow Bitch Not bad. Expected more. 3 stars
2/22/00 Zensmile A pretty good movie. I thought the creatures were a bit hokey...but great scifi graphics. 4 stars
2/22/00 Kman Either an underfunded A film, or a well done B movie. Well worth seeing if you liked Aliens 4 stars
2/22/00 Louis Pretty good if you're bored on a saturday afternoon. 4 stars
2/21/00 Obi Wan Fucking Phat!!! Vin Diesel ROCKED in this flick. Loved it . ..expected nothing got plenty 5 stars
2/21/00 Judy Alan KICK ASS ACTION AND PRETTY DAMN SCARY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/20/00 majawat could have been much worse 4 stars
2/20/00 Jerck Mehoff awsome 5 stars
2/20/00 Jason Kallelis Nothing special. Aliens with a few new twists. See it matinee if you want a cheap thrill 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Feb-2000 (R)
  DVD: 01-Jun-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  18-May-2000


Directed by
  David N. Twohy

Written by
  David N. Twohy
  Jim Wheat
  Ken Wheat

Cast
  Vin Diesel
  Cole Hauser
  Radha Mitchell
  Ric Anderson
  David Keith



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast