Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.56

Awesome: 19.89%
Worth A Look35.8%
Just Average: 28.98%
Pretty Crappy: 10.8%
Sucks: 4.55%

12 reviews, 104 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Logan Lucky by Peter Sobczynski

Hitman's Bodyguard, The by Peter Sobczynski

Replace by Jay Seaver

Once Upon A Time by Jay Seaver

Taxi Driver, A by Jay Seaver

Good Time by Jay Seaver

Night Watchmen, The by Jay Seaver

Kills on Wheels by Jay Seaver

Le Manoir by Jay Seaver

Wolf Warrior 2 by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Pitch Black
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Gravyboy

"Damn I can't wait to get a Riddick tshirt !!!"
4 stars

Pitch Black is good, hearty, sci-fi fare. It's not perfect by any means, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. Lots of action, cool one liners, a few nice plot twists, and one of the most bad ass characters invented in a long time help to make up for a few plot holes and average FX.

A space transport crash lands on a barren planet with three suns. The survivors initially fear only lack of water and a murderous convict named Riddick, who was being transferred to an outworld "slam" (prison). These fears are soon replaced with the fact that there is something out there, it likes to eat, the light is the only thing keeping it at bay, and there's an eclipse-a-comin'.

Some inventive camera work during the crash scene passably hides what are only average special effects. When I say average, I don't mean you can see wires hanging from the space ship. But in comparison with other CGI pieces made today, there is nothing ground breaking like "The Matrix". It still looks good, but nothing that's going to take your breath away.
Once on the ground, Twohy uses the same visual effect as seen in "Three Kings", but cranks it up to 10. The over exposed, washed out look definately conveys the fact that this planet has three suns and serves to make a stark contrast between the searing daylight early in the movie and the pitch dark that follows later on. I didn't like the aliens at first but they kind of grow on you. Part pterodactyl, part hammerhead shark, part piranha and there you have your killing machine.

From the start of the movie, you can pick out the majority of the characters who are going to be shredded and when the time comes for them to be devoured, you don't really care. I got the impression that Twohy wants us to care, but he never goes deep enough to get us there. He only gives us enough background to explain who people are and how they got to this point but refuses to delve any deeper. Vin Diesel as the convict, Richard B. Riddick, is the only stand out and that is just because he's fed a steady diet of one liners and things to kill. But he is a supreme bad ass in this movie, that can't be denied. Oh, and it just so happens that while in some underground prison, Riddick had a doctor-inmate "polish" his eyes so that none of the other inmates could sneak up behind him and shank him, put things up his butt, or whatever it is inmates do to each other on subterranean, outerspace correctional facilities. As you can guess, this plays a major part later in the movie.

While this movie is drawing tons of " Road Warrior" meets "Aliens" comparisons. The movie I would consider it most similar to is "Deep Blue Sea". As deep as the kiddie pool, nothing redeeming, but plenty of surprises, thrills, and action. If I learned anything from "The Blair Witch Project", it was this; Don't know everything about a movie before you go see it. You will only be let down. If you read about a movie and it sounds good and you're fired up to see it, be patient. Don't dig any deeper than a few spoiler free reviews and let it go at that. One of the most enjoyable theater experiences I had last year, "The Sixth Sense", came about because I knew nothing about it. The only reason I went to see it was because TBWP was sold out. I was totally blown away. That is your lesson for today kiddies.

So to all of you naysayers out there bashing this movie to pieces, you are entitled to your opinion. But I am also entitled to mine and my opinion is go take a running fuck at a rolling donut. Get down off your high horse and come have some fun with the rest of us. As I constantly say, the purpose of going to the movies is to be entertained and this movie is entertaining, nothing more nothing less.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1801&reviewer=196
originally posted: 02/20/00 14:29:05
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2016 Boston SciFi Film Festival For more in the 2016 Boston Sci-Fi Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

10/30/16 morris campbell i dont hate u scott ur right its derivative cool but derivative 4 stars
10/12/13 David H. didn't make sense to me 2 stars
1/31/13 jcar a very good scfi flick with good effects, acting, action, and diesdel kicking butt! 4 stars
1/28/12 hurdygurdy man Plot on thin ice, c'mon frosbitten and didn't cover gloveless hand?? Left me cold. 2 stars
7/23/10 bagwell5 A rip off of Alien, but still well done. Cole Hauser gives a great performance, 5 stars
6/08/10 Harvey Scott Great introduction to the Riddick character. LIked it! 4 stars
8/29/09 CTT Nicely realized sci-fi 4 stars
2/16/09 Samuel NIce aliens(called biorapters) awesome movie 5 stars
1/10/09 PAUL SHORTT NEITHER SCARY NOR EXCITING 1 stars
8/29/08 Shaun Wallner This one was kinda boring. 2 stars
3/01/08 Pamela White Diesel's best movie so far 5 stars
10/12/07 Carlos Vin Diesals best movie hands down... 5 stars
8/10/07 TheRealNapster I loved this Film. It made it into my collection 5 stars
8/08/07 TigerSlap Erik Childress is so full of shit! This movie is great entertainment! 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Fun action thriller, but they could do a bit better than expected. 3 stars
1/17/07 David Pollastrini great action, great gore 5 stars
6/08/06 William Goss Shameless sci-fi rehash that is loads more fun than it has any right to be. 4 stars
3/09/06 Dk A poor mans Alien it never really gets going 2 stars
3/04/06 chris f brilliant film way better that the trashy sequel 5 stars
1/01/06 cody a alien ripoff but a cool scfi action flick with cool characters, but ending stunk 3 stars
12/08/05 JM Synth Mr Diesel's only genuinely good film 4 stars
8/12/05 ES Better than its piece of garbage sequel 4 stars
5/27/05 Jake Great, sci-fi fun 5 stars
12/31/04 Max Without Vin this movie would of bombed! 5 stars
11/13/04 Rachel I love this movie. Great script (for the most part) intensely funny moments, good acting 5 stars
9/03/04 alisha vanmaanen wierd but i was still held captive to the end 3 stars
8/16/04 Herolder Yeah, it's an Alien rip-off, but a good one 5 stars
7/25/04 Vince Totally agree wth Star-Crosser : great cinematography + Vin Diesel. Excellent. 5 stars
6/09/04 Ali Hbous A fine piece of Sci-Fi 4 stars
2/29/04 Star-Crosser The cinematography and Deisel's suprising charisma make it worthwhile. 5 stars
12/08/03 John Bale Like an old Saturday Arvo Serial but the imaginative photography makes it watchable. 3 stars
11/12/03 Twenty-Two YUMMMmmmmmm........ Vin Diesel! 5 stars
11/01/03 American Slasher Goddess Extremely dull clone of Aliens. 1 stars
10/03/03 Timmy Best movie since "Aliens" 5 stars
7/07/03 Shawn Great Movie! Watch it a couple of times and it gets even better. 4 stars
5/27/03 Alana This film is awesome - Vin Diesel's best performance to date& excellent cinematography. 5 stars
5/26/03 mr. Pink An Alien rip-off, which isn't even a good one at that. Really dull! 1 stars
3/23/03 Sugarfoot I need no more proof, when I say that Scott Weinberg is a dumbass. 4 stars
12/30/02 Bob Hardcore Boring commercial crap. 1 stars
11/23/02 Sweetgrrl1972 It's super fun fantastic! Who goes to a movie like this to think anyway? 5 stars
9/22/02 Eloise i enjoyed the blood'n guts, the birdy monsters and Vin, yummeee 5 stars
7/04/02 KMG The little girl looked like Leaf Phoenix when he was in "Space Camp" 3 stars
6/10/02 Zefram Mann What would have been a throwaway flick is made great by the dynamic Diesel's character adds 5 stars
3/02/02 Butterbean Great Movie!!! I'm looking forward to the sequel! 5 stars
2/18/02 Katie Sheppard I loved it!!!! Vin Diesel is sooooooooooo sexy and he plays and awesome killer!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/13/02 Chris Bradford Im a big fan of Vin Diesel 5 stars
1/28/02 Gracy Lionheart Predictable, but fun to watch if you're in the right mood. Better than The Patriot any day. 4 stars
1/26/02 Andrew Carden Pretty Good For A Movie That Was In Theaters For Only 1 Month. 4 stars
12/11/01 Jim Reasonably suspenseful, cool cinematography, nasty aliens, and Radha Mitchell in a tank top 4 stars
10/30/01 Sumixam Not too bad, the creatures aren't overly exciting but a promising flick nevertheless 4 stars
10/03/01 Mark Conway Can i just say this is one of the crapest movies i have ever seen in my life. 1 stars
10/01/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Good! but the ending was unexpected?????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 3 stars
8/13/01 Kitty It's an original movie plus Vin Diesel is in it! 4 stars
8/02/01 KC Au Pretty forgettable flick. Not scary. 3 stars
7/30/01 Robert best sci fi movie ever 5 stars
7/07/01 officer 412/l nice looking sci-fi on a low budget 3 stars
6/20/01 Beth The movie kicks ass Vin Deisel is a major hottie in it 5 stars
6/19/01 jessica ohh Vin, baby 4 stars
6/15/01 M Hatfield Wow! Wot a bod! 5 stars
6/14/01 Elaine Lewis Fucking Awesome 5 stars
6/11/01 ReeRee757 Mmmm...... Vin Diesel. Ay papi. Oh yeah, loved the movie too. 5 stars
5/28/01 Desire' Vin , baby you are sooooo fine!!! 4 stars
4/22/01 TigerDream Cool effects and all but still a crappy story to go with it and very dull 2 stars
2/06/01 Trashstar I liked the colour scheme of the movie, liked the charecters, almost awesome,bad ending. 4 stars
1/06/01 Toni That movie kicked so much ass I loved it! Vin ,baby you are hott! 5 stars
12/08/00 jetcat punchy, tidy script with cool filming style 4 stars
11/20/00 Matthew Bartley Thoroughly enjoyable 4 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin Made Deisel a rising star. 4 stars
11/13/00 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Pointless, derivative, and DULL!! I can't believe people actually dug this. 1 stars
11/12/00 Neil Not a bad movie with good effects and very origional 4 stars
10/17/00 terry c compared to anaconda this one shines 4 stars
6/07/00 Jaime N. Christley Underrated sci-fi actioner; fast, well-made, and SHORT 4 stars
5/31/00 Keiros Shoulda spent an extra coulple of million to make Alien5 2 stars
5/20/00 mellemel BORING! Why did I waste my money! 1 stars
5/19/00 MR joel harwood VERY DRY 4 stars
5/09/00 The worst killer alien movie I think I have ever seen. 1 stars
4/17/00 Brien kidna sucked 3 stars
4/11/00 Dr. Rev. Krule, MD Decent movie, well worth seeing Diesel, good special effects 4 stars
3/24/00 malcolm had some nice shots. too coincidental. Diesel eats up the screen. 3 stars
3/22/00 Adam Fun, that's it. 4 stars
3/20/00 bonedaddy what was with the glow worms 4 stars
3/20/00 El Tigre Turn off you brain and enjoy the ride. Vin is awesome. 4 stars
3/10/00 brentley Very entertaining, but script & FX could have been better. 4 stars
3/09/00 Kyle Broflovski I liked this movie better than it liked me. 4 stars
3/06/00 yankee this movie was tiring. Special effects was all there was. No plot what so ever 2 stars
3/02/00 Michael Thompson Decent fun Sci-Fi Fare 4 stars
2/29/00 PhilmPhreak Any sci fi is better than no sci fi 3 stars
2/29/00 DarkNyt Not as good as I expected, but much better than what it could have been. 4 stars
2/29/00 Captain Highcrime I've seen better; but on the up side, it could have been ALOT worse (Supernova, anyone?) 3 stars
2/25/00 Alyssa What Alien 3 SHOULD have been. Vin Diesel is incredible. 5 stars
2/25/00 Drano Cool as Fuck!! Vin Diesel kicks ass! 4 stars
2/24/00 Crispin Fully disagree with illiterate Erik. This is a well made and paced movie. 5 stars
2/24/00 Cheaps Never, ever complain about Star Wars again ! 3 stars
2/23/00 notspork are you crazy??? vin diesel is a fucking SUPERHUMAN. every female should see this movie. 5 stars
2/23/00 Wyatt Earp Way better than I expected 4 stars
2/22/00 Overflow Bitch Not bad. Expected more. 3 stars
2/22/00 Zensmile A pretty good movie. I thought the creatures were a bit hokey...but great scifi graphics. 4 stars
2/22/00 Kman Either an underfunded A film, or a well done B movie. Well worth seeing if you liked Aliens 4 stars
2/22/00 Louis Pretty good if you're bored on a saturday afternoon. 4 stars
2/21/00 Obi Wan Fucking Phat!!! Vin Diesel ROCKED in this flick. Loved it . ..expected nothing got plenty 5 stars
2/21/00 Judy Alan KICK ASS ACTION AND PRETTY DAMN SCARY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/20/00 majawat could have been much worse 4 stars
2/20/00 Jerck Mehoff awsome 5 stars
2/20/00 Jason Kallelis Nothing special. Aliens with a few new twists. See it matinee if you want a cheap thrill 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Feb-2000 (R)
  DVD: 01-Jun-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  18-May-2000


Directed by
  David N. Twohy

Written by
  David N. Twohy
  Jim Wheat
  Ken Wheat

Cast
  Vin Diesel
  Cole Hauser
  Radha Mitchell
  Ric Anderson
  David Keith



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast