Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.13

Awesome: 24.34%
Worth A Look: 17.99%
Just Average: 17.99%
Pretty Crappy25.93%
Sucks: 13.76%

11 reviews, 123 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Canary (2018) by Jay Seaver

Assassinaut by Jay Seaver

Dead Don't Die, The by alejandroariera

Dead Don't Die, The by Peter Sobczynski

Shaft (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Men in Black: International by Peter Sobczynski

Chasing the Dragon 2: Wild Wild Bunch by Jay Seaver

Hole in the Ground, The by Jay Seaver

Knife+Heart by Jay Seaver

Booksmart by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Gone in 60 Seconds (2000)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chef ADogg

"Is it stupid and loud? Very much so. Will you like it anyway? Probably."
2 stars

"Gone in Sixty Seconds" positions itself somewhere in the middle of the Jerry Bruckheimer spectrum. On one hand, it's not as all-out action packed as "The Rock"--it feels much more relaxed and interested in exploring the characters. On the other hand, it's a lot flabbier than "Enemy of the State;" the dialogue scenes seem thrown together in random fashion, guiding us half-assedly to the next car chase. Of course, regardless of where it falls in comparison to previous Bruckheimer productions, it never even approaches becoming a good movie.

I'll admit that there were times during this movie when I started having a good time--the usual wacky supporting characters were their usual funny selves, the big finale is suitably heart-pumping, and it's always cool to see actors you like kicking back and having a good time. But I forgot the film on the way home, and have no interest in rediscovering its charms.

"Gone in Sixty Seconds" is the ultimate summer vehicle. Unlike, say, "Armageddon," which was downright abusive with its intense levels of stupidity, "Sixty" doesn't make you want to smack yourself in the forehead with a tire iron or hunt down the people responsible for wasting your time. It's not as abrasive as all that. But it also never raises itself above mildly entertaining, so you can spend your time in the theater contemplating other things or joking with your friends. It's an utterly uninvolving movie--the kind that people see mostly in the interest of chilling in phat movie theater air conditioning and watching shit occasionally explode.

It won't make you think. It won't stay with you for more than five minutes after exiting the theater. It won't impose upon you in the manner that really bad or really good movies do. The dialogue scenes say, "Pay attention if you want, but this isn't really important." The action scenes say, "Watch with one eye open--nothing revolutionary is going on here. Just don't miss the explosions."

It's just a very blah experience. Only occasionally does it approach unbearable--mostly when the filmmakers try to force a lame, undeveloped romantic subplot between Nicolas Cage and Angelina Jolie. Cage plays the lead character (colorfully named "Memphis"), a crackerjack retired car thief forced to steal fifty cars in one night so his little brother won't be killed. Jolie is his ex-ladyfriend, beautiful and vibrant in dirty blond dreadlocks. They have absolutely zero chemistry and every time the attempted romance reared its head, you could feel the audience emit a collective groan.

Get back to car-thievery. That's what we came here for.

The only really good news in all of this is that Dominic Sena knows how to direct a movie. "Gone in Sixty Seconds" was filmed in dark, bleeding colors, and the editing keeps the scenes colliding even when the action slows down. The end result is pleasantly stylish, without being annoying or overdone. It doesn't really save the movie, but it's nice nonetheless.

So, should you go see "Gone in Sixty Seconds"? If you want a good time, yes. If you're looking for a serious film experience, no. But if you are interested, don't waffle and wait for video. The big car chase at the end is the only totally redeeming quality and it just won't look as boo-yah on a small television screen.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1808&reviewer=123
originally posted: 06/11/00 11:30:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell will be gone from your memory in 60 seconds 1 stars
6/21/15 David Hollingsworth not the way to make a movie 1 stars
7/23/10 bagwell5 A guilty pleasure of mine. Cool cars but way over the top action. 3 stars
8/28/08 Shaun Wallner Cage makes some awesome films. 5 stars
6/10/08 PAUL SHORTT A FILM THAT ENTERTAINS WITHOUT BEING ANY GOOD 2 stars
2/03/08 Pamela White Watch it for the cars not the plot 3 stars
1/22/08 Chase Exciting. Eventhough it had down parts, it was a good movie. And Angelina with blonde hair? 4 stars
10/07/07 KNurse worth the watch 4 stars
9/18/07 Bojan Marjanovic Its awesome and you know it!!! 5 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK Gone in sixty seconds. I dont mean the film, I mean me. To sleep. 1 stars
11/09/06 NEWTON d art of boosting cars is shown cars are magnificent. True car boosts meet the situations. 5 stars
10/18/06 David Pollastrini better than the original 4 stars
9/04/06 Jarkko Perälä Watch the original instead - At least it had exciting car chases 1 stars
8/31/06 Michele fun 3 stars
8/10/06 S281-E Watch it for the 1967 Shelby GT-500 5 stars
6/26/06 Ashley Hinz Odd, Very, Very, Angelina Odd 3 stars
5/30/06 tatum Not that bad! Some laughs, some action, unclench for two hours and enjoy 4 stars
4/26/06 Anthony Feor I don't think Cage was even acting in this movie 1 stars
3/27/06 Brian Meyer Another bad "heist" remake to reassure the audience of its masculinity. IT SUCKS!!! 1 stars
10/23/05 tony Horrible! no fucking way im watching this again! 1 stars
8/24/05 ES 'would you rather have sex or steal cars' = I'd rather turn the movie off 1 stars
3/06/05 Rock-Steady I though it was a porno, done in 60 seconds? 3 stars
2/04/05 Alice Colwell boring 2 stars
1/27/05 Charlie Another good remake! 4 stars
11/11/04 David Cothern Jr. It Is Something That You Would Want To Watch Over and Over Again 5 stars
10/06/04 Jorge Rivero The 67' shelby mustang gt 500 is badass 4 stars
5/31/04 Nobody See this instead of Fast and Furious! 4 stars
5/21/04 john bale How did Cage Duvall and Jolie get mixed up in this petrol heads bonanza ? 2 stars
5/11/04 Nevz great 5 stars
3/16/04 Brando Okay, "Yea"...itz not. Jackass. 1 stars
1/09/04 Yea da movie was good..how can ya say itz not 5 stars
12/21/03 john yeah let's make a car chase movie with no real car chases - abyssmal!!! 1 stars
12/08/03 Samuel Better than either of the 'Fast and The Furious' films and much more believable as well... 5 stars
11/07/03 Lance 1967 Shelby GT 500...what more is there to say. 5 stars
9/13/03 The real Helen Zass After taunting poor constipated Daisy to death, Here's Angelina's turn to be constipated. 1 stars
3/29/03 Cathy ter Plugg Apparently GIRL INTERRUPTED was a one-time charm for Angelina Jolie. 1 stars
3/23/03 Jack Sommersby A grade-A cast slumming for easy paychecks. Artistically deplorable. 1 stars
1/19/03 Allen This is like a bad episode of "The A-TEAM". 1 stars
11/19/02 buzz 20010 fucking amazing peice of ganga leaves 5 stars
10/26/02 MarktheShark6 A great lineup of actors and cool cars makes this movie the best I've ever seen. 5 stars
10/17/02 BITCHSLAP WOW 5 stars
7/11/02 snowconehead best car chases around 5 stars
5/17/02 Dark Barøn The 1967 Shelby's only thing worth in this film. Just the car. Just.... the car. 2 stars
4/28/02 David A. Mediocre dud about auto thieves. It spawned pathetics like Ocean's 11 (2000) and Heist. 3 stars
3/13/02 craig very good 4 stars
3/09/02 jennifer cheek i love this movie nicholas cage is a great and sexy actor, the dvd sure is in my collection 5 stars
1/27/02 Tiffany Thunderhurst What a waste of Angelina Jolie after GIRL, INTERRUPTED 2 stars
1/16/02 David A. One of those predictable, contemporary science-of-being-a-crook things--blah 2 stars
12/26/01 Phil M. Afficianado Why bother to make a film like this, let alone sxpect people to see it. Yawn. 2 stars
12/14/01 seldom scene LAME STORYLINE, GREAT CINIEMATOGRAPHY 2 stars
12/12/01 Dominik Duprelle Jerk-to-Video crud. The Carpenter is about as menacing as a cheese sandwhich. 2 stars
11/08/01 Mark Great casting, along with great acting. Definetly one of the best of 2000. 5 stars
10/01/01 Phoenix A car chase movie that doesn't deliever one decent car chase. 1 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean Thank goodness it was fast paced. Watch "The fast and the furious" instead 2 stars
8/20/01 P.Rodriguez F&*^ Shit-----Rank Hardcore Tripe-----There should B a SUCKS ALL ASS & DICK CATEGORY 1 stars
8/05/01 ted v. the poster was GOOD! the film was PRETTY LAME! 2 stars
8/01/01 JoseFlores Its a very awesome 5 stars
7/11/01 braden h kicks fucking ass 5 stars
7/05/01 SeStA THIS IS A KICK ARSE FILM! Nicholas Cage rox as well as Angelina Jolie, go see it go go go!! 5 stars
7/02/01 TLsmooth How in the fuck did that ugly-ass bitch Nick Cage become a fucking star? 1 stars
6/09/01 edgar the best movie ever 5 stars
6/05/01 Julia Somit this is the best movie i love the cars and i love the chase scenes 5 stars
6/05/01 Katrina This movie was the best. Whats wrong with you people 5 stars
5/22/01 Jordana Bernall This movie kicks ass! 5 stars
5/15/01 P.Rodriguez GEEEZZZ Seem Like Hollywood is short on orginal and decent ideas..............very short. 1 stars
5/13/01 Basil stupid movie. 1 stars
5/04/01 Mamdouh M. Mehaimeed not what i expected,,,, 3 stars
4/26/01 Dom Corleone Absolutely pathetic - insulting hollywood trash 1 stars
4/22/01 Dave B Mathew Bartley..fuck you!!..the shelbyGT 500 makes the movie the BEST EVER!! 5 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L Angelina Jolie is a horrible actress but Cage makes it happen... 4 stars
3/19/01 johnny 1 That 1967 shelby is fucking some nice shit 5 stars
3/13/01 andrew it was the best movie ever 5 stars
3/12/01 David Best movie ever 5 stars
3/07/01 jeremy i love the part with the 1976 shelby mustang gt 500 theat part is aswome i wish i had one. 5 stars
3/02/01 Ariel Bradford AWESOME! plus the cars rock and Nick is hott! 5 stars
2/28/01 HyDRo The best fucking movie I have ever seen 5 stars
2/28/01 Wesley Olvera it's a very good car movie 4 stars
2/21/01 Monday Morning Nic rocks, action trucks, Ribisi sucks. This is a hip flick overall, tho'. 4 stars
2/17/01 Anderson Excellent for car fanatics!!!!!! 5 stars
2/17/01 Steven Armet WOW this was awesome 5 stars
2/13/01 Paul AMAZING 5 stars
2/12/01 adf sweet as all fucking hell 5 stars
2/01/01 Dan Waldman Give it a minute & you'll forget it. 2 stars
1/24/01 dog a kick ass movie only a car guy could appricate 5 stars
1/13/01 Avenger Girl Phfff! Dissapointing-should have been a lot better with more action less crap chat. 3 stars
1/05/01 Steve This movie has the best looking cars,not to mention Angelina Jolie................... 5 stars
1/02/01 FrayLo I don't understand how anyone can like this movie...carchases==cheesy, just plain sucks 1 stars
12/12/00 Dan Shaw The film is one of the best i have ever seen and the best film of the year 5 stars
12/09/00 Erik Koenig I really enjoyed this movie. Both the cars and the story line were hot. 5 stars
11/04/00 Gray Cage, Jolie and Ribisi have no chance to act. They only characters in this were the cars. 1 stars
10/25/00 Dave Jackson Bad. Really Really Bad. Bad Acting. Bad Direction. Bad Edit. Bad Script. Bad.... 1 stars
9/07/00 Richard Wright ,Saw it, thought it was O.K don't remember anything about it now, don't wanna see it again. 3 stars
9/04/00 nick it was the best 5 stars
9/03/00 The Extreaminizer Sweet-Ass Folow-Up to The Rock, Con Air, Armageddon, and Enemy of the State; Great Movie. 5 stars
8/30/00 Eran nice,I enjoyed watching it ,while taking all the time about everything 4 stars
8/24/00 goran awesome 5 stars
7/24/00 Charley Sigler I thought it was a very good movie with great action sequences. 5 stars
7/20/00 Jokko Not worth a rental. Good chases? HELL NO. Boring movie with lame "action", bad performances 1 stars
7/07/00 Zaw check it out. 5 stars
7/06/00 Olyphant The 1st Cage-Bruckheimer actioner that bored me. So many cool actors, so little acting. Sad 3 stars
7/01/00 Belinda Rental 3 stars
6/30/00 Mr J M HARWOOD Sick, did not see enough of ANGELINA JOLIE 5 stars
6/29/00 PJ a great chase scene does not a movie make. MTV crap, pointless, Cage should be ashamed! 2 stars
6/27/00 lina so what if it was predicatable... it had great action ...awesome car chases ... 5 stars
6/27/00 furtively The title IS the review. Gone in 60 Seconds. 2 stars
6/26/00 Paige Pretty lame. Good rental for a rainy Sunday. 2 stars
6/26/00 Pierce Lanson Plot full of holes, (why'd they let brother go??) absolutely predictable, crap. 2 stars
6/25/00 Bubby I kewpt looking for something to slit my wrists with! 1 stars
6/25/00 Mike Better then I had expected... but not as good as The Rock or other cage films 4 stars
6/23/00 malcolm not nearly enough chases for a car thief film. Giovanni Ribisi grossly underused 3 stars
6/20/00 Mortis I felt fully manipulated and I LOVED IT!!! Cage rocks! Angelina rolls! 4 stars
6/16/00 Will yawn. 2 stars
6/13/00 Joe Richards A car chase movie with 1 car chase? 2 stars
6/13/00 PJ Great car chase scene at the end, that's pretty much it, mtv crap with some good parts 3 stars
6/12/00 Obi Wan Expected to see some crazy car chases, mad action since this was Jerry Bruckheimer..SUCKED! 2 stars
6/12/00 Heather Keith Expected plot twists, but actually done well. I'd certainly never call it boring! 4 stars
6/12/00 PhilmPhreak Pretty lame. 3 stars
6/12/00 Captain Highcrime I guess the high price of gas affected the number & duration of chases, stays in PARK a lot 3 stars
6/12/00 Simon Better than a poke in the eye with a sharp stick. 3 stars
6/10/00 "Persnickety" it's cool if you like car chases and cage, other then that it was ok 4 stars
6/08/00 The Rock This is what I wanted out of MI-2..a mindless action, high energy movie 5 stars
6/08/00 Jokko This guy's wrong -- this movie sucked beginning to end. Chases are boring. Acting is awful. 1 stars
6/04/00 D. Simpson Cage is back where he belongs. The cast is dynamic all the way, & extraordinary car chases! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Jun-2000 (PG-13)
  DVD: 07-Jun-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  29-Jun-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast