Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.13

Awesome: 24.34%
Worth A Look: 17.99%
Just Average: 17.99%
Pretty Crappy25.93%
Sucks: 13.76%

11 reviews, 123 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Gone in 60 Seconds (2000)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Energy Level Boosts Remake"
4 stars

Hollywood finally did something the right way. Instead of updating classic films; films so perfect that the word “remake” brings a cringe to any movie lover – Jerry Bruckheimer decides to take a semi-cult classic with an cool premise and attempt to improve on it. Whether or not he succeeded rests in the eyes and minds of people who have actually seen the 1974 H.B.H. Halicki drive-in classic, Gone In 60 Seconds. Fitting into that category myself, I can say that an admirable job has been done as a whole, but some of its parts still lie on the floor of the garage.

The original film concerned a small ring of car thieves who pose as insurance investigators to remove cars from their owners. In 2000, Nicolas Cage plays Randall “Memphis” Raines, who boasts the great title of “retired car thief”. His kid brother, Kip (Giovanni Ribisi), has followed in his footsteps only to fail with his crew to appease Raymond Calitri (Christopher Eccleston) in stealing 50 vintage and modern-day classic cars. Memphis is then called out of retirement to help boost the vehicles (in only 4 days) or Kip will be killed. So it’s time to get the band back together including Memphis’ father figure Otto Halliwell (Robert Duvall), his best friend, Donny Astricky (Chi McBride), the silent giant, The Sphinx (Vinnie Jones) and ex-love interest, Sara “Sway” Wayland (Angelina Jolie). Not to even mention Memphis’ old partner, Atley Jackson (Will Patton), and the young crew to which Kip belonged. On the trail of our anti-heroes are a pair of detectives (Delroy Lindo and Timothy Olyphant) and some gangbangers looking to keep Memphis and his gang off their turf.

So, it’s off to the races, complete with a sporadic ticking clock that seems to pop up 2 seconds before certain crucial hours. Core relationships are kept to a bare minimum, providing just enough background and interaction to make it look like the screenwriter actually made an effort. Duvall’s character reminisces a little and apparently even inspired Memphis to talk to cars the way he did in Days of Thunder. Jolie pops up about a half hour in, then disappears, then comes back for a while, then disappears again, and so forth, only to later engage in a surprisingly sexy scene in the front seat of a car where credit has to go solely to her for somehow pulling it off. Brothers Memphis and Kip are supposed to be the driving force of this entire plot, but is that what we’re really interested in? Maybe if it were more fleshed out we would and it would equal a better film, but we want to see action, massive grand theft auto, and car chases. And it’s fun to watch these beautiful cars be lifted right under the noses of some of its owners, using several different methods, with little-to-no danger. The minor suspense factor may play against it, but the energy level is so dead-on and consistent, that you barely have time to notice.

The 1974 film is famous for one thing and one thing only, a climactic 40-minute chase scene where 93 cars were destroyed. Now that’s great entertainment!!! So great that it more than made up for the painful first hour of exposition and dialogue that seemed to literally be written and ADR’d after production as virtually all of it is used as voiceover. Bruckheimer’s version kicks up the pace and keeps it moving for the entire running time. And right at the 80-minute mark of the 119-minute movie, a big car chase begins, and the hope exists that the only reason this project was resurrected for the 21st century, was to recreate that amazing sequence from the end of the original. Well, hopes are dashed as the new chase only goes on for about 15 minutes, before succumbing to a more traditional action wrap-up and a simple resolution that makes the whole high concept of stealing 50 cars in 24 hours a moot point. And while some of it is truly fun and exciting, modern film technology and the MTV-video age director school of massive close-ups, ruin the moment and the payoff. In a world where the great car chases of the cinema exist on a short list that includes Bullitt, The French Connection, The Blues Brothers, To Live and Die In L.A., Ronin and even Speed – why do filmmakers continue to put the camera shaking right in the face of the actors driving the cars instead of putting some distance in-between so we can appreciate the choreography of the chase and the destruction it leaves in its wake? You would think by remaking a film that literally gave starring credit to a car (Eleanor), the filmmakers would respect the art of the car chase.

Gone In Sixty Seconds is not one of those films that will stand the test of time, but it is certainly a fun summer popcorn movie. On Cage’s action resume it ranks somewhere below Face/Off and The Rock, but definitely above Con Air. Sure, with three Oscar winners in the same movie, one would wish that they’d have more screen time together. Duvall especially doesn’t have much to do in the final hour, but this is such a huge ensemble, that it’s hard to give generous screen time to anyone except Cage. And sure there’s a car full of heroin (like in the original), that’s just as soon forgotten as introduced. But any serious reservations audience members may have about the film, won’t really be thought about too much until after they leave the theater, because the energy is cranked to maximum level, and sometimes, that’s enough to just sit back and enjoy a good movie.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1808&reviewer=198
originally posted: 06/08/00 11:59:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell will be gone from your memory in 60 seconds 1 stars
6/21/15 David Hollingsworth not the way to make a movie 1 stars
7/23/10 bagwell5 A guilty pleasure of mine. Cool cars but way over the top action. 3 stars
8/28/08 Shaun Wallner Cage makes some awesome films. 5 stars
6/10/08 PAUL SHORTT A FILM THAT ENTERTAINS WITHOUT BEING ANY GOOD 2 stars
2/03/08 Pamela White Watch it for the cars not the plot 3 stars
1/22/08 Chase Exciting. Eventhough it had down parts, it was a good movie. And Angelina with blonde hair? 4 stars
10/07/07 KNurse worth the watch 4 stars
9/18/07 Bojan Marjanovic Its awesome and you know it!!! 5 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK Gone in sixty seconds. I dont mean the film, I mean me. To sleep. 1 stars
11/09/06 NEWTON d art of boosting cars is shown cars are magnificent. True car boosts meet the situations. 5 stars
10/18/06 David Pollastrini better than the original 4 stars
9/04/06 Jarkko Perälä Watch the original instead - At least it had exciting car chases 1 stars
8/31/06 Michele fun 3 stars
8/10/06 S281-E Watch it for the 1967 Shelby GT-500 5 stars
6/26/06 Ashley Hinz Odd, Very, Very, Angelina Odd 3 stars
5/30/06 tatum Not that bad! Some laughs, some action, unclench for two hours and enjoy 4 stars
4/26/06 Anthony Feor I don't think Cage was even acting in this movie 1 stars
3/27/06 Brian Meyer Another bad "heist" remake to reassure the audience of its masculinity. IT SUCKS!!! 1 stars
10/23/05 tony Horrible! no fucking way im watching this again! 1 stars
8/24/05 ES 'would you rather have sex or steal cars' = I'd rather turn the movie off 1 stars
3/06/05 Rock-Steady I though it was a porno, done in 60 seconds? 3 stars
2/04/05 Alice Colwell boring 2 stars
1/27/05 Charlie Another good remake! 4 stars
11/11/04 David Cothern Jr. It Is Something That You Would Want To Watch Over and Over Again 5 stars
10/06/04 Jorge Rivero The 67' shelby mustang gt 500 is badass 4 stars
5/31/04 Nobody See this instead of Fast and Furious! 4 stars
5/21/04 john bale How did Cage Duvall and Jolie get mixed up in this petrol heads bonanza ? 2 stars
5/11/04 Nevz great 5 stars
3/16/04 Brando Okay, "Yea"...itz not. Jackass. 1 stars
1/09/04 Yea da movie was good..how can ya say itz not 5 stars
12/21/03 john yeah let's make a car chase movie with no real car chases - abyssmal!!! 1 stars
12/08/03 Samuel Better than either of the 'Fast and The Furious' films and much more believable as well... 5 stars
11/07/03 Lance 1967 Shelby GT 500...what more is there to say. 5 stars
9/13/03 The real Helen Zass After taunting poor constipated Daisy to death, Here's Angelina's turn to be constipated. 1 stars
3/29/03 Cathy ter Plugg Apparently GIRL INTERRUPTED was a one-time charm for Angelina Jolie. 1 stars
3/23/03 Jack Sommersby A grade-A cast slumming for easy paychecks. Artistically deplorable. 1 stars
1/19/03 Allen This is like a bad episode of "The A-TEAM". 1 stars
11/19/02 buzz 20010 fucking amazing peice of ganga leaves 5 stars
10/26/02 MarktheShark6 A great lineup of actors and cool cars makes this movie the best I've ever seen. 5 stars
10/17/02 BITCHSLAP WOW 5 stars
7/11/02 snowconehead best car chases around 5 stars
5/17/02 Dark Barøn The 1967 Shelby's only thing worth in this film. Just the car. Just.... the car. 2 stars
4/28/02 David A. Mediocre dud about auto thieves. It spawned pathetics like Ocean's 11 (2000) and Heist. 3 stars
3/13/02 craig very good 4 stars
3/09/02 jennifer cheek i love this movie nicholas cage is a great and sexy actor, the dvd sure is in my collection 5 stars
1/27/02 Tiffany Thunderhurst What a waste of Angelina Jolie after GIRL, INTERRUPTED 2 stars
1/16/02 David A. One of those predictable, contemporary science-of-being-a-crook things--blah 2 stars
12/26/01 Phil M. Afficianado Why bother to make a film like this, let alone sxpect people to see it. Yawn. 2 stars
12/14/01 seldom scene LAME STORYLINE, GREAT CINIEMATOGRAPHY 2 stars
12/12/01 Dominik Duprelle Jerk-to-Video crud. The Carpenter is about as menacing as a cheese sandwhich. 2 stars
11/08/01 Mark Great casting, along with great acting. Definetly one of the best of 2000. 5 stars
10/01/01 Phoenix A car chase movie that doesn't deliever one decent car chase. 1 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean Thank goodness it was fast paced. Watch "The fast and the furious" instead 2 stars
8/20/01 P.Rodriguez F&*^ Shit-----Rank Hardcore Tripe-----There should B a SUCKS ALL ASS & DICK CATEGORY 1 stars
8/05/01 ted v. the poster was GOOD! the film was PRETTY LAME! 2 stars
8/01/01 JoseFlores Its a very awesome 5 stars
7/11/01 braden h kicks fucking ass 5 stars
7/05/01 SeStA THIS IS A KICK ARSE FILM! Nicholas Cage rox as well as Angelina Jolie, go see it go go go!! 5 stars
7/02/01 TLsmooth How in the fuck did that ugly-ass bitch Nick Cage become a fucking star? 1 stars
6/09/01 edgar the best movie ever 5 stars
6/05/01 Julia Somit this is the best movie i love the cars and i love the chase scenes 5 stars
6/05/01 Katrina This movie was the best. Whats wrong with you people 5 stars
5/22/01 Jordana Bernall This movie kicks ass! 5 stars
5/15/01 P.Rodriguez GEEEZZZ Seem Like Hollywood is short on orginal and decent ideas..............very short. 1 stars
5/13/01 Basil stupid movie. 1 stars
5/04/01 Mamdouh M. Mehaimeed not what i expected,,,, 3 stars
4/26/01 Dom Corleone Absolutely pathetic - insulting hollywood trash 1 stars
4/22/01 Dave B Mathew Bartley..fuck you!!..the shelbyGT 500 makes the movie the BEST EVER!! 5 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L Angelina Jolie is a horrible actress but Cage makes it happen... 4 stars
3/19/01 johnny 1 That 1967 shelby is fucking some nice shit 5 stars
3/13/01 andrew it was the best movie ever 5 stars
3/12/01 David Best movie ever 5 stars
3/07/01 jeremy i love the part with the 1976 shelby mustang gt 500 theat part is aswome i wish i had one. 5 stars
3/02/01 Ariel Bradford AWESOME! plus the cars rock and Nick is hott! 5 stars
2/28/01 HyDRo The best fucking movie I have ever seen 5 stars
2/28/01 Wesley Olvera it's a very good car movie 4 stars
2/21/01 Monday Morning Nic rocks, action trucks, Ribisi sucks. This is a hip flick overall, tho'. 4 stars
2/17/01 Anderson Excellent for car fanatics!!!!!! 5 stars
2/17/01 Steven Armet WOW this was awesome 5 stars
2/13/01 Paul AMAZING 5 stars
2/12/01 adf sweet as all fucking hell 5 stars
2/01/01 Dan Waldman Give it a minute & you'll forget it. 2 stars
1/24/01 dog a kick ass movie only a car guy could appricate 5 stars
1/13/01 Avenger Girl Phfff! Dissapointing-should have been a lot better with more action less crap chat. 3 stars
1/05/01 Steve This movie has the best looking cars,not to mention Angelina Jolie................... 5 stars
1/02/01 FrayLo I don't understand how anyone can like this movie...carchases==cheesy, just plain sucks 1 stars
12/12/00 Dan Shaw The film is one of the best i have ever seen and the best film of the year 5 stars
12/09/00 Erik Koenig I really enjoyed this movie. Both the cars and the story line were hot. 5 stars
11/04/00 Gray Cage, Jolie and Ribisi have no chance to act. They only characters in this were the cars. 1 stars
10/25/00 Dave Jackson Bad. Really Really Bad. Bad Acting. Bad Direction. Bad Edit. Bad Script. Bad.... 1 stars
9/07/00 Richard Wright ,Saw it, thought it was O.K don't remember anything about it now, don't wanna see it again. 3 stars
9/04/00 nick it was the best 5 stars
9/03/00 The Extreaminizer Sweet-Ass Folow-Up to The Rock, Con Air, Armageddon, and Enemy of the State; Great Movie. 5 stars
8/30/00 Eran nice,I enjoyed watching it ,while taking all the time about everything 4 stars
8/24/00 goran awesome 5 stars
7/24/00 Charley Sigler I thought it was a very good movie with great action sequences. 5 stars
7/20/00 Jokko Not worth a rental. Good chases? HELL NO. Boring movie with lame "action", bad performances 1 stars
7/07/00 Zaw check it out. 5 stars
7/06/00 Olyphant The 1st Cage-Bruckheimer actioner that bored me. So many cool actors, so little acting. Sad 3 stars
7/01/00 Belinda Rental 3 stars
6/30/00 Mr J M HARWOOD Sick, did not see enough of ANGELINA JOLIE 5 stars
6/29/00 PJ a great chase scene does not a movie make. MTV crap, pointless, Cage should be ashamed! 2 stars
6/27/00 lina so what if it was predicatable... it had great action ...awesome car chases ... 5 stars
6/27/00 furtively The title IS the review. Gone in 60 Seconds. 2 stars
6/26/00 Paige Pretty lame. Good rental for a rainy Sunday. 2 stars
6/26/00 Pierce Lanson Plot full of holes, (why'd they let brother go??) absolutely predictable, crap. 2 stars
6/25/00 Bubby I kewpt looking for something to slit my wrists with! 1 stars
6/25/00 Mike Better then I had expected... but not as good as The Rock or other cage films 4 stars
6/23/00 malcolm not nearly enough chases for a car thief film. Giovanni Ribisi grossly underused 3 stars
6/20/00 Mortis I felt fully manipulated and I LOVED IT!!! Cage rocks! Angelina rolls! 4 stars
6/16/00 Will yawn. 2 stars
6/13/00 Joe Richards A car chase movie with 1 car chase? 2 stars
6/13/00 PJ Great car chase scene at the end, that's pretty much it, mtv crap with some good parts 3 stars
6/12/00 Obi Wan Expected to see some crazy car chases, mad action since this was Jerry Bruckheimer..SUCKED! 2 stars
6/12/00 Heather Keith Expected plot twists, but actually done well. I'd certainly never call it boring! 4 stars
6/12/00 PhilmPhreak Pretty lame. 3 stars
6/12/00 Captain Highcrime I guess the high price of gas affected the number & duration of chases, stays in PARK a lot 3 stars
6/12/00 Simon Better than a poke in the eye with a sharp stick. 3 stars
6/10/00 "Persnickety" it's cool if you like car chases and cage, other then that it was ok 4 stars
6/08/00 The Rock This is what I wanted out of MI-2..a mindless action, high energy movie 5 stars
6/08/00 Jokko This guy's wrong -- this movie sucked beginning to end. Chases are boring. Acting is awful. 1 stars
6/04/00 D. Simpson Cage is back where he belongs. The cast is dynamic all the way, & extraordinary car chases! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Jun-2000 (PG-13)
  DVD: 07-Jun-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  29-Jun-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast